What retro activity did you get up to today?

Discussion about old PC hardware.

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby Mister Xiado » 2019-7-06 @ 02:25

For quick reference:
OEMINFO.INI wrote:
Code: Select all
[general]
Manufacturer=Company Name
Model=Custom

[Support Information]
Line1=" For technical support and service,"
Line2=" buy a new computer."


Your logo image, at least in Win9X, 2K, and XP, should be 180x114, and 8 bit color if you want transparency. Palette index 0 will be your transparent color. If you use Paint Shop Pro to create and edit your logo, you can change palette settings under Colors, Edit Palette (in in PSP X, Image, Palette, Edit Palette). Double-click palette index 0 and change it to a color not used in your image. I usually use bright green (#00FF00) or bright purple (#FF00FF). The filenames I use for my images are:
9X: oemlogo.bmp
2K: oemlogo-2k.bmp
XP: oemlogo-xp.bmp
The batch file below handles renaming the files after they've been copied to the appropriate directory. This just allows you to use different images for different Windows Versions, so you can make era-appropriate logos, if that's your fancy.

And for easy-peasy installation of your custom logo and information:
OEM.BAT wrote:
Code: Select all
echo off
copy oemlogo.bmp %systemroot%\system32
rem ***************************************************
rem Script for deploying OEM INFO and OEM LOGO to
rem different operating systems
rem Simon Butler, Amset IT Solutions Ltd. 12-12-03
rem see http://www.amset.info/netadmin/oemlogo.asp
rem Requirements
rem Image file for Windows 2000 named oemlogo-2k.bmp
rem Image file for Windows XP named oemlogo-xp.bmp
rem And oeminfo.ini file.
rem
rem All three files should be placed in the same
rem directory as this batch file
rem If running from login script, place all three files
rem in your "netlogon" share on the domain controllers.
rem Remember - if you are running from a network share
rem it must be a mapped drive!
rem ***************************************************

rem Get the OS and dump to file
ver >%systemdrive%\ver.txt

Rem now find the operating system and act accordingly
findstr "4.0" %systemdrive%\ver.txt
if not errorlevel 1 goto nt4
findstr "5.0" %systemdrive%\ver.txt
if not errorlevel 1 goto win2k
findstr "5.1" %systemdrive%\ver.txt
if not errorlevel 1 goto winxp
findstr "5.2" %systemdrive%\ver.txt
if not errorlevel 1 goto win2003

goto win9x

:nt4
set OpSys-NT4
echo %OpSys% >>%systemdrive%\result.txt
rem Windows NT4 settings

copy oeminfo.ini "%systemroot%\system32"
copy oemlogo-2k.bmp "%systemroot%\system32"
del "%systemroot%\system32"\oemlogo.bmp
rename "%systemroot%\system32\oemlogo-2k.bmp" oemlogo.bmp"

goto next

:win2k
set OpSys=Win2K
echo %OpSys% >>%systemdrive%\result.txt
rem Windows 2000 settings

copy oeminfo.ini "%systemroot%\system32"
copy oemlogo-2k.bmp "%systemroot%\system32"
del "%systemroot%\system32"\oemlogo.bmp
rename "%systemroot%\system32\oemlogo-2k.bmp" oemlogo.bmp"

goto next

:winxp
set OpSys=XP
echo %OpSys% >>%systemdrive%\result.txt
rem Windows XP settings

copy oeminfo.ini "%systemroot%\system32"
copy oemlogo-xp.bmp "%systemroot%\system32"
del "%systemroot%\system32"\oemlogo.bmp
rename "%systemroot%\system32\oemlogo-xp.bmp" oemlogo.bmp"

goto next

:win2003
set OpSys=Win2003
echo %OpSys% >>%systemdrive%\result.txt
rem Windows 2003 settings

copy oeminfo.ini "%systemroot%\system32"
copy oemlogo-xp.bmp "%systemroot%\system32"
del "%systemroot%\system32"\oemlogo.bmp
rename "%systemroot%\system32\oemlogo-xp.bmp" oemlogo.bmp"

goto next

:win9x
set OpSys=9x
echo %OpSys% >>%systemdrive%\result.txt
rem Windows 9x settings

copy oeminfo.ini "%systemroot%\system32\"
copy oemlogo-2k.bmp "%systemroot%\system32\"
del "%systemroot%\system"\oemlogo.bmp
rename "%systemroot%\system\oemlogo-2k.bmp" oemlogo.bmp"

goto next

:next
echo done >>%systemdrive%\result.txt
echo Cleaning up!
del %systemdrive%\result.txt
del %systemdrive%\ver.txt
rem if problems, put REM in front of above two lines
rem to read the results files.


