VOGONS


DOSBox console mode.

Topic actions

  • This topic is locked. You cannot reply or edit posts.

Reply 20 of 39, by Jorpho

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++
ignatius wrote:
Thanks for that. But i'm still having issues. We're getting closer, though. […]
Show full quote
Jorpho wrote:

Well, now we're getting somewhere.

You need to set the environment variable SDL_VIDEODRIVER=dummy before starting DOSBox. In Linux, I think the command is "export SDL_VIDEODRIVER=dummy".

Thanks for that. But i'm still having issues. We're getting closer, though.

CONFIG:Loading primary settings from config file /root/.dosbox/dosbox-SVN.conf
Exit to error: Could not initialize video: Couldn't set console screen info

Oh, you need the "-noconsole" switch before the first "-c" then. (I thought that was unnecessary under Linux.)

Reply 21 of 39, by ignatius

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
ignatius wrote:
Thanks for that. But i'm still having issues. We're getting closer, though. […]
Show full quote
Jorpho wrote:

Well, now we're getting somewhere.

You need to set the environment variable SDL_VIDEODRIVER=dummy before starting DOSBox. In Linux, I think the command is "export SDL_VIDEODRIVER=dummy".

Thanks for that. But i'm still having issues. We're getting closer, though.

CONFIG:Loading primary settings from config file /root/.dosbox/dosbox-SVN.conf
Exit to error: Could not initialize video: Couldn't set console screen info

Ok. I found this at http://sdl.beuc.net/sdl.wiki/SDL_envvars :

dummy dummy driver (no output)

So, maybe DOSBox is doing something? Just not writing it to stdout?

Reply 26 of 39, by ignatius

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Ok. Say, I do this:

dosbox -c "edit"

If "edit" is in the path, will it actually execute it? Even if there isn't a "visible screen"? I have a script to execute several commands. I just want to know if they are being executed.
And yes, I made sure they actually execute with a "visible screen".

Reply 27 of 39, by Qbix

User metadata
Rank DOSBox Author
Rank
DOSBox Author

Can't you see the results of your commands ?
the -c commands work fine, so if you are unsure if they work, then check your own scripts and add debugging to that.

Water flows down the stream
How to ask questions the smart way!

Reply 32 of 39, by Jorpho

User metadata
Rank l33t++
Rank
l33t++
ercanersoy wrote:

DOSBox console mode looks like Windows console programs are run by Wine in Linux console without desktop environment. It's well for DOSBox. In my opinion, DOSBox console mode possible.

I don't know what you're trying to say. Of course it's "possible", and using "export SDL_VIDEODRIVER=dummy" has worked fine for other people in the past. It's just not clear why it is not working in the specific case of the system of Mr. Ignatius.

Reply 34 of 39, by own3mall

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Ok, so how do I get a silent EXE program to run in DosBox under Linux via no GUI? I connect to a server with no X11 environment using SSH and have a terminal window.

I set video driver to dummy:

export SDL_VIDEODRIVER=dummy

Then, I run DosBox:

dosbox -console -exit -conf "/test/dosbox.conf"

The contents of /test/dosbox.conf are:

# This is the configurationfile for DOSBox 0.74. (Please use the latest version of DOSBox)
# Lines starting with a # are commentlines and are ignored by DOSBox.
# They are used to (briefly) document the effect of each option.

[sdl]
# fullscreen: Start dosbox directly in fullscreen. (Press ALT-Enter to go back)
# fulldouble: Use double buffering in fullscreen. It can reduce screen flickering, but it can also result in a slow DOSBox.
# fullresolution: What resolution to use for fullscreen: original or fixed size (e.g. 1024x768).
# Using your monitor's native resolution with aspect=true might give the best results.
# If you end up with small window on a large screen, try an output different from surface.
# windowresolution: Scale the window to this size IF the output device supports hardware scaling.
# (output=surface does not!)
# output: What video system to use for output.
# Possible values: surface, overlay, opengl, openglnb.
# autolock: Mouse will automatically lock, if you click on the screen. (Press CTRL-F10 to unlock)
# sensitivity: Mouse sensitivity.
# waitonerror: Wait before closing the console if dosbox has an error.
# priority: Priority levels for dosbox. Second entry behind the comma is for when dosbox is not focused/minimized.
# pause is only valid for the second entry.
# Possible values: lowest, lower, normal, higher, highest, pause.
# mapperfile: File used to load/save the key/event mappings from. Resetmapper only works with the defaul value.
# usescancodes: Avoid usage of symkeys, might not work on all operating systems.

fullscreen=false
fulldouble=false
fullresolution=original
windowresolution=original
output=surface
autolock=true
sensitivity=100
waitonerror=true
priority=higher,normal
mapperfile=mapper-0.74.map
usescancodes=true

[dosbox]
# language: Select another language file.
# machine: The type of machine tries to emulate.
# Possible values: hercules, cga, tandy, pcjr, ega, vgaonly, svga_s3, svga_et3000, svga_et4000, svga_paradise, vesa_nolfb, vesa_oldvbe.
# captures: Directory where things like wave, midi, screenshot get captured.
# memsize: Amount of memory DOSBox has in megabytes.
# This value is best left at its default to avoid problems with some games,
# though few games might require a higher value.
# There is generally no speed advantage when raising this value.

language=
machine=svga_s3
captures=capture
memsize=16

[render]
# frameskip: How many frames DOSBox skips before drawing one.
# aspect: Do aspect correction, if your output method doesn't support scaling this can slow things down!.
# scaler: Scaler used to enlarge/enhance low resolution modes.
# If 'forced' is appended, then the scaler will be used even if the result might not be desired.
# Possible values: none, normal2x, normal3x, advmame2x, advmame3x, advinterp2x, advinterp3x, hq2x, hq3x, 2xsai, super2xsai, supereagle, tv2x, tv3x, rgb2x, rgb3x, scan2x, scan3x.

frameskip=0
aspect=false
scaler=normal2x
Show last 187 lines

[cpu]
# core: CPU Core used in emulation. auto will switch to dynamic if available and appropriate.
# Possible values: auto, dynamic, normal, simple.
# cputype: CPU Type used in emulation. auto is the fastest choice.
# Possible values: auto, 386, 386_slow, 486_slow, pentium_slow, 386_prefetch.
# cycles: Amount of instructions DOSBox tries to emulate each millisecond.
# Setting this value too high results in sound dropouts and lags.
# Cycles can be set in 3 ways:
# 'auto' tries to guess what a game needs.
# It usually works, but can fail for certain games.
# 'fixed #number' will set a fixed amount of cycles. This is what you usually need if 'auto' fails.
# (Example: fixed 4000).
# 'max' will allocate as much cycles as your computer is able to handle.
#
# Possible values: auto, fixed, max.
# cycleup: Amount of cycles to decrease/increase with keycombo.(CTRL-F11/CTRL-F12)
# cycledown: Setting it lower than 100 will be a percentage.

core=auto
cputype=auto
cycles=auto
cycleup=10
cycledown=20

[mixer]
# nosound: Enable silent mode, sound is still emulated though.
# rate: Mixer sample rate, setting any device's rate higher than this will probably lower their sound quality.
# Possible values: 44100, 48000, 32000, 22050, 16000, 11025, 8000, 49716.
# blocksize: Mixer block size, larger blocks might help sound stuttering but sound will also be more lagged.
# Possible values: 1024, 2048, 4096, 8192, 512, 256.
# prebuffer: How many milliseconds of data to keep on top of the blocksize.

nosound=false
rate=44100
blocksize=1024
prebuffer=20

[midi]
# mpu401: Type of MPU-401 to emulate.
# Possible values: intelligent, uart, none.
# mididevice: Device that will receive the MIDI data from MPU-401.
# Possible values: default, win32, alsa, oss, coreaudio, coremidi, none.
# midiconfig: Special configuration options for the device driver. This is usually the id of the device you want to use.
# See the README/Manual for more details.

mpu401=intelligent
mididevice=default
midiconfig=

[sblaster]
# sbtype: Type of Soundblaster to emulate. gb is Gameblaster.
# Possible values: sb1, sb2, sbpro1, sbpro2, sb16, gb, none.
# sbbase: The IO address of the soundblaster.
# Possible values: 220, 240, 260, 280, 2a0, 2c0, 2e0, 300.
# irq: The IRQ number of the soundblaster.
# Possible values: 7, 5, 3, 9, 10, 11, 12.
# dma: The DMA number of the soundblaster.
# Possible values: 1, 5, 0, 3, 6, 7.
# hdma: The High DMA number of the soundblaster.
# Possible values: 1, 5, 0, 3, 6, 7.
# sbmixer: Allow the soundblaster mixer to modify the DOSBox mixer.
# oplmode: Type of OPL emulation. On 'auto' the mode is determined by sblaster type. All OPL modes are Adlib-compatible, except for 'cms'.
# Possible values: auto, cms, opl2, dualopl2, opl3, none.
# oplemu: Provider for the OPL emulation. compat might provide better quality (see oplrate as well).
# Possible values: default, compat, fast.
# oplrate: Sample rate of OPL music emulation. Use 49716 for highest quality (set the mixer rate accordingly).
# Possible values: 44100, 49716, 48000, 32000, 22050, 16000, 11025, 8000.

sbtype=sb16
sbbase=220
irq=7
dma=1
hdma=5
sbmixer=true
oplmode=auto
oplemu=default
oplrate=44100

[gus]
# gus: Enable the Gravis Ultrasound emulation.
# gusrate: Sample rate of Ultrasound emulation.
# Possible values: 44100, 48000, 32000, 22050, 16000, 11025, 8000, 49716.
# gusbase: The IO base address of the Gravis Ultrasound.
# Possible values: 240, 220, 260, 280, 2a0, 2c0, 2e0, 300.
# gusirq: The IRQ number of the Gravis Ultrasound.
# Possible values: 5, 3, 7, 9, 10, 11, 12.
# gusdma: The DMA channel of the Gravis Ultrasound.
# Possible values: 3, 0, 1, 5, 6, 7.
# ultradir: Path to Ultrasound directory. In this directory
# there should be a MIDI directory that contains
# the patch files for GUS playback. Patch sets used
# with Timidity should work fine.

gus=false
gusrate=44100
gusbase=240
gusirq=5
gusdma=3
ultradir=C:\ULTRASND

[speaker]
# pcspeaker: Enable PC-Speaker emulation.
# pcrate: Sample rate of the PC-Speaker sound generation.
# Possible values: 44100, 48000, 32000, 22050, 16000, 11025, 8000, 49716.
# tandy: Enable Tandy Sound System emulation. For 'auto', emulation is present only if machine is set to 'tandy'.
# Possible values: auto, on, off.
# tandyrate: Sample rate of the Tandy 3-Voice generation.
# Possible values: 44100, 48000, 32000, 22050, 16000, 11025, 8000, 49716.
# disney: Enable Disney Sound Source emulation. (Covox Voice Master and Speech Thing compatible).

pcspeaker=true
pcrate=44100
tandy=auto
tandyrate=44100
disney=true

[joystick]
# joysticktype: Type of joystick to emulate: auto (default), none,
# 2axis (supports two joysticks),
# 4axis (supports one joystick, first joystick used),
# 4axis_2 (supports one joystick, second joystick used),
# fcs (Thrustmaster), ch (CH Flightstick).
# none disables joystick emulation.
# auto chooses emulation depending on real joystick(s).
# (Remember to reset dosbox's mapperfile if you saved it earlier)
# Possible values: auto, 2axis, 4axis, 4axis_2, fcs, ch, none.
# timed: enable timed intervals for axis. Experiment with this option, if your joystick drifts (away).
# autofire: continuously fires as long as you keep the button pressed.
# swap34: swap the 3rd and the 4th axis. can be useful for certain joysticks.
# buttonwrap: enable button wrapping at the number of emulated buttons.

joysticktype=auto
timed=true
autofire=false
swap34=false
buttonwrap=false

[serial]
# serial1: set type of device connected to com port.
# Can be disabled, dummy, modem, nullmodem, directserial.
# Additional parameters must be in the same line in the form of
# parameter:value. Parameter for all types is irq (optional).
# for directserial: realport (required), rxdelay (optional).
# (realport:COM1 realport:ttyS0).
# for modem: listenport (optional).
# for nullmodem: server, rxdelay, txdelay, telnet, usedtr,
# transparent, port, inhsocket (all optional).
# Example: serial1=modem listenport:5000
# Possible values: dummy, disabled, modem, nullmodem, directserial.
# serial2: see serial1
# Possible values: dummy, disabled, modem, nullmodem, directserial.
# serial3: see serial1
# Possible values: dummy, disabled, modem, nullmodem, directserial.
# serial4: see serial1
# Possible values: dummy, disabled, modem, nullmodem, directserial.

serial1=dummy
serial2=dummy
serial3=disabled
serial4=disabled

[dos]
# xms: Enable XMS support.
# ems: Enable EMS support.
# umb: Enable UMB support.
# keyboardlayout: Language code of the keyboard layout (or none).

xms=true
ems=true
umb=true
keyboardlayout=auto

[ipx]
# ipx: Enable ipx over UDP/IP emulation.

ipx=false

[autoexec]
# Lines in this section will be run at startup.
# You can put your MOUNT lines here.

mount c "/test/files"
C:
MYQPROG.EXE
exit

The important autoexec section contains:

[autoexec]
# Lines in this section will be run at startup.
# You can put your MOUNT lines here.

mount c "/test/files"
C:
MYQPROG.EXE
exit

But when I run DosBox, I get the following output, and it doesn't do anything or terminate after the executable is run:

DOSBox version 0.74
Copyright 2002-2010 DOSBox Team, published under GNU GPL.
---
CONFIG:Loading primary settings from config file /test/dosbox.conf
MIXER:Got different values from SDL: freq 44100, blocksize 940
ALSA:Can't subscribe to MIDI port (65:0) nor (17:0)
MIDI:Opened device:none
One joystick reported, initializing with 4axis
Using joystick QEMU QEMU USB Tablet with 2 axes, 3 buttons and 0 hat(s)

I tested the same program under Windows (with a GUI of course), and it works fine, so am I doing something wrong in Linux? I'm running Ubuntu 14.04 by the way.

Reply 35 of 39, by _Rob

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

This works here with DOSBox 0.73-3 on Linux:

$ SDL_VIDEODRIVER=dummy dosbox -c "mount c ." -c "echo foo>c:BAR" -c "exit"
DOSBox version 0.74-3
Copyright 2002-2019 DOSBox Team, published under GNU GPL.
---
CONFIG:Loading primary settings from config file /home/rob/.dosbox/dosbox-0.74-3.conf
Your fullscreen resolution can NOT be determined, it's assumed to be 1024x768.
Please edit the configuration file if this value is wrong.
MIXER:Got different values from SDL: freq 44100, blocksize 512
ALSA:Can't subscribe to MIDI port (65:0) nor (17:0)
MIDI:Opened device:none
SHELL:Redirect output to c:BAR
$ cat BAR
foo

After running that, I have a file named BAR in my current directory containing "foo", and it never opened the DOSBox window.

Reply 36 of 39, by _Rob

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member

Likewise, using a config file:

$ SDL_VIDEODRIVER=dummy dosbox -conf make_bar.conf 
DOSBox version 0.74-3
Copyright 2002-2019 DOSBox Team, published under GNU GPL.
---
CONFIG:Loading primary settings from config file make_bar.conf
Your fullscreen resolution can NOT be determined, it's assumed to be 1024x768.
Please edit the configuration file if this value is wrong.
MIXER:Got different values from SDL: freq 44100, blocksize 512
ALSA:Can't subscribe to MIDI port (65:0) nor (17:0)
MIDI:Opened device:none
SHELL:Redirect output to c:BAR
$ cat BAR
foo
$ cat make_bar.conf
[autoexec]
mount c .
echo foo>c:BAR
exit

Just one hint, any files created in DOSBox will be created with UPPERCASE filenames, regardless if you specify the output file in upper or lower case. This is important, because unlike Windows, Linux like any Unix is case sensitive, so you can have a file named BAR, bar, Bar, etc all in the same directory.

Reply 37 of 39, by latalante

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
_Rob wrote on 2020-04-17, 21:21:

Just one hint, any files created in DOSBox will be created with UPPERCASE filenames, regardless if you specify the output file in upper or lower case. This is important, because unlike Windows, Linux like any Unix is case sensitive, so you can have a file named BAR, bar, Bar, etc all in the same directory.

No, it does not depend on the system, but on the file system. Linux supports file systems without case sensitivity (for example, various FAT systems).
Ext4 is also equipped with this option.
https://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/g … e/ext4.rst#n101

chattr +F ~/dos

Reply 38 of 39, by _Rob

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
latalante wrote on 2020-04-17, 22:16:
No, it does not depend on the system, but on the file system. Linux supports file systems without case sensitivity (for example, […]
Show full quote
_Rob wrote on 2020-04-17, 21:21:

Just one hint, any files created in DOSBox will be created with UPPERCASE filenames, regardless if you specify the output file in upper or lower case. This is important, because unlike Windows, Linux like any Unix is case sensitive, so you can have a file named BAR, bar, Bar, etc all in the same directory.

No, it does not depend on the system, but on the file system. Linux supports file systems without case sensitivity (for example, various FAT systems).
Ext4 is also equipped with this option.
https://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/g … e/ext4.rst#n101

chattr +F ~/dos

Sure. But those are rather unusual setups. It certainly is not the default. The default is that it is case sensitive.