VOGONS


dgVoodoo 2.6.x and related WIP versions

Topic actions

Reply 160 of 171, by funkerwolf

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
rjhansen wrote on 2020-01-20, 04:58:

Jeez. Firefox is now saying that the dgvoodoo2 download page is malware and discouraging me from visiting. I've also gotten false positives with Defender on some of the versions.

You'll have to talk to the Mozilla people, I think. Defender false positives tend to go away as they're in the cloud definitions.

Firefox also told me that the current version of 2.63.1 is straight up malware. Ugh.

Say thanks to google, best ever company...

Reply 161 of 171, by Dege

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
rjhansen wrote on 2020-01-20, 04:58:

Jeez. Firefox is now saying that the dgvoodoo2 download page is malware and discouraging me from visiting. I've also gotten false positives with Defender on some of the versions.

Firefox says what Google says because it uses Google’s Safe Browsing service. If you see my site blocked, then uhmm… it's normal, thanks to **** Google. (But you can always reach it with Edge or Egde Chromium, they are free of google bloat.)

Each time I release a new version, a few days later google sends me an email complaining about malware found on my site, so I has to experiment how to compress/decompress/whatever dgvoodooCpl.exe to have the least hit rate on VirusTotal and shake off google of me.
Sadly, Defender also false-detects the cpl by now (but interestingly only the ones versioned as 2.6x.y), so I have to submit releases to Microsoft to have the detection removed.

Reply 162 of 171, by Dege

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
stranno wrote on 2020-01-19, 12:17:

That new sub-rectangle option will come handy for the absolutely horrendous aspect ratio of Heart of Darkness.

Even when the Gregory's Source Port is much better, but still not 100% polished.

Thank you Dege!

Isn't it a 320x200 game? Simply set 'Stretched, 4:3 aspect ratio' insted of 'keep aspect ratio' and it should be fine.

Reply 163 of 171, by Expack3

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
Dege wrote on 2020-01-19, 19:59:
From the blog: […]
Show full quote

From the blog:

What can you do with the code?
Make the move to D3D12 more quickly. Leverage the D3D12 Translation Layer library as-is in your game to port your existing work to D3D12 faster.

???? Why would replacing a DX11 layer with a DX11->12 wrapper be useful? I don't get it. It's basically the same as DX11 does internally, or worse.
(As far as I know, originally D3D11on12 was created for Direct2D for using that in DX12 applications.)

It would seem it still is. From the official conceptual documentation:

D3D11On12 has not been optimized for performance. There will likely be moderate CPU overhead compared to a standard D3D11 driver, minimal GPU overhead, and there is known to be significant memory overhead. Therefore it is not recommended to use D3D11On12 for complicated 3D scenes, and it is instead recommended for simple scenes, or 2D rendering.

Reply 164 of 171, by rjhansen

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Dege wrote on 2020-01-20, 22:59:
Firefox says what Google says because it uses Google’s Safe Browsing service. If you see my site blocked, then uhmm… it's normal […]
Show full quote
rjhansen wrote on 2020-01-20, 04:58:

Jeez. Firefox is now saying that the dgvoodoo2 download page is malware and discouraging me from visiting. I've also gotten false positives with Defender on some of the versions.

Firefox says what Google says because it uses Google’s Safe Browsing service. If you see my site blocked, then uhmm… it's normal, thanks to **** Google. (But you can always reach it with Edge or Egde Chromium, they are free of google bloat.)

Each time I release a new version, a few days later google sends me an email complaining about malware found on my site, so I has to experiment how to compress/decompress/whatever dgvoodooCpl.exe to have the least hit rate on VirusTotal and shake off google of me.
Sadly, Defender also false-detects the cpl by now (but interestingly only the ones versioned as 2.6x.y), so I have to submit releases to Microsoft to have the detection removed.

As of now, Control Panel 2.63.1 is clean on Defender. 🙄

Webpage is clear on Firefox, and I presume, Chrome as well.

Reply 165 of 171, by pgwipeout

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Good Evening,

I've encountered an interesting situation with dgvoodoo 2.6.1.
I am attempting to run Diablo 2 with it, which works fine with sven's wrapper.
When trying dgvoodoo though, the game crashes with error 1.
Tracing the calls, it loads glide3x.dll, but does not load the dgvoodoo.conf file.
This makes it impossible to enable debug mode.

Also interesting, when running in ddraw mode, it loads the ddraw.dll, but once again does not load the dgvoodoo.conf.
I threw the sven wrapper config program in the folder and ran the glide3d test built into it, and it runs fine.
It also loads the dgvoodoo.conf file and debug mode is triggered correctly.

Thank you for your time.
Peter

Reply 168 of 171, by RaVeN-05

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Hello! found that Z.A.R game d3d version can't work with dgVoodoo it says "Z.A.R. Error 3D hardware NOT found."
without it can be played in Direct3D using 800x600x32 resolution mode.

https://hexenworld.org/forum/index.php (Heretic's & HeXen's forum)
https://www.youtube.com/user/whitemagicraven
https://go.twitch.tv/whitemagicraventv

Reply 169 of 171, by ZellSF

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
RaVeN-05 wrote on 2020-02-09, 19:37:

Hello! found that Z.A.R game d3d version can't work with dgVoodoo it says "Z.A.R. Error 3D hardware NOT found."
without it can be played in Direct3D using 800x600x32 resolution mode.

Am I missing something?:

ZAR_D3D 2020-02-10 01-12-38-01.jpg
Filename
ZAR_D3D 2020-02-10 01-12-38-01.jpg
File size
377.69 KiB
Views
121 views
File license
Fair use/fair dealing exception

Resolution forcing, MSAA and AF seem to work too. This is the 1.03 patch, which is the only D3D version I could find.

Reply 170 of 171, by Expack3

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
ZellSF wrote on 2020-02-10, 00:18:
Am I missing something?: ZAR_D3D 2020-02-10 01-12-38-01.jpg Resolution forcing, MSAA and AF seem to work too. This is the 1.03 p […]
Show full quote
RaVeN-05 wrote on 2020-02-09, 19:37:

Hello! found that Z.A.R game d3d version can't work with dgVoodoo it says "Z.A.R. Error 3D hardware NOT found."
without it can be played in Direct3D using 800x600x32 resolution mode.

Am I missing something?:
ZAR_D3D 2020-02-10 01-12-38-01.jpg
Resolution forcing, MSAA and AF seem to work too. This is the 1.03 patch, which is the only D3D version I could find.

As a side question, does the 1.03 patch let the game work as a Win32 application under Windows 10? If so, will it work with the Steam version of ZAR?

Curious as I own the game on Steam and would like to be able to play the game natively (even with the assistance of dgVoodoo2) instead of through DOSBox.

Reply 171 of 171, by ZellSF

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

I have no idea if it will work with the Steam version, but it does work as a Win32 application (how would I otherwise run it with D3D through dgVoodoo?). The patcher is a DOS executable though (DOSBox works).