Maintaining original resolution in fullscreen?

General information and assistance with DOSBox.

Maintaining original resolution in fullscreen?

Postby jez » 2019-3-10 @ 11:29

When I configure things thus:

Code: Select all
fullresolution      = desktop
windowresolution    = original
output              = surface
...
aspect    = false
scaler    = normal4x

DOSBox will scale the video to 4x both in windowed and fullscreen modes (in fullscreen mode you get letterboxing to achieve this).

However, when I change output from surface to any of the more modern outputs like ddraw or opengl, fullscreen mode always stretches the video to the resolution of my desktop. Is there any way I can get the 'surface' behaviour with one of the more modern output types?
== Jez ==
User avatar
jez
Member
 
Posts: 190
Joined: 2002-9-24 @ 20:40

Re: Maintaining original resolution in fullscreen?

Postby jmarsh » 2019-3-12 @ 01:11

Change aspect to true.
jmarsh
Member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: 2014-1-04 @ 09:17

Re: Maintaining original resolution in fullscreen?

Postby kjliew » 2019-3-12 @ 01:47

You probably also need to use an output that support hardware scaling, such as opengl, openglnb or ddraw, and disable the software scaling with "scaler=none". The "output=surface" does not support hardware scaling, and that will hurt performance with "aspect=true".
kjliew
Member
 
Posts: 363
Joined: 2004-1-08 @ 03:03

Re: Maintaining original resolution in fullscreen?

Postby jez » 2019-3-12 @ 09:59

Eh? Did you even read what I posted? I said "output=surface" did achieve the output I wanted.
== Jez ==
User avatar
jez
Member
 
Posts: 190
Joined: 2002-9-24 @ 20:40

Re: Maintaining original resolution in fullscreen?

Postby realnc » 2019-3-19 @ 08:18

I assume you want desktop resolution in fullscreen, but non-scaled output (meaning black borders around it.) I don't think there's a way to do it.

But you can try to set:

fullresolution = original

Which will probably not work well on modern displays. You'll get the nearest available resolution with some form of scaling applied by the display. You can probably fiddle in your monitor's OSD to find scaling settings. Or you can force GPU scaling in your driver control panel and try the scaling options offered there.
User avatar
realnc
Member
 
Posts: 357
Joined: 2010-10-13 @ 11:02

Re: Maintaining original resolution in fullscreen?

Postby jmarsh » 2019-3-19 @ 10:49

realnc wrote:I assume you want desktop resolution in fullscreen, but non-scaled output (meaning black borders around it.) I don't think there's a way to do it.

Sure there is, set aspect to true.
jmarsh
Member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: 2014-1-04 @ 09:17

Re: Maintaining original resolution in fullscreen?

Postby realnc » 2019-3-19 @ 11:05

jmarsh wrote:
realnc wrote:I assume you want desktop resolution in fullscreen, but non-scaled output (meaning black borders around it.) I don't think there's a way to do it.

Sure there is, set aspect to true.

Does not work. It still scales, just with the correct aspect ratio. Which is what one would expect just from that option's name.

The issue here is that when using anything other than surface, using "scaler = none" doesn't work. DOSBox will scale no matter what.
User avatar
realnc
Member
 
Posts: 357
Joined: 2010-10-13 @ 11:02

Re: Maintaining original resolution in fullscreen?

Postby jmarsh » 2019-3-19 @ 12:21

Reading between the lines, OP wants aspect ratio correction ("fullscreen with letterboxing"). If surface already did exactly what he wanted why would he be asking for alternatives?
jmarsh
Member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: 2014-1-04 @ 09:17

Re: Maintaining original resolution in fullscreen?

Postby jez » 2019-3-19 @ 12:53

No I didn't mention aspect ratio correction. I simply want the behaviour you get when you put output=surface in fullscreen - maintain the resolution output by the scaler and surround it in a letterbox - when you put output=opengl or similar.
== Jez ==
User avatar
jez
Member
 
Posts: 190
Joined: 2002-9-24 @ 20:40

Re: Maintaining original resolution in fullscreen?

Postby jmarsh » 2019-3-19 @ 15:30

So what is the point of using the opengl output if you want it to look exactly the same as surface? The whole idea of using those output modes is to take advantage of hardware scaling...
jmarsh
Member
 
Posts: 134
Joined: 2014-1-04 @ 09:17

Re: Maintaining original resolution in fullscreen?

Postby jez » 2019-3-19 @ 15:44

For one thing, surface output kicks Windows 7 out of Aero and opengl doesn't.
== Jez ==
User avatar
jez
Member
 
Posts: 190
Joined: 2002-9-24 @ 20:40

Re: Maintaining original resolution in fullscreen?

Postby keenmaster486 » 2019-3-19 @ 17:07

fullresolution=desktop
output=openglnb
aspect=true
scaler=none
I flermmed the plootash just like you asked.

http://classictechnology.herokuapp.com
Vintage desktops: Pentium/MMX 200 (Win95), 286-12 (MS-DOS 5.0)
Vintage laptops: IBM Thinkpad A20m, IBM Thinkpad 560X, IBM Thinkpad 365CD
User avatar
keenmaster486
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1615
Joined: 2016-2-16 @ 02:04
Location: Atroxus

Re: Maintaining original resolution in fullscreen?

Postby realnc » 2019-3-19 @ 17:12

keenmaster486 wrote:fullresolution=desktop
output=openglnb
aspect=true
scaler=none

Nope, still scales.
User avatar
realnc
Member
 
Posts: 357
Joined: 2010-10-13 @ 11:02

Re: Maintaining original resolution in fullscreen?

Postby keenmaster486 » 2019-3-19 @ 17:19

Works for me on all of my systems, only difference being I actually type in my desktop resolution e.g. 1920x1080

Edit: straight from my dosbox.conf:
Code: Select all
fullscreen=false
fulldouble=false
fullresolution=1280x800
windowresolution=800x600
output=openglnb
autolock=true
sensitivity=100
waitonerror=true
priority=higher,normal
mapperfile=mapper-0.74-2.map
usescancodes=true


language=
machine=svga_s3
captures=capture
memsize=16


frameskip=0
aspect=true
scaler=none
I flermmed the plootash just like you asked.

http://classictechnology.herokuapp.com
Vintage desktops: Pentium/MMX 200 (Win95), 286-12 (MS-DOS 5.0)
Vintage laptops: IBM Thinkpad A20m, IBM Thinkpad 560X, IBM Thinkpad 365CD
User avatar
keenmaster486
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1615
Joined: 2016-2-16 @ 02:04
Location: Atroxus

Re: Maintaining original resolution in fullscreen?

Postby keenmaster486 » 2019-3-19 @ 17:24

Here you can see the results; it does not scale in standard text mode (but it does if you run a text-mode program such as Adlib Tracker II), but it definitely scales in graphics mode:
Screen Shot 2019-03-19 at 11.22.37 AM.png

Screen Shot 2019-03-19 at 11.22.49 AM.png
I flermmed the plootash just like you asked.

http://classictechnology.herokuapp.com
Vintage desktops: Pentium/MMX 200 (Win95), 286-12 (MS-DOS 5.0)
Vintage laptops: IBM Thinkpad A20m, IBM Thinkpad 560X, IBM Thinkpad 365CD
User avatar
keenmaster486
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1615
Joined: 2016-2-16 @ 02:04
Location: Atroxus

Re: Maintaining original resolution in fullscreen?

Postby realnc » 2019-3-19 @ 17:26

keenmaster486 wrote:Here you can see the results; it does not scale in standard text mode

What are you talking about? That's scaled... :lol: Change output to "surface" and then you'll get unscaled original size.
User avatar
realnc
Member
 
Posts: 357
Joined: 2010-10-13 @ 11:02

Re: Maintaining original resolution in fullscreen?

Postby keenmaster486 » 2019-3-19 @ 17:29

realnc wrote:What are you talking about? That's scaled... :lol: Change output to "surface" and then you'll get unscaled original size.

Oops, I misspoke - it DOES scale in standard text mode but NOT in graphics mode!
I flermmed the plootash just like you asked.

http://classictechnology.herokuapp.com
Vintage desktops: Pentium/MMX 200 (Win95), 286-12 (MS-DOS 5.0)
Vintage laptops: IBM Thinkpad A20m, IBM Thinkpad 560X, IBM Thinkpad 365CD
User avatar
keenmaster486
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1615
Joined: 2016-2-16 @ 02:04
Location: Atroxus

Re: Maintaining original resolution in fullscreen?

Postby realnc » 2019-3-19 @ 17:31

keenmaster486 wrote:Oops, I misspoke - it DOES scale in standard text mode but NOT in graphics mode!

The game screenshot you posted is also scaled. Unless Commander Keen's original resolution is 800 pixels high. Was it an 800x600 game? If yes, then there's nothing to scale to begin with.

Try a 640x480 or 320x240 game.
User avatar
realnc
Member
 
Posts: 357
Joined: 2010-10-13 @ 11:02

Re: Maintaining original resolution in fullscreen?

Postby keenmaster486 » 2019-3-19 @ 17:35

Commander Keen's original resolution is 320x200.

OK, so are we trying to get square pixels here? Because that will not look as intended - every monitor back in the day was 4:3, and 320x200 games did NOT have square pixels. They would always be scaled vertically.

So this method scales everything to an as-large-as-possible box on your modern widescreen monitor with the aspect ratio of a 4:3 CRT, with the characteristic black bars on the sides.
I flermmed the plootash just like you asked.

http://classictechnology.herokuapp.com
Vintage desktops: Pentium/MMX 200 (Win95), 286-12 (MS-DOS 5.0)
Vintage laptops: IBM Thinkpad A20m, IBM Thinkpad 560X, IBM Thinkpad 365CD
User avatar
keenmaster486
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1615
Joined: 2016-2-16 @ 02:04
Location: Atroxus

Re: Maintaining original resolution in fullscreen?

Postby realnc » 2019-3-19 @ 17:37

keenmaster486 wrote:So this method scales everything to an as-large-as-possible box on your modern widescreen monitor with the aspect ratio of a 4:3 CRT, with the characteristic black bars on the sides.

The OP is asking for no scaling at all. For a 320x240 game, that means a small image in the center surrounded by huge black areas, like you get when using "surface" output with a "none" scaler.
User avatar
realnc
Member
 
Posts: 357
Joined: 2010-10-13 @ 11:02

Next

Return to DOSBox General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests