VOGONS


Reply 2861 of 2964, by aha2940

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
Aublak wrote on 2020-09-11, 03:24:

I finally found a V3 3500. Here's hoping she still works.

Cool find, just put a heatsink on it before trying it, those things can get pretty hot.

Reply 2862 of 2964, by darry

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
aha2940 wrote on 2020-09-11, 05:20:
Aublak wrote on 2020-09-11, 03:24:

I finally found a V3 3500. Here's hoping she still works.

Cool find, just put a heatsink on it before trying it, those things can get pretty hot.

I second that and recommend that you have at least a fan blowing across the surface of that heatsink and also on the EZ1580CM regulator before putting it into long-term use .

Reply 2863 of 2964, by appiah4

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++
Aublak wrote on 2020-09-11, 03:24:

I finally found a V3 3500. Here's hoping she still works.

Good luck finding the breakout cable..

Retronautics: A digital gallery of my retro computers, hardware and projects.

Reply 2864 of 2964, by austinham

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
aha2940 wrote on 2020-09-11, 05:20:
Aublak wrote on 2020-09-11, 03:24:

I finally found a V3 3500. Here's hoping she still works.

Cool find, just put a heatsink on it before trying it, those things can get pretty hot.

There is two on ebay right now.
One is being sold for parts the the is used and a buy in now.

Reply 2865 of 2964, by Aublak

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
austinham wrote on 2020-09-11, 19:27:
aha2940 wrote on 2020-09-11, 05:20:
Aublak wrote on 2020-09-11, 03:24:

I finally found a V3 3500. Here's hoping she still works.

Cool find, just put a heatsink on it before trying it, those things can get pretty hot.

There is two on ebay right now.
One is being sold for parts the the is used and a buy in now.

I simply bought a DVI-to-VGA adapter

https://www.ebay.com/itm/DVI-I-Digital-Dual-L … 872.m2749.l2649

Cheap enough to try out

Reply 2866 of 2964, by Thermalwrong

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
appiah4 wrote on 2020-09-11, 09:24:
Aublak wrote on 2020-09-11, 03:24:

I finally found a V3 3500. Here's hoping she still works.

Good luck finding the breakout cable..

Can't it just use a DVI to VGA adapter? I recall that being safe, but I've never had a V3500 to test so idk 😁

Reply 2867 of 2964, by darry

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
Aublak wrote on 2020-09-11, 20:22:
I simply bought a DVI-to-VGA adapter […]
Show full quote
austinham wrote on 2020-09-11, 19:27:
aha2940 wrote on 2020-09-11, 05:20:

Cool find, just put a heatsink on it before trying it, those things can get pretty hot.

There is two on ebay right now.
One is being sold for parts the the is used and a buy in now.

I simply bought a DVI-to-VGA adapter

https://www.ebay.com/itm/DVI-I-Digital-Dual-L … 872.m2749.l2649

Cheap enough to try out

I do not think that will work . See Voodoo3 3500TV, connect to monitor?

Reply 2868 of 2964, by Aublak

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
darry wrote on 2020-09-11, 21:25:
Aublak wrote on 2020-09-11, 20:22:
I simply bought a DVI-to-VGA adapter […]
Show full quote
austinham wrote on 2020-09-11, 19:27:

There is two on ebay right now.
One is being sold for parts the the is used and a buy in now.

I simply bought a DVI-to-VGA adapter

https://www.ebay.com/itm/DVI-I-Digital-Dual-L … 872.m2749.l2649

Cheap enough to try out

I do not think that will work . See Voodoo3 3500TV, connect to monitor?

I think I may be good. The adapter I bought was dual link. It spits out both analog and digital.

That 3DFX breakout cable is too expensive and I'd rather not have that "octopus" sticking out the back. Yuck.

Attachments

Reply 2869 of 2964, by darry

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
Aublak wrote on 2020-09-11, 22:49:
darry wrote on 2020-09-11, 21:25:
Aublak wrote on 2020-09-11, 20:22:

I simply bought a DVI-to-VGA adapter

https://www.ebay.com/itm/DVI-I-Digital-Dual-L … 872.m2749.l2649

Cheap enough to try out

I do not think that will work . See Voodoo3 3500TV, connect to monitor?

I think I may be good. The adapter I bought was dual link. It spits out both analog and digital.

That 3DFX breakout cable is too expensive and I'd rather not have that "octopus" sticking out the back. Yuck.

I agree with your sentiment about the purple octopus, but I am afraid even a dual-link DVI adaper will not fit . You need a P&D connector, AFAIK .

See http://www.cablesonline.com/dvianddfpcab.html

EDIT: Pretty sure you need something like this. https://www.amazon.com/Monoprice-Male-HD-15-F … r/dp/B01EIJWQ5A

Reply 2870 of 2964, by Aublak

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
darry wrote on 2020-09-11, 22:53:
I agree with your sentiment about the purple octopus, but I am afraid even a dual-link DVI adaper will not fit . You need a P&D […]
Show full quote
Aublak wrote on 2020-09-11, 22:49:
darry wrote on 2020-09-11, 21:25:

I do not think that will work . See Voodoo3 3500TV, connect to monitor?

I think I may be good. The adapter I bought was dual link. It spits out both analog and digital.

That 3DFX breakout cable is too expensive and I'd rather not have that "octopus" sticking out the back. Yuck.

I agree with your sentiment about the purple octopus, but I am afraid even a dual-link DVI adaper will not fit . You need a P&D connector, AFAIK .

See http://www.cablesonline.com/dvianddfpcab.html

EDIT: Pretty sure you need something like this. https://www.amazon.com/Monoprice-Male-HD-15-F … r/dp/B01EIJWQ5A

Something like this? Its DVI-A and its right here in Ohio. So It'll probably arrive quick.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/DVI-A-12-5-PIN-MALE- … 872.m2749.l2649

Edit: Okay, I see its not just analog. I wasn't sure what the P&D meant. It has a different shaped connector.

Reply 2871 of 2964, by austinham

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
Aublak wrote on 2020-09-11, 23:28:
Something like this? Its DVI-A and its right here in Ohio. So It'll probably arrive quick. […]
Show full quote
darry wrote on 2020-09-11, 22:53:
I agree with your sentiment about the purple octopus, but I am afraid even a dual-link DVI adaper will not fit . You need a P&D […]
Show full quote
Aublak wrote on 2020-09-11, 22:49:

I think I may be good. The adapter I bought was dual link. It spits out both analog and digital.

That 3DFX breakout cable is too expensive and I'd rather not have that "octopus" sticking out the back. Yuck.

I agree with your sentiment about the purple octopus, but I am afraid even a dual-link DVI adaper will not fit . You need a P&D connector, AFAIK .

See http://www.cablesonline.com/dvianddfpcab.html

EDIT: Pretty sure you need something like this. https://www.amazon.com/Monoprice-Male-HD-15-F … r/dp/B01EIJWQ5A

Something like this? Its DVI-A and its right here in Ohio. So It'll probably arrive quick.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/DVI-A-12-5-PIN-MALE- … 872.m2749.l2649

Edit: Okay, I see its not just analog. I wasn't sure what the P&D meant. It has a different shaped connector.

the voodoo 3500 does not have dvi. It looks like dvi but its not.
Others have modded such dvi to VGA dongle to make it work however. 3DFX also sold a dongle that did not need the blue brake out mess.

Reply 2872 of 2964, by Aublak

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
austinham wrote on 2020-09-12, 01:41:
Aublak wrote on 2020-09-11, 23:28:
Something like this? Its DVI-A and its right here in Ohio. So It'll probably arrive quick. […]
Show full quote
darry wrote on 2020-09-11, 22:53:

I agree with your sentiment about the purple octopus, but I am afraid even a dual-link DVI adaper will not fit . You need a P&D connector, AFAIK .

See http://www.cablesonline.com/dvianddfpcab.html

EDIT: Pretty sure you need something like this. https://www.amazon.com/Monoprice-Male-HD-15-F … r/dp/B01EIJWQ5A

Something like this? Its DVI-A and its right here in Ohio. So It'll probably arrive quick.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/DVI-A-12-5-PIN-MALE- … 872.m2749.l2649

Edit: Okay, I see its not just analog. I wasn't sure what the P&D meant. It has a different shaped connector.

the voodoo 3500 does not have dvi. It looks like dvi but its not.
Others have modded such dvi to VGA dongle to make it work however. 3DFX also sold a dongle that did not need the blue brake out mess.

Yeah, I see now.

Interestingly I may have a HDMI option as well.
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Gold-Plated-M1-D-Mal … iQAAOxyuPtQ-EZ2

Reply 2873 of 2964, by darry

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
Aublak wrote on 2020-09-12, 02:07:
Yeah, I see now. […]
Show full quote
austinham wrote on 2020-09-12, 01:41:
Aublak wrote on 2020-09-11, 23:28:

Something like this? Its DVI-A and its right here in Ohio. So It'll probably arrive quick.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/DVI-A-12-5-PIN-MALE- … 872.m2749.l2649

Edit: Okay, I see its not just analog. I wasn't sure what the P&D meant. It has a different shaped connector.

the voodoo 3500 does not have dvi. It looks like dvi but its not.
Others have modded such dvi to VGA dongle to make it work however. 3DFX also sold a dongle that did not need the blue brake out mess.

Yeah, I see now.

Interestingly I may have a HDMI option as well.
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Gold-Plated-M1-D-Mal … iQAAOxyuPtQ-EZ2

This looks like a passive adapter, so the HDMI out will not work on a Voodoo 3 3500 because it only outputs analog RGB (VGA), AFAIK . Apparently, there exists a MAC version with actual DVI output that can be flash to work in a PC, or so I've read .

Reply 2874 of 2964, by austinham

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
Aublak wrote on 2020-09-12, 02:07:
Yeah, I see now. […]
Show full quote
austinham wrote on 2020-09-12, 01:41:
Aublak wrote on 2020-09-11, 23:28:

Something like this? Its DVI-A and its right here in Ohio. So It'll probably arrive quick.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/DVI-A-12-5-PIN-MALE- … 872.m2749.l2649

Edit: Okay, I see its not just analog. I wasn't sure what the P&D meant. It has a different shaped connector.

the voodoo 3500 does not have dvi. It looks like dvi but its not.
Others have modded such dvi to VGA dongle to make it work however. 3DFX also sold a dongle that did not need the blue brake out mess.

Yeah, I see now.

Interestingly I may have a HDMI option as well.
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Gold-Plated-M1-D-Mal … iQAAOxyuPtQ-EZ2

No, it will not even remotely work. The voodoo 3500 and hdmi are years apart. On top of that the voodoo3500 dose not have dvi like I and others have said. Is analog not digital. You can mod some DVI to VGA adapters and that's about it.

Reply 2875 of 2964, by Aublak

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Got the adapter for the 3500, but it doesn't work as I hoped.

There's some artifacting and color issues. It may be due to me replacing one of the lost SMD capacitors with the wrong one. I just stole some random capacitor from another broken Voodoo3 and slapped it on. I dunno how I could find the correct capacitor. And even if I did, would that even fix the artifacting?

I dunno enough about figuring this stuff out unfortunately. Damn, I really wanted this thing to work.

Attachments

Reply 2876 of 2964, by bjwil1991

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Video RAM issues cause that. I believe capacitors don't do that unless the voltage, capacitance, tolerance, and temperature + lifespan aren't too low.

Discord: https://discord.gg/U5dJw7x
Systems from C64 to FX-6300.

Reply 2878 of 2964, by Aublak

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Miphee wrote on 2020-09-16, 05:02:

Press on the BGA chip carefully while it's on to see if it's a soldering issue. You could do the same with the RAM chips as well.

That main chip gets so hot, its like asking to touch a hot stove.