Network Q RAC Rally (Pixelcraft/Europress) floppy version on DOSBox

Having problems with a specific game or application? Post your problems here!

Network Q RAC Rally (Pixelcraft/Europress) floppy version on DOSBox

Postby Slay4r » 2019-3-07 @ 11:05

Hi. Sorry to dig up such an old thread: viewtopic.php?f=7&t=5251
but i found no info or help elsewhere....

First, i have to clarify that i did succeeded to run Network Q RAC Rally (Europress) floppy version on DOSBox. I tried various configs and the best i could found is with core=dynamic, cputype=486_slow, cycles=9000.
It's a very difficult game to run through DOSBox, imho, because if we increase cycles it runs too fast, but if we decrease cycles it looks choppy (can't render those textures and loose smoothness).
Does anyone here succeeded in running this game smooth on DOSBox? If so, can you share your config file?
Slay4r
Newbie
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 2014-11-15 @ 21:19

Re: Network Q RAC Rally (Pixelcraft/Europress) floppy version on DOSBox

Postby Stiletto » 2019-3-07 @ 17:39

Split post to new topic. Moved to DOSBox Games/Apps.
"I see a little silhouette-o of a man, Scaramouche, Scaramouche, will you
do the Fandango!" - Queen

Stiletto
User avatar
Stiletto
l33t
 
Posts: 4250
Joined: 2002-7-01 @ 21:57

Re: Network Q RAC Rally (Pixelcraft/Europress) floppy version on DOSBox

Postby VirtuaIceMan » 2019-3-19 @ 12:59

Yeah it can be tricky; make it fast and you can breeze through every track by wallriding, and all the opposition cars retire (lol). Make it too slow and it's choppy. There's some keys in the game to increase draw depth too I think, something like F12 or Ctrl & +, I forget. I'll be looking at it when I get to it on my Every PC Rally Game YouTube playlist (which just needs starting ha!).
My PC spec: Win10 64bit, i7-4970K (not overclocked) MSI Nvidia GeForce GTX 980, Creative Soundblaster ZXr, 16GB RAM, Asus Z97-A motherboard, NZXT 410 case, ROG Swift GSYNC monitor
User avatar
VirtuaIceMan
Oldbie
 
Posts: 914
Joined: 2003-12-22 @ 00:57

Re: Network Q RAC Rally (Pixelcraft/Europress) floppy version on DOSBox

Postby VirtuaIceMan » 2019-4-09 @ 23:44

I just checked the manual, you can use +/- on keyboard to increase road draw distance, and +/- on the keypad to increase sprite draw distance.

But it's still likely to run at either a crazy frame rate or a jerky one. The bigger issue of running it fast is that if you collide with the scenery, instead of your car rolling, the game accelerates further, so you can complete a stage in 6 seconds, whilst all the opposition cars retire!
My PC spec: Win10 64bit, i7-4970K (not overclocked) MSI Nvidia GeForce GTX 980, Creative Soundblaster ZXr, 16GB RAM, Asus Z97-A motherboard, NZXT 410 case, ROG Swift GSYNC monitor
User avatar
VirtuaIceMan
Oldbie
 
Posts: 914
Joined: 2003-12-22 @ 00:57

Re: Network Q RAC Rally (Pixelcraft/Europress) floppy version on DOSBox

Postby Slay4r » 2019-4-10 @ 15:37

Thanks for the replies! I think i have to play it choppy, then.
Slay4r
Newbie
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 2014-11-15 @ 21:19


Return to DOSBox Games/Apps

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest