What retro activity did you get up to today?

Discussion about old PC hardware.

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby alvaro84 » 2017-10-22 @ 06:35

Got my 939 testbed (Abit AX8) properly see A64X2 CPUs. I have no idea why but the 4200+ I wanted to test showed up as 1 CPU and CPU-Z showed 1 core / 1 thread too.

What's worse I have no idea how I did it. I installed the ACPI multiprocessor and the A64X2 driver, nothing happened. Deleted the one CPU entry from device manager hoping it would find two - still nothing, it found only one after reboot. Then I just restarted, went to the BIOS setup, didn't change anything interesting, saved, booted and voila, two cores with two threads. I'm somewhat confused.

At least it works now...
Shame on us, doomed from the start
May God have mercy on our dirty little hearts
User avatar
alvaro84
Newbie
 
Posts: 76
Joined: 2007-5-24 @ 05:04
Location: Fehérvárcsurgó, Hungary

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby probnot » 2017-10-22 @ 21:54

Cleaned the AT cases I picked up last weekend. I opened up the empty case's PSU to inspect, aaaand...
Image
Image

That's why it was gutted. Might still be OK after a re-cap, but I'm not in need of one right now, so it's getting shelved.

The PSU from the other case is good though, looks like it was replaced mid-90's and the rails measure pretty clean.
User avatar
probnot
Member
 
Posts: 215
Joined: 2017-1-08 @ 01:59
Location: Canada

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby brostenen » 2017-10-22 @ 22:53

Going through old Amiga games disks... Takes a lot of time, testing wich games need the ide controller disabled on my Amiga600, wich games that need to have the kickrom 1.3 disk loaded, and wich games need both. Time consuming to go through some +200 disks.
Don't eat stuff off a 15 year old never cleaned cpu cooler.
Those cakes make you sick I tell.... (never tried though)

My blog: http://to9xct.blogspot.dk

001100 010010 011110 100001 101101 110011
User avatar
brostenen
l33t
 
Posts: 4040
Joined: 2014-5-07 @ 21:13
Location: Northern Jutland, Denmark.

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby brostenen » 2017-10-22 @ 23:01

BloodyCactus wrote:Installed FreeBSD 3.5.1 and BeOS 5 on my K6-2+. Ive was a FreeBSD user since it was a patchset on 386bsd.

Also used to run + develop for BeOS ye-long time ago. I had 3/4/5. Figured I'd take a look at Be5 on my K6 before upgrading it to a Haiku nightly.

aah memories! lol


Nothing beats a good Unix. Well... Unless gaming is on ones mind that is.
I too have experienced FreeBSD installs in the past. I think that was somewere in 1996.
Made my first webpage, hosted on that FreeBSD machine, on that closed intranet at that time.
10 pages, each with a single image of nude pinup girls each, and a back and forth arrow.
Except for the last page, that had a picture of a blind man.... A kind of twisted joke. :-D

I repeated the idea of a twisted joke on webpages, years later, when I studied WebProgramming.
The language that were used on my education was ASP.NET 4.0 with C# and SQL 2008 r2.
I used to have that konami-code script on each and every single website that I produced.
And when triggered, it showed a picture of an polar explorer having shot and killed santa claus.

THIS:

Image
Last edited by brostenen on 2017-10-22 @ 23:08, edited 2 times in total.
Don't eat stuff off a 15 year old never cleaned cpu cooler.
Those cakes make you sick I tell.... (never tried though)

My blog: http://to9xct.blogspot.dk

001100 010010 011110 100001 101101 110011
User avatar
brostenen
l33t
 
Posts: 4040
Joined: 2014-5-07 @ 21:13
Location: Northern Jutland, Denmark.

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby cliffclaven » 2017-10-22 @ 23:03

Stripped down to the bone several cases for anything useful. Spare drive bay covers, rubber feet, speakers, back plane covers, led indicators. Should have enough miscellaneous parts for a good while.
User avatar
cliffclaven
Newbie
 
Posts: 73
Joined: 2017-4-10 @ 18:50

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby CkRtech » 2017-10-22 @ 23:14

probnot wrote:Cleaned the AT cases I picked up last weekend. I opened up the empty case's PSU to inspect, aaaand...
Image

That's why it was gutted. Might still be OK after a re-cap, but I'm not in need of one right now, so it's getting shelved.

The PSU from the other case is good though, looks like it was replaced mid-90's and the rails measure pretty clean.


Ha. Oh man. Could we get a full shot of that PSU? Based on the output side, I imagine the primary side is two caps by their lonesome + a barren wasteland of PCB that is void of components? What is the brand and model?
User avatar
CkRtech
Member
 
Posts: 392
Joined: 2014-8-23 @ 00:54
Location: Seattle, WA

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby BitWrangler » 2017-10-22 @ 23:25

How dare you malign and rebuke what could have been one of Lucky Star's finest examples of engineering :D
Basement full of ancient PC stuff, starting to go through it. Most recently toyed with DOS era stuff 15 years ago, so memory might be rusty. So what's this BitWrangler guy's deal ??? >>> http://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?f=25&t=56382
User avatar
BitWrangler
Member
 
Posts: 414
Joined: 2017-10-11 @ 00:55

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby probnot » 2017-10-22 @ 23:26

CkRtech wrote:Ha. Oh man. Could we get a full shot of that PSU? Based on the output side, I imagine the primary side is two caps by their lonesome + a barren wasteland of PCB that is void of components? What is the brand and model?


It was actually less barren than you'd think. Still very cheap though (Vtech branded). I've already stored it away in the shed for now.
User avatar
probnot
Member
 
Posts: 215
Joined: 2017-1-08 @ 01:59
Location: Canada

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby gdjacobs » 2017-10-23 @ 00:17

CkRtech wrote:Ha. Oh man. Could we get a full shot of that PSU? Based on the output side, I imagine the primary side is two caps by their lonesome + a barren wasteland of PCB that is void of components? What is the brand and model?


Ah, man, that PSU is such a sexy beast.

Haters gonna hate, I guess.
User avatar
gdjacobs
l33t
 
Posts: 4186
Joined: 2015-11-03 @ 05:51
Location: The Great White North

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby bjwil1991 » 2017-10-23 @ 01:42

Upgraded the memory in my Socket 370 system from 512MB to 768MB, changed the video card from the dreaded GeForce4 MX4000 PCI card (was too slow and some games didn't work out too well - would either crash or not play at all) to the VooDoo3 3000 PCI card that was in my K6-2/300 system (still have the system) and that system has the S3 Virge/VX (Velocity 3D) and STB VooDoo2 accelerator card, 128MB of RAM, no HDD (going to use the 60GB HDD I recently purchased as the drive with the drive limitation set to 32GB), no CD drive (going to buy one, as well as a dual floppy drive), and it'll run either MS-DOS 6.22/Windows for Workgroups 3.11 or Windows 95C.
C64, WheelWriter 10 Series II, Pack-Mate 28 Plus, K6-2/300, Pavilion N3350, iMac G3/600 Graphite, Socket 370, Pavilion 7955, Athlon 64, Dimension 4550, Dimension E510, ThinkPad R40, Presario C700, ASUS X54C, Raspberry Pi B+, 2-3, Custom FX-6300
User avatar
bjwil1991
Oldbie
 
Posts: 566
Joined: 2013-8-14 @ 03:10
Location: United States of America

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby BitWrangler » 2017-10-23 @ 02:44

brostenen wrote:Going through old Amiga games disks... Takes a lot of time, testing wich games need the ide controller disabled on my Amiga600, wich games that need to have the kickrom 1.3 disk loaded, and wich games need both. Time consuming to go through some +200 disks.

That's odd, don't remember having to disable IDE on the 1200, just ran relokick ... was it a tight RAM thing?
Basement full of ancient PC stuff, starting to go through it. Most recently toyed with DOS era stuff 15 years ago, so memory might be rusty. So what's this BitWrangler guy's deal ??? >>> http://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?f=25&t=56382
User avatar
BitWrangler
Member
 
Posts: 414
Joined: 2017-10-11 @ 00:55

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby dexvx » 2017-10-23 @ 05:03

Does anyone know if Athlon MP's require a good 5V rail?

I'm having trouble powering up a Tyan Thunder K7 S2462; it has a ATX12V 24pin connector and an 8pin CPU connector. The board (aside from dust) looks in good condition on initial inspection. I'm using a new Corsair CX750M (20A 3.3V/5V). The fans don't even spin up. I can try my other PSU's, but the older ones only seem to have a 4pin aux connector.

Edit:
Hmm... looks like it doesn't conform to EPS12V standard?

http://www.overclockers.com/forums/show ... U-Question

Edit 2:
Man... If board is useless without ATX GES. If I buy an adapter and board is dead. Well crap.

http://www.rackmount.com/Rackacc/ATXGES.htm
dexvx
Oldbie
 
Posts: 696
Joined: 2017-3-07 @ 03:32
Location: USA

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby CkRtech » 2017-10-23 @ 07:07

gdjacobs wrote:
CkRtech wrote:Ha. Oh man. Could we get a full shot of that PSU? Based on the output side, I imagine the primary side is two caps by their lonesome + a barren wasteland of PCB that is void of components? What is the brand and model?


Ah, man, that PSU is such a sexy beast.

Haters gonna hate, I guess.

lol.
User avatar
CkRtech
Member
 
Posts: 392
Joined: 2014-8-23 @ 00:54
Location: Seattle, WA

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby brostenen » 2017-10-23 @ 09:07

BitWrangler wrote:
brostenen wrote:Going through old Amiga games disks... Takes a lot of time, testing wich games need the ide controller disabled on my Amiga600, wich games that need to have the kickrom 1.3 disk loaded, and wich games need both. Time consuming to go through some +200 disks.

That's odd, don't remember having to disable IDE on the 1200, just ran relokick ... was it a tight RAM thing?


I am using a different software solution. I don't remember the exact name. Though the adf file was named something like kick13for500 or something like that. Basically the one tailored for the Amiga500plus. Using it, because there is no setup at all, and everything runs from a floppy disk. The Amiga600 is after all, basically just an 500 with minor changes, like no numeric keyboard, and an IDE controller plus an PcCard port added to the machine. Nothing like the 32bit 1200 other than it shares a few hardware technologies and the outer design language.
Don't eat stuff off a 15 year old never cleaned cpu cooler.
Those cakes make you sick I tell.... (never tried though)

My blog: http://to9xct.blogspot.dk

001100 010010 011110 100001 101101 110011
User avatar
brostenen
l33t
 
Posts: 4040
Joined: 2014-5-07 @ 21:13
Location: Northern Jutland, Denmark.

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby BitWrangler » 2017-10-23 @ 12:47

dexvx wrote:Does anyone know if Athlon MP's require a good 5V rail?

I'm having trouble powering up a Tyan Thunder K7 S2462; it has a ATX12V 24pin connector and an 8pin CPU connector. The board (aside from dust) looks in good condition on initial inspection. I'm using a new Corsair CX750M (20A 3.3V/5V). The fans don't even spin up. I can try my other PSU's, but the older ones only seem to have a 4pin aux connector.


Hmmm, I'd say 70W per CPU and 20% overhead to be safe.... and you've got 100W so if you can try it single CPU, it might fire up then.
Basement full of ancient PC stuff, starting to go through it. Most recently toyed with DOS era stuff 15 years ago, so memory might be rusty. So what's this BitWrangler guy's deal ??? >>> http://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?f=25&t=56382
User avatar
BitWrangler
Member
 
Posts: 414
Joined: 2017-10-11 @ 00:55

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby oeuvre » 2017-10-23 @ 13:31

Playing around Windows for Workgroups 3.11 on my ThinkPad 770
Attachments
dsd.jpg
HP EliteBook 820 G2
i7 6700K, 32GB, NVIDIA GTX770, 256GB M.2 SSD + HD, Windows 10
Image
User avatar
oeuvre
Oldbie
 
Posts: 771
Joined: 2015-3-31 @ 13:31
Location: USA

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby appiah4 » 2017-10-23 @ 13:53

IRC on Windows 3.11, classic. I can't remember, did Win 3.11 require Trumpet Winsock to go online on a Dial-Up? I presume you are connected via LAN in this setup though?
1993:PCI597-1|P133|32MB|Trio64V2/DX|ES1868
1995:P5I430VX|P233MMX|Virge/DX|CT4520
1997:S1573S|K6-2/400|64MB|M220|V2/SLI|CT4500/32M
1999:BE6-II|P3-700E|256MB|V3-3000|MX300
GX110LP:36XMT|PIII1000|512MB|G450|CT4780|YMF-719
User avatar
appiah4
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1102
Joined: 2017-2-19 @ 07:36

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby bjwil1991 » 2017-10-23 @ 14:07

appiah4 wrote:IRC on Windows 3.11, classic. I can't remember, did Win 3.11 require Trumpet Winsock to go online on a Dial-Up? I presume you are connected via LAN in this setup though?

I even tried to connect to AOL with the LAN connection (username and password were right), but they ended support for the older AOL programs.

And he's using LAN since the system has the Microsoft TCP/IP driver and software installed.
C64, WheelWriter 10 Series II, Pack-Mate 28 Plus, K6-2/300, Pavilion N3350, iMac G3/600 Graphite, Socket 370, Pavilion 7955, Athlon 64, Dimension 4550, Dimension E510, ThinkPad R40, Presario C700, ASUS X54C, Raspberry Pi B+, 2-3, Custom FX-6300
User avatar
bjwil1991
Oldbie
 
Posts: 566
Joined: 2013-8-14 @ 03:10
Location: United States of America

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby oeuvre » 2017-10-23 @ 18:55

Yeah, TCP/IP via tcp32b.exe and a PCMCIA ethernet card (Xircom XEM5600)
HP EliteBook 820 G2
i7 6700K, 32GB, NVIDIA GTX770, 256GB M.2 SSD + HD, Windows 10
Image
User avatar
oeuvre
Oldbie
 
Posts: 771
Joined: 2015-3-31 @ 13:31
Location: USA

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby bjwil1991 » 2017-10-23 @ 19:19

oeuvre wrote:Yeah, TCP/IP via tcp32b.exe and a PCMCIA ethernet card (Xircom XEM5600)

Wait a minute. Is that the same card you posted a picture about a few weeks ago? Interesting.

I'm planning on installing the CardPark I got a couple of days ago into either my Socket 7 (K6-2/300) or Socket 370 system, but it's only ISA.
C64, WheelWriter 10 Series II, Pack-Mate 28 Plus, K6-2/300, Pavilion N3350, iMac G3/600 Graphite, Socket 370, Pavilion 7955, Athlon 64, Dimension 4550, Dimension E510, ThinkPad R40, Presario C700, ASUS X54C, Raspberry Pi B+, 2-3, Custom FX-6300
User avatar
bjwil1991
Oldbie
 
Posts: 566
Joined: 2013-8-14 @ 03:10
Location: United States of America

PreviousNext

Return to General Old Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: debs3759, DerZocker, ElDavo, JidaiGeki, quicknick, ShenTao and 10 guests