Put all of these on a floppy or flash drive, insert, and run the batch file.
Image - Where it's always 1992 (or so).
Icons, wallpapers, and typical Oldternet nonsense.
User avatar
Mister Xiado
Member
 
Posts: 208
Joined: 2017-9-12 @ 23:04

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby Jed118 » 2019-7-06 @ 04:55

I'm almost done with my hard disk plexiglass thing!

https://youtu.be/lTxyFkq1r9k
Visit my channel on Youtube - Tinkering, 386s, electric powered vehicles:

The Kombinator
Jed118
Member
 
Posts: 465
Joined: 2015-2-03 @ 17:15

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby bakemono » 2019-7-07 @ 00:16

It was hot upstairs so I reorganized some stuff down in the retro room. Decided to hook up my MSX2 system and verify it was still working (been a few years). It still showed the correct date! But it had a 1.4GB HDD connected to a Sunrise IDE cartridge. I had to smack it a few times to get it to spin up, and then some files wouldn't read so I guess it's dying. Time to salvage some data while I still can (of course I probably have all the same files on my PC somewhere)
bakemono
Member
 
Posts: 266
Joined: 2018-1-15 @ 06:56

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby Jed118 » 2019-7-07 @ 04:20

I found a virus on a diskette I installed a game onto a client from.

Naturally, 400+ diskettes were scanned today.

Then I organized them, why not, from this lot:

Image

to this lot:

Image

I took the opportunity to format a handful of diskettes and put them in the "to use" pile while I was at it.

Certified <2006 virus free!
Visit my channel on Youtube - Tinkering, 386s, electric powered vehicles:

The Kombinator
Jed118
Member
 
Posts: 465
Joined: 2015-2-03 @ 17:15

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby TheAbandonwareGuy » 2019-7-07 @ 10:49

Jed118 wrote:I found a virus on a diskette I installed a game onto a client from.

Naturally, 400+ diskettes were scanned today.

Then I organized them, why not, from this lot:

Image

to this lot:

Image

I took the opportunity to format a handful of diskettes and put them in the "to use" pile while I was at it.

Certified <2006 virus free!


What type of virus that would be found on a floppy would be any sort of threat today?
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCuFY6Z ... 2tV8b00x_A
1996|P200MMX|64MB EDO|Virge DX 4MB|SB16 OPL3
1999|P3 933|384MB SDR|GF2 Ultra 64MB|CT4620
User avatar
TheAbandonwareGuy
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1231
Joined: 2016-3-01 @ 02:09
Location: Southern Illinois, United States of America

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby MMaximus » 2019-7-07 @ 11:33

TheAbandonwareGuy wrote:What type of virus that would be found on a floppy would be any sort of threat today?


It certainly is if you use this floppy on a vintage machine with an older OS!
User avatar
MMaximus
Oldbie
 
Posts: 572
Joined: 2014-3-30 @ 20:28
Location: EU

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby Warlord » 2019-7-07 @ 21:12

ThinkPad 770x w/ SelectaDock II
300Mhz P II
512 Ram
Trident 975 8MB
440BX Laptop :lol:
Image


Image

SB64G, Voodoo2,Intell 100s Installed in the Dock
Image
Image

IBM DEVA Mpeg2 Decoder + IBMVCAP Only 30% CPU utilization on Pentium 2 300 MHZ
Image



MDK Performance
Image
Last edited by Warlord on 2019-7-08 @ 17:32, edited 1 time in total.
Warlord
Member
 
Posts: 169
Joined: 2018-2-02 @ 05:14

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby Deksor » 2019-7-08 @ 08:47

What executable do you use for MDK with voodoo 2 ? The only 3dfx patch I can find only works right with a voodoo 1
Deksor
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1664
Joined: 2016-6-07 @ 14:37

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby Warlord » 2019-7-08 @ 17:30

MDK 3DFX VOODOO2 working
http://www.mediafire.com/file/6nyan5pcp ... 7.zip/file

and not sure if it makes a difference I was also using
3D Control Center V1.0
(Direct3D control & switching Utility)
https://3dfxarchive.com/downloads/3dcc.zip
Warlord
Member
 
Posts: 169
Joined: 2018-2-02 @ 05:14

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby aaronkatrini » 2019-7-08 @ 18:42

Went on a 3 hour train ride to buy a 3DFX Voodoo 3 3000 with a BLACK HEATSINK. I'm so fking happy right now.
aaronkatrini
Newbie
 
Posts: 49
Joined: 2018-5-28 @ 14:32

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby cyclone3d » 2019-7-08 @ 18:59

Sorta retro activity related.

I had a really trashed PCChips motherboard box that I was going to throw out.

Then I was working on my John Deere 285 Lawn tractor and needed a gasket fore the oil filler tube.

Noticed that the top layer of the corrugated cardboard for the PCChips box was the perfect thickness for the gasket so I made myself a gasket instead of having to wait at least 2 business days to be able to get one if I ordered it. Just enough silicone glue to make a super thin layer on each side of the gasket when installing and it is as good or better than a stock gasket.
User avatar
cyclone3d
l33t
 
Posts: 3047
Joined: 2015-4-08 @ 06:06
Location: Huntsville, AL USA

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby wiretap » 2019-7-08 @ 23:07

Got a new XP rig test booted and partially built.. bought the motherboard as broken, found out that the only problem was a dead CMOS battery. Other than that, it looks brand new. Weird that it wouldn't boot with a dead CMOS battery. Might have been due to not being able to save memory timing/voltages because it kept throwing the bad memory beep code with everything I put in it.

Specs:
ECS KN1 Extreme
AMD Athlon64 FX-57
Thermaltake Big Typhoon CL-P0114
2GB (4x512MB) Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR500/PC4000/CL2.5
Nvidia GeForce 7800GTX
Coolermaster Mystique "Xoxide/Kikboxes High Roller Case" I won off an Xoxide contest

Next up:
- Install WD Raptor X
- Install DVD-ROM
- Sound card, maybe (DMX6fire or SB Audigy2 ZS)
- Install Windows XP

Image
User avatar
wiretap
Member
 
Posts: 434
Joined: 2018-5-17 @ 08:26
Location: Michigan, USA

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby TheAbandonwareGuy » 2019-7-10 @ 14:01

wiretap wrote:Got a new XP rig test booted and partially built.. bought the motherboard as broken, found out that the only problem was a dead CMOS battery. Other than that, it looks brand new. Weird that it wouldn't boot with a dead CMOS battery. Might have been due to not being able to save memory timing/voltages because it kept throwing the bad memory beep code with everything I put in it.

Specs:
ECS KN1 Extreme
AMD Athlon64 FX-57
Thermaltake Big Typhoon CL-P0114
2GB (4x512MB) Crucial Ballistix Tracer DDR500/PC4000/CL2.5
Nvidia GeForce 7800GTX
Coolermaster Mystique "Xoxide/Kikboxes High Roller Case" I won off an Xoxide contest

Next up:
- Install WD Raptor X
- Install DVD-ROM
- Sound card, maybe (DMX6fire or SB Audigy2 ZS)
- Install Windows XP

Image


What sense would a TerraTec DMX card make for gaming? An X-FI would make much more sense for a build from that era.
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCuFY6Z ... 2tV8b00x_A
1996|P200MMX|64MB EDO|Virge DX 4MB|SB16 OPL3
1999|P3 933|384MB SDR|GF2 Ultra 64MB|CT4620
User avatar
TheAbandonwareGuy
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1231
Joined: 2016-3-01 @ 02:09
Location: Southern Illinois, United States of America

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby henryVK » 2019-7-10 @ 14:01

I finished making this screen bezel for my portable PC case:

Image

There's more pictures in the thread:
https://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?f=25&t=65611
User avatar
henryVK
Member
 
Posts: 258
Joined: 2017-12-29 @ 20:26
Location: Europe

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby wiretap » 2019-7-10 @ 18:07

TheAbandonwareGuy wrote:What sense would a TerraTec DMX card make for gaming? An X-FI would make much more sense for a build from that era.

I don't believe I said it would be used for gaming. I had some other uses planned for it, such as audio/video work - I mentioned the TerraTec card and Audigy2 ZS since I have those on hand with convenient front I/O panels.
User avatar
wiretap
Member
 
Posts: 434
Joined: 2018-5-17 @ 08:26
Location: Michigan, USA

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby bjwil1991 » 2019-7-11 @ 00:27

Cleaned all 14 of my Nintendo 64 game cartridges with DeoxIt and cotton swabs (Q-tips) and the console itself (cartridge slot and left controller ports). I also oiled the heatsink fan for the Socket 5 build a fellow Vogoner sent to me.

Planning on replacing the left controller ports, the cartridge slot, and the casing as it's been broken for a long time. Might do an RGB mod on it.
Discord: https://discord.gg/U5dJw7x
Systems from C64 to FX-6300.
User avatar
bjwil1991
l33t
 
Posts: 2448
Joined: 2013-8-14 @ 03:10
Location: SE, MI USA

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby kalm_traveler » 2019-7-11 @ 01:58

Trying to get this new retro setup going... out of ideas on why it won't POST with the Corsair HX1000 but works just fine with this ancient VPower 400w hunk-o-junk.

20190710_194906.jpg
User avatar
kalm_traveler
Newbie
 
Posts: 83
Joined: 2019-6-17 @ 06:46

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby canthearu » 2019-7-11 @ 04:03

The HX1000 probably doesn't have enough 5 Volt power for it. The Vpower 400W hunk of junk is probably a 3.3V/5V focused PSU, which is why it can handle it better.
canthearu
Oldbie
 
Posts: 625
Joined: 2018-5-26 @ 01:00

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby kalm_traveler » 2019-7-11 @ 04:21

canthearu wrote:The HX1000 probably doesn't have enough 5 Volt power for it. The Vpower 400W hunk of junk is probably a 3.3V/5V focused PSU, which is why it can handle it better.


I thought that as well, but after looking at the numbers I don't think that's the problem...

There are 4 pins in the 20 pin ATX connector which are +5v, and each pin per spec is only rated for 6A, so 24A of +5v total. This VPower LC-B400ATX has 28A on +3.3v, 40A on +5v, and 17A on +12v rails while the Corsair HX1000 has 30A on +3.3v, 30A on +5v and 100A on +12v.

Given that the VPower has 10A more on its 5v rail I also assumed that to be the reason, though pulling over 30A just to boot up seemed a bit outlandish (I was trying with only the CPUs, 1 RAM stick and an AGP card installed).

However... since 24A is the max possible to pull over the 20 pin ATX connector, I am fairly certain that lacking amps on the 5v rail is not the problem.
User avatar
kalm_traveler
Newbie
 
Posts: 83
Joined: 2019-6-17 @ 06:46

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby ODwilly » 2019-7-11 @ 08:09

kalm_traveler wrote:
canthearu wrote:The HX1000 probably doesn't have enough 5 Volt power for it. The Vpower 400W hunk of junk is probably a 3.3V/5V focused PSU, which is why it can handle it better.


I thought that as well, but after looking at the numbers I don't think that's the problem...

There are 4 pins in the 20 pin ATX connector which are +5v, and each pin per spec is only rated for 6A, so 24A of +5v total. This VPower LC-B400ATX has 28A on +3.3v, 40A on +5v, and 17A on +12v rails while the Corsair HX1000 has 30A on +3.3v, 30A on +5v and 100A on +12v.

Given that the VPower has 10A more on its 5v rail I also assumed that to be the reason, though pulling over 30A just to boot up seemed a bit outlandish (I was trying with only the CPUs, 1 RAM stick and an AGP card installed).

However... since 24A is the max possible to pull over the 20 pin ATX connector, I am fairly certain that lacking amps on the 5v rail is not the problem.

Could also be with the giant distance of ATX specs. Like say for example. . .1.3 vs 2.0 or something. The way the PSU delivers power may have something to do with it, like the 12v rail not getting enough usage.
Main pc: Asus Rampage Gene ii, X5650, 250gb Samsung Evo, RX480, 12gb Crucial DDR3 1600.
User avatar
ODwilly
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1831
Joined: 2013-6-18 @ 02:07
Location: Wa. U.S

PreviousNext

Return to General Old Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: assasincz, jheronimus, Tadeh, xjas and 13 guests