VOGONS


Reply 660 of 680, by mastergamma12

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
red-ray wrote on 2020-09-25, 18:31:
mastergamma12 wrote on 2020-09-25, 16:49:

Here

To me it looks like the BIOS is setup to underclock your 980X, is this intentional?

Still figuring this thing out.

hzuSUau.png

Reply 661 of 680, by red-ray

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
mastergamma12 wrote on 2020-09-25, 18:34:

Still figuring this thing out.

I suspect as below needs adjusting

file.php?id=92925

Attachments

  • DFI-BIOS.png
    Filename
    DFI-BIOS.png
    File size
    120.27 KiB
    Views
    288 views
    File comment
    DFI BIOS Setup
    File license
    Public domain

Reply 662 of 680, by mastergamma12

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
red-ray wrote on 2020-09-25, 18:57:
I suspect as below needs adjusting […]
Show full quote
mastergamma12 wrote on 2020-09-25, 18:34:

Still figuring this thing out.

I suspect as below needs adjusting

file.php?id=92925

So I figured it out, I had turbo off, enabled it and SIV's reporting 3.33ghz.

Also downclocked the ram manually to 1333 because I wanted it at 1333. No other reason then that.

hzuSUau.png

Reply 663 of 680, by red-ray

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
mastergamma12 wrote on 2020-09-25, 19:22:

So I figured it out, I had turbo off, enabled it and SIV's reporting 3.33ghz.

Is it always 3.33GHz? Looking in the latest save file I have there are no CPU ACPI methods (see Menu->System->ACPI + PnP->ACPI Eval) and the ratio never drops to x12 (see Menu->Hardware->CPU Detail->CPU Speed Ratios) when on my system there are and it does.

file.php?id=92955

Attachments

  • REG.png
    Filename
    REG.png
    File size
    165.32 KiB
    Views
    271 views
    File comment
    Menu->Hardware->CPU Detail->CPU Speed Ratios
    File license
    Public domain

Reply 664 of 680, by mastergamma12

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
red-ray wrote on 2020-09-26, 08:21:
Is it always 3.33GHz? Looking in the latest save file I have there are no CPU ACPI methods (see Menu->System->ACPI + PnP->ACPI E […]
Show full quote
mastergamma12 wrote on 2020-09-25, 19:22:

So I figured it out, I had turbo off, enabled it and SIV's reporting 3.33ghz.

Is it always 3.33GHz? Looking in the latest save file I have there are no CPU ACPI methods (see Menu->System->ACPI + PnP->ACPI Eval) and the ratio never drops to x12 (see Menu->Hardware->CPU Detail->CPU Speed Ratios) when on my system there are and it does.

file.php?id=92955

Yeah, I got C States off in bios

hzuSUau.png

Reply 665 of 680, by Enternal

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Hey Red, Sorry again for the delayed response. I don't have much time at home lately besides to sleep.

attached are the files for my

K7500 and Voodoo 3 1000

The test ran without issue this time!! Good job on the fix!

Attachments

Reply 666 of 680, by red-ray

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
Enternal wrote on 2020-09-29, 04:39:

K7500 and Voodoo 3 1000

Thank you, I had also tidied up the reporting to report AMD Athlon M1 (Argon) rather than AMD-K7 and that change also worked as I intended.

Reply 667 of 680, by mastergamma12

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Tested SIV on an MSI MEG Z390 Ace

file.php?mode=view&id=93611

file.php?mode=view&id=93610

Attachments

  • MSI_SnapShot.png
    Filename
    MSI_SnapShot.png
    File size
    181.7 KiB
    Views
    211 views
    File license
    Public domain
  • Untitled.png
    Filename
    Untitled.png
    File size
    585.16 KiB
    Views
    211 views
    File license
    Public domain
  • Filename
    SIV_ION-ZENITH.zip
    File size
    391.39 KiB
    Downloads
    3 downloads
    File license
    Public domain

hzuSUau.png

Reply 668 of 680, by red-ray

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
mastergamma12 wrote on 2020-10-07, 09:22:

Tested SIV on an MSI MEG Z390 Ace

Thank you. The PCH being 205.5°C is down to the raw value being 0x01FF so I have made it go away in addition to adjusting the fan and voltage names.

How does the attached SIV64X 5.52 7B12-11 look to you please? Ideally leave SIV running for >= 10 minutes before generating a new save file so there are a reasonable number of samples.

Last edited by red-ray on 2020-10-07, 18:54. Edited 1 time in total.

Reply 669 of 680, by mastergamma12

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
red-ray wrote on 2020-10-07, 12:04:
mastergamma12 wrote on 2020-10-07, 09:22:

Tested SIV on an MSI MEG Z390 Ace

Thank you. The PCH being 205.5°C is down to the raw value being 0x01FF so I have made it go away in addition to adjusting the fan and voltage names.

How does the attached SIV64X 5.52 7B12-11 look to you please? Ideally leave SIV running for >= 10 minutes before generating a new save file so there are a reasonable number of samples.

Tested it for 10 minutes, looks like there are 2 VCCSA voltages listed and neither are 1.150v which is what I have it set to atm.

file.php?mode=view&id=93629

Attachments

  • Filename
    SIV_ION-ZENITH.zip
    File size
    391.36 KiB
    Downloads
    2 downloads
    File license
    Public domain
  • Untitled.png
    Filename
    Untitled.png
    File size
    612.25 KiB
    Views
    204 views
    File license
    Public domain

hzuSUau.png

Reply 670 of 680, by red-ray

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
mastergamma12 wrote on 2020-10-07, 17:01:

Tested it for 10 minutes, looks like there are 2 VCCSA voltages listed and neither are 1.150v which is what I have it set to atm.

Again, Thank you. I have now uploaded SIV 5.52 Beta-12 which resolves this, adds the same for a few other boards and also has RTX 3070 support. So far I have added support for as below and plan to add others over time.

MSI MS-7B12 (MEG Z390 Ace)
MSI MS-7B17 (MPG Z390 Gaming Edge AC)
MSI MS-7B92 (MEG X399 Creation)
MSI MS-7C35 (MEG X570 Ace)
MSI MS-7C37 (MPG X570 Gaming)
MSI MS-7C73 (MPG Z490 Gaming Carbon Wifi)
MSI MS-7C79 (MPG Z490 Gaming Edge Wifi)

Reply 671 of 680, by brt02

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Hey red-ray,

Just saw the PM you sent me last night, can't for the life of me figure out how to reply to it! Think I need more posts first...

In any case I've attached the dmi and txt files for my OR840 board as per your instructions. I have done this on Windows XP as this is what is running on the machine at the moment - hope this is OK.

As you've guessed there are no temperature or voltage readouts. I haven't got any fans plugged in at the moment, so none should show up.

The BIOS is about as basic as it gets. Unfortunately for us that means no hardware monitoring.

If you need anything else with respect to this board, let me know.

Thanks for all you've done with this app.

Attachments

  • Filename
    SIV_BRT-PC65.zip
    File size
    187.64 KiB
    Downloads
    3 downloads
    File comment
    SIV log files for Intel OR840
    File license
    Public domain

Intel OR840 | 2x Pentium 3 1GHz - 1GB PC800 RDRAM - ATI Radeon 9800 Pro -Audigy 2ZS - W98/W2K
Asus PC-DL | 2x Xeon 3.06GHz @ 3.6GHz - 2GB PC3200 - Nvidia Geforce 6800 XT- WXP

Reply 672 of 680, by red-ray

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
brt02 wrote on 2020-10-18, 11:29:

As you've guessed there are no temperature or voltage readouts. I haven't got any fans plugged in at the moment, so none should show up.

Thank you and yes, you need to make a few more posts before you can send PMs, but I can't remember how many. When I looked at Menu->System->SMB Bus there are a pair of ADM1025 (Analog Devices) which report temperatures and voltages, but not fan speeds. I also spotted there is no RIMM SPD data.

Please will you test the attached SIV32X Volt-01 test SIV that should report the Temperatures and Voltages on Menu->Hardware->Sensor Debug, do the values look correct to you? Ideally once SIV has been active for >= 10 minutes generate new save files.

There being no RIMM SPD data is probably down to there being an SMBus multiplexor as the SPD should be @ [ 0_50 ] to [ 0_53 ] and there are some other devices there. Do AIDA64 or HWiNFO manage to report the SPD, further do they report the same Temperatures and Voltages? Are the fan headers 3-pin and if so do speeds get reported when 3-pin fans are connected?

Last edited by red-ray on 2020-10-18, 18:14. Edited 1 time in total.

Reply 673 of 680, by brt02

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

OK so I now get voltage and temperature data for the system - and these match what AIDA64 and HWINFO report.

3-pin fan headers on this motherboard, no speeds are reported by any app. Had one fan plugged into the SYS FAN B header

No SPD data from any app. But HWINFO and SIV report capacities correctly. RAM part number is MC-4R512FKE8D-845

I've attached datasheets and manuals for the RAM and motherboard in case it's of any use to you.

Attachments

  • Filename
    A15479-02 Product Guide.pdf
    File size
    1.64 MiB
    Downloads
    3 downloads
    File comment
    OR840 Product Guide
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception
  • Filename
    datasheet.pdf
    File size
    132.89 KiB
    Downloads
    2 downloads
    File comment
    Elpida MC-4R512FKE8D-845 datasheet
    File license
    Fair use/fair dealing exception
  • Filename
    SIV32X-2.zip
    File size
    180.37 KiB
    Downloads
    2 downloads
    File comment
    Intel OR840 - SIV32X Volt-01 test SIV
    File license
    Public domain

Intel OR840 | 2x Pentium 3 1GHz - 1GB PC800 RDRAM - ATI Radeon 9800 Pro -Audigy 2ZS - W98/W2K
Asus PC-DL | 2x Xeon 3.06GHz @ 3.6GHz - 2GB PC3200 - Nvidia Geforce 6800 XT- WXP

Reply 674 of 680, by red-ray

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
brt02 wrote on 2020-10-18, 17:24:

No SPD data from any app. But HWINFO and SIV report capacities correctly.

Thank you checking out the test SIV and the datasheets.

Looking in the OR840 Product Guide at Table 24 on page 86 then the Partition column confirms there is an SMBus multiplexor, but I can't see any information on how to change the Partition. Typically GPIOs need to be toggled, but it could be anything.

From a command window doing SIV32X -WDF and then looking at Menu->Hardware->H/W Detail->I/O GPIO such as GPIO21 are GP Output and set. If I had the system here I would be inclined to try clearing it and then check if what Menu->System->SMB Bus reports has changed.

file.php?id=94417

Attachments

  • GPIO State.png
    Filename
    GPIO State.png
    File size
    56.74 KiB
    Views
    107 views
    File comment
    Menu->Hardware->H/W Detail->I/O GPIO
    File license
    Public domain

Reply 675 of 680, by brt02

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I don't mind trying that, but am unsure of the approach I need to take.

I assume I just toggle the state of each GPIO individually and check SMB BUS for SPD in between each?

Or do I just toggle all the GPIO states in one go and then check?

EDIT: one thing I should note is that windows xp does not use the ACPI HAL with this motherboard resorting to MPS multiprocessor HAL - no idea if this changes anything but if it does, then I can revert to Win2K.

Intel OR840 | 2x Pentium 3 1GHz - 1GB PC800 RDRAM - ATI Radeon 9800 Pro -Audigy 2ZS - W98/W2K
Asus PC-DL | 2x Xeon 3.06GHz @ 3.6GHz - 2GB PC3200 - Nvidia Geforce 6800 XT- WXP

Reply 676 of 680, by red-ray

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
brt02 wrote on 2020-10-19, 11:49:

I don't mind trying that, but am unsure of the approach I need to take.

You need to toggle them one at a time, if you toggle them all chances are the system will just lockup, reboot or similar. What I would do is:

1 ) Start a SIV and look at what [SMB Bus] reports
2 ) Start another by doing SIV32X -WDF, you need to specify -WDF otherwise Menu->Hardware->H/W Detail->I/O GPIO will not be present.
3 ) Toggle GPIO<n>
4 ) Press [SMB Bus] and see if anything has changed.
5 ) If it has post the [SMB Bus] screen and tell be which GPIO you toggled.
6 ) Un-toggle GPIO<n>
7 ) goto #3
8 ) Initially try all the GPIOs that are Set and GP Output, so 23 + 22 + 21 + 12 + 11
9 ) Given there are three partitions I suspect two GPIOs need to be found.

If we can find a GPIO that makes RIMM SPD Data show up then I can adjust SIV to have multiple logical SMBuses much the same as I did for my Compaq W6000. Notice how the RIMMs are on SMBus #1.

file.php?id=94442

brt02 wrote on 2020-10-19, 11:49:

EDIT: one thing I should note is that windows xp does not use the ACPI HAL with this motherboard resorting to MPS multiprocessor HAL - no idea if this changes anything but if it does, then I can revert to Win2K.

The muxing will be the same for both the ACPI + MPS HALs and as to why MPS rather than ACPI get's used is a different topic. It looks like ACPI is supported, so maybe it needs to enabled in the BIOS. It's also possible the ACPI version is too old for WXP. I wonder what would happen with 2003 Server.

In terms to which OS SIV works best on then >=Vista > 2003 > WXP > 2000 > NT4 > NT3 > W9X.

Attachments

  • RXF.png
    Filename
    RXF.png
    File size
    51.11 KiB
    Views
    76 views
    File comment
    Compaq W6000 [SMB Bus]
    File license
    Public domain

Reply 677 of 680, by brt02

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Got it, will give it a go tonight and report back to you.

As for ACPI, the board is blacklisted in txtsetup.sif on both windows XP and server 03. I can force it to use the ACPI HAL, but I get random stability issues (randomly fails to boot into windows for example).

Intel OR840 | 2x Pentium 3 1GHz - 1GB PC800 RDRAM - ATI Radeon 9800 Pro -Audigy 2ZS - W98/W2K
Asus PC-DL | 2x Xeon 3.06GHz @ 3.6GHz - 2GB PC3200 - Nvidia Geforce 6800 XT- WXP

Reply 678 of 680, by brt02

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

The GPIOs do not toggle in the way i expect. On the first click the hex values under current values change and i/o changes to GPU output - depends on GPIO<n>

The toggle itself will show clear for about a second before reverting to set

Clicking again (to toggle off) does nothing - any changes to hex values and i/o remain

None of the GPIOs suggested in your previous post have resulted in changes to SMB BUS. But if the behaviour I've described above sounds normal to you then I can carry on and try the other GPIOs

Intel OR840 | 2x Pentium 3 1GHz - 1GB PC800 RDRAM - ATI Radeon 9800 Pro -Audigy 2ZS - W98/W2K
Asus PC-DL | 2x Xeon 3.06GHz @ 3.6GHz - 2GB PC3200 - Nvidia Geforce 6800 XT- WXP

Reply 679 of 680, by red-ray

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
brt02 wrote on 2020-10-19, 18:34:

The GPIOs do not toggle in the way i expect. On the first click the hex values under current values change and i/o changes to GPU output - depends on GPIO<n>

Thank you for trying. I checked what happened on my MCH 840 + ICH1 system and noticed there was a bug so I have fixed it in that attached SIV32X 5.53 GPIO-01 test SIV.

Please will you try again and also post new save files?

Now you are up to 22 posts I wonder, can you now send PMs? If not then maybe 25 are needed.

Last edited by red-ray on 2020-10-21, 18:10. Edited 1 time in total.