Can copying Dos to a CD work for reinstalls

Getting old software/games running on older hardware.

Can copying Dos to a CD work for reinstalls

Postby GabrielKnight123 » 2018-8-10 @ 13:20

I have been reinstalling Dos over and over trying to get a boot manager working and I asked before about putting a HDD with Dos into another PC and the answer was swapping the HDD would work but what about if I install Dos then plug the HDD into my main i7 PC and copy everything like C:\Dos and all hidden files autoexec.bat + config.sys etc to a CD would I be able to then copy from the CD to a reformatted HDD to get Dos back? This would save me so much time but does Dos change anything at a hard drive level at all?
GabrielKnight123
Member
 
Posts: 221
Joined: 2017-3-03 @ 15:39

Re: Can copying Dos to a CD work for reinstalls

Postby Jo22 » 2018-8-10 @ 14:11

As far as I understand you posting, yes, that works. However, you would have to copy the system files using SYS (SYS C:).
This should work if the new HDD was partitioned with FDISK first and then formatted with the /B parameter (reserves spare space for boot sector and MSDOS.SYS/IO.SYS).
If it was formated with the /S parameter, the system files and the boot sector should be there already.

If you like to install MS-DOS 6.22 off a CD-ROM, you could also look out for an old DOS 6.22 CD-ROM.
Be it physical or.. Anyway, make sure you've got a DOS 6.22 license (COA ceritificate). ;)
"Time, it seems, doesn't flow. For some it's fast, for some it's slow.
In what to one race is no time at all, another race can rise and fall..." - The Minstrel

//My video channel//
User avatar
Jo22
l33t
 
Posts: 2710
Joined: 2009-12-13 @ 07:06
Location: Europe

Re: Can copying Dos to a CD work for reinstalls

Postby GabrielKnight123 » 2018-8-10 @ 15:10

Thanks jo22 yes I bought my original Dos 6.21 disks of ebay that were sealed with COA but if I dont use SYS C: or format /B and just copy everything over will that work?
GabrielKnight123
Member
 
Posts: 221
Joined: 2017-3-03 @ 15:39

Re: Can copying Dos to a CD work for reinstalls

Postby Azarien » 2018-8-10 @ 16:09

GabrielKnight123 wrote:if I dont use SYS C: or format /B and just copy everything over will that work?


Then your HDD will not be bootable.
Azarien
Oldbie
 
Posts: 522
Joined: 2015-5-14 @ 07:14

Re: Can copying Dos to a CD work for reinstalls

Postby oeuvre » 2018-8-12 @ 19:22

honestly just copy via USB to IDE adapter
Dell Optiplex GXa Pentium II 266MHz, 256MB, ATI Rage XL, IBM HD, SB16, DOS/3.11/98
i7 6700K, 32GB, EVGA GTX970, 256GB M.2 SSD + HD, Windows 10
Image
User avatar
oeuvre
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1616
Joined: 2015-3-31 @ 13:31
Location: USA

Re: Can copying Dos to a CD work for reinstalls

Postby Jo22 » 2018-8-13 @ 04:21

I'd use an USB pen drive or SD/MMC/CF card+card reader. On both types DOS can be installed on (bootable, even).
"Time, it seems, doesn't flow. For some it's fast, for some it's slow.
In what to one race is no time at all, another race can rise and fall..." - The Minstrel

//My video channel//
User avatar
Jo22
l33t
 
Posts: 2710
Joined: 2009-12-13 @ 07:06
Location: Europe

Re: Can copying Dos to a CD work for reinstalls

Postby chinny22 » 2018-8-14 @ 11:56

GabrielKnight123 wrote:Thanks jo22 yes I bought my original Dos 6.21 disks of ebay that were sealed with COA but if I dont use SYS C: or format /B and just copy everything over will that work?


To use your wording this is the only part of dos that does "Dos change anything at a hard drive level"
so you will still need to run the command,
User avatar
chinny22
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1854
Joined: 2011-8-26 @ 12:02
Location: Australian but living in the UK for now


Return to Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Davros, ruthan and 1 guest