VOGONS


Reply 40 of 58, by script-fu

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
PARKE wrote on 2020-10-17, 01:45:
Tetrium was kind enough to fill in most of the answers but here a couple of additional pieces of info […]
Show full quote
script-fu wrote on 2020-10-16, 23:33:
Which brings me to the PIII Coppermine not the celeron versions just pure PIII like the three i have here below. These are the o […]
Show full quote

Which brings me to the PIII Coppermine not the celeron versions just pure PIII like the three i have here below. These are the ones I'm shooting for first. I will start with the SL5QV 100fsb PIII first. However I'm in a holding pattern until i get the 370SPC Slotkit in the mail. Hopefully next week.

In Hand CPU's
---
SL3BA 433/128/66/?.??V Mendocino Celeron

SL4P3 733/128/66/1.7V Coppermine Celeron 370SPC Slotkit jumper setup as follows ---> JP1 = 2-3 /2-3 , JP2 = 1-2, JP3 = 1-2 , JP4 = 1-2, JP5 = 1-2 --- I hope these look right?

SL5QV 1000/256/100/1.75V Coppermine PIII ---> I still need to confirm jumper positions

SL3XW 667/256/133/1.65V Coppermine PIII
SL52R 1000/256/133/1.75V Coppermine PIII ---> I still need to confirm jumper positions

SL5ZE 1100A/256/100/1.475 Tualatin Celeron
SL64V 1400/256/100/1.5 Tualatin Celeron

Tetrium was kind enough to fill in most of the answers but here a couple of additional pieces of info

You cannot run your Tualatin core cpu's on the slotkets discussed in this thread. These slotkets need a modification because the pins of Tualatin core cpu's are not compatible with the regular 370 socket.
The only two slotkets that support Tualatin core cpu's out of the box are the Powerleap PL-iP3/T and the Upgradeware Slot-T.

The SL3BA is a Mendocino Celeron and runs on 2 volt.
On the 370SPC the JP1 should be jumpered 2-3/2-3.
Jumpers 2 through 5 should be jumpered 1-2

For the SL5QV 1000/256/100 the JP1 should be jumpered 1-2/1-2
Jumpers 2 through 5 should be jumpered 1-2

For the SL3XW 667/256/133 and the SL52R 1000/256/133 the JP1 should be jumpered 1-2/1-2.
I have never tried an fsb 133 cpu on the 370SPC but long ago I found the scheme below on a german forum. If this scheme is correct then jumpers 2, 4 and 5 should be set on position 1-2 but jumper 3 should be removed.
370SPCrev1.0aa.JPG
And be careful with that JP1. In the 2-3/2-3 setting the voltage that is signalled to the motherboard as needed for first generation Celerons sits in the 2.0 to 3.5 volt range. A Coppermine is -not- meant to be run at 2.0 volts. It can survive it if cooled properly but if there is for some reason a hickup in communication between the slotket and motherboard it is theoretically possible that the cpu gets the full 3.5 volt which results in instant death.

@Parke great post that i need to study a bit on. From the one picture that i have of the 370SPC i bought on eBay.
It seems for the SL4P3 733/128/66/1.7V Coppermine Celeron the 370SPC Slotkit jumper setup is as follows ---> JP1 = 2-3 /2-3 , JP2 = 1-2, JP3 = 1-2 , JP4 = 1-2, JP5 = 1-2

So I'm guessing that my 370SPC could be damaged? As it's set wrong based on the pictures.

Attachments

  • 33.jpg
    Filename
    33.jpg
    File size
    309.94 KiB
    Views
    162 views
    File license
    Public domain
Last edited by script-fu on 2020-10-17, 12:20. Edited 1 time in total.

Gigabyte GA-6BXC r.2.0 b.F4C / PIII 600E / 3x256 PC133 / Quadro 2 MXR 32 MB / CT4760 & CT4860
Fatal1ty AA8XE / 4X2GB PC6400 / 8800 GTS 320MB / ck specs
KN9 SLI / 2X2GB PC6400 / 8800 GTS 320MB / ck specs
Fatal1ty AN9 32X / ck specs

Reply 41 of 58, by script-fu

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Somewhere I seen a adjustable Heatsink & Fan bracket. It actually had a adjustment screw for the tension. I have retraced my footsteps but have been unable to find it again. However i did find this one on eBay below (bottom link). I am not so sure it's much better than the one i already bought (top link).

So i guess my question is has anyone ever seen a heatsink and fan with a screw for tension on it?

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Original-3-Pin-Intel … 872.m2749.l2649

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Socket-Intel-370-AMD … 5.c100013.m1986

Gigabyte GA-6BXC r.2.0 b.F4C / PIII 600E / 3x256 PC133 / Quadro 2 MXR 32 MB / CT4760 & CT4860
Fatal1ty AA8XE / 4X2GB PC6400 / 8800 GTS 320MB / ck specs
KN9 SLI / 2X2GB PC6400 / 8800 GTS 320MB / ck specs
Fatal1ty AN9 32X / ck specs

Reply 42 of 58, by script-fu

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
PARKE wrote on 2020-10-17, 01:45:

You cannot run your Tualatin core cpu's on the slotkets discussed in this thread. These slotkets need a modification because the pins of Tualatin core cpu's are not compatible with the regular 370 socket.

The only two slotkets that support Tualatin core cpu's out of the box are the Powerleap PL-iP3/T and the Upgradeware Slot-T.

The guy on eBay from Korea does have Tualatin cpu's that are pin compatible with the older Coppermine slotkits and motherboards. He went direct for the cpu's instead of modding the boards. This is one of the reasons i'm looking for an adjustable heatsink and fan setup. Well that and i don't want to snap the notches off the S370 as reported by others.

Gigabyte GA-6BXC r.2.0 b.F4C / PIII 600E / 3x256 PC133 / Quadro 2 MXR 32 MB / CT4760 & CT4860
Fatal1ty AA8XE / 4X2GB PC6400 / 8800 GTS 320MB / ck specs
KN9 SLI / 2X2GB PC6400 / 8800 GTS 320MB / ck specs
Fatal1ty AN9 32X / ck specs

Reply 44 of 58, by script-fu

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Doornkaat wrote on 2020-10-17, 13:06:
script-fu wrote on 2020-10-17, 12:04:

So i guess my question is has anyone ever seen a heatsink and fan with a screw for tension on it?

Arctic Cooling Copper Silent 3 / Lite?

Yep look at that! It does have an adjustment screw. I saved it in my eBay but can't seem to find one anywhere on the net. Thanks for the post!

Gigabyte GA-6BXC r.2.0 b.F4C / PIII 600E / 3x256 PC133 / Quadro 2 MXR 32 MB / CT4760 & CT4860
Fatal1ty AA8XE / 4X2GB PC6400 / 8800 GTS 320MB / ck specs
KN9 SLI / 2X2GB PC6400 / 8800 GTS 320MB / ck specs
Fatal1ty AN9 32X / ck specs

Reply 45 of 58, by PARKE

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
script-fu wrote on 2020-10-17, 11:55:

From the one picture that i have of the 370SPC i bought on eBay.
It seems for the SL4P3 733/128/66/1.7V Coppermine Celeron the 370SPC Slotkit jumper setup is as follows ---> JP1 = 2-3 /2-3 , JP2 = 1-2, JP3 = 1-2 , JP4 = 1-2, JP5 = 1-2

So I'm guessing that my 370SPC could be damaged? As it's set wrong based on the pictures.

The Celerons with the green pcb have Coppermine cores and in my experience the jumpers for these have to be set the same as for Coppermine PIII cpu's.
The settings you see in that photo (or any internet/Ebay photo) are not necessarily correct (and maybe even hazardous?).

Reply 46 of 58, by script-fu

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Okay i just wanted to make sure you were aware of my 370SPC in that picture from the eBay listing and the settings. 🤣

I will certainly look for bad traces on that slotkit first.

This reminds me yet again to buy a good microscope.

Gigabyte GA-6BXC r.2.0 b.F4C / PIII 600E / 3x256 PC133 / Quadro 2 MXR 32 MB / CT4760 & CT4860
Fatal1ty AA8XE / 4X2GB PC6400 / 8800 GTS 320MB / ck specs
KN9 SLI / 2X2GB PC6400 / 8800 GTS 320MB / ck specs
Fatal1ty AN9 32X / ck specs

Reply 47 of 58, by Doornkaat

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
script-fu wrote on 2020-10-17, 13:36:

Yep look at that! It does have an adjustment screw. I saved it in my eBay but can't seem to find one anywhere on the net. Thanks for the post!

They still tend to show up NOS every now and then but keep in mind they may be larger than what you can mount on a slotket without colliding with the motherboard.
On many coolers you can bend the clip a bit (using two sets of pliers if need be) so it better fits a Tualatin CPU and its heatsink.

Reply 48 of 58, by Oetker

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

I was easily able to bend a heatsink spring to take a Tualatin + adapter. Also, I just used the 'auto' voltage on the and it selected the correct voltage, this just forwards the CPU's vid pins to the VRM. It's best if you determine what VRM your board has and what voltages that supports.

I collected a lot of info on slotket upgrades here https://kentie.net/article/deskproupgrade/index.htm

Reply 49 of 58, by script-fu

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Doornkaat wrote on 2020-10-17, 14:15:
script-fu wrote on 2020-10-17, 13:36:

Yep look at that! It does have an adjustment screw. I saved it in my eBay but can't seem to find one anywhere on the net. Thanks for the post!

They still tend to show up NOS every now and then but keep in mind they may be larger than what you can mount on a slotket without colliding with the motherboard.
On many coolers you can bend the clip a bit (using two sets of pliers if need be) so it better fits a Tualatin CPU and its heatsink.

Yep i will be on the lookout for one. Also the more i look at it, i wanna say i might have one already here someplace. Maybe on an AM2 system or something.

Gigabyte GA-6BXC r.2.0 b.F4C / PIII 600E / 3x256 PC133 / Quadro 2 MXR 32 MB / CT4760 & CT4860
Fatal1ty AA8XE / 4X2GB PC6400 / 8800 GTS 320MB / ck specs
KN9 SLI / 2X2GB PC6400 / 8800 GTS 320MB / ck specs
Fatal1ty AN9 32X / ck specs

Reply 50 of 58, by script-fu

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Oetker wrote on 2020-10-17, 14:39:

I was easily able to bend a heatsink spring to take a Tualatin + adapter. Also, I just used the 'auto' voltage on the and it selected the correct voltage, this just forwards the CPU's vid pins to the VRM. It's best if you determine what VRM your board has and what voltages that supports.

I collected a lot of info on slotket upgrades here https://kentie.net/article/deskproupgrade/index.htm

Yep you have collected quite a bit of good info. I still need to get the part number off my VRM and i will. I just need to take the computer apart again. That might happen today since the mail lady is dropping off one of my slotkits.

Thanks for the info!

Gigabyte GA-6BXC r.2.0 b.F4C / PIII 600E / 3x256 PC133 / Quadro 2 MXR 32 MB / CT4760 & CT4860
Fatal1ty AA8XE / 4X2GB PC6400 / 8800 GTS 320MB / ck specs
KN9 SLI / 2X2GB PC6400 / 8800 GTS 320MB / ck specs
Fatal1ty AN9 32X / ck specs

Reply 51 of 58, by Tetrium

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++
script-fu wrote on 2020-10-16, 21:46:
Here is some older pictures of my lab / spare bedroom lol at the other house. Then of course it took quite a bit to get my lady […]
Show full quote

Here is some older pictures of my lab / spare bedroom 🤣 at the other house. Then of course it took quite a bit to get my lady to throw away the stupid couch in the living room. She gave up in the end!

Lets see a picture of my tek 2335 scope & a 490 BK tube rejuvenator along with some pace soldering equipment on the desk that has been upgraded.
I also had a really nice eprom burner i wanna say it was EP-1100 but now i have a RomMax single and a four channel burner. It requires an ISA slot hence the 440BX i'm building. I also have a Needhams EMP-20 burner that's off the hook!

Those pacman / mspacman / jrpacman / boards were very safe and a great conversation piece when having repair parties at the house.

Wow...that's pretty much awesome! xD

You had to take the arcade machines apart though?

Whats missing in your collections?
My retro rigs (old topic)
Interesting Vogons threads (links to Vogonswiki)
Report spammers here!

Reply 52 of 58, by Tetrium

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++
script-fu wrote on 2020-10-17, 13:36:
Doornkaat wrote on 2020-10-17, 13:06:
script-fu wrote on 2020-10-17, 12:04:

So i guess my question is has anyone ever seen a heatsink and fan with a screw for tension on it?

Arctic Cooling Copper Silent 3 / Lite?

Yep look at that! It does have an adjustment screw. I saved it in my eBay but can't seem to find one anywhere on the net. Thanks for the post!

The Arctic Copper Silent 3 is only adjustable on one side though. If you try to mount it onto a s370 CPU with IHS, it will still assert more force on the side that doesn't have the screw in it.
I'm a huge fan of the Copper Silent 3 (a.k.a. Copper Lite) and have about 10 or so NIB. If this thing can keep a Barton 3200+ cool, it can keep anything s7/ss7/s370/sA cool provided it isn't overclocked (so I'd say TDP of <=75W or so), but I ended up using a stock AMD HSF with carefully bend mounting clip for my own Tualatin build and not the AC Copper Lite due to this.

But disregarding this issue, I can wholly recommend getting one or a couple provided they are still as cheap as they ever were 😜

Last edited by Tetrium on 2020-10-17, 16:13. Edited 1 time in total.

Whats missing in your collections?
My retro rigs (old topic)
Interesting Vogons threads (links to Vogonswiki)
Report spammers here!

Reply 53 of 58, by script-fu

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Tetrium wrote on 2020-10-17, 16:00:
script-fu wrote on 2020-10-16, 21:46:
Here is some older pictures of my lab / spare bedroom lol at the other house. Then of course it took quite a bit to get my lady […]
Show full quote

Here is some older pictures of my lab / spare bedroom 🤣 at the other house. Then of course it took quite a bit to get my lady to throw away the stupid couch in the living room. She gave up in the end!

Lets see a picture of my tek 2335 scope & a 490 BK tube rejuvenator along with some pace soldering equipment on the desk that has been upgraded.
I also had a really nice eprom burner i wanna say it was EP-1100 but now i have a RomMax single and a four channel burner. It requires an ISA slot hence the 440BX i'm building. I also have a Needhams EMP-20 burner that's off the hook!

Those pacman / mspacman / jrpacman / boards were very safe and a great conversation piece when having repair parties at the house.

Wow...that's pretty much awesome! xD

You had to take the arcade machines apart though?

We moved so i had to let some of the machines go. However I have bought more machines to fix up / repair since then.
I also like to buy arcade pcb's to repair. Mostly all are JAMMA style now.

Gigabyte GA-6BXC r.2.0 b.F4C / PIII 600E / 3x256 PC133 / Quadro 2 MXR 32 MB / CT4760 & CT4860
Fatal1ty AA8XE / 4X2GB PC6400 / 8800 GTS 320MB / ck specs
KN9 SLI / 2X2GB PC6400 / 8800 GTS 320MB / ck specs
Fatal1ty AN9 32X / ck specs

Reply 54 of 58, by Tetrium

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++
script-fu wrote on 2020-10-17, 12:04:
Somewhere I seen a adjustable Heatsink & Fan bracket. It actually had a adjustment screw for the tension. I have retraced my foo […]
Show full quote

Somewhere I seen a adjustable Heatsink & Fan bracket. It actually had a adjustment screw for the tension. I have retraced my footsteps but have been unable to find it again. However i did find this one on eBay below (bottom link). I am not so sure it's much better than the one i already bought (top link).

So i guess my question is has anyone ever seen a heatsink and fan with a screw for tension on it?

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Original-3-Pin-Intel … 872.m2749.l2649

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Socket-Intel-370-AMD … 5.c100013.m1986

Please avoid the one HSF with the black HS as that particular mounting clip can be a real pain to uninstall once mounted due to the clip not having this notch that you can use to put a flatbed screwdriver in.
The black HS itself I kinda like though because overall they are a good fit for s7/ss7 (or even s5 and s3 (but not s4 or s8!)) after having swapped the metal clip for a different one. That stock Intel fan can be a bit loud though, but also easy to swap.
The second HSF (the one with the copper base) looks better overall, including coming with at least 3-sized mounting clip on one side (cannot see the other side, could be a single-sized). This is important as with only 1 hole to mount onto the CPU socket, chances increase that it may snap the tab holding the HS.

Whats missing in your collections?
My retro rigs (old topic)
Interesting Vogons threads (links to Vogonswiki)
Report spammers here!

Reply 55 of 58, by script-fu

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

My Fast Fame 370SP Slotkit arrived today. The #1 thing to remember is I slammed a "Package type 370-pin FC-PGA1" SL52R 1000/256/133/1.75V Coppermine PIII cpu into the slotkit. The settings for this cpu might be totally different than what is shown in the pictures on the adaptor. Heck even if that cpu would work at all. For this we are unsure atm. As i refer you to the manufacture notes below for the 370SPC Rev 2.0

#Warning example settings only in the pictures!

So with this post we can now see all the settings on this slotkit.
I am also going to add the notes from their website for both slotkits that were manufactured.

Fast Fame 370SP Slotkit Notes
---

PPGA (Socket 370) CPU Card
The Transfer Card of Celeron CPU on Slot 1

* Use Intel Celeron PPGA 370 processor on your slot 1 Mainboard.

* Upgrade to Pentium II Slot 1 processor.

* Easy to install and easy to upgrade.

* Work with most of Slot 1 Mainboard.

* Support all Intel PPGA Celeron processors.

* Dual CPU, support 100 MHz.

https://web.archive.org/web/20010506035355/ht … ODUCT/370SP.htm

Fast Fame 370SPC Slotkit Notes
---

370SPC

Support Intel PPGA Celeron Processor & FC PGA
Coppermine Processor

Support Dual CPU operation under 66/100 Front Side Bus

Support Single CPU 66/100/133 Mhz Front Side Bus frequency

due to M/B SPEC

Reserve Jumper setting for VIA Cyrix Gobi CPU

Board size: 127 x 69 mm

https://web.archive.org/web/20010722071008/ht … DUCT/370SPC.htm

Attachments

  • 1.JPG
    Filename
    1.JPG
    File size
    157.67 KiB
    Views
    88 views
    File license
    Public domain
  • 2.JPG
    Filename
    2.JPG
    File size
    187.69 KiB
    Views
    88 views
    File license
    Public domain
  • 3.JPG
    Filename
    3.JPG
    File size
    149.32 KiB
    Views
    88 views
    File license
    Public domain
  • 4.JPG
    Filename
    4.JPG
    File size
    157.53 KiB
    Views
    88 views
    File license
    Public domain
  • 5.JPG
    Filename
    5.JPG
    File size
    151.62 KiB
    Views
    88 views
    File license
    Public domain

Gigabyte GA-6BXC r.2.0 b.F4C / PIII 600E / 3x256 PC133 / Quadro 2 MXR 32 MB / CT4760 & CT4860
Fatal1ty AA8XE / 4X2GB PC6400 / 8800 GTS 320MB / ck specs
KN9 SLI / 2X2GB PC6400 / 8800 GTS 320MB / ck specs
Fatal1ty AN9 32X / ck specs

Reply 56 of 58, by PARKE

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
script-fu wrote on 2020-10-17, 22:04:

My Fast Fame 370SP Slotkit arrived today. The #1 thing to remember is I slammed a "Package type 370-pin FC-PGA1" SL52R 1000/256/133/1.75V Coppermine PIII cpu into the slotkit. The settings for this cpu might be totally different than what is shown in the pictures on the adaptor. Heck even if that cpu would work at all. For this we are unsure atm.
As i refer you to the manufacture notes below for the 370SPC Rev 2.0

You can run your [SL3BA 433/128/66 Mendocino Celeron] in that Fastfame 370SP slotket - that is the type of cpu it was meant for.
Yesterday I cleaned up some slotket info that was scattered in various places here. Found some old sellers info on the 370SPC - see attached.

Filename
370SPC Rev.doc
File size
85.5 KiB
Downloads
1 download
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Also found a link thet mentions the [PII CPU CARD] from your first post:
https://forums.anandtech.com/threads/help-any … slotket.690316/

Reply 57 of 58, by darry

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

This is completely unrelated, but talk of shoving and celery immediately made me think of MacGruber .

I would post a gif, but that would probably make the thread NSFW (and possibly be against forum rules), so I will refrain .

On a more pertinent note, if you use an adapter to fit a CPU that requires a lower voltage but possibly higher current than those officially supported by the board,
a) Make sure the VRM can actually supply the voltage requested by the CPU/slotket
b) Provide extra cooling (fan blowing on mosfets). It never hurts . See http://duhvoodooman.com/powrleap/lfl/slot-t_1.htm