Post your 386 Speedsys results here

Showcase your Retro PC / Build logs.

Re: Post your 386 Speedsys results here

Postby Anonymous Coward » 2015-9-18 @ 10:29

These forex results are a lot better than the ones posted earlier. I wonder if they are from the same chipset (the previous poster didn't indicate the model). As far as I know forex had at least three 386 chipsets.
Will the highways on the internets become more few?
V'Ger XT|Upgraded AT|Ultimate 386|Super VL/EISA 486|SMP VL/EISA Pentium
User avatar
Anonymous Coward
l33t
 
Posts: 2540
Joined: 2008-3-20 @ 05:37
Location: Shandong, China

Re: Post your 386 Speedsys results here

Postby skv400 » 2016-1-09 @ 09:28

CPU : Cyrix 486DRx2 66MHz (33x2)
M/B : Dataexpert OPTI-495SLC Rev 1.01
RAM : FPM 64MB 30pin 16Mx4
HDD : Fujitsu MPB3032ATU 3.2GB E-IDE
FDD : 5.25 x1 , 3.5 x1
SND : Creative Sound Blaster 32PnP w/CQM
VGA : Cirruslogic CL-GD5428XL 2MB VLB
I/O : IWill SIDE Jr. Pro E-IDE VLB
Attachments
20160109_165448.jpg
User avatar
skv400
Newbie
 
Posts: 33
Joined: 2013-3-07 @ 10:26
Location: South Korea

Re: Post your 386 Speedsys results here

Postby feipoa » 2016-1-09 @ 09:46

skv400, do you have a Cyrix FPU installed? If not, could you install one? The Speedsys results tend to be artificially high if you do not have an FPU installed.
User avatar
feipoa
l33t
 
Posts: 4590
Joined: 2011-3-07 @ 13:54
Location: Canada

Re: Post your 386 Speedsys results here

Postby Anonymous Coward » 2016-1-09 @ 10:17

The hardware in this system is pretty nice, though the inflation on your CPU speed score is pretty crazy. Also, you might want to check your BIOS to ensure your memory timings are tuned. I know OPTi 495 doesn't get very high scores for memory bandwidth, but yours is a little too low in my opinion.

Also, if possible please run doom -timedemo demo3 and tell us how many realtics you get.
Will the highways on the internets become more few?
V'Ger XT|Upgraded AT|Ultimate 386|Super VL/EISA 486|SMP VL/EISA Pentium
User avatar
Anonymous Coward
l33t
 
Posts: 2540
Joined: 2008-3-20 @ 05:37
Location: Shandong, China

Re: Post your 386 Speedsys results here

Postby elianda » 2016-1-09 @ 18:36

There is even more wrong, if you look at the memory performance graph there is no indication of the 1kB L1 Cache.
Retronn.de - Vintage Hardware Gallery, Drivers, Guides, HQ Videos.
Youtube Channel
FTP Server - Driver Archive and more
DVI2PCIe alignment and 2D image quality measurement tool
User avatar
elianda
l33t
 
Posts: 2207
Joined: 2006-4-21 @ 16:56
Location: Halle / Germany

Re: Post your 386 Speedsys results here

Postby Anonymous Coward » 2016-1-10 @ 06:34

Is speedsys actually capable of showing the 1kb L1 cache on its memory graph? I seem to recall others having this problem also.
Will the highways on the internets become more few?
V'Ger XT|Upgraded AT|Ultimate 386|Super VL/EISA 486|SMP VL/EISA Pentium
User avatar
Anonymous Coward
l33t
 
Posts: 2540
Joined: 2008-3-20 @ 05:37
Location: Shandong, China

Re: Post your 386 Speedsys results here

Postby skv400 » 2016-1-10 @ 09:31

according your opinion. i go to setup and turn on auto configuration and manual setting memory timing to get more memory peformance.

sadly. i don't have cyrix fastmath 387 fpu. only have iit 4c87dlc and ulsi 3c87, intel 387dx

this benchmark result is only cyrix 486drx2 66mhz put in. no co-processor.

i recorded this bechmark. can see https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=03vOB2RLDtQ

turn on -> setup -> nssi -> speedsys -> doom timedemo3
Attachments
20160110_180628.mp4_20160110_183358.312.jpg
User avatar
skv400
Newbie
 
Posts: 33
Joined: 2013-3-07 @ 10:26
Location: South Korea

Re: Post your 386 Speedsys results here

Postby feipoa » 2016-1-10 @ 11:39

Speedsys never shows the 1 KB of L1 on its graphs. CCT386 might show it.
User avatar
feipoa
l33t
 
Posts: 4590
Joined: 2011-3-07 @ 13:54
Location: Canada

Re: Post your 386 Speedsys results here

Postby elianda » 2016-1-10 @ 16:53

feipoa wrote:Speedsys never shows the 1 KB of L1 on its graphs. CCT386 might show it.


Ah you are right, it doesn't show. I used CTCM 1.6r3 for this.

As comparison from my Cyrix 486DLC-40:
Image
Retronn.de - Vintage Hardware Gallery, Drivers, Guides, HQ Videos.
Youtube Channel
FTP Server - Driver Archive and more
DVI2PCIe alignment and 2D image quality measurement tool
User avatar
elianda
l33t
 
Posts: 2207
Joined: 2006-4-21 @ 16:56
Location: Halle / Germany

Re: Post your 386 Speedsys results here

Postby skv400 » 2016-1-11 @ 08:57

So great. My motherboard's memory peformance is too poor.

26mb/s is impossible.

I upload my sandra99 result.

I put in iit 4c87dlc-40 on 33mhz because windows98 won't boot without coprocessor.

If i get cyrix 387. I will upload newer speedsys tesult.

When i go to home, i will run ctcm1.6r3 and cct386 and upload result.

I go to seoul toady because my teeth is broken.
Attachments
20160110_200403.jpg
20160110_193629.jpg
20160110_192347.jpg
User avatar
skv400
Newbie
 
Posts: 33
Joined: 2013-3-07 @ 10:26
Location: South Korea

Re: Post your 386 Speedsys results here

Postby Anonymous Coward » 2016-1-11 @ 09:30

What's wrong with using one of your other FPUs for the speedsys benchmark? Any of them should be okay.

Also, can you please rerun doom timedemo with the screen maximized? You can toggle this in game with the +/- keys. It's not really possible to compare your DOOM score to other systems unless they are all rendering the screen at the same size.
Will the highways on the internets become more few?
V'Ger XT|Upgraded AT|Ultimate 386|Super VL/EISA 486|SMP VL/EISA Pentium
User avatar
Anonymous Coward
l33t
 
Posts: 2540
Joined: 2008-3-20 @ 05:37
Location: Shandong, China

Re: Post your 386 Speedsys results here

Postby skv400 » 2016-1-12 @ 05:48

Anonymous Coward wrote:What's wrong with using one of your other FPUs for the speedsys benchmark? Any of them should be okay.

Also, can you please rerun doom timedemo with the screen maximized? You can toggle this in game with the +/- keys. It's not really possible to compare your DOOM score to other systems unless they are all rendering the screen at the same size.


okay. completed fullscreen timedemo3 and upload movie.

and i live in south korea.

i go to speedsys benchmark w/ulsi and iit coprocessor

except 387dx because broken pin and don't boot.

youtuve link : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wsj4ATeA7F0
Attachments
20160112_142317.mp4_20160112_143529.031.jpg
20160112_142317.mp4_20160112_143533.671.jpg
User avatar
skv400
Newbie
 
Posts: 33
Joined: 2013-3-07 @ 10:26
Location: South Korea

Re: Post your 386 Speedsys results here

Postby Anonymous Coward » 2016-1-12 @ 07:57

Your doom timedemo result is very interesting.
I also have a 386 with an OPTi495 chipset, however mine is the 495SX not the 495SLC. The only real difference is that the 495SX has buffered VLB slots...they are more compatible, but they run slower. My board does not have VLB slots though.

My system configuration is:

Image

-Generic OPTi495SX motherboard, 256kb Writeback cache
-TI486SXL-40 (a clone of 486DLC with 8kb L1 cache), Fasmath 83D87-40
-32MB FPM DRAM
-CL-GD5434 ISA video (Diamond Speedstar64)
-AHA-1542CP SCSI
-Yamaha OPL3SAx sound

Doom timedemo 3 score: 5891 (8MHz ISA)
Doom timedemo 3 score: 5592 (10MHz ISA)

You'll notice my score is significantly slower than yours...but that doesn't quite tell the whole story when you factor in the VLB video.

I think another interesting system to compare to is one based around an IBM 486SLC2-66. This CPU only has 16-bit datapath and 24-bit memory addressing like a 286, but it has 16kb internal cache. My system uses the OPTi295SX *with* VLB slots. As far as I know it is basically the 16-bit version of the 495SX.

Configuration:

Image
Image

-Alaris Leopard Rev C motherboard, 128kb cache
-IBM 486SLC2 66MHz (basically a 386SX with a lot of cache), Fasmath CX83S87-40JP
-16MB FPM DRAM
-ET4000W32P on VLB, or CL-GD5434 on ISA (Trident 9440 in the Speedsys capture)
-AHA-1542CP SCSI
-Yamaha OPL3SAx Sound

Doom timedemo 3 score with ET4000W32P on VLB: 4730 realtics
Doom timedemo 3 score with CL-GD5434 on ISA: 5284 realtics


The timedemo score is about 4730 no matter which VLB card is used. It appears that any VLB card will offer at least a 500 point advantage over the fastest ISA card (The CL GD5434 is the fastest one I am aware of).

Your 66MHz Cyrix DRx2 with 1kb cache is surprisingly slower than my 66MHz IBM. Now I could understand this being the case if my CPU was a DLC2, but mine is the SLC2 with the crippled 16-bit databus. It does have quite a bit more cache however. I also have a 50MHz Cyrix 486SRx2 that overclocks to 66MHz, but unfortunately I can't make an exact comparison as the SX motherboard I have is quite old and uses a very different chipset. I will bench it when I get bored though.

My 386SX motherboard (AMI 386SX XT Series 20):

Image

Anyway, I would bet that if you ran your DRx2-66 using an ISA VGA card, your doom score would be around 5300-5400 realtics, which only makes it slightly faster than the TI486SXL overall. Do you have the pipelining feature enabled using the Cyrix DRx2 utility? I've heard the pipelining option can speed things up a fair bit.
Last edited by Anonymous Coward on 2016-1-22 @ 08:13, edited 7 times in total.
Will the highways on the internets become more few?
V'Ger XT|Upgraded AT|Ultimate 386|Super VL/EISA 486|SMP VL/EISA Pentium
User avatar
Anonymous Coward
l33t
 
Posts: 2540
Joined: 2008-3-20 @ 05:37
Location: Shandong, China

Re: Post your 386 Speedsys results here

Postby BSA Starfire » 2016-1-12 @ 09:03

Here's my IBM PS/1 2133/2155 386sx 25MHz motherboard with ULSI 387sx FPU.
Vogon's thread about the board here:http://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?f=46&t=45623&start=20

Speedsys screen, notice it thinks it's a DX chip??? Sorry the pic is not great, old phone is all I have. CPU score is 3.26.
Doom realtiks, full screen are: 33620
speedsys.jpg
386SX 33MHz,4MB Ram,ALi M1217 motherboard,OAK OTI077 1MB. Seagate ST1144A.
386DX 25MHz,IIT 387,8MB RAM,Opti,32K cache,WDC90C30 512K.Conner CF170A.
IDT Winchip C6 200MHz,DFi P5BTX/L,Number Nine S3 ViRGE 2MB,SoundBlasterCT2260,1.2Gb Fujitsu.
User avatar
BSA Starfire
Oldbie
 
Posts: 780
Joined: 2014-3-22 @ 05:20
Location: UK

Re: Post your 386 Speedsys results here

Postby kixs » 2016-1-12 @ 10:40

-IBM 486SLC2 66MHz (basically a 386SX with a lot of cache)


It's actually a 486 processor with all the "goodies" of 386SX.
My Amibay: SALE Last update 2017-10-19
My Amibay: BUY Last update 2017-10-20
User avatar
kixs
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1823
Joined: 2013-1-31 @ 02:08
Location: Slovenia, EU

Re: Post your 386 Speedsys results here

Postby Anonymous Coward » 2016-1-12 @ 10:56

If you're not being sarcastic, please provide something to back that up. Any information I've ever been able to find indicates that IBM took a 386 and added cache and 486 instruction set.
Will the highways on the internets become more few?
V'Ger XT|Upgraded AT|Ultimate 386|Super VL/EISA 486|SMP VL/EISA Pentium
User avatar
Anonymous Coward
l33t
 
Posts: 2540
Joined: 2008-3-20 @ 05:37
Location: Shandong, China

Re: Post your 386 Speedsys results here

Postby feipoa » 2016-1-12 @ 18:39

Does the pipelining feature also work on 486DLC/SXL? Exactly what command/software is required to enable it? Could you paste in the information you have on the pipelining feature of the DRx2?
User avatar
feipoa
l33t
 
Posts: 4590
Joined: 2011-3-07 @ 13:54
Location: Canada

Re: Post your 386 Speedsys results here

Postby kixs » 2016-1-12 @ 19:55

Anonymous Coward wrote:If you're not being sarcastic, please provide something to back that up. Any information I've ever been able to find indicates that IBM took a 386 and added cache and 486 instruction set.


I don't have any details nor do they matter... It has a i486 instruction set, so it is a 486 in my book ;)
My Amibay: SALE Last update 2017-10-19
My Amibay: BUY Last update 2017-10-20
User avatar
kixs
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1823
Joined: 2013-1-31 @ 02:08
Location: Slovenia, EU

Re: Post your 386 Speedsys results here

Postby Anonymous Coward » 2016-1-13 @ 00:12

486 instructions are mostly a waste. Off the top of my head I can't think of a single program that uses them.

In any case, the 486DLC, TI486SXL and 486DRx2 also have i486 instructions.
Will the highways on the internets become more few?
V'Ger XT|Upgraded AT|Ultimate 386|Super VL/EISA 486|SMP VL/EISA Pentium
User avatar
Anonymous Coward
l33t
 
Posts: 2540
Joined: 2008-3-20 @ 05:37
Location: Shandong, China

Re: Post your 386 Speedsys results here

Postby Anonymous Coward » 2016-1-13 @ 00:20

feipoa wrote:Does the pipelining feature also work on 486DLC/SXL? Exactly what command/software is required to enable it? Could you paste in the information you have on the pipelining feature of the DRx2?


You can use the software that came with the 486DRx2 and SRx2 to enable it. It is also possible to turn it on using other software, but the register is listed as "unused" or "undocumented" or something similiar.

As far as know pipelining does NOT function on the DLC or SXL. I am pretty sure I tried it, and it either did nothing or crashed the system.
Will the highways on the internets become more few?
V'Ger XT|Upgraded AT|Ultimate 386|Super VL/EISA 486|SMP VL/EISA Pentium
User avatar
Anonymous Coward
l33t
 
Posts: 2540
Joined: 2008-3-20 @ 05:37
Location: Shandong, China

PreviousNext

Return to System Specs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: gfh110 and 3 guests