DOS16M application stops at start-up

Having problems with a specific game or application? Post your problems here!

DOS16M application stops at start-up

Postby mjs » 2006-8-01 @ 14:51

Hi,

I have a DOS16M application (DataEase 4.53) that I want to run from within DOSBox. The problem is that it stops right after showing the initial application start message. I tried to turn on/off various memory types and several DOS16M settings, changed CPU emulation modes, etc... but nothing helped.

Any idea? Can I provide any information that may help solving this problem?

Regards,
Mark

EDIT: I tried it both with 0.65 and todays CVS (vanilla and "Daum") version
mjs
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2006-8-01 @ 14:36

Re: DOS16M application stops at start-up

Postby DosFreak » 2006-8-01 @ 15:55

Nothing shows up in the DosBox console?
Game Acronym List
DosBox CVS Builds
DosBox Feature Request Thread
DosBox FAQ
PC Game Compatibility List
"People like coldplay and voted for the nazis, you can't trust people."
User avatar
DosFreak
l33t++
 
Posts: 9309
Joined: 2002-6-30 @ 16:35
Location: Your Head

Re: DOS16M application stops at start-up

Postby Heep » 2009-6-23 @ 11:50

Hello! I realize this is a rather old post and the original poster has probably long since moved on, but I'm having the exact same trouble.

I'm trying to run DataEase 5.15 on a Vista 64-bit machine through DOSBox. As on our Win98 machines, when you initiate the program, it says "DataEase..." and blinks the cursor for a few seconds, but unlike the Win98 machines, it just keeps blinking the cursor endlessly instead of starting up the program.

Here's what I did to get to this point:

Z:\>SET BLASTER=A220 I7 D1 H5 T6 (this done by DOSBox automatically)

Z:\>mount c c:\
Mounting c:\ is NOT recommended. Please mount a (sub)directory next time.
Drive C is mounted as local directory c:\

Z:\>c:

C:\>cd dease

C:\DEASE>de16m
DataEase...



And here's what the console shows:

DOSBox version 0.73
Copyright 2002-2009 DOSBox Team, published under GNU GPL.
---
CONFIG:Loading primary settings from config file C:\Users\(***)\AppData\Local\DOSBox\dosbox-0.73.conf
MIDI:Opened device:win32



And that's it. It just sits there and blinks at me.

Thanks in advance for any ideas!
Heep
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2009-6-23 @ 11:41
Location: NB, Canada

Re: DOS16M application stops at start-up

Postby MiniMax » 2009-6-23 @ 12:15

Could be caused by a multitude of limitations in DOSBox. E.g. something to do with file attributes (not fully supported), special ways of accessing files, drivers it tries to load, etc, etc. A lot of things. You need a real DOSBox guru with access to a copy of the program to debug this problem. Remember, DOSBox is meant for gaming - that it works for other purposes is pure luck and coincidence.

Now, you could try changing the core setting before launching the program. Either edit the configuration file, or simply use a command like

C:\> core=normal

before running the program. Look in the config file (and the README) for valid settings.

Edit: Doh!! core, not cycles!
Last edited by MiniMax on 2009-6-23 @ 14:31, edited 1 time in total.
DOSBox 0.73 ReadMe | DOSBox Wiki | DOSBox 60 seconds guide | How to ask questions
_________________
Lenovo M58p | Core 2 Quad Q8400 @ 2.66 GHz | Radeon R7 240 | LG HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GH40N | Win 10 Pro
User avatar
MiniMax
Moderator
 
Posts: 5128
Joined: 2004-1-18 @ 04:15
Location: Stockholm, Sweden, Europe, Earth Interests: Old games & young women

Re: DOS16M application stops at start-up

Postby Qbix » 2009-6-23 @ 12:28

and if you are bored you can run the debug version of DOSBox (found in dev forum)
and see if something pops up
Water flows down the stream
How to ask questions the smart way!
User avatar
Qbix
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10313
Joined: 2002-11-27 @ 14:50
Location: Fryslan

Re: DOS16M application stops at start-up

Postby Kippesoep » 2009-6-23 @ 12:36

MiniMax wrote:Now, you could try changing the core setting before launching the program. Either edit the configuration file, or simply use a command like

C:\> cycles=normal

I think he means "core=normal".
User avatar
Kippesoep
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1014
Joined: 2005-5-04 @ 22:36
Location: Netherlands

Re: DOS16M application stops at start-up

Postby h-a-l-9000 » 2009-6-23 @ 12:46

> keeps blinking the cursor endlessly

How long did you wait? maybe increase speed.
1+1=10
h-a-l-9000
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 4512
Joined: 2005-2-23 @ 00:14

Re: DOS16M application stops at start-up

Postby Heep » 2009-6-23 @ 12:55

A-ha!

"Core=normal" did the trick!

Thanks greatly for the help, sorry I couldn't have provided a bigger challenge for all you eager fellows... :-)
Heep
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2009-6-23 @ 11:41
Location: NB, Canada


Return to DOSBox Games/Apps

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests