Yamaha Audician 32 + Fate of Atlantis.

Discussion about old sound cards, MIDI devices and sound related accessories.

Yamaha Audician 32 + Fate of Atlantis.

Postby sketchus » 2017-11-20 @ 00:46

Hi folks.

Just wondering if someone can tell me if they can get this sound card and this game working together. No matter what I do I can't get anything working.

If I use my Vortex2 to emulate SB it actually does work, so I'm not sure what's going on.

Thanks.
sketchus
Member
 
Posts: 171
Joined: 2017-2-15 @ 18:51

Re: Yamaha Audician 32 + Fate of Atlantis.

Postby badmojo » 2017-11-20 @ 02:01

Does the Yamaha work with anything else? What system you using it in? What OS?
If it's broke, then fix it!
User avatar
badmojo
l33t
 
Posts: 2734
Joined: 2011-10-11 @ 04:14
Location: Australia

Re: Yamaha Audician 32 + Fate of Atlantis.

Postby sketchus » 2017-11-20 @ 02:10

Yeah should have given more details.

Works fine with everything else except fate of atlantis (and having just now tested it the Last Crusade).

On Win98SE
1.4 Tualatin
Gigabyte GA 6VTXE
Ti 4200.
sketchus
Member
 
Posts: 171
Joined: 2017-2-15 @ 18:51

Re: Yamaha Audician 32 + Fate of Atlantis.

Postby clueless1 » 2017-11-20 @ 02:17

Disable your cpu cache. This game is speed sensitive and the sound will malfunction at speed above about a 486. I've tested the Audician with this game under DOS 6.22 on a 486 and a Pentium with caches disabled and it sounds great. On the Pentium with caches enabled, sounds are jacked up.

Here's a good page for your reference:
http://www.vogonswiki.com/index.php/Lis ... tive_games
The more I learn, the more I realize how much I don't know.
Let's benchmark our systems with cache disabled
DOS PCI Graphics Card Benchmarks
User avatar
clueless1
l33t
 
Posts: 3576
Joined: 2015-12-22 @ 17:43
Location: Midwest US

Re: Yamaha Audician 32 + Fate of Atlantis.

Postby sketchus » 2017-11-20 @ 02:35

Thanks, I actually had to use the dipswitches on my motherboard to get it down to 800mhz. I would imagine that's still too fast though. I don't think I can disable my cache on this board, at least via the bios.
sketchus
Member
 
Posts: 171
Joined: 2017-2-15 @ 18:51

Re: Yamaha Audician 32 + Fate of Atlantis.

Postby clueless1 » 2017-11-20 @ 11:05

There's a utility called SETMUL that lets you disable cache via software. On a P3 you can only usefully disable L1, but it should help you. You can set a batch file for your game that disables L1 when you start the game, and enables it when you exit the game. Here's where you can find it: http://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?t=38613
The more I learn, the more I realize how much I don't know.
Let's benchmark our systems with cache disabled
DOS PCI Graphics Card Benchmarks
User avatar
clueless1
l33t
 
Posts: 3576
Joined: 2015-12-22 @ 17:43
Location: Midwest US

Re: Yamaha Audician 32 + Fate of Atlantis.

Postby sketchus » 2017-11-20 @ 19:16

Alright some progress thanks for that program.

The game now sort of works.

Using that program it slow my PC to a CRAWL but with general midi and voices the game works properly!

Using opl though the game for some reason is way way way too slow. Like a frame every 10 seconds slow. I don't think my cpu supports adjusting the multiplier there at all does it?

EDIT:

It works it pure DOS, hooray!

My only issue is the voice audio is REALLY scratchy and low quality, which sucks a bit.
Last edited by sketchus on 2017-11-20 @ 19:32, edited 1 time in total.
sketchus
Member
 
Posts: 171
Joined: 2017-2-15 @ 18:51

Re: Yamaha Audician 32 + Fate of Atlantis.

Postby clueless1 » 2017-11-20 @ 19:27

Check the link in my signature "Let's benchmark our systems with cache disabled". There is a Google spreadsheet with results from various systems. Pentium II and III tend to slow down almost too much when you disable L1, and it sounds like that's what you're experiencing. Unfortunately, you're sort of limited. Pentium MMX and K6 CPUs are much more flexible with Setmul (more options work with those cpus). You could also try some of the other slowdown softwares like MOSLO. I don't use them, so I can't help you with links. I'm sure Google will help you. :) Good luck!
The more I learn, the more I realize how much I don't know.
Let's benchmark our systems with cache disabled
DOS PCI Graphics Card Benchmarks
User avatar
clueless1
l33t
 
Posts: 3576
Joined: 2015-12-22 @ 17:43
Location: Midwest US

Re: Yamaha Audician 32 + Fate of Atlantis.

Postby sketchus » 2017-11-20 @ 19:34

Thanks a ton! Using it in pure DOS ended up working and it's now playable. The music quality is perfect, whereas the voices are pretty bad (moreso than you'd expect), something's definitely not right, but it's playable for sure.

Another edit!

Changing my IRQ to 7 worked, the game sounds perfect now!

Thank you!
sketchus
Member
 
Posts: 171
Joined: 2017-2-15 @ 18:51


Return to Sound

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests