VOGONS

Common searches


Running 3dMark 2000 on modern hardware

Topic actions

Reply 20 of 60, by teleguy

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

That message is not the problem, it's skippable. What's necessary to make the benchmark run is limiting it to a single core.

Here's a compatibility fix that does that.
To install it run install.bat. It can be uninstalled from the controlpanel, look for "3DM2001SE Compatibility Fix".

Filename
3DMark2001SE.zip
File size
690 Bytes
Downloads
1659 downloads
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Edit:
If you can't uninstall the fix use this batch file:

Filename
Uninstall.zip
File size
175 Bytes
Downloads
718 downloads
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 22 of 60, by teleguy

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

This profile removes the framelock 3DMark2000 suffers from on Windows 10 (and Windows 8?).

Extract it to wherever you want and run install.bat with admin rights.

Attachments

  • Filename
    3DM2000FramelockFix.zip
    File size
    1.04 KiB
    Downloads
    1231 downloads
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception
Last edited by teleguy on 2017-04-28, 10:00. Edited 1 time in total.

Reply 23 of 60, by UCyborg

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Technically, it allows real fullscreen mode. 😁

Here's a little something that unlocks resolutions with width/height above 2048 pixels: https://github.com/UCyborg/LegacyD3DResolutionHack/releases

They're just simple proxy DLLs that remove the check from system d3dim/d3dim700 DLLs at runtime. There are cases where proxy DLLs aren't picked up and it would be better to preload system DLLs from proxy ddraw.dll and patch 'em from there. Given there are already existent ddraw.dll wrappers out there that don't rely on newer APIs for graphical output, that code could be added to one of them.

Arthur Schopenhauer wrote:

A man can be himself only so long as he is alone; and if he does not love solitude, he will not love freedom; for it is only when he is alone that he is really free.

Reply 24 of 60, by u1comp1

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
teleguy wrote:

This profile removes the framelock 3DMark2000 suffers from on Windows 10 (and Windows 8?).

Extract it to wherever you want and run install.bat with admin rights.

Windows 10 Enterprise x64 Build 15063. I run install.bat with administrator rights, but it did not help. The "Adventure" test shows 60 fps. The Vsync is turned off in the control panel of the NVidia.

Reply 25 of 60, by teleguy

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
u1comp1 wrote:
teleguy wrote:

This profile removes the framelock 3DMark2000 suffers from on Windows 10 (and Windows 8?).

Extract it to wherever you want and run install.bat with admin rights.

Windows 10 Enterprise x64 Build 15063. I run install.bat with administrator rights, but it did not help. The "Adventure" test shows 60 fps. The Vsync is turned off in the control panel of the NVidia.

I've updated the file. Please try again.

Edit: But uninstall the previous version first.

Reply 26 of 60, by u1comp1

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
teleguy wrote:

I've updated the file. Please try again.

Edit: But uninstall the previous version first.

Thanks, now works FIX !
And you can do the same patch for 3DMark 99 Max? When it starts not written a mistake and did not include compatibility mode?
In my opinion, in 3DMark 99 Maх too something is blocked, since in Windows 7 x64 showed great results than in Windows 10 x64: (3DMark Score: 6084, CPU Score: 141991)

Attachments

  • 2017-04-28_144234.jpg
    Filename
    2017-04-28_144234.jpg
    File size
    29.24 KiB
    Views
    9865 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception
  • 2017-04-28_144102.jpg
    Filename
    2017-04-28_144102.jpg
    File size
    88.11 KiB
    Views
    9865 views
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 29 of 60, by ZellSF

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
dBdrag170 wrote:

This app had a heart attack when i put the screen resolution at 4K, only can get 2048x1536 32bit and lower to work.

Are you asking for help? If so, try reading.

Or are you confirming what we already know (Direct3D 7 doesn't support resolutions greater than 2048 in width or height out of the box)?

Reply 31 of 60, by dBdrag170

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
teleguy wrote:
dBdrag170 wrote:

This app had a heart attack when i put the screen resolution at 4K, only can get 2048x1536 32bit and lower to work.

Running 3dMark 2000 on modern hardware

How did I miss that? 😵

Reply 33 of 60, by bloodem

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

For me, dgVoodoo2 was the best solution. The score went up from 30 000 to 88000 on Windows 10. (no patches needed)

2 x PGA132 / 5 x Socket 3 / 9 x Socket 7 / 12 x SS7 / 1 x Socket 8 / 14 x Slot 1 / 5 x Slot A
5 x Socket 370 / 8 x Socket A / 2 x Socket 478 / 2 x Socket 754 / 3 x Socket 939 / 7 x LGA775 / 1 x LGA1155
Current rig: Ryzen 5 3600X
Backup rig: Core i7 7700k

Reply 36 of 60, by GrandAdmiralThrawn

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I just tried this with patch 4 on two machines, failed on both. The first:

  • XP Pro x64 Edition SP2
  • Intel Xeon X5690 (think "i7 990X")
  • 48GiB RAM
  • nVidia GeForce GTX Titan Black, 6GiB VRAM, running with driver 368.81
  • Screen resolution: 2560×1600×32

Error: No visible errors reported. The program appears to launch, but no GUI pops up whatsoever. 3DMark2000test4.exe keeps running in the background, constantly eating an entire CPU core. I've waited for 3-4 minutes with no changes, then killed the process. Tried it 3 or 4 times.

Second machine:

  • Windows 10 Pro x64 20H2
  • AMD Ryzen 5 3600X
  • 16GiB RAM
  • AMD Radeon RX 6900 XT, 16GiB VRAM, running with Adrenalin driver 20.12.1
  • Screen resolution: 2560×1600×32

Error: Program appears to attempt initialization of fullscreen upon launch (screen turns black), then runs into an error reporting that it's missing the MMX instruction set extension:

3dm2000-MMX.png
Filename
3dm2000-MMX.png
File size
8.12 KiB
Views
5617 views
File license
Public domain

After that, I tried Win98/Me compatibility mode on both machines to no avail. The symptoms don't change. Same after creating exceptions for 3DMark2000test4.exe in Comodo AV on XP x64. Am I supposed to do anything on top of extracting the patch into the 3DM2000 directory and running 3DMark2000test4.exe (right next to where 3DMark2000.exe is)? My apologies if I'm doing it wrong somehow..

Proud User of a 3dfx Voodoo5 6000 AGP (HiNT Rev.A3 3400) prototype

Reply 37 of 60, by teleguy

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Try this Re: 3D Mark 99 Max & 2001 SE Startup Hang Patch

Edit: Also attached the file here. There indeed seems to be an issue with Ryzen cpus.

Attachments

Last edited by teleguy on 2021-01-30, 11:22. Edited 2 times in total.

Reply 38 of 60, by teleguy

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
nebular wrote on 2020-12-23, 21:10:

Well I tried the framerate patch, but it's still stuck on 30 fps. I'm running a Radeon RX480 on windows 10.

Can you show me a screenshot of your entire 3D Mark 2000 directory?

Reply 39 of 60, by GrandAdmiralThrawn

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
teleguy wrote on 2021-01-30, 11:10:

Try this Re: 3D Mark 99 Max & 2001 SE Startup Hang Patch

Edit: Also attached the file here. There indeed seems to be an issue with Ryzen cpus.

Thank you very much teleguy! Results: 3DMark2000mmxchecknegative.exe shows the same MMX error, while 3DMark2000mmxcheckpositive.exe starts up the GUI and benchmarking initially works, but crashes after the helicopter benchmarks.

The demo mode (the thing I'm actually after, because I love the 3DM2000 demo mode!) crashes in the exact same way upon startup. It shows several errors like this one:

JPEG.png
Filename
JPEG.png
File size
4.84 KiB
Views
5584 views
File license
Public domain

The only thing that changes between the error messages is the hex number. I'm thinking the data shouldn't be corrupted, it's the same installer I've always used. I ran a quick MD5 on the setup program:

md5sum 3dmark2000v11.exe
eb025480a0ee5665bddcbda716c67f73 *3dmark2000v11.exe

Thank you very much for your work!

Proud User of a 3dfx Voodoo5 6000 AGP (HiNT Rev.A3 3400) prototype