slow - slower ---> tie fighter from Lucas Arts

Having problems with a specific game or application? Post your problems here!

slow - slower ---> tie fighter from Lucas Arts

Postby debianfan » 2009-3-04 @ 11:36

Some Years (nearly 10) Years ago i playes Tie Fighter on my Pentium 100 computer - with 64 MB Ram ;-)

It runs well.

I want to play Tie Fighter with Dosbox on my computer:


1. Motherboard - Gigabyte
2. Processor type and speed - AMD Athlon XP 2400+
3. Amount and type of RAM - DDR 1 - 2 Gigabyte
4. Video board w/ RAM amount and type - ATI 9800 SE
5. Sound board - ESS1860 - Standard Sound Chip
6. Operating system - WINDOWS XP - with SP2
7. Game name (and version, if applicable) - Tie Fighter from Lucas Arts
9. Reproducibility of problem - always
10. Sound mode used - sound blaster standard
11. Video mode - standard mode - nothing special - in the time the game was written, there was no opengl or direct x ;-)
12. Version of emulator (for VDMSound, probably 2.0.4 or 2.1.0; for DOSBox, 0.58+) - dosbox V.0.72

It was slow - very very slow - it was horrible - i put the grafical details to low - no changes in speed.

What can i do?

Thanx
debianfan
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2009-3-04 @ 10:17


Re: slow - slower ---> tie fighter from Lucas Arts

Postby Qbix » 2009-3-04 @ 11:46

2400 mghz should be able to run tie fighter I would say
Water flows down the stream
How to ask questions the smart way!
User avatar
Qbix
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10762
Joined: 2002-11-27 @ 14:50
Location: Fryslan

Re: slow - slower ---> tie fighter from Lucas Arts

Postby Xelasarg » 2009-3-04 @ 11:47

1. read the Readme
2. *really* read the Readme (because if you don't you probably won't get much help here) :sly:
3a. open the file dosbox.conf in your DOSBox directory, look for the entry "core=auto" and change it to "core=dynamic".
3b. change the entry "cycles=auto" to "cycles=max"
"What's a paladin?!"
User avatar
Xelasarg
Member
 
Posts: 255
Joined: 2003-9-19 @ 09:10
Location: In the middle of something

Re: slow - slower ---> tie fighter from Lucas Arts

Postby debianfan » 2009-3-04 @ 11:53

it works :-)

thanx :-)
debianfan
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2009-3-04 @ 10:17

Re: slow - slower ---> tie fighter from Lucas Arts

Postby ripa » 2009-3-04 @ 13:47

That's weird. Tie Fighter should work fine with core=auto and cycles=auto.
ripa
Oldbie
 
Posts: 556
Joined: 2005-4-18 @ 00:53
Location: Finland

Re: slow - slower ---> tie fighter from Lucas Arts

Postby debianfan » 2009-3-04 @ 13:49

no - with "auto" - it is slow - very slow :-(
debianfan
Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 2009-3-04 @ 10:17

Re: slow - slower ---> tie fighter from Lucas Arts

Postby ADDiCT » 2009-3-04 @ 14:16

Yeah, setting "auto" cycles doesn't work very well with this game. I'm playing the collector's CD-ROM, and had to use "max" cycles to make it work well. Another speed boost can be obtained by choosing the fastest "output" mode (depends on the system).

I'm using Gulizoka's build on Windows with the "direct3d" output method, and the game runs perfect in SVGA and full details on my crappy P4/2.6Ghz. After some heavy mapper config, i can play the game with a XBox gamepad, only using the keyboard occasionally for stuff like the map or the "Goals" display. Now, if only the missions weren't so frustratingly difficult... (;

Oh, and btw: the correct game name is "TIE Fighter" (_T_win _I_on _E_ngines).
User avatar
ADDiCT
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1170
Joined: 2007-2-02 @ 15:07
Location: Retroland

Re: slow - slower ---> tie fighter from Lucas Arts

Postby Qbix » 2009-3-04 @ 14:20

game is probably a real mode game.
Water flows down the stream
How to ask questions the smart way!
User avatar
Qbix
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10762
Joined: 2002-11-27 @ 14:50
Location: Fryslan

Re: slow - slower ---> tie fighter from Lucas Arts

Postby ADDiCT » 2009-3-04 @ 14:21

Ah, you and your technical terms! (; Yes, it's using the DOS4GW extender. Replacing this with DOS/32A makes it run a bit more smoothly, too.
User avatar
ADDiCT
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1170
Joined: 2007-2-02 @ 15:07
Location: Retroland

Re: slow - slower ---> tie fighter from Lucas Arts

Postby eL_PuSHeR » 2009-3-04 @ 14:22

If it's using DOS4GW, it's a protected mode game then.
Intel i7 5960X
Gigabye GA-X99-Gaming 5
8 GB DDR4 (2100)
8 GB GeForce GTX 1070 G1 Gaming (Gigabyte)
User avatar
eL_PuSHeR
Moderator
 
Posts: 6525
Joined: 2003-6-20 @ 16:39

Re: slow - slower ---> tie fighter from Lucas Arts

Postby Qbix » 2009-3-04 @ 14:43

hmm then max and auto should be identical. Maybe they do some timing when still in real mode then.
Last edited by Qbix on 2009-3-04 @ 15:33, edited 1 time in total.
Water flows down the stream
How to ask questions the smart way!
User avatar
Qbix
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10762
Joined: 2002-11-27 @ 14:50
Location: Fryslan

Re: slow - slower ---> tie fighter from Lucas Arts

Postby MiniMax » 2009-3-04 @ 15:18

I might have this game at home. Will check later.
DOSBox 0.73 ReadMe | DOSBox Wiki | DOSBox 60 seconds guide | How to ask questions
_________________
Lenovo M58p | Core 2 Quad Q8400 @ 2.66 GHz | Radeon R7 240 | LG HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GH40N | Win 10 Pro
User avatar
MiniMax
Moderator
 
Posts: 5128
Joined: 2004-1-18 @ 04:15
Location: Stockholm, Sweden, Europe, Earth Interests: Old games & young women

Re: slow - slower ---> tie fighter from Lucas Arts

Postby ripa » 2009-3-04 @ 15:54

I guess it's version dependent. The first TIE Fighter version is probably real-mode (like its X-Wing predecessor), but the Collector's CD-ROM (which I have) is protected-mode.
ripa
Oldbie
 
Posts: 556
Joined: 2005-4-18 @ 00:53
Location: Finland

Re: slow - slower ---> tie fighter from Lucas Arts

Postby wizzel » 2009-4-24 @ 11:53

I can confirm that the first release of Tie Fighter (Disks) runs very slow.
You need to set cpu=dynamic and cycles=max.

Then (depending on your PC's horsepower) it runs absolutely fluid.

The differences between the fist release (Disks) and the CD-ROM Collectors Edition?

Well, i quote mobygames here:

Beside the new missions, some technical improvements are made in the game:

* improved screen resolution to SVGA (640*480)
* added new cut scenes
* full voice mission briefings and radio calls (the so called "Talkie" version)
* improved the interactive mission briefing


Hope that sums it all up. :happyhappy:
The future of computation lies in emulation.
User avatar
wizzel
Newbie
 
Posts: 15
Joined: 2007-8-27 @ 06:32
Location: Germany

Re: slow - slower ---> tie fighter from Lucas Arts

Postby LaL » 2009-6-09 @ 17:29

Addict,
Could you post the DOSBox joystick settings and the mapper file
you used to run TIE Fighter with XBox controller?

I am myself trying to do the same for TIE Fighter Collector's CD Edition and the results are far from satisfactory (no hat mapping, poor calibration)

thanks,
Al
LaL
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2009-6-08 @ 19:34

Re: slow - slower ---> tie fighter from Lucas Arts

Postby ADDiCT » 2009-6-09 @ 20:49

I can post the files (have to look for them, i've just recently switched to Vista and couldn't get XBCD working yet), but i doubt they'll be of much use. I've first customized the XBCD settings heavily, and then started to change DOSBox' mapping. This means you'll need the same XBCD version i was using, the XBCD config file (i think XBCD profiles can be exported, but i'm not sure), and the DOSBox mapper file. The result would be my personal config, which you'd have to "learn". If you want to go that route just tell me, i'll upload the files.

The other option would be to enable you to create your own mapping (it's easy once you understand how the mapper is working). What is your problem with mapping? Your calibration problem can probably be solved by changing the ""timed" parameter in dosbox.conf. If you're still having trouble with calibration, try running the game with a fixed cycle count.
User avatar
ADDiCT
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1170
Joined: 2007-2-02 @ 15:07
Location: Retroland

Re: slow - slower ---> tie fighter from Lucas Arts

Postby LaL » 2009-6-10 @ 14:05

Addict,
thanks for the reply. I guess I should start by switching to XBCD driver, as I I've been using the MS default this far (and not being quite happy with it).

I managed to do some remapping Ok, it's really not an issue, but the calibration turned out tricky. Using

Code: Select all
[joystick]
joysticktype=2axis
timed=false
autofire=false
swap34=true
buttonwrap=false


is the only option with my current setup (w. MS legacy driver that is) that works at all. Even with that, TIE in DosBOX .072 gets usually messed up with the calibration and there is remaining jitter. And what's more fun, just toggling the main axes seems to randomly trigger BUTTON1 (no explicit mapping according to Dosbox maper) which is not very nice.

I will try with XBCD and fixed cycles first. Thank you for the tip anyhow.

Al
LaL
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2009-6-08 @ 19:34

Re: slow - slower ---> tie fighter from Lucas Arts

Postby ADDiCT » 2009-6-10 @ 15:12

Yeah, you should check out XBCD. Just make yourself familiar with it and post specific problems or questions once you're set. All i can say now is that i don't have any problems with the game. It doesn't loose calibration, and i can map every button and axis on the controller to my liking in DOSBox.
User avatar
ADDiCT
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1170
Joined: 2007-2-02 @ 15:07
Location: Retroland

Re: slow - slower ---> tie fighter from Lucas Arts

Postby LaL » 2010-1-31 @ 10:54

Quick return to the old issue as I finally got it all together:

I think there are some many potential gotchas in the process that I wrote I guide to help setting up this combination:

http://iki.fi/lassial/guides/computers/Play_Tie_Fighter_in_Windows

This page also links to an example configuration files for XBox360 controller using XBCD and DOSBox together, including custom mappings for both XBCD and DOSBox mapper.

aL
LaL
Newbie
 
Posts: 5
Joined: 2009-6-08 @ 19:34

Next

Return to DOSBox Games/Apps

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest