DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Developer's Forum, for discussion of bugs, code, and other developmental aspects of DOSBox.

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby igermi » 2019-5-05 @ 04:35

jmarsh wrote:Set output to opengl (or openglnb) as well.


I messed with this some more. For some reason, I can't get it to stretch the full width of the screen. opengl does "blend" the graphics a little better though.
igermi
Newbie
 
Posts: 27
Joined: 2019-4-03 @ 14:06

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby igermi » 2019-5-05 @ 04:36

igermi wrote:
One thing I notice (on windows with ECE) it almost seems like the volume in the game changes a little from time to time, without me adjusting it. I don't see a setting enabled (by default) that would do this. Has anyone else noticed this?


By the way this volume issue was not a dosbox issue, it was a windows issue with "smart volume" turned on. I disabled this and the volume fluctuations stopped.
igermi
Newbie
 
Posts: 27
Joined: 2019-4-03 @ 14:06

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby Delfino Furioso » 2019-5-08 @ 09:08

igermi wrote:
jmarsh wrote:Set output to opengl (or openglnb) as well.


I messed with this some more. For some reason, I can't get it to stretch the full width of the screen.
opengl does "blend" the graphics a little better though.


assuming we're dealing with games using VGA 13h Mode
they'll output at a 320x200 resolution, corresponding to a 16:10 aspect ratio - there is no way to make them fit a 16:9 display

they will always be pillar-boxed (black borders on left and right) unless you:
- patch the renderer to crop the image (why would anyone wanto to do that?) along the top/bottom edges
- let your video driver (or display hardware) stretch the 16:10 image to the 16:9 aspect ratio


with aspect=true, dosbox will stretch that 320x200 game output to a 320x240 render output, which has a 4:3 (aka 12:9, aka 16:12) aspect ratio
in this case you'll experience a more pronounced pillar-boxing (bigger black borders)






otherwise, if the game implement VGA Mode X :
- the game output resolution will be 320x240 (with a 4:3/12:9/16:12 aspect ratio)
- dosbox "aspect" configuration parameter will have no effect
- you'll experience pillar-boxing






bottom line: the only way to have dosbox fill the entirety of a 16:9 screen without cropping anything is to let the windows/linux display driver stretch the image
Delfino Furioso
Newbie
 
Posts: 11
Joined: 2017-12-07 @ 10:02

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby collector » 2019-5-08 @ 16:07

Seems odd to be trying to use ECE when you want to stretch the image to completely fill the screen. One of the main features of ECE is the Pixel Perfect patch, which is intended to display the screens with the proper perspective for graphical accuracy. It makes no sense to distort it.
User avatar
collector
l33t
 
Posts: 4334
Joined: 2003-1-15 @ 10:39

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby aardvark82 » 2019-5-17 @ 13:14

640x480 --> 960x720 surfacenp scaling is glitchy since ECE r4180.3
Bottom of the window doesn't update properly. Works fine on r4180.2 and older.
Attachments
surfacenp_640x480_960x720.png
aardvark82
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2017-6-08 @ 09:41

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby Yesterplay80 » 2019-5-17 @ 13:44

Which game is that?
My full-featured DOSBox SVN builds (without debugger) for Windows: Vanilla DOSBox and DOSBox ECE (Enhanced Community Edition)
User avatar
Yesterplay80
Member
 
Posts: 399
Joined: 2016-2-23 @ 11:02
Location: Germany

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby aardvark82 » 2019-5-17 @ 13:53

Angel Devoid. Same behavior also on Windows 3.1
aardvark82
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2017-6-08 @ 09:41

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby Yesterplay80 » 2019-5-19 @ 11:35

Could you please post your conf file, so far I couldn't reproduce the issue. Does that happen only when you have to change the disc or is it a constant issue? If it happens only on certain events, a savegame would be helpful as well.
My full-featured DOSBox SVN builds (without debugger) for Windows: Vanilla DOSBox and DOSBox ECE (Enhanced Community Edition)
User avatar
Yesterplay80
Member
 
Posts: 399
Joined: 2016-2-23 @ 11:02
Location: Germany

Re: DOSBox ECE (for Windows & Linux)

Postby aardvark82 » 2019-5-19 @ 14:58

It's a constant behaviour with any 640x480 resolution game i've tested, but only when scaling to 960x720.
My dosbox.conf:
Code: Select all
[sdl]
fullscreen=false
fulldouble=false
fullresolution=1920x1080
windowresolution=960x720
output=surfacenp
surfacenp-sharpness=0
autolock=true
sensitivity=100
waitonerror=true
usescancodes=true
priority=higher,normal

[dosbox]
machine=svga_s3
memsize=16

[render]
frameskip=0
aspect=true
scaler=none

[cpu]
core=dynamic
cputype=auto
cycles=fixed 29400
#cycles=max 70%
cycleup=10
cycledown=20

[mixer]
nosound=false
rate=48000
blocksize=2048
prebuffer=80

[midi]
mpu401=intelligent
mididevice=fluidsynth
midiconfig=
fluid.soundfont=.\8MBGMSFX.SF2
fluid.gain= .25

[sblaster]
sbtype=sb16
sbbase=220
irq=7
dma=1
hdma=5
sbmixer=true
oplmode=auto
oplrate=48000
oplemu=default

[gus]
gus=false
gusrate=44100
gusbase=240
gusirq=5
gusdma=1
ultradir=C:\ULTRASND

[speaker]
pcspeaker=false
pcrate=44100
tandy=auto
tandyrate=44100
disney=false

[dos]
xms=true
ems=true
umb=true
keyboardlayout=US
files=50

[joystick]
joysticktype=none
timed=true
autofire=false
swap34=false
buttonwrap=false

[serial]
serial1=dummy
serial2=dummy
serial3=disabled
serial4=disabled

[autoexec]
@echo off
SET PATH=Z:\
keyb US 437
mount C ".\VirtualC\" -freesize 2162
imgmount D ".\ISO\Angel_1.cue" ".\ISO\Angel_2.cue" ".\ISO\Angel_3.cue" ".\ISO\Angel_4.cue" -t iso -fs iso
echo.
C:
cd angel
angel.exe
aardvark82
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2017-6-08 @ 09:41

Previous

Return to DOSBox Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests