[4017] Midiconfig by devicename (commited r4017)

Here you can discuss the development of patches.

Re: Midiconfig by devicename

Postby KainXVIII » 2017-2-02 @ 13:38

At least we found what cause this problem, maybe it will be useful for someone.
Last edited by KainXVIII on 2017-2-02 @ 14:19, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
KainXVIII
Member
 
Posts: 233
Joined: 2015-5-20 @ 15:04
Location: Yaroslavl

Re: Midiconfig by devicename

Postby collector » 2017-2-02 @ 14:11

Just tested and the presence of the ROMs does prevent the listing for me as well.
User avatar
collector
l33t
 
Posts: 4036
Joined: 2003-1-15 @ 10:39

Re: Midiconfig by devicename

Postby Dominus » 2017-2-02 @ 15:40

@collector: can you check whether it is because mt32emu is always enabled or by default and when you disable it, the roma don't matter?
User avatar
Dominus
DOSBox Moderator
 
Posts: 7381
Joined: 2002-10-03 @ 09:54
Location: Vienna

Re: Midiconfig by devicename

Postby KainXVIII » 2017-2-02 @ 17:45

Dominus wrote:@collector: can you check whether it is because mt32emu is always enabled or by default and when you disable it, the roma don't matter?

Does not matter, roms cause issues even if mt32 emulations is set to off.
User avatar
KainXVIII
Member
 
Posts: 233
Joined: 2015-5-20 @ 15:04
Location: Yaroslavl

Re: Midiconfig by devicename

Postby Dominus » 2017-2-02 @ 18:30

Thanks for checking! This is bad coding then ;)
User avatar
Dominus
DOSBox Moderator
 
Posts: 7381
Joined: 2002-10-03 @ 09:54
Location: Vienna

Re: Midiconfig by devicename

Postby Yesterplay80 » 2017-2-03 @ 08:08

The command "mixer /listmidi" works with the win32 midi device only!

What I think is happening here is: The MT32 patch makes MT32 emu the new default midi device (which I don't like really). So if you start up DOSBox with "mididevice=default", it tries to load the MT32 emulator. If you set up your config pointing to the roms in the DOSBox directory and you start up, MT32 emu will successfully be loaded, but "mixer /listmidi" won't show nothing. Now if you remove the roms from the directory, the MT32 emu won't load and DOSBox does a fallback to the win32 midi device. And, as we now know, "mixer /listmidi" works with that one and will list the midi devices successfully again. Please have a look at your DOSBox status windows, I bet it looks like this:

DOSBox_win32_fallback.jpg


As you can see here, DOSbox doesn't care if the roms are in the same directory:

DOSBox_win32_listmidi.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
My full-featured DOSBox SVN builds (without debugger) for Windows: Vanilla DOSBox and DOSBox ECE (Enhanced Community Edition)
User avatar
Yesterplay80
Member
 
Posts: 261
Joined: 2016-2-23 @ 11:02
Location: Germany

Re: Midiconfig by devicename

Postby Dominus » 2017-2-03 @ 08:52

So, we should tell Sergm to change his patch that it doesn't set mt32emu as default ;)
User avatar
Dominus
DOSBox Moderator
 
Posts: 7381
Joined: 2002-10-03 @ 09:54
Location: Vienna

Re: Midiconfig by devicename

Postby Yesterplay80 » 2017-2-03 @ 09:13

Dominus wrote:So, we should tell Sergm to change his patch that it doesn't set mt32emu as default ;)

I asked him how to change it, maybe it's no big deal.

UPDATE: Changed! Win32 is now default again.
My full-featured DOSBox SVN builds (without debugger) for Windows: Vanilla DOSBox and DOSBox ECE (Enhanced Community Edition)
User avatar
Yesterplay80
Member
 
Posts: 261
Joined: 2016-2-23 @ 11:02
Location: Germany

Re: Midiconfig by devicename

Postby Qbix » 2017-5-10 @ 18:36

I added something based of this to r4015-4017.
Thanks rcblanke!
Water flows down the stream
How to ask questions the smart way!
User avatar
Qbix
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10445
Joined: 2002-11-27 @ 14:50
Location: Fryslan

Re: [4017] Midiconfig by devicename

Postby rcblanke » 2017-5-11 @ 17:18

Awesome, thank you qbix!
User avatar
rcblanke
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1308
Joined: 2005-4-01 @ 09:44
Location: Round 42

Re: Midiconfig by devicename

Postby KainXVIII » 2017-5-11 @ 17:29

Qbix wrote:I added something based of this to r4015-4017.
Thanks rcblanke!

Work same way?
User avatar
KainXVIII
Member
 
Posts: 233
Joined: 2015-5-20 @ 15:04
Location: Yaroslavl

Previous

Return to DOSBox Patches

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests