ISA-Soundcards with IDE-Interface and jumper für "primary Controller"

Discussion about old PC hardware.

ISA-Soundcards with IDE-Interface and jumper für "primary Controller"

Postby dr.zeissler » 2016-3-23 @ 12:13

Hi, im am searching for non pnp ISA Soundcards with a full IDE-Interface with a jumper for setting it as primary device.
Something like the ESS based "Formosa SC-1630". What soundcards match my search?

Thx
Doc
CPU: PII 133-333 MOBO: SNI-D981 RAM: 512- FDD: Dualfloppy 3,5"HD/5,25"HD - 3,5"HD - 5,25"DD ISA-Catweasel HDD: 2x40GB - DVD
ISA(3): Audician32-S2Dreamblaster - GusACE PCI(3): Monster3D- Intel NW AGP(1): 3dfx V3-3000
dr.zeissler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1331
Joined: 2011-9-28 @ 15:33

Re: ISA-Soundcards with IDE-Interface and jumper für "primary Controller"

Postby hard1k » 2016-3-23 @ 14:06

Hi! This one could be one of the options if you can find one ;)
Please have a look at my wishlist (hosted at Amibay)
User avatar
hard1k
Oldbie
 
Posts: 576
Joined: 2014-4-22 @ 11:28
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

Re: ISA-Soundcards with IDE-Interface and jumper für "primary Controller"

Postby orcish75 » 2016-3-23 @ 17:49

The only soundcard I could find with a primary IDE interface is the Turtle Beach Tropez 32. There's a jumper to set it to primary or secondary. It's definitely my favourite soundcard in my collection and searched for over a year to get it. They seem to be very rare these days unfortunately..
User avatar
orcish75
Newbie
 
Posts: 92
Joined: 2011-12-13 @ 14:46
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa

Re: ISA-Soundcards with IDE-Interface and jumper für "primary Controller"

Postby BastlerMike » 2016-3-24 @ 19:39

I have an ESS card, where the IDE interface can be configured as primary channel.
Attachments
DSCF8048.JPG
DSCF8046.JPG
User avatar
BastlerMike
Member
 
Posts: 183
Joined: 2010-10-11 @ 15:53

Re: ISA-Soundcards with IDE-Interface and jumper für "primary Controller"

Postby dr.zeissler » 2016-3-24 @ 20:06

That's the Formosa sc-1630 I mentioned above :)
CPU: PII 133-333 MOBO: SNI-D981 RAM: 512- FDD: Dualfloppy 3,5"HD/5,25"HD - 3,5"HD - 5,25"DD ISA-Catweasel HDD: 2x40GB - DVD
ISA(3): Audician32-S2Dreamblaster - GusACE PCI(3): Monster3D- Intel NW AGP(1): 3dfx V3-3000
dr.zeissler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1331
Joined: 2011-9-28 @ 15:33

Re: ISA-Soundcards with IDE-Interface and jumper für "primary Controller"

Postby BastlerMike » 2016-3-24 @ 21:43

Ah ok, didn't know that. If you still need this particular card, you can have it.
User avatar
BastlerMike
Member
 
Posts: 183
Joined: 2010-10-11 @ 15:53

Re: ISA-Soundcards with IDE-Interface and jumper für "primary Controller"

Postby dr.zeissler » 2016-3-25 @ 09:02

Where is your location? Mine is germany.
CPU: PII 133-333 MOBO: SNI-D981 RAM: 512- FDD: Dualfloppy 3,5"HD/5,25"HD - 3,5"HD - 5,25"DD ISA-Catweasel HDD: 2x40GB - DVD
ISA(3): Audician32-S2Dreamblaster - GusACE PCI(3): Monster3D- Intel NW AGP(1): 3dfx V3-3000
dr.zeissler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1331
Joined: 2011-9-28 @ 15:33

Re: ISA-Soundcards with IDE-Interface and jumper für "primary Controller"

Postby BastlerMike » 2016-3-25 @ 17:23

I'm in germany too :happy:
User avatar
BastlerMike
Member
 
Posts: 183
Joined: 2010-10-11 @ 15:53

Re: ISA-Soundcards with IDE-Interface and jumper für "primary Controller"

Postby dr.zeissler » 2016-3-25 @ 17:28

This is great :)
CPU: PII 133-333 MOBO: SNI-D981 RAM: 512- FDD: Dualfloppy 3,5"HD/5,25"HD - 3,5"HD - 5,25"DD ISA-Catweasel HDD: 2x40GB - DVD
ISA(3): Audician32-S2Dreamblaster - GusACE PCI(3): Monster3D- Intel NW AGP(1): 3dfx V3-3000
dr.zeissler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1331
Joined: 2011-9-28 @ 15:33

Re: ISA-Soundcards with IDE-Interface and jumper für "primary Controller"

Postby dr.zeissler » 2017-11-19 @ 18:49

BastlerMike wrote:I have an ESS card, where the IDE interface can be configured as primary channel.


Seems that it has no MPU401 :(
CPU: PII 133-333 MOBO: SNI-D981 RAM: 512- FDD: Dualfloppy 3,5"HD/5,25"HD - 3,5"HD - 5,25"DD ISA-Catweasel HDD: 2x40GB - DVD
ISA(3): Audician32-S2Dreamblaster - GusACE PCI(3): Monster3D- Intel NW AGP(1): 3dfx V3-3000
dr.zeissler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1331
Joined: 2011-9-28 @ 15:33

Re: ISA-Soundcards with IDE-Interface and jumper für "primary Controller"

Postby derSammler » 2017-11-19 @ 19:04

It has, but it must be initialized from DOS first before you can use it.

It's a great card, btw. I have two of them now, one with a 128 mb DOM and a Dreamblaster S1 attached. :)
derSammler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1356
Joined: 2017-4-14 @ 11:30
Location: Germany

Re: ISA-Soundcards with IDE-Interface and jumper für "primary Controller"

Postby dr.zeissler » 2017-11-19 @ 19:08

How can I do this. It has only jumpers (and none for the mpu401) and "esscfg" tells me MPU401 is at 300 and disabled.
I can activate it and place it at IRQ2/330. But after a reboot it's disabled again.
How can I enable it, so I can use "softmpu" with joystick/Midi cable.

Is there a TSR or another tool, or a batch file to activate the mpu401?
CPU: PII 133-333 MOBO: SNI-D981 RAM: 512- FDD: Dualfloppy 3,5"HD/5,25"HD - 3,5"HD - 5,25"DD ISA-Catweasel HDD: 2x40GB - DVD
ISA(3): Audician32-S2Dreamblaster - GusACE PCI(3): Monster3D- Intel NW AGP(1): 3dfx V3-3000
dr.zeissler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1331
Joined: 2011-9-28 @ 15:33

Re: ISA-Soundcards with IDE-Interface and jumper für "primary Controller"

Postby derSammler » 2017-11-19 @ 19:15

If you configure the card using esscfg, it should add a line to the autoexec.bat with the given options.
derSammler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1356
Joined: 2017-4-14 @ 11:30
Location: Germany

Re: ISA-Soundcards with IDE-Interface and jumper für "primary Controller"

Postby dr.zeissler » 2017-11-19 @ 19:34

Code: Select all
esscfg.exe /A:220 /I:7 /D:1 /B:330 /J:E
essvol.exe /V:8 /C:8 /W:8 /M:0


This is what I have found... I will be testing this.
CPU: PII 133-333 MOBO: SNI-D981 RAM: 512- FDD: Dualfloppy 3,5"HD/5,25"HD - 3,5"HD - 5,25"DD ISA-Catweasel HDD: 2x40GB - DVD
ISA(3): Audician32-S2Dreamblaster - GusACE PCI(3): Monster3D- Intel NW AGP(1): 3dfx V3-3000
dr.zeissler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1331
Joined: 2011-9-28 @ 15:33

Re: ISA-Soundcards with IDE-Interface and jumper für "primary Controller"

Postby Kubik » 2017-11-19 @ 21:32

Also keep on mind that some (actually all I have :) ) cheap sound cards don't have IRQ14 connected at all, thus although you could configure them for primary IDE, it still won't work. The card from BastlerMike is OK, but a lot of cheap cards misses most pads on that "small" ISA connector.
Kubik
Member
 
Posts: 140
Joined: 2017-11-06 @ 08:24

Re: ISA-Soundcards with IDE-Interface and jumper für "primary Controller"

Postby dr.zeissler » 2017-11-19 @ 22:32

seems to work on my A2000 with A2286/8 BB...but I have to wait till my A2386 arrives because with EMM286 softmpu does not work.
CPU: PII 133-333 MOBO: SNI-D981 RAM: 512- FDD: Dualfloppy 3,5"HD/5,25"HD - 3,5"HD - 5,25"DD ISA-Catweasel HDD: 2x40GB - DVD
ISA(3): Audician32-S2Dreamblaster - GusACE PCI(3): Monster3D- Intel NW AGP(1): 3dfx V3-3000
dr.zeissler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1331
Joined: 2011-9-28 @ 15:33

Re: ISA-Soundcards with IDE-Interface and jumper für "primary Controller"

Postby orcish75 » 2017-11-23 @ 11:56

Your other option is to use XT-ide with a sound card that has a secondary IDE port on it, as XT-ide can boot off a secondary port. You just have to make sure that the secondary port is native and doesn't need a driver to activate it. I've done a similar thing as dr.zeissler on my A2000 and A2286 bridgeboard, using a Creative SB16 CT2910 and XT-ide.

It's in this old post:
http://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?t=30008
User avatar
orcish75
Newbie
 
Posts: 92
Joined: 2011-12-13 @ 14:46
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa

Re: ISA-Soundcards with IDE-Interface and jumper für "primary Controller"

Postby derSammler » 2017-11-23 @ 12:20

Afaik, XT-IDE collides with the Janus software. Also, you'd need another ISA card to put the BIOS on. But then, you can also just use an XT-IDE card and don't need IDE on a sound card at all. The whole point of his question is to save one ISA slot.
derSammler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1356
Joined: 2017-4-14 @ 11:30
Location: Germany

Re: ISA-Soundcards with IDE-Interface and jumper für "primary Controller"

Postby dr.zeissler » 2017-11-23 @ 19:04

currently this setup is not working, because the etherlinkIII always does a negative FIFO test regardles which adresse I configure.
I don't think that the etherlink is defective. The etherlinkIII is preconfigured at 300H and I5, but the 300H collides with the SC1630 Formosa, which has MPU401 at 300h.
With the esscfg I do route the MPU401 from 300H to 330H but either is does not work, or something different is wrong.
currently no LAN available on my A2000. If I take out the SC1630 the I do not have a harddisk anymore. It had been the best option for me:

1. VGA 1MB ET4000
2. SC1630 SBpro/Adlib/MPU401 and primary IDE with 8GB-CFcard (4x2GB)
3. ETHERLINKIII

Greetings
Doc
CPU: PII 133-333 MOBO: SNI-D981 RAM: 512- FDD: Dualfloppy 3,5"HD/5,25"HD - 3,5"HD - 5,25"DD ISA-Catweasel HDD: 2x40GB - DVD
ISA(3): Audician32-S2Dreamblaster - GusACE PCI(3): Monster3D- Intel NW AGP(1): 3dfx V3-3000
dr.zeissler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1331
Joined: 2011-9-28 @ 15:33

Re: ISA-Soundcards with IDE-Interface and jumper für "primary Controller"

Postby orcish75 » 2017-11-23 @ 21:09

derSammler wrote:Afaik, XT-IDE collides with the Janus software. Also, you'd need another ISA card to put the BIOS on. But then, you can also just use an XT-IDE card and don't need IDE on a sound card at all. The whole point of his question is to save one ISA slot.


XT-IDE BIOS has no issues with the Janus software, I have it running on my A2000 and A2286 bridgeboard. By using the IDE port on the soundcard, you are already saving a slot, no multi I/O card needed. I have an ET4000 in the first slot, CT2910 with a 4GB CF card connected on the secondary IDE port in the second slot and a 3Com 3C-509B NIC in the third slot. The 3C-509B card serves 2 purposes, it houses the XT-IDE BIOS and it allows the Amiga side of the A2000 to use the network card through the bridgeboard. Admittedly it is slow, about 60KB/sec, but still more than fast enough to transfer ADFs and WHDload files.

dr.zeissler wrote:currently this setup is not working, because the etherlinkIII always does a negative FIFO test regardles which adresse I configure.
I don't think that the etherlink is defective. The etherlinkIII is preconfigured at 300H and I5, but the 300H collides with the SC1630 Formosa, which has MPU401 at 300h.


Have you soldered in the 16 bit extensions on the 8 bit ISA slots in the A2000? Just wandering why you have the Etherlink III at IRQ 5 rather than 10 or 11 so that it doesn't conflict with the SB part of the soundcard. Also set the address of the Etherlink III to 280h rather than 300h or 330h to prevent conflicts with the MPU-401.
User avatar
orcish75
Newbie
 
Posts: 92
Joined: 2011-12-13 @ 14:46
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa

Next

Return to General Old Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Deksor, dionb, Google [Bot] and 18 guests