Fade to Black - cutscenes

Having problems with a specific game or application? Post your problems here!

Fade to Black - cutscenes

Postby Svenson » 2007-3-16 @ 21:49

I was able to get my old Game "Fade to Black" running, but there is one thing left.
I was not alble to get the Cutscenes running.

Got hint for me??

Thanks!
Svenson
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2007-3-16 @ 21:39

Re: Fade to Black - cutscenes

Postby wd » 2007-3-17 @ 10:23

And you are sure that cutscenes are present in your version, and you
installed the game within dosbox?
wd
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10818
Joined: 2003-12-03 @ 21:23

Re: Fade to Black - cutscenes

Postby Svenson » 2007-3-17 @ 11:10

I am sure that my version off the game has cutscenes, ´cause it had some when i first played it in 1995. And it is an original game.

I tried the win install first, but it crashed instandly. So i mounted the gamedirectory like (mount c c:\games ) and my cd-rom ( mount d d:\ -t cdrom)

And then I executed the dos install and everything went good. But still no cutscenes.

Now what??
Svenson
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2007-3-16 @ 21:39

Re: Fade to Black - cutscenes

Postby Freddo » 2007-3-17 @ 11:17

This is a known problem.

viewtopic.php?t=9233
User avatar
Freddo
Oldbie
 
Posts: 583
Joined: 2003-10-29 @ 21:56
Location: Sweden

Re: Fade to Black - cutscenes

Postby Qbix » 2007-3-17 @ 11:21

I don't know if it is still broken but you need to use
-usecd #number and -ioctl at least when mounting your cdrom.
Water flows down the stream
How to ask questions the smart way!
User avatar
Qbix
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10827
Joined: 2002-11-27 @ 14:50
Location: Fryslan

Re: Fade to Black - cutscenes

Postby LoneLines » 2007-3-17 @ 20:48

If it's a mounting problem, try to create a bin/cue of the file and mounting it through IMGMOUNT from dosbox itself, sometimes this solves my game related problems...
LoneLines list of workarounds for various games in DOSBox:
http://ADogsBox.jellofishi.com
LoneLines
Member
 
Posts: 167
Joined: 2006-2-27 @ 19:36

Re: Fade to Black - cutscenes

Postby Svenson » 2007-3-17 @ 22:52

Sorry for being such a rookie, but how do i create a bin/cue or IMGMOUNT??

I tried this: mount d d:\ -t cdrom -ioctl -usecd0
And started the game with the flag -2 ( C:\f2b -2)

Now I can see the cutscenes in the options/savegame etc. section, but still not in the game.

by the way the scenes play, but sligthly corrupted.

Know something new??
Svenson
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2007-3-16 @ 21:39

Re: Fade to Black - cutscenes

Postby eL_PuSHeR » 2007-3-18 @ 10:19

I think you must leave a blank space after the usecd parameter.

mount d d:\ -t cdrom -ioctl -usecd 0
Intel i7 5960X
Gigabye GA-X99-Gaming 5
8 GB DDR4 (2100)
8 GB GeForce GTX 1070 G1 Gaming (Gigabyte)
User avatar
eL_PuSHeR
Moderator
 
Posts: 6528
Joined: 2003-6-20 @ 16:39

Re: Fade to Black - cutscenes

Postby Freddo » 2007-3-19 @ 05:55

I just tried running Fade to Black from an iso image, and the cutscenes are very fluid and nice. Only problem is that there was no sound!

When I launched the game the following message appears.
WARNING : Single speed CDROM detected, sounds will be desactivated in cinematics

Do you want to continue anyway ? (Y,N)


However, thanks to HunterZ who wrote the previous thread, this is easily fixable. Just start the game typing f2b -2 and it will override the CDROM detection.

So in the end, it all works just fine :cool:

The only problem with Fade to Black now is that the stereo sound is switched. Left/Right speakers should change places. Playing with the old original Sound blaster makes the game run in mono which is more pleasant than wrong stereo sounds.
User avatar
Freddo
Oldbie
 
Posts: 583
Joined: 2003-10-29 @ 21:56
Location: Sweden

Re: Fade to Black - cutscenes

Postby Svenson » 2007-3-21 @ 22:28

Ok. I´ve done everything mentioned in this posts and the game is running.

But has onyone the scenes during the game? I played ´till the end of the first section, but the scene only appears and can be played in the options menue.
Svenson
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2007-3-16 @ 21:39


Return to DOSBox Games/Apps

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest