VOGONS

Problems getting network working

Topic actions

First post, by Og

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank

Hello,
I was not sure whether to post this here or elsewhere but since this question involves the CVS I decided to post here.
If I was mistaken, please move this thread to where it belongs (I will find it).

I am a veteran DOSBox user and lately I have been trying to use DOSBox over tcp/ip, but I have met with very little success.
I understand that modem emulation is broken in 0.62 and 0.63 but I was unable to use it in other versions as well.
I tried official 0.61 as well as h-a-l-9000's builds from this thread:
DirectSerial patch
And also tried AEP's CVS and lastly, ykhwong's latest build (which I really liked! Many cool features!), but none of these worked, so I started suspecting my internal firewall. I have an Alcatel Speed Touch Home->Pro router with build-in firewall, so I removed the firewall temporarily and one game out of the 3 I tested worked! The game is Tyrian. the games that didn't work were warcraft and Z.
It seems odd to me that my firewall blocks port 23, since it's the telnet port, but I'm no networking expert.
Normally, this wouldn't be a problem and all I have to do is open this port on both computers, however, as you may know(if you know this router), this router is rather old... it can open a port for only one IP 🙁 but not more, so I can, for example, open 10.2.3.1:23 but then I can't open 10.2.3.2:23 since I already opened port 23 for the computer that uses 10.2.3.1 .
I tried to fiddle with the listenport option, but then I saw that it only affects the port listening to the call and not the port calling, now that is something I don't understand... why am I given the option to change the listening port if the calling port will always be 23? what use does this option have?