VOGONS


First post, by borgie83

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Hi guys. Could someone please upload the P16 Bios for me for the Intel SE440BX-2 motherboard? I'ts been removed from Intel's website like the rest of their retired products and I thought I had it backed up but I cant seem to find it.

Thanks 😀

EDIT: Even the P17 Bios should be ok. I've only ever used the P16 Bios though.

Reply 2 of 17, by Horun

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
darry wrote on 2020-03-02, 03:01:

Yes a good site for old Intel
ftp://ftp.spez.com.ua/driver/mb/intel/se440bx2/ for all files
also Rebyte.me has some
https://rebyte.me/en/intel/134527/?fileTypeId=4

Hate posting a reply and have to edit it because it made no sense 😁 First computer was an IBM 3270 workstation with CGA monitor. 🤣 Second computer a 286 12Mhz with real IDE drive ! After that came 386, 486, Pentium, P.Pro and everything after....

Reply 3 of 17, by borgie83

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
darry wrote on 2020-03-02, 03:01:

Legend! Thanks for that mate. Much appreciated.

Reply 4 of 17, by borgie83

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

On another note, from memory, I remember using the P16 bios as I managed to get the 1ghz P3 working fine with this bios even though it wasn't on the cpu support list. Has anyone used the P17 bios with a 1ghz P3 using a SE440BX-2? Wondering if the P17 was specifically for the OEM version of the SE440BX motherboard which was called a SE440BX-3.

Reply 5 of 17, by PC Hoarder Patrol

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

P17 was a valid update for the SE440BX-2

ftp://ftp.spez.com.ua/driver/mb/intel/se440bx2/72585615.pdf

including the later PBAs with the widest cpu support

ftp://ftp.spez.com.ua/driver/mb/intel/se440bx … /cpusupport.htm

Reply 7 of 17, by gdjacobs

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++
bearking wrote on 2020-03-03, 06:08:

I have P17 on my SE440BX-2, later revision of the board, and I could'n pass 800 MHz!

What FSB clock?

All hail the Great Capacitor Brand Finder

Reply 8 of 17, by PC Hoarder Patrol

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Think the issue on the SE440BX-2 is that the combination of the correct PBA version & P17 maintains coppermine support but traps (with a system halt) any unsupported processors (similar to what it does with my SR440BX). My Dell OEM SE440BX-3 (with the latest P11 bios) has no problems with 1GHz support.

Reply 9 of 17, by bearking

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
gdjacobs wrote on 2020-03-03, 19:03:
bearking wrote on 2020-03-03, 06:08:

I have P17 on my SE440BX-2, later revision of the board, and I could'n pass 800 MHz!

What FSB clock?

100 MHZ FSB; board version/revision is AA 754558-304

Reply 10 of 17, by bearking

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

I've just downgraded the bios to version P16 and it's working with a P3 1 GHz FSB 100 skt370 on a socket adapter with voltage selection on auto...

PSX_20200303_232051.jpg
Filename
PSX_20200303_232051.jpg
File size
432.62 KiB
Views
618 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception
PSX_20200303_232120.jpg
Filename
PSX_20200303_232120.jpg
File size
240.35 KiB
Views
618 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception
PSX_20200303_232138.jpg
Filename
PSX_20200303_232138.jpg
File size
369.33 KiB
Views
618 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception
PSX_20200303_234052.jpg
Filename
PSX_20200303_234052.jpg
File size
395.67 KiB
Views
617 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 11 of 17, by borgie83

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
bearking wrote on 2020-03-03, 21:09:

I've just downgraded the bios to version P16 and it's working with a P3 1 GHz FSB 100 skt370 on a socket adapter with voltage selection on auto...

Very interesting. So I'm better off avoiding the P17 bios all together and sticking with P16 as my SE440BX-2 mb is using a P3 1ghz SL4KL 100FSB CPU. Strange how Intel decided to break compatibility with this cpu as I've had it running stable for years using P16. Just needed the bios above as I'm just about to start another build.

Reply 12 of 17, by SPiKA85

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Hello!
The "se2bio16.exe" file contains the P16 BIOS and also the ROM Flash App?
So I just execute that file and it will flash the P16 BIOS?
Since I don't have a working floppy... can I burn a bootable DOS/Win98 CD and flash the BIOS from the CD-ROM?
Thanks!

Reply 13 of 17, by PC Hoarder Patrol

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

Actually you're skipping a step - the file se2bio16.exe does contain all the necessary files but they're in compressed format designed to create a bootable floppy. If you don't have a working floppy drive you'd be quicker to download the following file

http://cwcyrix.duckdns.org/intel-legacy-files … BIOS/SE2P16.zip

which has all the necessary files - including AUTOEXEC, BIO file & flash app - already fully expanded so you can prepare your own choice of bootable media.

Reply 14 of 17, by SPiKA85

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
PC Hoarder Patrol wrote on 2020-06-28, 23:18:

Actually you're skipping a step - the file se2bio16.exe does contain all the necessary files but they're in compressed format designed to create a bootable floppy. If you don't have a working floppy drive you'd be quicker to download the following file

http://cwcyrix.duckdns.org/intel-legacy-files … BIOS/SE2P16.zip

which has all the necessary files - including AUTOEXEC, BIO file & flash app - already fully expanded so you can prepare your own choice of bootable media.

Hi!
Just to make sure... in MS-DOS, I have to execute "IFLASH.EXE" and load the "P16-0023.BIO" file, right?
Sorry... just got confused with the multiple files...

bios.jpg

Thank you very much!
I don't want to mess something up... these boards are hard to get nowdays...
And it's been like 20 years that I don't use DOS so I kind of forgot many of the DOS commands xD

Reply 15 of 17, by Horun

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Yes. In the autoexec.bat file the following command is given:
iflash /p P16-0023.bio
I would exactly that command.

Hate posting a reply and have to edit it because it made no sense 😁 First computer was an IBM 3270 workstation with CGA monitor. 🤣 Second computer a 286 12Mhz with real IDE drive ! After that came 386, 486, Pentium, P.Pro and everything after....

Reply 16 of 17, by PC Hoarder Patrol

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

This^

or I'd just run AUTOEXEC.BAT, so if you're creating bootable DOS media (hdd, cd/dvd or usb) it will run AUTOEXEC.BAT by default and which contains the command iflash /p P16-0023.bio or if not from bootable media you can just run AUTOEXEC.BAT at the DOS prompt for the same effect.

Reply 17 of 17, by NyLan

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

For reference, I put all I found regarding this mobo, Bioses, Docs, in this "Mirror" of the old Intel's Website. For CPU Support, the board revision ( AA number ) is really important and was - partially - explained in the below website.

http://nylan.info/SE440BX2/

My Intel SE440BX-2 Intel's website Mirror : Modified to include docs, refs and BIOSes.