VOGONS

Common searches


Reply 40 of 50, by vedmysh

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Virtualpilot wrote on 2020-03-09, 10:35:
Unfortunately I've been experiencing CTDs in Jane's F15. […]
Show full quote

Unfortunately I've been experiencing CTDs in Jane's F15.

First one happened in the first Gulf War campaign mission twice in a row. Missions two and three worked without problems. Then came the first actual real combat mission where you have to destroy SCUD launchers. I got two CTDs near the target site. In my third try I used jump to waypoint option, dropped bombs, but it looks like it screwed my escort planes because I was left there to duke it out with MIG-23s because the promised F-15C CAP was not there.

Other problems: Cockpit starts to flash either in red or green in 2D mode. Changing view fixes it. Happens all the time.

Sound is very distorted after starting the mission but clears about in a minute. If I change the view to external it fixes right away.

Hello.
Can someone else confirm the same problem, please?
Virtualpilot, which GPU do you have? Can you also check GPU driver version, please.

Reply 41 of 50, by vedmysh

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Virtualpilot wrote on 2020-04-03, 16:59:

Well I finished both campaigns in Jane's F-15 and installed F/A-18. The game itself seems to work OK but I'm having huge problems in the menus with mouse cursor. I'm seeing two cursors if I see them at all. I'm unable to edit weapons loads for example:

two-cursors.jpg

Well, i see the only one cursor in this screenshot...
Anyway, ill check the loadout screen later.
Thank you.

Reply 42 of 50, by Virtualpilot

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
vedmysh wrote on 2020-04-08, 12:00:

Hello.
Can someone else confirm the same problem, please?
Virtualpilot, which GPU do you have? Can you also check GPU driver version, please.

Radeon R9 280X, driver 19.9.2.

Reply 43 of 50, by Virtualpilot

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
vedmysh wrote on 2020-04-08, 12:02:
Well, i see the only one cursor in this screenshot... Anyway, ill check the loadout screen later. Thank you. […]
Show full quote
Virtualpilot wrote on 2020-04-03, 16:59:

Well I finished both campaigns in Jane's F-15 and installed F/A-18. The game itself seems to work OK but I'm having huge problems in the menus with mouse cursor. I'm seeing two cursors if I see them at all. I'm unable to edit weapons loads for example:

two-cursors.jpg

Well, i see the only one cursor in this screenshot...
Anyway, ill check the loadout screen later.
Thank you.

More examples:

two-cursors2.png
Filename
two-cursors2.png
File size
557.86 KiB
Views
512 views
File license
Public domain
missing-pilot.png
Filename
missing-pilot.png
File size
182.99 KiB
Views
512 views
File license
Public domain

In the second pic I managed to add new pilots but the name is missing.

Reply 44 of 50, by D'Ace

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Hi to all, special thanks to vedmysh.

My problem is TSH, I read some of you guys were successful in running F/A-18 with TSH v3 & v4. I prefer vanilla versions, as vedmysh stated, but I'd like to run F/A-18 in more than 1024 x 768. Could you please explain how to install these patches properly? With JSME maybe? just decompressing / overwritting on X:\mydxwnd\f18? I'd apreciate any help on this.

And, I guess I'm not the only one, we DREAM of playing USAF / IAF and why not Fighters Antology. Thanks a lot my friend.

Reply 45 of 50, by Kreshna Aryaguna Nurzaman

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
vedmysh wrote on 2019-10-23, 07:45:

- Digital Integration Hind (Windows version, Software rendering) and patches (if not integrated into your installation)
- Digital Integration Apache (Windows version, Software rendering) and patches (if not integrated into your installation)
- Digital Integration iF-16 and Afghanistan campaign addon (Windows version, Software rendering)

Can't we use 3dfx patch, or Front Line Fighters version?

Never thought this thread would be that long, but now, for something different.....
Kreshna Aryaguna Nurzaman.

Reply 46 of 50, by Muz

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

I have problem with FA18, why the camera in the pilot cockpit keeps panning up, and and cannot look forward, when in F1 view?

Also the game lags, with ddraw.dll. Why is that?

Reply 47 of 50, by Hippo

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
vedmysh wrote on 2019-10-23, 07:45:

- Jane's F-18 and 1.01 patch

Note: it's only Jane's F-18 I'm interested in.

Hi, I'm playing around with this again and noticed that F-18 seems to work just by installing the game (and apply 101f patch and no-cd exe) and then copy over the following three files from your package into the F-18 game folder:

dgVoodoo.conf
D3DImm.dll
DDraw.dll

The game then runs very well (apart from some minor issues - two mouse cursors, occasional graphical glitches - in the game interface). Since I don't understand what is going on, I just wanted to check whether that's all that's necessary for F-18, as it simplifies and makes for a cleaner install.

Copying the same three files into a "clean" TSH install also appears to work.

Thanks again for all your efforts btw.

Reply 48 of 50, by BEEN_Nath_58

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Can anyone explain why renaming .UV2 movies to .UV_ fixes the text in F-15? Technically deleting has also given the same result but what's the issue being cause in loading from HDD?

previously known as Discrete_BOB_058

Reply 49 of 50, by damson

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
BEEN_Nath_58 wrote on 2022-01-12, 07:34:

Can anyone explain why renaming .UV2 movies to .UV_ fixes the text in F-15? Technically deleting has also given the same result but what's the issue being cause in loading from HDD?

It's not an issue of loading them from HDD/CD. The game will not try to load them from the CD when it doesn't find them on HDD, it will not load them at all. And since they break the text, that's what we want.

Re: Jane's Longbow Anthology/Jane's F-15/Jane's F/A-18 compatibility pack

My youtube channel - flight sims new and old

Reply 50 of 50, by BEEN_Nath_58

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
damson wrote on 2022-01-15, 11:08:
BEEN_Nath_58 wrote on 2022-01-12, 07:34:

Can anyone explain why renaming .UV2 movies to .UV_ fixes the text in F-15? Technically deleting has also given the same result but what's the issue being cause in loading from HDD?

The game will not try to load them from the CD when it doesn't find them on HDD, it will not load them at all. And since they break the text, that's what we want.

I don't understand this line. I see that if I scroll text in the areas where text is not visible, they can be seen during scrolling. This probably confirms the fact that the text loads, but is not rendered properly. I don't get why text can be rendered when loaded from CD. Probably you can explain it better.

previously known as Discrete_BOB_058