*START HERE* SoftMPU 1.9 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Forum for discussion of bugs, code, and other aspects of SoftMPU.

Re: *START HERE* SoftMPU 1.9 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Postby dJOS » 2017-9-11 @ 07:33

Has anyone tested this with the "Yamaha Audician 32 plus" board?

They can be had new from eBay and use the YMF718-S chip - apparently they support MIDI via the gameport and are SB-Pro 2 compatible.
The impossible often has a kind of integrity which the merely improbable lacks.
dJOS
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2017-5-10 @ 02:47

Re: *START HERE* SoftMPU 1.9 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Postby bjt » 2017-9-11 @ 08:11

Yes, it works :-)
User avatar
bjt
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1403
Joined: 2013-2-06 @ 10:40
Location: UK

Re: *START HERE* SoftMPU 1.9 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Postby dJOS » 2017-9-11 @ 08:52

bjt wrote:Yes, it works :-)


Fantastic, thank you.
The impossible often has a kind of integrity which the merely improbable lacks.
dJOS
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2017-5-10 @ 02:47

Re: *START HERE* SoftMPU 1.9 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Postby dJOS » 2017-9-12 @ 04:55

I finally got around to trying SoftMPU with my K6-III+ equipped with SB16 PNP (Pre-Vibra but CQM edition) and it works great with SQ3, Siplheed and SQ4 .. although my card has the hanging note bug which presents pretty early. Not a big deal tho as I have both a Yamaha Audician 32 plus and an SB AWE64 in transit. I'm not sure why I bought the AWE64 but hey, cant hurt to own one i guess. :lol:

I'm also using QEMM 386 v7.04 with no issues. :cool:

PS, thanks for your hard work bjt, tis brilliant being able to use my MT-32 on real HW again!

Image
The impossible often has a kind of integrity which the merely improbable lacks.
dJOS
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2017-5-10 @ 02:47

Re: *START HERE* SoftMPU 1.9 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Postby bjt » 2017-9-12 @ 08:39

Nice one :-)
User avatar
bjt
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1403
Joined: 2013-2-06 @ 10:40
Location: UK

Re: *START HERE* SoftMPU 1.9 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Postby lazygamereviews » 2017-9-19 @ 02:18

So I've had great luck using SoftMPU until today when I am getting the message "Real Time Clock support not detected." Can't seem to find out what that means? Just using it with a Sound Blaster 16 card on a Compaq 486, which definitely has an RTC. Shouldn't be any TSRs that would conflict, only have CTMOUSE and DOSKEY loaded.
User avatar
lazygamereviews
Newbie
 
Posts: 52
Joined: 2011-2-13 @ 04:50
Location: USA

Re: *START HERE* SoftMPU 1.9 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Postby bjwil1991 » 2017-9-19 @ 03:33

lazygamereviews wrote:So I've had great luck using SoftMPU until today when I am getting the message "Real Time Clock support not detected." Can't seem to find out what that means? Just using it with a Sound Blaster 16 card on a Compaq 486, which definitely has an RTC. Shouldn't be any TSRs that would conflict, only have CTMOUSE and DOSKEY loaded.

What version of CTMOUSE do you have? 2.0 beta 4 is recommended over 2.1 alpha and 1.9
WheelWriter 10 Series II
Packard Bell Pack-Mate 28 Plus
Custom K6-2/300
Pavilion N3350
iMac G3/600 Graphite
Custom Athlon 64
Dimension 4550
Dimension E510
ThinkPad R40
Presario C700
ASUS X54C
Raspberry Pi B+, 2B, 3B
Custom FX-6300
User avatar
bjwil1991
Member
 
Posts: 295
Joined: 2013-8-14 @ 03:10
Location: United States of America

Re: *START HERE* SoftMPU 1.9 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Postby bjt » 2017-9-19 @ 11:59

lazygamereviews wrote:So I've had great luck using SoftMPU until today when I am getting the message "Real Time Clock support not detected." Can't seem to find out what that means? Just using it with a Sound Blaster 16 card on a Compaq 486, which definitely has an RTC. Shouldn't be any TSRs that would conflict, only have CTMOUSE and DOSKEY loaded.


Interesting, I haven't heard of that problem before.
Have a play with the ROM shadowing options in the BIOS. If you don't have any luck I can provide a patched version that bypasses the RTC check.
User avatar
bjt
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1403
Joined: 2013-2-06 @ 10:40
Location: UK

Re: *START HERE* SoftMPU 1.9 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Postby lazygamereviews » 2017-9-19 @ 16:24

bjt wrote:
lazygamereviews wrote:So I've had great luck using SoftMPU until today when I am getting the message "Real Time Clock support not detected." Can't seem to find out what that means? Just using it with a Sound Blaster 16 card on a Compaq 486, which definitely has an RTC. Shouldn't be any TSRs that would conflict, only have CTMOUSE and DOSKEY loaded.


Interesting, I haven't heard of that problem before.
Have a play with the ROM shadowing options in the BIOS. If you don't have any luck I can provide a patched version that bypasses the RTC check.


Unfortunately the BIOS doesn't have any settings for ROM shadowing to adjust.

I'd be happy to try a patched version! Would bypassing the RTC check affect functionality much?
User avatar
lazygamereviews
Newbie
 
Posts: 52
Joined: 2011-2-13 @ 04:50
Location: USA

Re: *START HERE* SoftMPU 1.9 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Postby bjt » 2017-9-19 @ 20:40

lazygamereviews wrote:I'd be happy to try a patched version! Would bypassing the RTC check affect functionality much?


No, it will still use the RTC. Not really sure why the check is failing on your Compaq (could your copy of SoftMPU be corrupt?) but here's a patched version anyway.
Attachments
RTCHACK.ZIP
(6.33 KiB) Downloaded 2 times
User avatar
bjt
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1403
Joined: 2013-2-06 @ 10:40
Location: UK

Re: *START HERE* SoftMPU 1.9 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Postby lazygamereviews » 2017-9-21 @ 05:33

bjt wrote:
lazygamereviews wrote:I'd be happy to try a patched version! Would bypassing the RTC check affect functionality much?


No, it will still use the RTC. Not really sure why the check is failing on your Compaq (could your copy of SoftMPU be corrupt?) but here's a patched version anyway.


Thanks so much! It's working perfectly now :)
User avatar
lazygamereviews
Newbie
 
Posts: 52
Joined: 2011-2-13 @ 04:50
Location: USA

Re: *START HERE* SoftMPU 1.9 - Software Intelligent MPU-401 Emulator

Postby bjt » 2017-9-21 @ 09:02

I love it when a plan comes together :cool:
User avatar
bjt
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1403
Joined: 2013-2-06 @ 10:40
Location: UK

Previous

Return to SoftMPU

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest