PCI PowerVR Kyro 64MB with DVI

Discussion about old PC hardware and Retro PCs

PCI PowerVR Kyro 64MB with DVI

Postby swaaye » 2012-3-20 @ 18:43

Neat or not? Will PCI affect a 64MB Kyro 2 in a tangible way? DVI!

Pixel Perfect PowerVR KYRO II
http://www.ebay.com/itm/64MB-Pixel-Perf ... 3a6ecb0b2b
Attachments
kyropci.JPG
kyropci.JPG (41.14 KiB) Viewed 1632 times
swaaye
Moderator
 
Posts: 5425
Joined: 2002-7-22 @ 21:24
Location: WI, USA

Re: PCI PowerVR Kyro 64MB with DVI

Postby Putas » 2012-3-20 @ 20:13

Well, could only interest me if Kyro was SGL compatible. Not gonna pay that for another generic 3d card, even by PowerVR.
User avatar
Putas
Member
 
Posts: 370
Joined: 2010-11-21 @ 06:58
Location: q3dm6

Re: PCI PowerVR Kyro 64MB with DVI

Postby sklawz » 2012-3-20 @ 20:35

hi

it would seem that these cards have
spent their lives driving the displays
in transport terminals.

http://home.btconnect.com/Pixels-UK-Ltd ... ectK2P.htm

the drivers appear optimised for flat
panels, hence the DVI port.

bye!
User avatar
sklawz
Member
 
Posts: 240
Joined: 2011-3-27 @ 15:46

Re: PCI PowerVR Kyro 64MB with DVI

Postby feipoa » 2012-3-21 @ 11:45

If you buy it, can you let me know if a 486 motherboard (UMC) will power on with it installed? I've been trying to get DVI on my 486 for some time.
User avatar
feipoa
l33t
 
Posts: 2150
Joined: 2011-3-07 @ 13:54
Location: Canada

Re: PCI PowerVR Kyro 64MB with DVI

Postby sliderider » 2012-4-24 @ 23:50

They're also capable of widescreen resolutions. Could the original Kyro II cards do that?
A computer once beat me at chess but it was no match for me at kick boxing. :P
User avatar
sliderider
l33t
 
Posts: 4762
Joined: 2010-6-25 @ 13:02

Re: PCI PowerVR Kyro 64MB with DVI

Postby leileilol » 2012-4-25 @ 00:04

Yes, but i've never used them that way
94cheen : AM5x86P75ADW@160mhz; AWE64; Trio64v+ 1mb; 95C
97cheen : PII-300; 440LX; AWE32 8MB; Voodoo3 3000 16mb; Voodoo2 12mb; 98se
pvrcheen : P4 2.8GHz Northwood; SBPCI128; Rage128 32mb; PowerVR PCX2 4mb; 98se
User avatar
leileilol
l33t++
 
Posts: 5564
Joined: 2006-12-16 @ 18:03

Re: PCI PowerVR Kyro 64MB with DVI

Postby Stojke » 2013-3-08 @ 14:24

Is this GPU any good for 2D/3D games from <2000 era?
User avatar
Stojke
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1167
Joined: 2012-3-23 @ 14:51
Location: Serbia

Re: PCI PowerVR Kyro 64MB with DVI

Postby PowerPie5000 » 2013-3-08 @ 18:53

Stojke wrote:Is this GPU any good for 2D/3D games from <2000 era?


Yes it'll be fine :happy:. You should also completely ignore the low 3DMark scores with this card as they don't represent the real world gaming performance at all!

The Kyro II can easily beat the original Geforce and even the Geforce 2 GTS in some benchmarks (unless the game supports hardware T&L). It was also a good performer when it came to 32-bit and AA back in it's day :wink:. I'm also pretty sure it was the only other card at the time to support hardware EMBM (The Matrox G400 was the first to have this feature).
User avatar
PowerPie5000
Oldbie
 
Posts: 738
Joined: 2009-6-27 @ 00:07
Location: UK

Re: PCI PowerVR Kyro 64MB with DVI

Postby Stojke » 2013-3-08 @ 19:33

Awesome! I saw one on the flea market for 5$. Is it a good price?
Im thinking of running Final Fantasy 7 PC on it in my Dell 700MHz PIII.
User avatar
Stojke
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1167
Joined: 2012-3-23 @ 14:51
Location: Serbia

Re: PCI PowerVR Kyro 64MB with DVI

Postby PowerPie5000 » 2013-3-08 @ 20:56

Stojke wrote:Awesome! I saw one on the flea market for 5$. Is it a good price?
Im thinking of running Final Fantasy 7 PC on it in my Dell 700MHz PIII.


I think that's a good price :happy:... I don't know if it will run FF7 in hardware 3D mode as i'm sure that game only supported specific chips (3dfx Voodoo, NEC PowerVR, Riva 128, i740 etc...). Unless of course you use some kind of D3D or OpenGL patch?
User avatar
PowerPie5000
Oldbie
 
Posts: 738
Joined: 2009-6-27 @ 00:07
Location: UK

Re: PCI PowerVR Kyro 64MB with DVI

Postby vetz » 2013-3-08 @ 21:43

PowerPie5000 wrote:
Stojke wrote:Awesome! I saw one on the flea market for 5$. Is it a good price?
Im thinking of running Final Fantasy 7 PC on it in my Dell 700MHz PIII.


I think that's a good price :happy:... I don't know if it will run FF7 in hardware 3D mode as i'm sure that game only supported specific chips (3dfx Voodoo, NEC PowerVR, Riva 128, i740 etc...). Unless of course you use some kind of D3D or OpenGL patch?


I don't know where this misconception is coming from, as I've seen it several places on the internet, but FF7 is only D3D.
User avatar
vetz
l33t
 
Posts: 2096
Joined: 2012-4-23 @ 17:13

Re: PCI PowerVR Kyro 64MB with DVI

Postby d1stortion » 2013-3-08 @ 22:22

Not entirely sure here, but wasn't the demo Glide-only?
d1stortion
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1693
Joined: 2012-7-19 @ 20:42

Re: PCI PowerVR Kyro 64MB with DVI

Postby leileilol » 2013-3-09 @ 00:15

PowerPie5000 wrote:I don't know if it will run FF7 in hardware 3D mode as i'm sure that game only supported specific chips (3dfx Voodoo, NEC PowerVR, Riva 128, i740 etc...)


Requirement of paletted texturing in the initial release limited the playability of the game to 3dfx cards mostly.


FF7 doesn't support the PowerVR PCX2 at all (refuses to use the card due to the lack of certain blending caps), but there's no reason why the Kyro II shouldn't work with a Direct3D game that works on TNT.
94cheen : AM5x86P75ADW@160mhz; AWE64; Trio64v+ 1mb; 95C
97cheen : PII-300; 440LX; AWE32 8MB; Voodoo3 3000 16mb; Voodoo2 12mb; 98se
pvrcheen : P4 2.8GHz Northwood; SBPCI128; Rage128 32mb; PowerVR PCX2 4mb; 98se
User avatar
leileilol
l33t++
 
Posts: 5564
Joined: 2006-12-16 @ 18:03

Re: PCI PowerVR Kyro 64MB with DVI

Postby PowerPie5000 » 2013-3-09 @ 10:24

leileilol wrote:
PowerPie5000 wrote:I don't know if it will run FF7 in hardware 3D mode as i'm sure that game only supported specific chips (3dfx Voodoo, NEC PowerVR, Riva 128, i740 etc...)


Requirement of paletted texturing in the initial release limited the playability of the game to 3dfx cards mostly.


FF7 doesn't support the PowerVR PCX2 at all (refuses to use the card due to the lack of certain blending caps), but there's no reason why the Kyro II shouldn't work with a Direct3D game that works on TNT.


I'm sure FF7 needed to be patched to run on a TNT... I just read about the mix up with the PowerVR logo being on the original retail box although the game didn't actually support it (i be t a few people were a bit peeved).


This is from the Square Enix website:


[PC] What 3D accelerator video cards are supported with Final Fantasy VII?

Voodoo
3Dfx Voodoo2
3Dfx Voodoo Rush
3Dlabs Permedia2
ATI Rage Pro
Intel I740
Matrox G200

In addition are are a few other notes about video cards.
The banshee is not a chipset that is supported (it is an altered Voodoo2, and not backwards compliant with our game.)
Power VR2 (Power VR extreme) is the only support chipsets, not the older Power VR
The Ati Rage pro is the only supported chipset for FF7, not a rage, rage II or rage II+
The matrox Millenium G200 is the only supported card, not a M3D, millennium card, or mystique


http://support.na.square-enix.com/faqarticle.php?kid=54194&id=444&la=1&ret=faq&pv=10&page=1&c=5&sc=0&so=0
User avatar
PowerPie5000
Oldbie
 
Posts: 738
Joined: 2009-6-27 @ 00:07
Location: UK

Re: PCI PowerVR Kyro 64MB with DVI

Postby leileilol » 2013-3-09 @ 10:42

Power VR2 (Power VR extreme)

LOL no, PowerVR Extreme's their "It supports PowerVR" brand label.
Maybe FF7 was tooled to support the unreleased PowerVR SG :) Series 2 didn't come until the end of 1999, which is way after FF7's release and almost time for FF8's.

PowerVR PCX1/2 can't run the game.
94cheen : AM5x86P75ADW@160mhz; AWE64; Trio64v+ 1mb; 95C
97cheen : PII-300; 440LX; AWE32 8MB; Voodoo3 3000 16mb; Voodoo2 12mb; 98se
pvrcheen : P4 2.8GHz Northwood; SBPCI128; Rage128 32mb; PowerVR PCX2 4mb; 98se
User avatar
leileilol
l33t++
 
Posts: 5564
Joined: 2006-12-16 @ 18:03

Re: PCI PowerVR Kyro 64MB with DVI

Postby NitroX infinity » 2013-3-09 @ 11:08

Series 2 is Neon250? If so, I can test it with FF7 later on in the year.
User avatar
NitroX infinity
Member
 
Posts: 341
Joined: 2012-3-14 @ 09:38
Location: The Netherlands

Re: PCI PowerVR Kyro 64MB with DVI

Postby F2bnp » 2013-3-09 @ 11:39

You've got a Neon250? :O
User avatar
F2bnp
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1926
Joined: 2007-9-23 @ 10:19
Location: Vault 13

Re: PCI PowerVR Kyro 64MB with DVI

Postby NitroX infinity » 2013-3-09 @ 13:06

Yes, I do.

Image Image
(thumbnails, click for larger)
User avatar
NitroX infinity
Member
 
Posts: 341
Joined: 2012-3-14 @ 09:38
Location: The Netherlands

Re: PCI PowerVR Kyro 64MB with DVI

Postby Stojke » 2013-3-09 @ 17:02

Saw an exact GPU at the same guy, didnt know it was Neon250 it had no labels.

[edit]

Just saw how much is it actually worth Hahahahaha
And i didnt want to buy it because 5$ sounded too much :D
User avatar
Stojke
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1167
Joined: 2012-3-23 @ 14:51
Location: Serbia

Re: PCI PowerVR Kyro 64MB with DVI

Postby swaaye » 2013-3-09 @ 18:35

Neon 250 lost some charm for me when I read that Dreamcast's Series 2 chip is more powerful in a number of ways. There's a PowerVR engineer at Beyond3D who has chatted about it occasionally.

Would be cool to have in the collection though!
swaaye
Moderator
 
Posts: 5425
Joined: 2002-7-22 @ 21:24
Location: WI, USA

Next

Return to Marvin

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests