WIP versions

General information and assistance with dgVoodoo.

Re: WIP versions

Postby lowenz » 2018-5-14 @ 21:00

lowenz wrote:I will test with a more modern GT 750 Ti.

Glide and ddraw on par in this case.
So maybe Glide implementation get a serious performance hit on DX10-only GPUs.
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 943
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: WIP versions

Postby Dege » 2018-5-15 @ 06:44

I didn't yet upgrade to Spring Creators Update (still on 1709 (16299.371)). Is the Alt-Tab issue with it been solved meanwhile?

lowenz wrote:I get a terrible performance with Glide (Unreal) and a mobile 9600 GT, way too far BAD confronting to DDRAW!
I will test with a more modern GT 750 Ti.

Yes, 9600 GT is just too old for dgvoodoo. That's why I didn't want to add 10.0 support in the beginning, and later intended that for late DX10 hardware after all.
Pure DDraw (without D3D) is much cheaper than Glide.
Dege
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1184
Joined: 2003-9-04 @ 11:06

Re: WIP versions

Postby djc5166 » 2018-5-15 @ 15:13

lowenz wrote:
Dege wrote:Yes, I explained that in
viewtopic.php?f=59&t=34931&start=3540#p665218

It clearly shows that crash occurs in ReShade's dxgi. I even gave a tip for the possible problem.
dgVoodoo does nothing special tricky thing that should be 'fixed', especially if previous ReShade versions worked with it. :S

Solved! :D

https://github.com/crosire/reshade/comm ... da83c5f7c7

And I confirm it's working as ever, now :D


Built from github this morning, can also confirm it is working.
djc5166
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2018-5-15 @ 15:11

Re: WIP versions

Postby ZellSF » 2018-5-15 @ 19:07

Dege wrote:I didn't yet upgrade to Spring Creators Update (still on 1709 (16299.371)). Is the Alt-Tab issue with it been solved meanwhile?

Isn't that something you can fix by disabling focus assist (a feature somewhat relating to notifications)? I don't notice any alt-tab issues, but it could be because I've turned off notifications earlier and I'm not a heavy alt-tab user (though I did test with the 15 games I have installed).
ZellSF
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1023
Joined: 2006-1-01 @ 18:19

Re: WIP versions

Postby Dege » 2018-5-15 @ 19:45

ZellSF wrote:Isn't that something you can fix by disabling focus assist (a feature somewhat relating to notifications)? I don't notice any alt-tab issues, but it could be because I've turned off notifications earlier and I'm not a heavy alt-tab user (though I did test with the 15 games I have installed).

Indeed! I forgot about that. I'm going to upgrade to it soon.

-----------

I share the newest thing for testing:

=========================
WIP46:
=========================

A little addition to WIP45:

- Forceable internal bit depth of depth buffers
- minor bug fixed related to alphablending, again


http://dege.fw.hu/temp/dgVoodooWIP46.zip
http://dege.fw.hu/temp/dgVoodooWIP46_dbg.zip

Forcemin24 should be the default for 'DepthBuffersBitDepth' (like 32 bit quality is the default for color buffers) but I didn't do extensive testing and I'm afraid it would break some z-sensitive games like Gorky17.
Dege
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1184
Joined: 2003-9-04 @ 11:06

Re: WIP versions

Postby ZellSF » 2018-5-15 @ 20:47

I Was An Atomic Mutant, Simon the Sorcer 3D and Treasure Planet: Battle at Procyon all look a lot better now. They definitely were made with 24 bit depth buffers in mind.
ZellSF
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1023
Joined: 2006-1-01 @ 18:19

Re: WIP versions

Postby KainXVIII » 2018-5-15 @ 21:23

ZellSF wrote:I Was An Atomic Mutant, Simon the Sorcer 3D and Treasure Planet: Battle at Procyon all look a lot better now. They definitely were made with 24 bit depth buffers in mind.

Simon 3d? I need to check it out =)
Or someone will post comparison screenshots before me :cool:
User avatar
KainXVIII
Member
 
Posts: 265
Joined: 2015-5-20 @ 15:04
Location: Yaroslavl

Re: WIP versions

Postby ZellSF » 2018-5-15 @ 22:13

It's not really easy to show z-fighting problems in screenshots. Here's a video comparison though:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_7KN30r9WVg
ZellSF
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1023
Joined: 2006-1-01 @ 18:19

Re: WIP versions

Postby KainXVIII » 2018-5-15 @ 23:16

ZellSF wrote:It's not really easy to show z-fighting problems in screenshots. Here's a video comparison though:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_7KN30r9WVg

Difference is clear, great upgrade!
I did not even know that DgVoodoo had "hidden" [DirectXExt] section in config file though..need to RTFM it somehow
User avatar
KainXVIII
Member
 
Posts: 265
Joined: 2015-5-20 @ 15:04
Location: Yaroslavl

Re: WIP versions

Postby Dreadmoth » 2018-5-16 @ 00:28

Nice, forcemin24bit considerably improves Mechwarrior 3 and Heavy Gear 2.

So far I've only noticed one minor artifact - in Shogo, the shading of the player hands with pistols equipped misbehaves and flickers in motion:
appdriven
forcemin24bit
Maybe the faces are duplicated and the default z-precision hides the issue...
Windows 7 64-bit | Intel Core i7-4770 @ 3.4GHz | Gigabyte GeForce GTX 460 OC 1GB | Samsung S23A700D, 1920x1080@120Hz | Gigabyte GA-Z87-HD3 | Corsair Vengeance 16GB DDR3, 1866MHz @ 9-9-9-24 | Samsung 840 PRO 256GB (system) | WD Black 2TB (storage)
User avatar
Dreadmoth
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2017-4-28 @ 16:43
Location: Australia

Re: WIP versions

Postby lowenz » 2018-5-16 @ 09:58

Can anybody check MechCommander Gold on the lastest Win10 update?
With dgVooodoo2 the game can't even initialize (without it works).

Not even a log file created......
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 943
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: WIP versions

Postby Dege » 2018-5-16 @ 11:38

KainXVIII wrote:
ZellSF wrote:It's not really easy to show z-fighting problems in screenshots. Here's a video comparison though:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_7KN30r9WVg

Difference is clear, great upgrade!
I did not even know that DgVoodoo had "hidden" [DirectXExt] section in config file though..need to RTFM it somehow

The current concept is the CPL exposes only the options used and changed frequently or may vary game by game.
All others are rarely needed and treated as 'special' and they are in different sections in the config file.

I may move some of them into the CPL sections though for future releases (but not for patches of 2.55).

Dreadmoth wrote:Maybe the faces are duplicated and the default z-precision hides the issue...

Yes, the imprecision of 16 bit z-buffers has some advantage over its drawbacks. For example, it can suppress z-fighting more than 24 bit ones.
That's one of the reasons why I think forcing 24bit by default wouldn't be a good idea.
Dege
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1184
Joined: 2003-9-04 @ 11:06

Re: WIP versions

Postby szabozadam » 2018-5-16 @ 13:44

Dege wrote:Things are going slowly nowadays so I share a little WIP compiled from the branch of 2.55 (I want some more fixes in the patch version though):


Sorry to bother you, the fix regarding Soldiers of Anarchy is only half good the game still makes dgVoodoo lose the light part of the stateblock when you move the camera (I think the actual trigger is a new mesh being added to the scene as a result of frustum culling but that is just speculation)

Here is a demo with WIP45 or WIP46:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2cMQxBYOafI
szabozadam
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2017-8-04 @ 03:04

Re: WIP versions

Postby ZellSF » 2018-5-16 @ 15:16

lowenz wrote:Can anybody check MechCommander Gold on the lastest Win10 update?
With dgVooodoo2 the game can't even initialize (without it works).

Not even a log file created......

Besides insisting on running a window, it works fine for me. You need to disable mouse capture if you haven't. Also set desktop resolution to game resolution (because losing focus = crash and it only works windowed).
mcx.jpg
ZellSF
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1023
Joined: 2006-1-01 @ 18:19

Re: WIP versions

Postby UCyborg » 2018-5-16 @ 16:40

Regarding Windows 10 Build 17134, among other things:
Microsoft broke the ICopyHook interface in Windows 1803. Until Microsoft fixes the bug in Windows, drag & drop from FileZilla into Explorer will not work on Windows 1803.

https://filezilla-project.org/
UCyborg
Member
 
Posts: 193
Joined: 2015-9-04 @ 11:10

Re: WIP versions

Postby Dege » 2018-5-17 @ 06:11

szabozadam wrote:
Dege wrote:Things are going slowly nowadays so I share a little WIP compiled from the branch of 2.55 (I want some more fixes in the patch version though):


Sorry to bother you, the fix regarding Soldiers of Anarchy is only half good the game still makes dgVoodoo lose the light part of the stateblock when you move the camera (I think the actual trigger is a new mesh being added to the scene as a result of frustum culling but that is just speculation)

Here is a demo with WIP45 or WIP46:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2cMQxBYOafI

Not a problem! Thanks for the feedback!
So, stilll there is something wrong with it, I'll check it out!
Dege
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1184
Joined: 2003-9-04 @ 11:06

Re: WIP versions

Postby WSH303 » 2018-5-18 @ 16:01

Hello,

Would that be possible to check why mouses with high pooling rates have issues with dgVoodoo? For example, in Aliens vs Predator 2 (LithTech) everything works fine only with 125Hz pooling rate. The higher the rate the more choppy the games becomes. And it only happens with dgVoodoo, native works fine.
WSH303
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2016-5-13 @ 13:41

Re: WIP versions

Postby djc5166 » 2018-5-18 @ 21:21

WSH303 wrote:Hello,

Would that be possible to check why mouses with high pooling rates have issues with dgVoodoo? For example, in Aliens vs Predator 2 (LithTech) everything works fine only with 125Hz pooling rate. The higher the rate the more choppy the games becomes. And it only happens with dgVoodoo, native works fine.

I've seen this even with modern games, setting 1000hz in my logitech panel makes some games entirely broken. Probably just has to do with when/where the mouse is read.
djc5166
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2018-5-15 @ 15:11

Re: WIP versions

Postby Dege » 2018-5-22 @ 12:08

szabozadam wrote:
Dege wrote:Things are going slowly nowadays so I share a little WIP compiled from the branch of 2.55 (I want some more fixes in the patch version though):


Sorry to bother you, the fix regarding Soldiers of Anarchy is only half good the game still makes dgVoodoo lose the light part of the stateblock when you move the camera (I think the actual trigger is a new mesh being added to the scene as a result of frustum culling but that is just speculation)

Here is a demo with WIP45 or WIP46:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2cMQxBYOafI

Could you attach the .mis file you're loading in the video, plz?
I tried with several other but couldn't reproduce it. Or maybe I'm using a different version of the game? (some patch is not installed or sg)
Dege
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1184
Joined: 2003-9-04 @ 11:06

Re: WIP versions

Postby szabozadam » 2018-5-22 @ 16:50

Dege wrote:Could you attach the .mis file you're loading in the video, plz?
I tried with several other but couldn't reproduce it. Or maybe I'm using a different version of the game? (some patch is not installed or sg)



Ah I see, the difference in our setups should be the shadow setting (the issue was independent of the .mis file, and the exe version on my end), I just realised that you can only enable shadows with the options menu outside the game (you should be able to open the menu if you run the exe from a cmd like:
Code: Select all
soa -o

) there is a "Shadow detail" option (on/off) in the options tree on the left which I enabled but had forgotten I did.

It become a nonissue though as without shadows the lighting works as it should and it seems this feature was so unfinished the ingame menu can't even be used to enable it (I didn't experience any natively (years and years ago on an era appropriate pc) but it is entirely possible that the shadow rendering has/had glitches as a result of this state of incompleteness and should be kept disabled, nevertheless the current(win8.1 "current") default windows supplied ddraw.dll manages them somehow so for the sake of completeness it may be worth looking into (if indeed I'm correct and enabling shadows will mess up the stateblocks on your end aswell) but that is your call)

Thanks for taking a look though, helped me figure I should test the possible settings again :)

(furthermore I managed to modify reshade (I didn't use this while investigating the lighting issue) to cut the scene composition in half and inject the depth dependent effects under the UI which further invalidates the need for the shadows as I personally think AO looks nicer (this is a very niche thing to do as I learnt so I totally understand if anyone finds the original to be the better looking )
Image
Image
)
szabozadam
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2017-8-04 @ 03:04

PreviousNext

Return to dgVoodoo General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests