DirectSerial patch

Here you can discuss the development of patches.

Re: DirectSerial patch

Postby wd » 2007-10-15 @ 09:34

Maybe re-read what hal wrote on his homepage. Everything.
wd
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10818
Joined: 2003-12-03 @ 21:23

Re: DirectSerial patch

Postby dieter-erich » 2007-10-18 @ 10:23

Hi, first my apologies for not reading all through...

I have now tried a number of things and want to share the results with you:

1. After installing DOSBox 0.7 build with serial debugging enabled and all the DLLs downloaded from h-a-l-9000's homepage my sensors seemed to work (I received data) BUT the data were wrong (i.e. temperature approximately correct but humidity much too high). I checked this with the program running on the PC booted under DOS.

2. I then tried DOS under VMWare. Testing was not extensive but as far as I can tell, I did not receive any data from the sensor.

3. I then tried Win98 (just the basic OS from a boot disk) under Viirtual-PC. I received data, but again they were wrong (much too high values for the humidity still worse than those from DOSBox).

I conclude that neither of the emulators gave reliable results most probably because of timing problems (as suggested by hal9000). It also appears to me that the data finally output by the program depend on the CPU load (the higher the load the worse are the data). Unfortunately, I do not know the structure of the data being received by the serial port and can thus not explain what is really happening. So, only way is to go on using Win98.......
Thanks a lot for trying to help particularly to h-a-l-9000, D-E
dieter-erich
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2004-10-22 @ 05:24

Re: DirectSerial patch

Postby h-a-l-9000 » 2007-10-18 @ 14:59

You could send me the debug log...
1+1=10
h-a-l-9000
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 4512
Joined: 2005-2-23 @ 00:14

Re: DirectSerial patch

Postby dieter-erich » 2007-10-18 @ 19:06

Hi h-a-l-9000,
here is the log file. I recorded it until the first data showed up in the program (it needs some time to initialize) but then it was already 14 MB long. I thus cut off the trailing end because the data structure seem to be always the same. Thanks for willing to help, cheers, D-E
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
dieter-erich
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2004-10-22 @ 05:24

Re: DirectSerial patch

Postby h-a-l-9000 » 2007-10-19 @ 13:41

Yes it is most likely timing problems. You could try cycles=max but it will never be reliable.
1+1=10
h-a-l-9000
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 4512
Joined: 2005-2-23 @ 00:14

Re: DirectSerial patch

Postby Alfaend » 2007-10-24 @ 07:55

Hi!

i have a problem with my serial port.
which is the default bps of com port? 1200? how i can change it?
dosbox ver is 0.72.
i have to use 0.70?

thx
Alfaend
Newbie
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2007-10-24 @ 07:51

Re: DirectSerial patch

Postby MiniMax » 2007-10-24 @ 12:10

I believe the bps setting is controlled by your host OS.
DOSBox 0.73 ReadMe | DOSBox Wiki | DOSBox 60 seconds guide | How to ask questions
_________________
Lenovo M58p | Core 2 Quad Q8400 @ 2.66 GHz | Radeon R7 240 | LG HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GH40N | Win 10 Pro
User avatar
MiniMax
Moderator
 
Posts: 5128
Joined: 2004-1-18 @ 04:15
Location: Stockholm, Sweden, Europe, Earth Interests: Old games & young women

Re: DirectSerial patch

Postby Alfaend » 2007-10-24 @ 12:22

i have an hardware connected to my pc with serial port. the I/O process are too slow... why?

the OS is winXP
Alfaend
Newbie
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2007-10-24 @ 07:51

Re: DirectSerial patch

Postby h-a-l-9000 » 2007-10-24 @ 13:14

I believe the bps setting is controlled by your host OS.

Nope it's controlled by the app running in DOSBox or by freedos mode.com (go hunt for it).

Alfaend:
Did you try to increase DOSBox speed?
1+1=10
h-a-l-9000
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 4512
Joined: 2005-2-23 @ 00:14

Re: DirectSerial patch

Postby Alfaend » 2007-10-24 @ 13:29

I have write:

serial1=directconnect realport:COM1 startbps:9600

but the speed don't change
Alfaend
Newbie
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2007-10-24 @ 07:51

Re: DirectSerial patch

Postby h-a-l-9000 » 2007-10-24 @ 13:31

change cycles=
1+1=10
h-a-l-9000
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 4512
Joined: 2005-2-23 @ 00:14

Re: DirectSerial patch

Postby Alfaend » 2007-10-24 @ 13:53

i have to write

serial1=directconnect realport:COM1 cycle=9600

??
Alfaend
Newbie
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2007-10-24 @ 07:51

Re: DirectSerial patch

Postby h-a-l-9000 » 2007-10-24 @ 13:58

It's directserial, not directconnect.
The cycles= is at another place in the dosbox.conf.
1+1=10
h-a-l-9000
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 4512
Joined: 2005-2-23 @ 00:14

Re: DirectSerial patch

Postby Alfaend » 2007-10-24 @ 14:07

but with

serial1=directconnect realport:COM1

the program see the port and comunicate... now i try with directserial.
Alfaend
Newbie
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2007-10-24 @ 07:51

Re: DirectSerial patch

Postby h-a-l-9000 » 2007-10-24 @ 14:21

In that case the program is blind ;)
1+1=10
h-a-l-9000
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 4512
Joined: 2005-2-23 @ 00:14

Re: DirectSerial patch

Postby Alfaend » 2007-10-24 @ 14:30

ok now i go to test with


serial1=directserial realport:COM1

cycle=max

tomorrow i give the result :D
Alfaend
Newbie
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2007-10-24 @ 07:51

Re: DirectSerial patch

Postby h-a-l-9000 » 2007-10-24 @ 14:33

try cycles=5000 or so too
1+1=10
h-a-l-9000
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 4512
Joined: 2005-2-23 @ 00:14

Re: DirectSerial patch

Postby Alfaend » 2007-10-24 @ 14:35

ok thx :D
Alfaend
Newbie
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 2007-10-24 @ 07:51

Re: DirectSerial patch

Postby tijeff » 2007-10-24 @ 21:51

I've just finish reading thru all this tread, but I’ve never been able to go to the h-a-l-9000 web page. I got a connection has timed out on : http://home.arcor.de/h-a-l-9000/ . Is the problem on my side ?

So far I’ve not been able to try any patch, but i’m using Dosbox 0.72. does it worth to try to find any new patch you released? , or they are already included in the 0.72 version ?



My settup is so ugly , you can’t event imagine. I have to run 2 dos-box emulator simultaneously

I got a first software using com1 to get data in , it does some process and throw it back in com2. My first Dosbox does a great job on this with 2 usb-serial adaptors.

Second software get data back on com3 (physical loop-back between com2 and com3) and try to output it on com4. My second dosbox emulator doesn’t work, I’ve assign my physical real uart for those just to be shure. Here is what I got :

DOSBox version 0.72
Copyright 2002-2007 DOSBox Team, published under GNU GPL.
---
CONFIG:Loading primary settings from config file dosbox.conf
Maximum memory size is 63 MB
MIDI:Opened device:win32
Serial3: Opening com1
Serial4: Opening com2
Serial3: Warning: Tried to activate FIFO.
Serial4: Warning: Tried to activate FIFO.
Serial3: Errors occured: Framing 0, Parity 0, Overrun 159 (IF0:5), Break 0
Serial3: Errors occured: Framing 0, Parity 0, Overrun 243 (IF0:2), Break 0
Serial3: Errors occured: Framing 0, Parity 0, Overrun 130 (IF0:3), Break 0



I think we can’t emphasise more on the fact we appreciate allot you’re job on this !
Sorry for my bad English.
User avatar
tijeff
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2007-10-24 @ 18:38
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: DirectSerial patch

Postby tijeff » 2007-10-24 @ 21:54

Oops , problem on my side for you’re web page , I'm thing your patchs righ away
User avatar
tijeff
Newbie
 
Posts: 7
Joined: 2007-10-24 @ 18:38
Location: Montreal, Canada

PreviousNext

Return to DOSBox Patches

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests