Quake 2 not playing certain sound effects (weapon fire) on SB AWE64

Getting old software/games running on older hardware.

Quake 2 not playing certain sound effects (weapon fire) on SB AWE64

Postby Tek » 2017-2-21 @ 12:53

Hey guys.

I've just installed Quake 2 on my '98 rig. I've got it running in 1024x768 in 3DFX GL (Voodoo 2s). Sound card is a SB AWE64. Music is playing off the CD perfect. Sound effects are playing, but they're a bit all over the place. I can't hear the weapons firing at all, and most of the sound effects are really quiet.

I'm wondering if the game is attempting some kind of 3D audio or surround sound that my card just doesn't support? The sound menu is fairly limited and I can't find much in the way of console commands. Any help would be awesome.
We'll karaoke all night long, macarena 'til the break of dawn.
User avatar
Tek
Newbie
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 2013-9-07 @ 15:57
Location: BEDS, UK

Re: Quake 2 not playing certain sound effects (weapon fire) on SB AWE64

Postby PhilsComputerLab » 2017-2-21 @ 13:11

There is a Sound Blaster driver update for Windows 9x. Give that a go. Should still be available on the Creative site. If not check the Vogons driver archive.

Also run the DirectX tests (start > run >dxdiag). Play with the acceleration slider to force software audio also.
User avatar
PhilsComputerLab
Hardware Mod
 
Posts: 6179
Joined: 2014-9-28 @ 03:33
Location: Western Australia

Re: Quake 2 not playing certain sound effects (weapon fire) on SB AWE64

Postby collector » 2017-2-21 @ 15:46

Qbix created a new forum for software on old systems for such questions. This should be moved.
User avatar
collector
l33t
 
Posts: 4229
Joined: 2003-1-15 @ 10:39

Re: Quake 2 not playing certain sound effects (weapon fire) on SB AWE64

Postby leileilol » 2017-2-21 @ 22:51

Quake2 has no 3D audio at all. Try changing the sound mode to "max compatibility" in Q2's options. You may also want to try -wavonly and see if it still happens there

FYI this doesn't happen on my AWE64 so i'd blame the drivers at this point.
Voodoo2s aren't 100mhz stock
Geforce256 isn't released as a beta on New Years '99 under the Quadro brand
DOS gaming isn't a bilinear 320x200 16:10
DOS PCs aren't better than the Macintosh
DOSBox is not for running Windows 9x
SGL != Glide
User avatar
leileilol
l33t++
 
Posts: 9363
Joined: 2006-12-16 @ 18:03

Re: Quake 2 not playing certain sound effects (weapon fire) on SB AWE64

Postby Tek » 2017-2-22 @ 11:42

You guys are great. But I'm sorry to tell you the answer is that I am borderline special needs.

as @leileilol had suggested, I had sound set to max compatibility; at @philscomputerlab's advice I updated to the latest driver. Even fiddled with dxdiag fwiw. I was still getting the problem. I even captured video to showcase this as I was getting the same error in other games. I'm using a preamp, for which the line input is mono. Stereo output into mono input. I think it's called phase cancellation but basically I'm retarded for not realising this.

The sound works great. It is a bit laggy, but I seem to remember Quake 2 having audio which lagged behind the action even back in 1997.
We'll karaoke all night long, macarena 'til the break of dawn.
User avatar
Tek
Newbie
 
Posts: 19
Joined: 2013-9-07 @ 15:57
Location: BEDS, UK

Re: Quake 2 not playing certain sound effects (weapon fire) on SB AWE64

Postby tgod » 2017-2-22 @ 14:05

leileilol wrote:Quake2 has no 3D audio at all. Try changing the sound mode to "max compatibility" in Q2's options. You may also want to try -wavonly and see if it still happens there

FYI this doesn't happen on my AWE64 so i'd blame the drivers at this point.


IAS made a 3D audio patch for quake 2 which adds A3D 1.0 and EAX support. The company died pretty early on so their list of supported titles isn't very long. You can download it here.
tgod
Newbie
 
Posts: 79
Joined: 2011-10-03 @ 14:16

Re: Quake 2 not playing certain sound effects (weapon fire) on SB AWE64

Postby betamax80 » 2018-1-01 @ 04:47

I've just managed to get all of the IAS files together, including the Quake II patch and the main installer. I've put all files on vogonsdrivers: http://www.vogonsdrivers.com/getfile.ph ... enustate=0
betamax80
Newbie
 
Posts: 59
Joined: 2016-5-30 @ 22:00

Re: Quake 2 not playing certain sound effects (weapon fire) on SB AWE64

Postby Stiletto » 2018-1-03 @ 02:31

Moved.
"I see a little silhouette-o of a man, Scaramouche, Scaramouche, will you
do the Fandango!" - Queen

Stiletto
User avatar
Stiletto
l33t
 
Posts: 4098
Joined: 2002-7-01 @ 21:57


Return to Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests