VOGONS


First post, by cookertron

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Hi Vogons,

I bought 4 x 72Pin FPM Ram modules for my 486 (see attach motherboard). On inserting and powering up I received 2 short beeps and no post. After Re-inserting the original ram module it did the same.

The system worked fine before inserting the new ram module but hadn't been switched on for about a month.

I've since removed everything from the board except the VGA cable, keyboard, CPU and original RAM but it's not posting and giving the same beeps.

The BIOS is DragonBIOS 1993 by Phoenix Technologies.

Video of beeps in action! https://youtu.be/-MAA4eL8kUc

20200423_130156.jpg
Filename
20200423_130156.jpg
File size
615.9 KiB
Views
287 views
File license
Public domain
20200423_130240.jpg
Filename
20200423_130240.jpg
File size
373.16 KiB
Views
287 views
File license
Public domain
20200320_174027.jpg
Filename
20200320_174027.jpg
File size
1.12 MiB
Views
287 views
File license
Public domain
Last edited by cookertron on 2020-04-23, 15:34. Edited 1 time in total.

Model: Viglen Contender Professional (4SX25) CPU: AMD AM80486DX2-66 Chipset: ALI M1429G (9414) Video: CL-GD5428-80QC-A BIOS: Phoenix DragonBIOS 486 ISA (1993) Sound: Sound Blaster 16 (CT2230)

Reply 2 of 6, by cookertron

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

After the two beeps pressing F1 makes it beep again.

I've swapped display adapters and still the same problem.

Model: Viglen Contender Professional (4SX25) CPU: AMD AM80486DX2-66 Chipset: ALI M1429G (9414) Video: CL-GD5428-80QC-A BIOS: Phoenix DragonBIOS 486 ISA (1993) Sound: Sound Blaster 16 (CT2230)

Reply 3 of 6, by derSammler

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
cookertron wrote on 2020-04-23, 14:57:

After the two beeps pressing F1 makes it beep again.

That makes sense, because 2 short beeps with a Phoenix BIOS are nothing serious. You should still get a picture. The "error" is probably something like "RAM size increased, press F1 to continue". Did you try a different VGA card that is known to be good? And what about the CMOS battery?

Reply 4 of 6, by cookertron

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

SOLVED: The monitor I've been using for that machine was using the DVI input FFS!

Model: Viglen Contender Professional (4SX25) CPU: AMD AM80486DX2-66 Chipset: ALI M1429G (9414) Video: CL-GD5428-80QC-A BIOS: Phoenix DragonBIOS 486 ISA (1993) Sound: Sound Blaster 16 (CT2230)

Reply 5 of 6, by LewisRaz

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
cookertron wrote on 2020-04-23, 15:36:

SOLVED: The monitor I've been using for that machine was using the DVI input FFS!

Oh 😁

We have all done it. Not all as publicly as this 😀

Glad its working.

My retro pc youtube channel