Emulating EAX on any onboard sound hardware?

Emulation of old PCs, PC hardware, or PC peripherals.

Re: Emulating EAX on any onboard sound hardware?

Postby Stretch » 2017-8-26 @ 15:39

I just read about a program called "Sound Blaster Audigy ADVANCED MB" on the Wikipedia article Environmental Audio Extensions. Apparently the software allows you load soundfonts. Does anyone know how the soundfont synth compares to the EMU chipsets present on the AWE/Live/Audigy/Xfi and does it allow you to apply reverb/chorus etc to MIDI playback?
Win98SE - Intel SE440BX-2 - Pentium II 233 Mhz - 256 MB System Ram - Voodoo 3 1000 AGP - Yamaha YMF-724 PCI - Soundblaster 32 ISA
Stretch
Member
 
Posts: 300
Joined: 2013-11-16 @ 00:57

Re: Emulating EAX on any onboard sound hardware?

Postby Nucleoprotein » 2017-9-10 @ 11:35

Stretch wrote:I just read about a program called "Sound Blaster Audigy ADVANCED MB" on the Wikipedia article Environmental Audio Extensions. Apparently the software allows you load soundfonts. Does anyone know how the soundfont synth compares to the EMU chipsets present on the AWE/Live/Audigy/Xfi and does it allow you to apply reverb/chorus etc to MIDI playback?


You can run XFi MB3 with all(?) Realtek integrated codecs - you need to force install INF file containing MBfilt64.sys driver from Realtek drivers, then install XFi MB3 software, and then if not work out of the box you need to use GenKGA to generate kga files. GenKGA source code is here: https://pastebin.com/r1Ls55Qn - I will not provide executable file for this so do not ask about it.
XFi MB3 is fully software emulated, dunno about soundfonts, I don't think it supports them at all.

PS: Now it seems is available to download and buy from here: http://software.store.creative.com/p/so ... r-x-fi-mb3

EDIT: Code on pastebin have a wrong password for one key, also to install new X-FI MB3 you require to 'fix' setup.inx of main installer (Setup directory) to skip activation (google 'sexy install shield decompiler'). Everything works on my old, integrated AD2000B - this X-Fi MB3 create new, virtual audio device so it should work on ANY audio card! Soundfonts/midi are not supported.
Nucleoprotein
Member
 
Posts: 100
Joined: 2016-7-02 @ 20:53

Re: Emulating EAX on any onboard sound hardware?

Postby a0divided » 2017-10-08 @ 08:00

I was able to install the purchasable version of MB3 on a Windows 10 laptop, yet it doesn't seem to work properly for me. The "virtual audio device" is installed and seems to work, but the UI keeps telling me that there is no supported audio device available. Does this version *still* only work on specific hardware, and not just any onboard/Realtek HD card? Or is it a problem with Windows 10?
a0divided
Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2017-9-25 @ 09:50

Re: Emulating EAX on any onboard sound hardware?

Postby Nucleoprotein » 2017-10-08 @ 08:43

a0divided wrote:I was able to install the purchasable version of MB3 on a Windows 10 laptop, yet it doesn't seem to work properly for me. The "virtual audio device" is installed and seems to work, but the UI keeps telling me that there is no supported audio device available. Does this version *still* only work on specific hardware, and not just any onboard/Realtek HD card? Or is it a problem with Windows 10?


You need to compile GenKGA and generate KGA files, code with fixed password for one of KGA file is here: https://pastebin.com/kRjwNipr
Nucleoprotein
Member
 
Posts: 100
Joined: 2016-7-02 @ 20:53

Re: Emulating EAX on any onboard sound hardware?

Postby a0divided » 2017-10-09 @ 10:03

Nucleoprotein wrote:
a0divided wrote:I was able to install the purchasable version of MB3 on a Windows 10 laptop, yet it doesn't seem to work properly for me. The "virtual audio device" is installed and seems to work, but the UI keeps telling me that there is no supported audio device available. Does this version *still* only work on specific hardware, and not just any onboard/Realtek HD card? Or is it a problem with Windows 10?


You need to compile GenKGA and generate KGA files, code with fixed password for one of KGA file is here: https://pastebin.com/kRjwNipr

That's exactly what I did. I had uninstalled, ran the compiled GenKGA.exe, checked that there were .kgas generated in C:\ProgramData\Creative\SoftwareLock, then reinstalled MB3, multiple times by now. The UI always tells me that I have no supported audio device, therefore I can't turn on any features/do anything
a0divided
Newbie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: 2017-9-25 @ 09:50

Re: Emulating EAX on any onboard sound hardware?

Postby Nucleoprotein » 2017-10-09 @ 10:19

There is a bug in GenKGA with multiple network adapters - disable virtualbox/vmware adapters, possible disable all but one and regenerate KGAs
Nucleoprotein
Member
 
Posts: 100
Joined: 2016-7-02 @ 20:53

Re: Emulating EAX on any onboard sound hardware?

