Battlecruiser 3000 a.d. 1x

Having problems with a specific game or application? Post your problems here!

Battlecruiser 3000 a.d. 1x

Postby Gamecollector » 2011-7-09 @ 12:08

1) If you press anything except "start new game" - the game do not react anymore to a mouse or a keyboard.
2) Black screen (with the background music) after the "start new game".

These two bugs are present starting from the version 1.07c.

Any solution from these bugs?
Tnx.
User avatar
Gamecollector
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1296
Joined: 2010-10-06 @ 22:17

Re: Battlecruiser 3000 a.d. 1x

Postby ripsaw8080 » 2011-7-09 @ 13:23

The readme for the game says 16MB is minimum memory, 32MB recommended, but it seems some crashes can be avoided with memsize=31. I didn't find any part of the game that completely hangs, but there are some rather long waits for the next screen to appear. The minimum CPU requirement is a Pentium 133, Pentium 200 recommended... not sure how fast the host processor would have to be to reach that kind of speed in DOSBox; but keep that in mind if you encounter sluggish performance.
User avatar
ripsaw8080
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 4222
Joined: 2006-4-25 @ 23:24

Re: Battlecruiser 3000 a.d. 1x

Postby robertmo » 2011-8-15 @ 12:05

Battlecruiser 3000 AD 2.09 Freeware C:\BC3000AD\BC3KFAQ.HTML
Q. WHY WON'T THE GAME RUN IN PURE DOS?
A. Because it does not. You must run it under WIN9x using the shortcut created by the setup
program.

Actually it runs in DOS but it takes a lot of time for loading at some places.
You can speed up that by:
ykhwong build was the fastest for me,
core=dynamic
cycles=max 105%
memsize=16 (you can test 8 with "configure" in menu, but the game will need 16)
twice more memory means twice more waiting ;)
8mb memory takes 10 seconds waiting on my phenom 2000mhz

Real computers behave exactly same way with this game (for example Athlon 1GHz - 16MB - 10seconds waiting)

Of course everything loads immediately in dosbox with win9x installed.

Btw I wonder what is the difference between windows and dos memory handling that makes this game work ok in windows and not in dos?
User avatar
robertmo
l33t
 
Posts: 4391
Joined: 2003-6-18 @ 10:35

Re: Battlecruiser 3000 a.d. 1x

Postby Jorpho » 2011-8-15 @ 16:18

Wasn't 1.x a horrible bug-laden crapfest? I'm kind of curious why anyone would want to run it at all. Some things are better forgotten, no? ;)
User avatar
Jorpho
l33t++
 
Posts: 7043
Joined: 2003-2-14 @ 19:50
Location: Canada

Re: Battlecruiser 3000 a.d. 1x

Postby Gamecollector » 2011-8-15 @ 16:22

Ok. With memsize=16 the pause is 42 seconds on my test PC.
So the topic can be closed.
Jorpho - for the history purpose. Plus version 1.07+ is supporting glide.
User avatar
Gamecollector
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1296
Joined: 2010-10-06 @ 22:17


Return to DOSBox Games/Apps

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest