Munt Reloaded - Development

Developer's Forum for discussion of bugs, code, and other developmental aspects of the Munt Project.

Re: Munt Reloaded - Development

Postby ykhwong » 2013-3-02 @ 07:38

sergm wrote:Unfortunately, Ykhwong uses quite old munt sources which contain a number of bugs we've recently fixed.


I am going to integrate newer munt code into my future releases.

I was once considering to import an external mt32emu library as you recommend. However, that doesn't seem to work properly with savestates. I need to fiddle with part of munt source code for the savestates. It may take longer to get them to work simultaneously.
ykhwong
Oldbie
 
Posts: 627
Joined: 2004-3-17 @ 15:35

Re: Munt Reloaded - Development

Postby sergm » 2013-3-02 @ 08:23

That's right. We've never implemented a savestate feature. But probably making a full snapshot of the synth's state is not really required. I think saving all the system area, timbre & patch memory and temp areas is a quite good solution. This can be implemented using public API we provide right now. Look at the Synth::readMemory(). This is a rough equivalent of reading the state of a real LA unit.

P.S. Don't worry about the actual implementation. If you think this way is ok with you, I can help.
sergm
Oldbie
 
Posts: 737
Joined: 2011-2-23 @ 16:37

Re: Munt Reloaded - Development

Postby SedrynTyros » 2013-3-05 @ 22:53

I really love ykhwong's DOSBox build but the one problem I have with it is for those games where I want to use the Disney Sound Source for digital sound in conjunction with Munt.

Does anyone know where I could find a functional Win32 build that's just the current DOSBox SVN with the current Munt code patched in? I've looked all over the place but all that's available for Win32 that I've come across are the DOSBox 0.74 builds with Munt that sergm has created. Unfortunately, the Disney Sound Source mixer wasn't fixed until DOSBox SVN r3787.
User avatar
SedrynTyros
Member
 
Posts: 103
Joined: 2012-7-24 @ 21:44

Re: Munt Reloaded - Development

Postby Dominus » 2013-3-05 @ 22:59

another hijacker :)
User avatar
Dominus
DOSBox Moderator
 
Posts: 7618
Joined: 2002-10-03 @ 09:54
Location: Ludwigsburg

Re: Munt Reloaded - Development

Postby SedrynTyros » 2013-3-05 @ 23:22

Dominus wrote:another hijacker :)


Yeah, sorry about that. I've just been looking for this for a while and since somebody already touched on it a few posts back I figured I'd go ahead and pop the question, lol.
User avatar
SedrynTyros
Member
 
Posts: 103
Joined: 2012-7-24 @ 21:44

Re: Munt Reloaded - Development

Postby HunterZ » 2013-3-05 @ 23:59

Crap, I didn't know that win32 driver builds were still being released. I was using ykhwong's integrated munt on my laptop, but the driver will be perfect since I already use BASSMIDIDRV for GM software synthesis.

Looks like the source is currently at: https://github.com/munt/munt
And binaries at: http://sourceforge.net/projects/munt/files/munt/
User avatar
HunterZ
l33t++
 
Posts: 6074
Joined: 2003-1-31 @ 19:04
Location: Seattle

Re: Munt Reloaded - Development

Postby robertmo » 2013-3-06 @ 06:12

SedrynTyros wrote:I really love ykhwong's DOSBox build but the one problem I have with it is for those games where I want to use the Disney Sound Source for digital sound in conjunction with Munt.

what is the problem?

SedrynTyros wrote: since somebody already touched on it a few posts back I figured I'd go ahead and pop the question, lol.

where exactly?
User avatar
robertmo
l33t
 
Posts: 4394
Joined: 2003-6-18 @ 10:35

Re: Munt Reloaded - Development

Postby SedrynTyros » 2013-3-06 @ 07:22

robertmo wrote: what is the problem?


ykhwong's DOSBox build does not allow the use of both Disney Sound Source and MIDI devices at the same time. You can only use one or the other. He's aware of this and has included it in the documentation for his builds.

robertmo wrote:where exactly?


marooned_on_mars mentioned having a DOSBox SVN build that includes Munt. I don't know enough about compiling builds and what not to make one myself so I was wondering if anyone else does maintain a DOSBox SVN build with the latest Munt code so that I could use it for a few games where the best sound option is to have Disney Sound Source for digital with MT-32 for music. It's much more convenient for my situation to have it integrated into DOSBox rather than use the Munt driver.
User avatar
SedrynTyros
Member
 
Posts: 103
Joined: 2012-7-24 @ 21:44

Re: Munt Reloaded - Development

Postby Dominus » 2013-3-06 @ 07:31

What is your current situation that you'd rather not use the driver? It wiuld instantky solve your problem: install the driver and use Dosbox 0.74 or any straight SVN built. Done ;)
User avatar
Dominus
DOSBox Moderator
 
Posts: 7618
Joined: 2002-10-03 @ 09:54
Location: Ludwigsburg

Re: Munt Reloaded - Development

Postby Great Hierophant » 2013-3-06 @ 12:49

SedrynTyros wrote:
ykhwong's DOSBox build does not allow the use of both Disney Sound Source and MIDI devices at the same time. You can only use one or the other.

...so I was wondering if anyone else does maintain a DOSBox SVN build with the latest Munt code so that I could use it for a few games where the best sound option is to have Disney Sound Source for digital with MT-32 for music. It's much more convenient for my situation to have it integrated into DOSBox rather than use the Munt driver.


Wouldn't the same problem manifest itself whether MUNT is integrated or not? MUNT is emulating a MIDI device and will use the MIDI interface.

Which games are best for Disney Sound Source and MT-32? The only games I know of that support the Sound Source and not the Sound Blaster are some early Disney games (Arachnophobia, Dick Tracy), and they do not support the MT-32.
http://nerdlypleasures.blogspot.com/ - Nerdly Pleasures - My Retro Gaming, Computing & Tech Blog
User avatar
Great Hierophant
l33t
 
Posts: 2373
Joined: 2003-4-27 @ 08:20

Re: Munt Reloaded - Development

Postby SedrynTyros » 2013-3-06 @ 14:33

It's not really about which games don't support Sound Blaster but do support Disney Sound Source; it's about the game sounding "better" using the Disney Sound Source in DOSBox. King's Quest V is the most notable example I can think of. The digital voice has a lot of noise in the Sound Blaster emulation, which I find annoying; I prefer using the Disney Sound Source with King's Quest V.

Installing the driver would be fine for me but not so much for all my friends that I share my retro projects with. With a DOSBox build, I could add it into D-Fend Reloaded as a launch option for the small number of games that would need to use the build. Using Munt as a Windows driver would involve me having to train my pals to remember to switch back and forth between GM and MT-32 MIDI devices. It'd be much easier to have the DOSBox build, but it's looking like nobody here has what I'm looking for. Not really a big deal anyway since they're not many games I'd use it for. Thanks for the replies.
User avatar
SedrynTyros
Member
 
Posts: 103
Joined: 2012-7-24 @ 21:44

Re: Munt Reloaded - Development

Postby Dominus » 2013-3-06 @ 14:41

Using Munt as a Windows driver would involve me having to train my pals to remember to switch back and forth between GM and MT-32 MIDI devices.

You can solve this quite easily by not making the munt driver default in Windows but in the Dosbox config in the mididconfig setting (http://www.dosbox.com/wiki/Dosbox.conf#.5Bmidi.5D). If your pals use Dosbox as well, make your own config and start Dosbox with that.
User avatar
Dominus
DOSBox Moderator
 
Posts: 7618
Joined: 2002-10-03 @ 09:54
Location: Ludwigsburg

Re: Munt Reloaded - Development

Postby SedrynTyros » 2013-3-06 @ 14:54

Dominus wrote:
Using Munt as a Windows driver would involve me having to train my pals to remember to switch back and forth between GM and MT-32 MIDI devices.

You can solve this quite easily by not making the munt driver default in Windows but in the Dosbox config in the mididconfig setting (http://www.dosbox.com/wiki/Dosbox.conf#.5Bmidi.5D). If your pals use Dosbox as well, make your own config and start Dosbox with that.


Hmmmm ... you know, I hadn't thought of going that route. Thanks for the suggestion. I think this would probably work. :)
User avatar
SedrynTyros
Member
 
Posts: 103
Joined: 2012-7-24 @ 21:44

Re: Munt Reloaded - Development

Postby Dominus » 2013-3-06 @ 15:00

I think this would probably work.

This will definitely work :)
User avatar
Dominus
DOSBox Moderator
 
Posts: 7618
Joined: 2002-10-03 @ 09:54
Location: Ludwigsburg

Re: Munt Reloaded - Development

Postby sergm » 2013-3-16 @ 12:54

Also, that will work on Windows 8 as that appears the only option remained.
sergm
Oldbie
 
Posts: 737
Joined: 2011-2-23 @ 16:37

Re: Munt Reloaded - Development

Postby robertmo » 2013-3-18 @ 22:06

i wonder what is going on here:
I noticed that both:
Cakewalk Pro Audio v9.03
and
Cakewalk Sonar X2
have the same problem with mt-32 and munt:
if i force both cakewalks to send whole sysex everything is ok.
but if i don't do it and just play enclosed midi first time (sysex is in the midi) so everything should be ok, but it is not: track 1 and track 3 instruments don't initialize at the beginning. But when i play the song second time they initialize properly.
So the first question is why the second time is ok, while first time is not
and the second question is why both mt-32 and munt behave same way.
One more thing - if i play the file with tempo 20 everything is ok too.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
robertmo
l33t
 
Posts: 4394
Joined: 2003-6-18 @ 10:35

Re: Munt Reloaded - Development

Postby HunterZ » 2013-3-18 @ 22:29

@robertmo: Is there a delay in the file before the notes start playing, to give time for the SysEx data to be processed?
User avatar
HunterZ
l33t++
 
Posts: 6074
Joined: 2003-1-31 @ 19:04
Location: Seattle

Re: Munt Reloaded - Development

Postby marooned_on_mars » 2013-3-19 @ 03:39

Yes there is, I can confirm that
I support Universal Basic Income, and so should you, here's why. Another reason why.
Commonly asked questions about UBI
Spread the word!
User avatar
marooned_on_mars
Member
 
Posts: 361
Joined: 2006-1-23 @ 18:47
Location: MoonBase2

Re: Munt Reloaded - Development

Postby robertmo » 2013-3-19 @ 07:28

fix for sonar x2:
edit > preferences > advanced > midi > playback & recording > midi files > uncheck 'always use sysx banks for midi files (instead of sysx data)'

fix for Pro Audio v9.03
options > global > general > uncheck 'always use sysx banks for midi files (instead of sysx data)'

btw there are still silence gaps in the midi file in Pro Audio v9.03

above fixes only help munt.
real mt-32 and cm-32l modules still have the problem
User avatar
robertmo
l33t
 
Posts: 4394
Joined: 2003-6-18 @ 10:35

Re: Munt Reloaded - Development

Postby robertmo » 2013-3-19 @ 13:03

ok so mystery solved:

Ttsseq.ini
[Options]
SysxDelayAfterF7=0

makes munt play correctly, so it looks sonar and pro audio are using delay for transferring sysex when playing midi but the song is not being stopped cause of that - hence the problem.

For real modules you have to use following (and send all sysx manually before starting the song)
Ttsseq.ini
[Options]
SysxDelayAfterF7=1
SysxSendDelayMsecs=80

I wonder if nothing bad happens to the music if the sysx is being send the second time during the song is being played.
User avatar
robertmo
l33t
 
Posts: 4394
Joined: 2003-6-18 @ 10:35

PreviousNext

Return to MT-32 Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests