Aces over Europe and Aces of the Pacific won't work on PCem and real hardware, memory issues

Getting old DOS games working on modern hardware. (DOSBox topics belong in DOSBox areas below, not here).

Aces over Europe and Aces of the Pacific won't work on PCem and real hardware, memory issues

Postby Windows9566 » 2018-9-22 @ 23:55

I try to launch Aces of the Pacific or Aces over europe in DOS 6.22 on either PCem and my DOS machine and i get an error saying

There is not enough memory for 'Aces over Europe' to run.
Your computer may be running a 'pop up' (TSR) program
or it may be connected to a device such as a LAN that
uses a portion of the memory. See the Trouble Shooting
section of the 'Aces over Europe Quick Reference Card' for help.

PCem specs
Award 430VX PCI
Intel Pentium 90
64mb ram
Phoenix S3 Trio64
SoundBlaster 16
DOS 6.22

Real Hardware specs
Intel Anchorage AN430TX
Intel Pentium 133
64mb ram
S3 Trio 64v+
SoundBlaster 16
DOS 6.22

AUTOEXEC.BAT

SET SOUND=C:\SB16
SET BLASTER=A220 I5 D1 H5 P330 T6
SET MIDI=SYNTH=1 MAP:E
LH C:\SB16\DIAGNOSE /S
LH C:\SB16\MIXERSET /P /Q
LH C:\DOS\SMARTDRV.EXE /X
LH C:\WINDOWS\MSCDEX.EXE /S /E /D:OPTICAL
LH C:\DRIVER\CTMOUSE.EXE /R2
@ECHO OFF
PROMPT $p$g
PATH C:\WINDOWS;C:\DOS
SET TEMP=C:\DOS

CONFIG.SYS

DEVICE=C:\DOS\SETVER.EXE
DEVICE=C:\WINDOWS\HIMEM.SYS /TESTMEM:OFF
DEVICE=C:\DOS\EMM386.EXE RAM
DOS=HIGH,UMB
FILES=60
BUFFERS=11
STACKS=9,256
DEVICEHIGH=C:\DRIVER\VIDECDD.SYS /D:OPTICAL
DEVICE=C:\WINDOWS\IFSHLP.SYS

DOS is a chore to get running right
1996-VX97,P133,32MB-RAM,TRIO-64V+,CT1740
1997-AN430TX,P200MMX,64MB-RAM,VIRGE-DX,Voodoo2-8MB,CT1740
2017-ROG-B450F,R5-1600,16GB-RAM,GTX-1060
User avatar
Windows9566
Member
 
Posts: 215
Joined: 2015-4-30 @ 14:55


Re: Aces over Europe and Aces of the Pacific won't work on PCem and real hardware, memory issues

Postby leileilol » 2018-9-23 @ 10:54

Works in PCem. This is not a bug; welcome to the true DOS gaming experience! We used to make bootdisks to get around this crap!
At least rem out IFSHLP, SETVER and probably your cd-rom driver in config.sys. Since you have DOS 6.22 you could probably try MEMMAKER for luck as well.
by the way, DOSBox is not for running Windows 9x
User avatar
leileilol
l33t++
 
Posts: 9736
Joined: 2006-12-16 @ 18:03

Re: Aces over Europe and Aces of the Pacific won't work on PCem and real hardware, memory issues

Postby Windows9566 » 2019-1-14 @ 05:25

I disabled SMARTDRV in autoexec and it finally launched
1996-VX97,P133,32MB-RAM,TRIO-64V+,CT1740
1997-AN430TX,P200MMX,64MB-RAM,VIRGE-DX,Voodoo2-8MB,CT1740
2017-ROG-B450F,R5-1600,16GB-RAM,GTX-1060
User avatar
Windows9566
Member
 
Posts: 215
Joined: 2015-4-30 @ 14:55

Re: Aces over Europe and Aces of the Pacific won't work on PCem and real hardware, memory issues

Postby Roger Wilco » 2019-1-17 @ 14:51

You can also create a boot menu, with settings for different games, by editing config.sys and autoexec.bat.
As described in the second post:
https://arstechnica.com/civis/viewtopic.php?t=815473
User avatar
Roger Wilco
Newbie
 
Posts: 52
Joined: 2016-6-03 @ 14:33


Return to DOS

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests