Asrock 775Dual VSTA & Core4Dual thread

Discussion about old PC hardware.

Re: Asrock 775Dual VSTA & Core4Dual thread

Postby Standard Def Steve » 2017-6-17 @ 05:21

This board seems to have seriously weak PCI performance.
My Radeon 9250 scores far lower on the 4CoreDual w/ Pentium E2220 than it does on my ancient PIII and P4 boards. It really makes me question this board's ability to be a good "all-cpu-bottlenecks-removed AGP/PCI testbed."
The PCI busses in the old PIII and P4 systems seem capable of pushing the 9250 right to its limit. But the newer 4CoreDual-SATA2 is hitting some sort of PCI bottleneck. I wonder if it's bridged (I believe the PCI-E bus is bridged on this board)?

4CoreDual-SATA2 with Pentium E2220
E2220, 9250PCI, 3D01.PNG


Intel i845 with P4-2400:
P4-2400, 9250PCI, 3D01.PNG


QDI Advance 12T with PIII-1575 (PCI bus at 37.5MHz)
P3-1575, 9250PCI, 3D01.PNG
Standard Def Steve
Oldbie
 
Posts: 854
Joined: 2012-9-15 @ 08:04

Re: Asrock 775Dual VSTA & Core4Dual thread

Postby A-L-E-X » 2017-6-23 @ 00:13

LastShade wrote:Update: all fixed. It was and intollerant memory bank. Turns out: even if some memory banks assure they will work at 667MHz, they're dirty liars and stop working at 446MHz and they need to be swapped out in favor of honest ones.


I bought the Win 10 x86/x64 USB flash drive and want to run a dual system with Win XP x86, any advice?

I have 4 Gig DDRII 667 memory running at DDRII 533
A-L-E-X
Newbie
 
Posts: 41
Joined: 2017-3-25 @ 22:22

Re: Asrock 775Dual VSTA & Core4Dual thread

Postby A-L-E-X » 2017-6-23 @ 00:15

[/quote]

Nope. 80GB. Partitioned with win98's FDISK utility as well (otherwise I have trouble booting off the partition). 4GB partition for win98, 15gb for XP and the rest split in two.



I'm using a beta bios off Gigabyte forums. It supports up to Phenom II X4 (it posts with X6 CPUs but will not boot) - and works very well in XP and win7, but it's a no-go in win98. I think it might have to do with the Nortbridge (more specifically the memory controller) built into AM2+ and AM3 CPUs since I experienced the exact same behaviour when attempting to run win98 on other boards (some AM2+ nforce board and a AMD 760 AM3 board). The AM2+ board worked OK with a 4400+ but I had issues with getting the 6600GT working correctly on said board. Seems to work fine on the nforce 3 after I installed the chipset drivers.

Right now I'm running win98 off a 40GB PATA drive, and XP/Win7 off a seperate 80GB SATA drive - to switch between the two I have to go into bios, set it to boot from the PATA drive, and limit the amount of RAM memory to 1GB. The BIOS allows me to limit the ammount of ram to 1024, 3328 or 4096MB - and it also retains memory shadowing and remapping features seen on older motherboards.[/quote]

You sound like me- I have an 80 GB SATA2 drive but also bought a 2 TB SATA3 5400 rpm drive. I want to run Win 10 and Win XP together and bought a WIN 10 USB flash drive. Can I install it from that?
A-L-E-X
Newbie
 
Posts: 41
Joined: 2017-3-25 @ 22:22

Re: Asrock 775Dual VSTA & Core4Dual thread

Postby A-L-E-X » 2017-6-23 @ 01:05

agent_x007 wrote:
exxocet wrote:Whoa! Frankly I've read those posts, and not just once, but I was interested in the graphical card compatibility/performance and I didn't payed attention to the CPU results. 4 Ghz on 4Core Dual SATA2 and 1.28V low voltage! Yeah, it's a dual core, but still, Impressive! Bravo!

I can't get anyhing more than 13x multiplier on my QX6700 (that goes for ~3.5 Ghz), requires >1.5V Vcc and delivers lots of heat.
Thanks :)

My QX6700 (B3), can do 3,6GHz with 1,45V at Idle (and ~1,42V on Load), but that's with P5K64 WS board ;) It's VID = 1,337V, btw and I used TRUE w/Delta FAN to cool it :)
It was still cooler than Pentium Extreme Edition 965 @ 4,8GHz :lol:

I woudn't recommend OC'ing QX6700 with this boards, they simply don't have the VRM to keep it fed at higher clocks (I'm assuming, you got proper cooler on it and, ie. not "BOX" one).
If you have few extra $, going for G0 revision (ie. QX6800/QX6850) is better option, because they are simply worth it (less heat with better Frequency/Voltage scaling).
Still, nothing can top 45nm unlocked beasts like QX9650/QX9770 :)


What's the best quad core to get to avoid overheating problems? Maybe I already have the coolest one- the Q6600
A-L-E-X
Newbie
 
Posts: 41
Joined: 2017-3-25 @ 22:22

Re: Asrock 775Dual VSTA & Core4Dual thread

Postby The Serpent Rider » 2017-6-23 @ 05:11

Any Quad core with reduced clock speed and voltage. 45nm Yorkfields are generally better in that regard.
User avatar
The Serpent Rider
Oldbie
 
Posts: 585
Joined: 2017-3-25 @ 19:07
Location: Stagnant Demesne

Re: Asrock 775Dual VSTA & Core4Dual thread

Postby agent_x007 » 2017-6-23 @ 05:29

A-L-E-X wrote:What's the best quad core to get to avoid overheating problems? Maybe I already have the coolest one- the Q6600
You can't overheat a quad core on this board, regardless of CPU you got.
You may overheat VRM, but even that is impossible without VID moding CPU/Socket (massive Vdroop and lack of LLC guarantee it).
CPU temps are mostly Vcore related, so if your Q6600 Vcore is higher than my QX6850 Vcore, my CPU will can be the cooler one.
User avatar
agent_x007
Oldbie
 
Posts: 887
Joined: 2016-1-19 @ 11:06

Re: Asrock 775Dual VSTA & Core4Dual thread

Postby A-L-E-X » 2017-6-23 @ 10:56

agent_x007 wrote:
A-L-E-X wrote:What's the best quad core to get to avoid overheating problems? Maybe I already have the coolest one- the Q6600
You can't overheat a quad core on this board, regardless of CPU you got.
You may overheat VRM, but even that is impossible without VID moding CPU/Socket (massive Vdroop and lack of LLC guarantee it).
CPU temps are mostly Vcore related, so if your Q6600 Vcore is higher than my QX6850 Vcore, my CPU will can be the cooler one.


Thanks, and I see you said earlier that the QX6850 is the best quad core to use on this board, although you got the QX9770 working on it also. I have to see if I can find one somewhere.
A-L-E-X
Newbie
 
Posts: 41
Joined: 2017-3-25 @ 22:22

Re: Asrock 775Dual VSTA & Core4Dual thread

Postby Krom83 » 2017-7-18 @ 19:59

I recently bought a 4CoreDual-SATA2 R2.0 but I'm running into some trouble right now.
My previous Win98 build was a Core 2 Duo 6700, 2GB Ram, Asrock Conroe 865 and Geforce 6800.
I'm usually not that much of a benchmark fanatic but I use Quake2 timedemo to have a performance indicator.
With the Conroe 865 build I had 835FPS in Quake2 timedemo in 1024x768x32.

So i swapped out the board for the 4CoreDual-SATA2 R2.0 and I'm only getting 215 FPS with the same setup (except for the board of course).
Soldier of fortune 2 also doesnt run smooth at all.
Its not stuttering or lagging, it's more looking like "you need a better graphic card"
I tried a lot of stuff and was wondering if you guys could give me a hint on what may be wrong.

-I tried different versions of via hyperion pro (5.xx) and geforce (v77 & hacked v82) drivers.
- removed all expansion cards but the geforce.
- tested with different ram: 512 DDR1 & 2GB DDR2
- Swapped the PSU
- Swapped with 2 different CPUs (Q6600 and P4 661 Cedar Mill)
- Tried firmware 2.20 and 2.20a
- installed windows 98 with and without acpi (with acpi there were some ressource conflicts, with APM I only had to disable 1 USB port)
- Manually set AGP speed to 8x in BIOS, also tried all AGP voltage and AGP ratio options in BIOS
- Swapped the 6800 for a 5200 (120fps in Quake2...)
- Temperatures are good too

The geforce driver also says "Interface AGP x8"

I wanted the board for a Win98 to Win7 project (AGP for Win98 to Win2k and PCIE for Windows XP to Windows 7) but this performance issue is making the board quite useless right now.
Other than having bad FPS, considering the hardware used, the system doesn't have any other problems, it's stable and fast in windows.
Krom83
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2017-6-24 @ 09:22

Re: Asrock 775Dual VSTA & Core4Dual thread

Postby A-L-E-X » 2017-8-11 @ 12:32

Are these boards the only boards available now that support quadcores and have an RS232 Serial Port? The reason I ask is because I have a weather station that needs a true RS232 Serial Port. Also what is the newest OS that supports this port?
A-L-E-X
Newbie
 
Posts: 41
Joined: 2017-3-25 @ 22:22

Re: Asrock 775Dual VSTA & Core4Dual thread

Postby Zoomer » 2017-8-27 @ 12:55

Guys, I have a problem with 775Dual VSTA and sata controller in any legay (<NT) system. Whenever I put together PATA and SATA devices in, I get a really slow boot into, say DOS 7 (from Win98 setup cd). After initial "Boot from CDROM" option I get stuck on blinking cursor. If I wait forever (i.e. 5 minutes, heheh), then the boot process continues. I'm getting "Start win98 setup, boot with cdrom, boot without cdrom" screen. Any option does not let me access my sata hdd. Dos does not see any partitions, windows setup can not start install (of course). It does not matter in what state HDD is in. Whether I've partitioned it or wiped clean. The result is the same. FDISK also could not access it (Error reading physical disk or something like that). While any NT-based system boots, detects and works fine.

I've tried several different SATA HDDs ranging from 40gb. No change. The only way to avoid this long freeze in the beginning is to disconnect any SATA drives and leave IDE devices only. Then everything works alright.

Usually when I'm tinkering with modern systems and legacy OSes, I put SATA controller into "IDE mode emulation" or the like. This leads to one (or both) IDE channels substituted by SATA devices while legacy OS (e.g. Win98) sees them as a usual IDE drivers (primary type47 disks on IDE controller).

Reading about people successfully installing Win98 OS here I've actually expected something along those lines, but this motherboard does not have such a thing. I can only enable or disable IDE controller in bios (there's even no option to disable sata controller).

Now I would really like to leave at least one SATA HDD connected since I would like to build a dualboot XP system.

So those with WIN98 builds on that motherboard - what are your bios settings and bios version? I'm using latest unofficial bios mentioned here. I've read on Internets, that there's somebody who was able to even boot legacy OS from a SATA drive. I don't understand how that's possible without IDE mode emulation.

The least I'm trying to achieve is to boot win98 from IDE drive while at least one SATA drive connected to SATA controller. It looks like I'm missing something important.

Thanks for reading this massive wall of text.

EDIT: Oh, I'm running SATA controller in Non-Raid mode. Maybe that's it? Shall I assemble a RAID?
Mainboard: Asus P4C-800e Deluxe (intel i875P)
Video: Nvidia Geforce 4600Ti, ATI Radeon 9600 PRO, Matrox G450, GeForce 6800 Ultra
CPU: Intel Pentium 4 3.0 GHz
RAM: 256mb DDR PC3200
Sound: Creative Audigy 2 + Aureal Vortex 2 SQ2500
OS: Windows 98SE
User avatar
Zoomer
Newbie
 
Posts: 31
Joined: 2007-5-30 @ 16:58

Re: Asrock 775Dual VSTA & Core4Dual thread

Postby agent_x007 » 2017-8-27 @ 13:38

Have you tried SATA RAID mode (and yes, there is RAID driver for this board and Windows 98SE OS : LINK, unpack and in folder "VIA V-RAID Software Package V6.10a\VRAIDDrv\Win9X", you will find RAID driver) ?
User avatar
agent_x007
Oldbie
 
Posts: 887
Joined: 2016-1-19 @ 11:06

Re: Asrock 775Dual VSTA & Core4Dual thread

Postby agent_x007 » 2017-8-27 @ 23:43

Min. frequency (599MHz) : http://valid.x86.fr/6a4a9i
Max. Multiplier (x31) [CPU-z gives up on reading correct value when multi goes beyond "15"] :
Image
User avatar
agent_x007
Oldbie
 
Posts: 887
Joined: 2016-1-19 @ 11:06

Re: Asrock 775Dual VSTA & Core4Dual thread

Postby Zoomer » 2017-8-28 @ 10:32

Back to my issue: it turns out, you need not to overthink (overtinker?) it. Everything just works if I leave the SATA controller in RAID mode. Even though there's no RAID, Win98 detects the controller and connected SATA drive as a SCSI device without any drivers. Also, it's indeed possible to boot from SATA HDD without any problem Even the Win98's installer feels fine in such a configuration. Everything just works. Not a single hang during the installation process. I'm starting to like this motherboard.

I also had a problem with integrated LAN adapter VIA RHINE II. Even though the drivers were installed and there were no apparent issues, it refused to work. The 100mb/s link was initiated, however there were no activity on the port. No DHCP requests, no nothing. For a moment I thought the port or something else related was fried since it exhibited the same issue under any OS, including Win10. What helped: go to BIOS, turn off integrated LAN adapter. Reboot. Go to BIOS. Turn it on. Reboot. Everything works.
Mainboard: Asus P4C-800e Deluxe (intel i875P)
Video: Nvidia Geforce 4600Ti, ATI Radeon 9600 PRO, Matrox G450, GeForce 6800 Ultra
CPU: Intel Pentium 4 3.0 GHz
RAM: 256mb DDR PC3200
Sound: Creative Audigy 2 + Aureal Vortex 2 SQ2500
OS: Windows 98SE
User avatar
Zoomer
Newbie
 
Posts: 31
Joined: 2007-5-30 @ 16:58

Re: Asrock 775Dual VSTA & Core4Dual thread

Postby Srandista » 2017-11-23 @ 14:35

agent_x007: does the RAID 6.10 driver works on SATA2 model as well? I'm asking, because vetz in 1st post said, that SATA2 don't have Win98 drivers for its 3Gb/s controller.
My overkill "retro" PC - Pentium E6500K, 2GB RAM, Radeon 9500@9700 (Softmod), 80GB HDD, Win 98/XP
User avatar
Srandista
Member
 
Posts: 170
Joined: 2017-4-07 @ 17:14
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Asrock 775Dual VSTA & Core4Dual thread

Postby havli » 2018-1-16 @ 22:50

Just a heads up for users of this board.

I'm using this board for my GPU benchmarks - Pentium E5700 @ 3.9 GHz (13x300 - BSEL mod), 2x1 GB DDR2 CL4, windows XP on SCSI HDD (Adaptec 2940UW). Around 40 GPUs tested without much problems. Yes, it crashes from time to time... but this is to be expected, it is VIA after all, right? :lol:

After finishing GeForce 7800 GS AGP, my next step is GeForce 7800 GT... now the catch is these exist only in pci-e form. I know PT880 pci-e implementation is rather poor, but still - G70 should be old enough to work just fine. Well as it turns out, not so easy to make it run on this board. It loads the driver but after reboot desktop is frozen, only mouse cursor moves and few minutes later... nv driver BSOD. Same behavior with 7800 GT and also 7300 GS, which both were working perfectly in different PC.

Long story short - while with all AGP cards and some ATi pci-e cards (X700, X800) there is no problem to run FSB 300, nVidia cards are refusing to work at this speed. I had to lower the FSB to 266 MHz and now GF 7300 GS it running 3DMark 01 perfectly fine. Tried 290 and 280 MHz = same behavior as with 300. It is interesting 300 MHz FSB worked when using Radeon X700 and X800 (although slightly less stable in games than AGP X800), but not working with GeForce at all. Also the two pci-e settings in BIOS described in the OP has no effect here.
HW museum.cz - my collection of PC hardware
User avatar
havli
Oldbie
 
Posts: 662
Joined: 2014-11-07 @ 16:51
Location: Czech Republic

Re: Asrock 775Dual VSTA & Core4Dual thread

Postby Jax » 2018-1-21 @ 08:49

Hi everybody. Maybe you can help me.

If I set FSB more then 800Mhz(200Mhz) on my 775Dual VSTA, RAM starts to work with errors. In memtest or goldmemory after 15 seconds there are lot of errors. I have tried stock and modded BIOS, different CPUs (Duo e7500, q6600, E6600), ddr1 and ddr2 memory(with and without FLEXIBILITY option set in BIOS) and no luck. But if I set FSB to 800Mhz(200Mhz) everything works without any errors.
M575,AMD K6-2 500,128MB,VirgeGX2 PCI+Voodoo2SLI,AWE64,ISA LAN,80GB HDD,CD-RW,DOS 6.22/WIN98
CUBX-E,Tualeron 1.4,512MB,Ti4600+Voodoo2SLI,AWE32+Vortex2,HDD 160GB,DWD-RW,WIN98
775i65G,C2Q Q6600,2GB,7900GS AGP 512Mb+Voodoo2,SBLive!,SATA 250GB,DWD-RW,WIN98/XP
Jax
Newbie
 
Posts: 15
Joined: 2014-9-21 @ 11:10
Location: Ukraine

Re: Asrock 775Dual VSTA & Core4Dual thread

Postby agent_x007 » 2018-1-21 @ 13:36

Jax wrote:Hi everybody. Maybe you can help me.

If I set FSB more then 800Mhz(200Mhz) on my 775Dual VSTA, RAM starts to work with errors. In memtest or goldmemory after 15 seconds there are lot of errors. I have tried stock and modded BIOS, different CPUs (Duo e7500, q6600, E6600), ddr1 and ddr2 memory(with and without FLEXIBILITY option set in BIOS) and no luck. But if I set FSB to 800Mhz(200Mhz) everything works without any errors.
Did you desync FSB and PCI bus ?
What memory settings you set (or are you using "AUTO") ?

@havli That's why I used unlocked QX9770 for later testing of AGP cards :)
I recommend doing VID mod on PDC type CPU and testing with 4GHz on 266MHz bus.
As for 7800 GT - Simply buy Gainward's "7800 GS+"/7900 GS.
Most of former ones can be unlock to 20PS/7VS, and some to 24/8 configuration.
7900 GS AGP is 20/7 by design.
Also : Keep those PCI-e to AGP bridges cool (they like to overheat and cause problems when card is pushed to it's limits with OC'ed Core 2 class CPUs).
Last edited by agent_x007 on 2018-1-21 @ 13:53, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
agent_x007
Oldbie
 
Posts: 887
Joined: 2016-1-19 @ 11:06

Re: Asrock 775Dual VSTA & Core4Dual thread

Postby Jax » 2018-1-21 @ 13:48

agent_x007 wrote:Did you desync FSB and PCI bus ?

Yes

agent_x007 wrote:What memory settings you set (or are you using "AUTO") ?

AUTO and almost all combinations of MANUAL settings.
M575,AMD K6-2 500,128MB,VirgeGX2 PCI+Voodoo2SLI,AWE64,ISA LAN,80GB HDD,CD-RW,DOS 6.22/WIN98
CUBX-E,Tualeron 1.4,512MB,Ti4600+Voodoo2SLI,AWE32+Vortex2,HDD 160GB,DWD-RW,WIN98
775i65G,C2Q Q6600,2GB,7900GS AGP 512Mb+Voodoo2,SBLive!,SATA 250GB,DWD-RW,WIN98/XP
Jax
Newbie
 
Posts: 15
Joined: 2014-9-21 @ 11:10
Location: Ukraine

Re: Asrock 775Dual VSTA & Core4Dual thread

Postby agent_x007 » 2018-1-21 @ 13:59

I would try installing a Pentium Dual-Core with actual 800MHz FSB or Pentium D (Celeron D with 533MHz will do as well).
ALL CPU's you used have 1066MHz FSB as standard, so they shouldn't be on 800MHz by default.
I guess you used "moded BIOS" so 3.19A beta ?
Have you tried manually setting FSB 1066MHz (266MHz), with Flexibility option enabled and lowest DRAM Frequency set ?
Oh, and Q6600 is kinda much for 775Dual-VSTA (since it isn't supported by default, ie. FSB problems can be expected here).
User avatar
agent_x007
Oldbie
 
Posts: 887
Joined: 2016-1-19 @ 11:06

Re: Asrock 775Dual VSTA & Core4Dual thread

Postby havli » 2018-1-24 @ 20:42

agent_x007 wrote:@havli That's why I used unlocked QX9770 for later testing of AGP cards :)
I recommend doing VID mod on PDC type CPU and testing with 4GHz on 266MHz bus.
As for 7800 GT - Simply buy Gainward's "7800 GS+"/7900 GS.
Most of former ones can be unlock to 20PS/7VS, and some to 24/8 configuration.
7900 GS AGP is 20/7 by design.
Also : Keep those PCI-e to AGP bridges cool (they like to overheat and cause problems when card is pushed to it's limits with OC'ed Core 2 class CPUs).

QX9770 is nice CPU... but way too expensive for me. This is the reason I'm using Pentium E5700. Its multiplier is high enough (15) to move the limiting factor rather to the CPU itself than the board. Also Pentium E6500k could work well, but wasn't very common back in 2012 when I assembled this test rig.

I already have VID mod to 1.4V I think. It is pure coincidence - the socket was damaged when I bought this MB and one of the damaged pins is one of the VID ones. :lol: So it is running at 1.4 by itself. :evil: Unfortunately this E5700 is crappy piece and won't run stable at 4 GHz. Also the half multipliers aren't working, so the max at FSB 266 is 14x266=3724. It will be definitely slower than 13x300 at lower resolutions, but I guess I have to live with it.

I wan't aware of G70/71 unlocking, always thought NV40 was the last unlockable nvidia GPU. Anyway AGP 7800/7800 are not that cheap and easy to find here... I wil stick to the regular PCI-E 7800 GT. It will be nice opponent to Radeon X1800 XL. Btw - I have G71-based 7800 GS AGP here - the reference model 16/6 clocked at 375/1200. This one is fully tested already... and a little spoiler - it is just as fast as 6800 Ultra on average, slower in some games, faster in others. Not very surprising though. :happy:
HW museum.cz - my collection of PC hardware
User avatar
havli
Oldbie
 
Posts: 662
Joined: 2014-11-07 @ 16:51
Location: Czech Republic

PreviousNext

Return to General Old Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Qwantify [Bot] and 15 guests