Imperialism and Windows 7

Getting old Windows games working.

Imperialism and Windows 7

Postby albernon » 2010-5-15 @ 19:25

I am trying to get Imperialism I (SSI) to work on Windows 7. Has anyone been able to get this to work? If so, what do I need to do?

I tried running it in Win95 mode but it says the Setup file won't work on 64-bit systems.

I downloaded DOSBox but when I type

c:\dosgames\imperial> setup

it returns the following

c:\dosgames\imperial> win SETUP.EXE
ilegal command: win.

I am not too saavy so I may be making some newbie mistakes. Any assistance is greatly appreciated. Thank you!
albernon
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2010-5-15 @ 19:01

Re: Imperialism and Windows 7

Postby retro games 100 » 2010-5-15 @ 19:33

I looked up Imperialism on mobygames, and found this tech spec page -

http://www.mobygames.com/game/windows/i ... m/techinfo

The game's minimum OS requirement is Windows 95. DOSBox can't help you, because it only runs DOS software. If you've tried Windows 7's Win95 compatibility mode, and it tells you it can't set up the game because your OS is 64-bit, there may not be a solution to this problem.
User avatar
retro games 100
l33t
 
Posts: 4476
Joined: 2008-5-03 @ 17:46

Re: Imperialism and Windows 7

Postby robertmo » 2010-5-15 @ 19:53

>because your OS is 64-bit, there may not be a solution to this
retro games 100??

try virtual pc or vmware or any other virtual machine
User avatar
robertmo
l33t
 
Posts: 4032
Joined: 2003-6-18 @ 10:35

Re: Imperialism and Windows 7

Postby albernon » 2010-5-18 @ 03:22

Thank you everyone for your assistance. I will see if I can get Virtual PC to work.
albernon
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2010-5-15 @ 19:01


Return to Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests