VOGONS

First post, by quackgyver

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

Hi,

I'm a retro game designer, and I'm in the process of putting together my first retro PC build for the purpose of retro game design inspiration.

I'm mainly aiming for a 90-99-era build which would use MS-DOS and either Windows 95 or Windows 98 Second Edition.

So far I've gotten ahold of the following:

My questions are:

1. If possible I'd prefer to be able to regularly switch out the storage device without having to open the case, so instead of having an internal HDD, could I instead use one of the optical drive bays for a hot swap drive? Would an item like this or this work for my purposes and with my hardware? If I bought one of these hot swap drives, could I plug a regular 3.5" HDD into the optical bay and use it as my primary HDD?
  2. If the above mentioned option isn't viable, could I instead have some sort of front-facing USB/flash drive or SD drive in the optical bay or floppy bay? If so, what product should I get more specifically that would work with my hardware?
  3. Instead of a floppy drive, could I have a USB/flash drive in the floppy bay that uses FAT-formatted USB/flash drives instead of floppy disks? I know that Gotek has produced floppy emulators that can read disk images from USB/flash drives, but I would prefer to read the data straight from the USB/flash drive rather than from an image file located on the USB/flash drive. Does anyone know if this is possible, and what product I should get?