VOGONS

First post, by B24Fox

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank

This is my first retro build that addresses DOS also, so i'm pretty new at this ... and I'm literally on the verge of mental collapse here... 😞

Can anyone PLEASE give me a step by step explanation of how to install an Aureal Vortex 2 for Win98SE's "Restart in MS-Dos Mode", and actually work? (including it's onboard MIDI sound)
What does the Autoexec.bat file need to look like ? (and Config.sys, if need be)

Some background:
I'm building a Win98se SSk7 system with a K62+ on a VIA MVP3 platform (PCChips M577 motherboard), GF2MX400 & DirectX 7.

I managed to get everything in working order.. including the onboard CMI8330 ISA sound, which I need for SBPro / FM sound, and works well in both the Windows' DosBox, and almost perfectly in"MS-Dos Mode" (dos driver installer did most of the work, but turned out pretty well, nevertheless.)

Problem is I need MIDI in both windows and dos, and wanted to use a (TurtleBeach)Aureal Vortex 2 for that.
In windows, i managed to set IRQs nicely, disabled Aureal SBpro emulation, and dos games worked really well with the 2 cards, each doing it's own thing (CMI =SBlaster, & Aureal = MIDI)

-------------

So I completely uninstalled the CMI8330, disabled it in BIOS, emptied the Autoexec.bat file, and reinstalled the Aureal Vortex... but to no avail.
In Windows Dosbox, Aureal Vortex's MIDI works fine, and also it's Sound Blaster mode (although pretty distorted). But in "MS-Dos Mode" i can't get the damn thing to work.

It automatically installed it's AU30DOS.com module, and it is initialising, but there's no sound of any kind.
The driver i'm using is 2041.

Mucked about with an AU30DOS.com & AU30DOS.ini that i found here on the forum, and managed to get some very garbled FM music in some cases.. But that's about it.

The games i'm testing in, are Doom, Tyrian, Highway Hunter.

Please help!