VOGONS


Reply 120 of 127, by gex85

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

While I was at it, I created a "containerized" version of WebOne, using the official Ubuntu Focal Docker image as base.
Although the process of creating the image was pretty straightforward, it turned out to be not exactly lightweight (almost 500 MB in size), probably because I had to install imagemagick and ffmpeg (and all of their dependencies) because the .deb package depends on them. I think it should be possible to create a much more lightweight version by using an Alpine Linux image as base (and omitting ffmpeg and imagemagick) but since I couldn't find any generic Linux amd64 binaries, it would mean that I would have to build it from source first, which is something I haven't looked into (when it comes to Docker) yet.

Tested the resulting WebOne service it with FF 1.5, IE 5.5 and Opera 10 and it seems to work well. 😀

1992 - i486DX2-66 // 1997 - P1-233 MMX // 1998 - P2-350 // 2000 - P3-650 // 2001 - Athlon 1400 // 2003 - Athlon XP 3200+ // 2008 - Xeon E5450 // 2015 - Xeon E3-1240v5

Reply 121 of 127, by ATauenis

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Any deb or rpm package can be unpacked as archive to get binaries: dpkg --unpack. Or GUI tools like File Roller, XArchiver, or even 7-zip on Windows can be used too. This is why I am not providing binaries in tar.gz format.

Much megabytes of depends are need for full functionality like png/webp->gif conversion and YouTube playback. I know not all need this, but seems to be better if the package will have these packages in list of depends. In .deb they can be moved from depend to recommend list, but dotnet-packaging tool (which I've using to build packages) seems to don't know about recommendations. So the only way is to use the depends list.

What about Alpnine build? .NET Core knows about it, and probably a build can be made:

$ sudo apt-get install dotnet-sdk-3.1
$ git clone https://github.com/atauenis/webone.git
$ cd webone
$ dotnet restore
$ dotnet publish -c Release -r linux-musl-x64 --self-contained false
// binaries will be in ./bin/Release/netcoreapp31/linux-musl-x64/publish/

Or set "--self-contained true" to bundle .NET Core Runtime inside (the build will no longer require the Runtime, but will weight much).

2×Soviet ZX-Speccy, 1×MacIIsi, 1×086, 1×286, 2×386DX, 1×386SX, 2×486, 1×P54C, 7×P55C, 6×Slot1, 4×S370, 1×SlotA, 2×S462, ∞×Modern.

Reply 122 of 127, by James Gryphon

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Got a Raspberry Pi 4, with the hope of using it as a WebOne helper for my G4. The Raspberry-specific section of the guide, unfortunately, didn't work out. dotnet-runtime-3.1 is apparently not included in Raspbian/"Raspberry Pi OS"'s repositories, and it's a prerequisite for the .deb, so.

However, I tried the process described for 'Manual Installations'. You have to use the newest ARM version of dotnet-runtime, swapping in 'arm' instead of the x64, of course, like so: "dotnet-runtime-3.1.5-linux-arm.tar.gz". I stumbled over steps 4 and 5, but figured out that the 'WebOne.0.10.2.win-arm.zip' package works for this. The rest of the steps work without much incident, and I was able to get it up and running.

Reply 123 of 127, by ATauenis

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Thanks for your feedback. Found that Microsoft forgotten about debs/rpms for non-x64 Runtimes for Linux. I will rebuild packages for ARM32 (they will contain the Runtime inside) soon, when be free of work.

2×Soviet ZX-Speccy, 1×MacIIsi, 1×086, 1×286, 2×386DX, 1×386SX, 2×486, 1×P54C, 7×P55C, 6×Slot1, 4×S370, 1×SlotA, 2×S462, ∞×Modern.

Reply 124 of 127, by shafferpsu1313

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I thought I had this all ready and working. I have a Windows 10 laptop that I installed the .Net core runtime and the latest WebOne version on.

Webone runs correctly (as administrator), and listens on port 100 (80 was already in use).

I am able to connect from Windows 95/98 and several other machines on the network. However, the web sites i bring up are pretty much all text and empty pictures (with the little red x like they don't exist).

In the WebOne log windows, i get ALOT of 403 Forbidden (seemingly right after it does a GET on an image file). Guessing this is the issue, so trying to debug. Just wanted to see if anybody else had run into this.

Reply 125 of 127, by ATauenis

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
shafferpsu1313 wrote on 2020-07-02, 19:05:

I am able to connect from Windows 95/98 and several other machines on the network. However, the web sites i bring up are pretty much all text and empty pictures (with the little red x like they don't exist).

In the WebOne log windows, i get ALOT of 403 Forbidden (seemingly right after it does a GET on an image file). Guessing this is the issue, so trying to debug. Just wanted to see if anybody else had run into this.

Try to add these lines in webone.conf, then attempt to open such sites:

; HTTP request&response header saving (dumping)
[Edit]
AddHeaderDumping=dump-%Url%.log

What is in the log files (dump-http*.log)?
Seems that these sites are detecting WebOne as a bot. I haven't seen this bug on sites which I am using (however they have no bot protection).

2×Soviet ZX-Speccy, 1×MacIIsi, 1×086, 1×286, 2×386DX, 1×386SX, 2×486, 1×P54C, 7×P55C, 6×Slot1, 4×S370, 1×SlotA, 2×S462, ∞×Modern.

Reply 126 of 127, by ckweb

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

ATauenis, I just had to pop in the forum to thank you again for all of your continuing efforts to actively improve, bug fix and add more features to WebOne and assist all of its users like myself here—you're one in a million, man! 😀

Reply 127 of 127, by McDaddyMark

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

You are a wizard my friend and motivated me create an account just so I could comment on this awesome program. I'm currently playing around with a Compaq Deskpro 6000 running Windows 98SE. I was relegated to using an RDP client to browse for things on a separate server. I began wondering if there was a proxy server solution and I found your project. I'm currently running it and it's working flawlessly. I love how I can watch console and see it actively downloading and converting content. If there is anything specific you would like me to test for you I would be happy to help.