VOGONS


First post, by T4600C

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

I got a Compaq Deskpro with a COMPAQ 232567-101 370 Motherboard, a Coppermine 1Ghz Pentium 3 (SL52R), 512Mb PC133 ram and a GeForce 4200 Ti.
Operating system is Windows XP on a 120Gb hard drive

The things I would like to upgrade is the cooler to a larger one with a quiet Noctua fan and the processor to something like a 1.4Ghz Tualatin.

DSC_0643.JPG
Filename
DSC_0643.JPG
File size
1.58 MiB
Views
545 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception
DSC_0646.JPG
Filename
DSC_0646.JPG
File size
1.27 MiB
Views
545 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Currently it has a very tiny cooler with a 50mm fan, I think there is room for something a bit larger.
I do think these 70/80 coolers could just about fit, then I may replace the fan with something from Noctua.
Perhaps replace the case and PSU fan too.

I read that Tualatins have a core voltage of 1.45 while coppermine uses 1.75, and also slightly different pin layout?
So it would not be possible to install a Tualatin into the compaq mobo?

Reply 1 of 14, by Oetker

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

You could check the part number of your VRM chip to be sure, but Coppermine compatible VRMs will support Tualatin voltages. Depending on your motherboard chipset you could need an adapter to make Tualatins work, or you could mod the socket or buy a pre-modded Tualatin chip. Finally there's a chance your BIOS will refuse to boot with the a Tualatin installed, but I've had good luck with an older Compaq mothrtboard.

Reply 2 of 14, by Con 2 botones

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Is it a "DeskPro EN PD1050"?

If so, Tualatin is compatible:
[Solved] Help: Compaq Deskpro EN (PD1050) Tualatin BIOS rom

Mine also came with 1Ghz Coppermine from factory.

Reply 3 of 14, by T4600C

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Con 2 botones wrote on 2022-06-06, 20:25:
Is it a "DeskPro EN PD1050"? […]
Show full quote

Is it a "DeskPro EN PD1050"?

If so, Tualatin is compatible:
[Solved] Help: Compaq Deskpro EN (PD1050) Tualatin BIOS rom

Mine also came with 1Ghz Coppermine from factory.

I think mine is a bit older than yours. Last bios update is 2.04 from 2001.

Motherboard is a 240762-001 looks like they were mostly put in Deskpro EX systems with a P3 500-1000mhz.

DSC_0648.JPG
Filename
DSC_0648.JPG
File size
1.76 MiB
Views
514 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception
DSC_06512_50.jpg
Filename
DSC_06512_50.jpg
File size
722.84 KiB
Views
514 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception
DSC_06522_50.jpg
Filename
DSC_06522_50.jpg
File size
711.93 KiB
Views
514 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 4 of 14, by Con 2 botones

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

I see your BIOS version is slightly different.
But, take a look at the fourth line printed on the North bridge, that´s what really matters:

Tualatin-Compatible.jpg
Tualatin-Compatible2.jpg

Reply 5 of 14, by T4600C

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Con 2 botones wrote on 2022-06-07, 19:31:
I see your BIOS version is slightly different. But, take a look at the fourth line printed on the North bridge, that´s what real […]
Show full quote

I see your BIOS version is slightly different.
But, take a look at the fourth line printed on the North bridge, that´s what really matters:

Tualatin-Compatible.jpg
Tualatin-Compatible2.jpg

The chip has written SL5NQ.

Does this automatically mean it supports every tualatin even the fastest one? Bios would need to support it too.

V 2.04 was the most recent one I could find and the rompaq doesn't provide an update for it. 2.04 is dated 2001.

Reply 6 of 14, by Oetker

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

For the cooler, it's best to go with one that hooks onto both 'hooks' that protrude from each side of the socket. Also, as Tualatins have a heat spreader, you might need to bend the cooler's spring bracket a little so there's less tension. Installing a better fan is a great idea, on my machine I only had space for a cooler with a 60mm fan, but even Noctua's 60mm fan is inaudible.

Reply 7 of 14, by TrashPanda

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
T4600C wrote on 2022-06-07, 22:18:
The chip has written SL5NQ. […]
Show full quote
Con 2 botones wrote on 2022-06-07, 19:31:
I see your BIOS version is slightly different. But, take a look at the fourth line printed on the North bridge, that´s what real […]
Show full quote

I see your BIOS version is slightly different.
But, take a look at the fourth line printed on the North bridge, that´s what really matters:

Tualatin-Compatible.jpg
Tualatin-Compatible2.jpg

The chip has written SL5NQ.

Does this automatically mean it supports every tualatin even the fastest one? Bios would need to support it too.

V 2.04 was the most recent one I could find and the rompaq doesn't provide an update for it. 2.04 is dated 2001.

The 1.4s came rather late into the cycle so not a lot of boards supported it even if they supported the earlier models, most could be made to support the 1.4s by a BIOS update others need more exotic methods such as modding the BIOS.

There were also Tualatin Celerons which also fall under the Tualatin supported monkier and they had far wider support, a Tualeron 1400 is a nice CPU honestly and even if you cant get a 1.4s running the Tualeron might work instead.

Oh noes, the cap let the shmooo out 😁

Reply 8 of 14, by PC Hoarder Patrol

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
T4600C wrote on 2022-06-07, 22:18:
The chip has written SL5NQ. […]
Show full quote
Con 2 botones wrote on 2022-06-07, 19:31:
I see your BIOS version is slightly different. But, take a look at the fourth line printed on the North bridge, that´s what real […]
Show full quote

I see your BIOS version is slightly different.
But, take a look at the fourth line printed on the North bridge, that´s what really matters:

Tualatin-Compatible.jpg
Tualatin-Compatible2.jpg

The chip has written SL5NQ.

Does this automatically mean it supports every tualatin even the fastest one? Bios would need to support it too.

V 2.04 was the most recent one I could find and the rompaq doesn't provide an update for it. 2.04 is dated 2001.

Seem to recall reading somewhere that these boards were actually Intel OEM, done for Compaq, and that they had the later revision Harris HIP6004B series chip to support voltages down to 1.3V ie Tualatin-capable. What does the circled chip read on your board?

CPQ 815 MATX.jpg
Filename
CPQ 815 MATX.jpg
File size
312.74 KiB
Views
426 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

BIOS-wise I can't finf anything later than 606P0 v2.04 from 2001, and the notes for this ROMPaq update certainly mention some level of Tualatin support - ftp://ftp3.hp.com/pub/softpaq/sp18001-18500/sp18124.txt

Filename
sp18124.txt
File size
3.45 KiB
Downloads
8 downloads
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 9 of 14, by T4600C

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
PC Hoarder Patrol wrote on 2022-06-08, 09:40:
Seem to recall reading somewhere that these boards were actually Intel OEM, done for Compaq, and that they had the later revisi […]
Show full quote
T4600C wrote on 2022-06-07, 22:18:
The chip has written SL5NQ. […]
Show full quote
Con 2 botones wrote on 2022-06-07, 19:31:
I see your BIOS version is slightly different. But, take a look at the fourth line printed on the North bridge, that´s what real […]
Show full quote

I see your BIOS version is slightly different.
But, take a look at the fourth line printed on the North bridge, that´s what really matters:

Tualatin-Compatible.jpg
Tualatin-Compatible2.jpg

The chip has written SL5NQ.

Does this automatically mean it supports every tualatin even the fastest one? Bios would need to support it too.

V 2.04 was the most recent one I could find and the rompaq doesn't provide an update for it. 2.04 is dated 2001.

Seem to recall reading somewhere that these boards were actually Intel OEM, done for Compaq, and that they had the later revision Harris HIP6004B series chip to support voltages down to 1.3V ie Tualatin-capable. What does the circled chip read on your board?

CPQ 815 MATX.jpg

BIOS-wise I can't finf anything later than 606P0 v2.04 from 2001, and the notes for this ROMPaq update certainly mention some level of Tualatin support - ftp://ftp3.hp.com/pub/softpaq/sp18001-18500/sp18124.txt

sp18124.txt

Yeah 2.04 was the latest I could find too.

DSC_0647~2.JPG
Filename
DSC_0647~2.JPG
File size
90.01 KiB
Views
416 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

H1P6004ECB
P0127ADHV

Reply 10 of 14, by T4600C

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Replaced two of the three fans with Noctua.

70mm and 80mm coolers should arrive soon, will be buying the appropriate fan when I know what fits.

DSC_0657.JPG
Filename
DSC_0657.JPG
File size
712.29 KiB
Views
378 views
File license
CC-BY-4.0

So a 1,2ghz tualatin would probably work and a 1,4ghz might? At least with the normal 2,04.

But with a hex editor the ROMpaq file could be edited to include 1,4Ghz?

Reply 11 of 14, by T4600C

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Received the 80mm cooler! Just about fits.

Installed 80mm cooler compared to older and much louder one:

DSC_0748.JPG
Filename
DSC_0748.JPG
File size
1.25 MiB
Views
275 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 12 of 14, by Tetrium

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++
T4600C wrote on 2022-07-07, 19:10:

Received the 80mm cooler! Just about fits.

Installed 80mm cooler compared to older and much louder one:

DSC_0748.JPG

That's a huge difference indeed! 😜

Btw that old cooler you have is something of a strange one. Iirc if you start taking it apart the fins should actually kinda fall off. It's not a solid cooler, it's like the fins are a folded sheet of metal which is shaped to go around the metal core of the heatsink and is kept in place by the plastic that is surrounding the heatsink.
Just so you know, should you ever decide to want to reuse that heatsink for a pentium 1 or something and start taking it apart for a good clean.
It should also be really light.
But anyway, if you ever decide to take it apart for whatever reason, don't be surprised if it stats falling apart because it's kinda supposed to 😜

Or at least if it is indeed the same one I encountered once or twice.

Whats missing in your collections?
My retro rigs (old topic)
Interesting Vogons threads (links to Vogonswiki)
Report spammers here!

Reply 13 of 14, by T4600C

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Received the 1,4Ghz tualatin and it works!

DSC_0877~2.JPG
Filename
DSC_0877~2.JPG
File size
1 MiB
Views
200 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception
DSC_0879~3.JPG
Filename
DSC_0879~3.JPG
File size
1.82 MiB
Views
200 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Reply 14 of 14, by Grem Five

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
T4600C wrote on 2022-07-29, 12:15:

Received the 1,4Ghz tualatin and it works!

DSC_0877~2.JPG

DSC_0879~3.JPG

Awesome... not all Tualatin boards support the 1.4, I got a Gateway Tualatin board that has no problems running a 1.4 celeron at 1.5 v but when I try a 1.4 p3 it says it cant support it because of voltage which is a pain as I know 1.4 p3 has no problems running at 1.5 v.

I see your 1.4 has a compaq sticker on it, if you got it from ebay I hope you were one of the lucky few that got in on that seller that had a bunch of them for $9.99 before those dirty profiteers got in and bought up all the stock just to resale them on ebay a few weeks later for $75 a pop.