Postby jeckhack » 2017-12-25 @ 23:07

Nucleoprotein wrote:
a0divided wrote:I was able to install the purchasable version of MB3 on a Windows 10 laptop, yet it doesn't seem to work properly for me. The "virtual audio device" is installed and seems to work, but the UI keeps telling me that there is no supported audio device available. Does this version *still* only work on specific hardware, and not just any onboard/Realtek HD card? Or is it a problem with Windows 10?


You need to compile GenKGA and generate KGA files, code with fixed password for one of KGA file is here: https://pastebin.com/kRjwNipr


Hi! I'm sorry, but I'm going mad already. How do I compile this ? I'm a Linux user, I can do configure make make install and all that shit, but I have no idea what to do with this.
I never compiled anything for Windows before. Where do I find these mbedtls/des.h mbedtls/md5.h? What tool should I use ? I just installed visual studio 2017 exclusively to build this. Should I just google for this des.h ssl shit or what? i'm desperate, because I can recompile, say, freetype2 or mutter to my needs, but all this windows shit makes me nervous.

P.S. I'm trying to make gigabyte's x-fi mb5 work on 'unsupported' mb with alc887. Thought i'l start with generating licences. My current kga's of mb3 don't work.

Thanks in advance.

PPS.
I have following errors like :
error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol _mbedtls_des_init referenced in function "void __cdecl decryptData(unsigned char const *,unsigned char *,unsigned int)" (?decryptData@@YAXPBEPAEI@Z)
1>kRjwNipr.obj : error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol _mbedtls_des_free referenced in function "void __cdecl decryptData(unsigned char const *,unsigned char *,unsigned int)" (?decryptData@@YAXPBEPAEI@Z
jeckhack
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2017-3-12 @ 23:30

Re: Emulating EAX on any onboard sound hardware?

Postby MST » 2017-12-28 @ 23:00

jeckhack wrote:I have following errors like :
error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol _mbedtls_des_init referenced in function "void __cdecl decryptData(unsigned char const *,unsigned char *,unsigned int)" (?decryptData@@YAXPBEPAEI@Z)
1>kRjwNipr.obj : error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol _mbedtls_des_free referenced in function "void __cdecl decryptData(unsigned char const *,unsigned char *,unsigned int)" (?decryptData@@YAXPBEPAEI@Z

1. Clone repository from https://github.com/ARMmbed/mbedtls (hit green "Clone or download" button, then click "Download ZIP")
2. Unpack downloaded "mbedtls-development.zip" for example into your VS repos directory: %USERPROFILE%\source\repos\
3. From VS select File > Open > Project/Solution then select %USERPROFILE%\source\repos\mbedtls-development\visualc\VS2010\mbedTLS.vcxproj project file
4. Agree for projects upgrade
5. Copy all files from:
%USERPROFILE%\source\repos\mbedtls-development\include\mbedtls\
into your project directory into include\um\mbedtls\ folder (create manually if does not exists)
6. Now open your project File > Open > Project/Solution
7. From VS select File > Add > Existing project... then again select %USERPROFILE%\source\repos\mbedtls-development\visualc\VS2010\mbedTLS.vcxproj project file
8. In Solution explorer click References > add project under your project, then check mbedTLS project
9. Add two additional lines at top of source code:
#pragma comment(lib, "iphlpapi.lib")
#pragma comment(lib, "Shlwapi.lib")
10. If VS still complains about undefined identifiers rename your source file (*.cpp) to something else, for example add 1 at the end (strange but it worked for me)
11. Right click mouse button on your project then select Build
MST
Newbie
 
Posts: 27
Joined: 2015-6-24 @ 22:27

Re: Emulating EAX on any onboard sound hardware?

Postby MST » 2017-12-30 @ 18:43

Nucleoprotein wrote:
PS: Now it seems is available to download and buy from here: http://software.store.creative.com/p/so ... r-x-fi-mb3

EDIT: Code on pastebin have a wrong password for one key, also to install new X-FI MB3 you require to 'fix' setup.inx of main installer (Setup directory) to skip activation (google 'sexy install shield decompiler'). Everything works on my old, integrated AD2000B - this X-Fi MB3 create new, virtual audio device so it should work on ANY audio card! Soundfonts/midi are not supported.

I can confirm. It's X-Fi MB3 v1.00.06 with ALchemy v1.44.00. ALchemy is a little bit outdated but there is no problem to replace it with latest one. I tested it on Win 10 x64 with Realtek ALC261. Indeed it does not require modded drivers. In fact I'm currently using drivers shipped with Win10 by M$, not from Realtek, and it's working fine. I checked it with password fixed source and previous one. Both generates a little bit different files but both of them are working fine.
Thanks for hint with SID.

PS. X-Fi MB5 does not work like that. It is probably dedicated to specified audio chips and probably require modded drivers.
MST
Newbie
 
Posts: 27
Joined: 2015-6-24 @ 22:27

Re: Emulating EAX on any onboard sound hardware?

Postby Stretch » 2018-1-04 @ 14:13

Found another EAX wrapper, but I haven't tried it because you have to compile the program.
A DirectSound wrapper for OpenAL
Win98SE - Intel SE440BX-2 - Pentium II 233 Mhz - 256 MB System Ram - Voodoo 3 1000 AGP - Yamaha YMF-724 PCI - Soundblaster 32 ISA
Stretch
Member
 
Posts: 300
Joined: 2013-11-16 @ 00:57

Re: Emulating EAX on any onboard sound hardware?

Postby lowenz » 2018-1-05 @ 00:16

It's a DS wrapper with EAX support emulation, not an EAX wrapper :p

Another one: http://kcat.strangesoft.net/dsoal.zip
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 969
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: Emulating EAX on any onboard sound hardware?

Postby mirh » 2018-1-05 @ 12:12

Psst, they are the same - and was already mentioned in the thread
pcgamingwiki.com
mirh
Member
 
Posts: 334
Joined: 2014-9-13 @ 21:39

Re: Emulating EAX on any onboard sound hardware?

Postby lowenz » 2018-1-05 @ 13:23

Oppps :D
Pardon :v
lowenz
Oldbie
 
Posts: 969
Joined: 2014-12-20 @ 01:30

Re: Emulating EAX on any onboard sound hardware?

Postby Expack3 » 2018-1-09 @ 02:27

Would anyone happen to know of a newer version of the DirectSound-to-OpenAL DLL? The version linked is from ~2008, and, based on a quick glance at the DLL's properties, was built from that year's version of Wine's DirectSound wrapper code.
Expack3
Member
 
Posts: 164
Joined: 2015-5-24 @ 23:18

Re: Emulating EAX on any onboard sound hardware?

Postby rolloLG » 2018-1-30 @ 08:28

lowenz wrote:It's a DS wrapper with EAX support emulation, not an EAX wrapper :p

Another one: http://kcat.strangesoft.net/dsoal.zip

It emulates EAX 2.0.
Is there some wrapper able to emulate EAX 4.0 for Thief: Deadly shadows game for example?
I have Realtek HD Audio chipset ALC668, Windows 10 FCU...
User avatar
rolloLG
Newbie
 
Posts: 15
Joined: 2008-6-24 @ 17:21

Re: Emulating EAX on any onboard sound hardware?

Postby svfn » 2018-2-03 @ 17:40

i can't seem to enable openAL on my Realtek ALC1150, tried latest openal-soft too.

using Realtek drivers 6.0.1.7899, Win 10 1607

edit: ok i got it to work using X-Fi MB3 and ALchemy/OpenAL Soft to emulate, tried a few games like Amnesia, Prey, Morrowind, Gw1, and it does seem to sound better than without it. i guess it would def sound better with an actual sound card even though it would need to be under ALchemy too since it's Windows 10?
Last edited by svfn on 2018-2-05 @ 14:31, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
svfn
Newbie
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 2017-12-22 @ 10:37
Location: Malaysia

Re: Emulating EAX on any onboard sound hardware?

Postby mirh » 2018-2-05 @ 11:03

Emulating EAX above 2 is all heavy reverse engineering, since SDKs for those have always been private and there's no open spec.
pcgamingwiki.com
mirh
Member
 
Posts: 334
Joined: 2014-9-13 @ 21:39

Re: Emulating EAX on any onboard sound hardware?

Postby usernamed » 2018-2-16 @ 21:48

Hey. So as far as i understand without an actual Creative card you can't "emulate" above EAX2 with any current software solution or hack out there? I do have my USB X-Fi 5.1, but i so much more prefer my better grade headphone amp/dac.

For example Thief 3 uses EAX Advanced, and if i use Monoprice amp/dac, is there any way to enable (emulate) it? With X-Fi MB3?

I would really appreciate if someone could tell me what steps i should take and download exactly? This thread is pretty long and "scattered"
usernamed
Newbie
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 2018-2-16 @ 21:39

Re: Emulating EAX on any onboard sound hardware?

Postby MST » 2018-2-17 @ 21:53

Based on what Creative declares you can emulate EAX including 5 using Sound Blaster X-Fi MB2 or Sound Blaster X-Fi MB3 or Sound Blaster X-Fi MB5.
Sound Blaster X-Fi MB (first generation) supports EAX including 4.

https://www.creative.com/oem/products/software/x-fimb.asp
https://www.creative.com/oem/products/software/x-fimb2.asp
https://www.creative.com/oem/products/software/x-fimb3.asp, http://software.store.creative.com/p/software/sound-blaster-x-fi-mb3
https://www.creative.com/oem/products/software/x-fimb5.asp
MST
Newbie
 
Posts: 27
Joined: 2015-6-24 @ 22:27

Re: Emulating EAX on any onboard sound hardware?

Postby usernamed » 2018-2-17 @ 22:29

Understood. Considering hardware accelerated DSP processing only possible on emu chips, is there any quality loss actually running games through Alchemy post-Vista? Or do you actually get the best result with WinXP?

Also looking here:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_g ... AX_support

What does it mean when only few games have * Supported by ALchemy listed? Do others not work even with Alchemy?
usernamed
Newbie
 
Posts: 12
Joined: 2018-2-16 @ 21:39

PreviousNext

Return to PC Emulation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests