Trident ISA VGA jumper settings?

Discussion about old graphics cards, monitors and video related things.

Trident ISA VGA jumper settings?

Postby stalk3r » 2019-8-01 @ 11:27

Does anyone have this kind of card? I am looking for its jumper settings, but the only thing I found is that it was made by Protac: https://fccid.io/J4UVGA415BFT4

Image
Last edited by stalk3r on 2019-8-01 @ 11:38, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
stalk3r
Newbie
 
Posts: 96
Joined: 2019-4-05 @ 06:44
Location: Hungary

Re: Trident ISA VGA jumper settings?

Postby derSammler » 2019-8-01 @ 11:31

J9 is for 8-bit mode (all closed = 8 bit, all open = 16 bit). No idea about the rest, there's normally not that much on a VGA card you need to configure.
derSammler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1988
Joined: 2017-4-14 @ 11:30
Location: Germany

Re: Trident ISA VGA jumper settings?

Postby stalk3r » 2019-8-01 @ 11:36

derSammler wrote:J9 is for 8-bit mode (all closed = 8 bit, all open = 16 bit). No idea about the rest, there's normally not that much on a VGA card you need to configure.


I suspect this has a jumper for WS 0/1 , but way too much combinations there
User avatar
stalk3r
Newbie
 
Posts: 96
Joined: 2019-4-05 @ 06:44
Location: Hungary


Re: Trident ISA VGA jumper settings?

Postby stalk3r » 2019-8-01 @ 12:10



Thanks! This means that it doesn't have one for WS 0/1 (JP2 is missing)
User avatar
stalk3r
Newbie
 
Posts: 96
Joined: 2019-4-05 @ 06:44
Location: Hungary

Re: Trident ISA VGA jumper settings?

Postby Rawit » 2019-8-01 @ 12:16

I see J2 on your board but without pins. So it's not unfeasable to short it to get Zero WS enabled. I actually thought wait states were more a VLB thing.
User avatar
Rawit
Member
 
Posts: 316
Joined: 2015-4-17 @ 07:01

Re: Trident ISA VGA jumper settings?

Postby SirNickity » 2019-8-05 @ 17:41

No, ISA mandates a default wait-state timer that can be overridden if the card is fast enough. In case others are lurking and aren't aware, most Trident boards I've seen adhere to a reference design WRT the jumpers, so the list above will apply to a lot of different cards.
SirNickity
Oldbie
 
Posts: 694
Joined: 2018-11-08 @ 04:51

Re: Trident ISA VGA jumper settings?

Postby Tiido » 2019-8-06 @ 09:58

I got a significant boost on my 8900D by enabling 0WS and FIFO.
User avatar
Tiido
Oldbie
 
Posts: 924
Joined: 2018-1-14 @ 04:40
Location: Estonia

Re: Trident ISA VGA jumper settings?

Postby stalk3r » 2019-8-06 @ 12:19

Tiido wrote:I got a significant boost on my 8900D by enabling 0WS and FIFO.


I have tested this quickly with a 8900CL-B (similar to 8900D in terms of performance) which has a soldered jumper for WS:

Vidspeed WS1 - 3869
Vidspeed WS0 - 5140
(32% increase)

LM60 WS1 - 3870
LM60 WS0 - 5120
(32% increase)

3DBench WS1 - 15.8
3DBench WS0 - 15.1
(4.6% increase)

It gives a boost indeed.
User avatar
stalk3r
Newbie
 
Posts: 96
Joined: 2019-4-05 @ 06:44
Location: Hungary

Re: Trident ISA VGA jumper settings?

Postby keropi » 2019-8-06 @ 12:56

I have tried 5424 and 5429 isa vga cards that have the 0ws jumper - it never worked reliably for me... Benchmarks were ok but games or win3 would just crash... The boost is indeed considerable if the system is stable
User avatar
keropi
l33t++
 
Posts: 7121
Joined: 2003-9-08 @ 06:45
Location: Greece

Re: Trident ISA VGA jumper settings?

Postby stalk3r » 2019-8-06 @ 14:07

keropi wrote:I have tried 5424 and 5429 isa vga cards that have the 0ws jumper - it never worked reliably for me... Benchmarks were ok but games or win3 would just crash... The boost is indeed considerable if the system is stable


I ran Doom timedemo several times with 0ws on the Trident, not a single crash. Haven't tried win3.1 though
User avatar
stalk3r
Newbie
 
Posts: 96
Joined: 2019-4-05 @ 06:44
Location: Hungary

Re: Trident ISA VGA jumper settings?

Postby SirNickity » 2019-8-09 @ 18:43

keropi wrote:win3 would just crash


So, it runs normally then? ;-)
SirNickity
Oldbie
 
Posts: 694
Joined: 2018-11-08 @ 04:51

Re: Trident ISA VGA jumper settings?

Postby Jo22 » 2019-8-09 @ 21:25

SirNickity wrote:
keropi wrote:win3 would just crash


So, it runs normally then? ;-)

Yup. And in three (3) different ways, too!
- That's why 3.1 came out so quickly. :D

If Win3 was a game, each type would correspond to a difficulty level. ;)
Enhanced = HARD
Standard = Normal
Real = Easy
"Time, it seems, doesn't flow. For some it's fast, for some it's slow.
In what to one race is no time at all, another race can rise and fall..." - The Minstrel

//My video channel//
User avatar
Jo22
l33t
 
Posts: 3712
Joined: 2009-12-13 @ 07:06
Location: Europe


Return to Video

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests