Intel Larrabee - need help getting it to run

Discussion about old graphics cards, monitors and video related things.

Intel Larrabee - need help getting it to run

Postby Slaventus86 » 2017-11-28 @ 13:08

As I mentioned previously I've got Intel Larrabee prototype, "Aubrey Isle" Card:

Image Image Image Image
Image Image Image

The main problem is to get software for that card. I tried it to power on, but got no output, though fan was working at full speed and the wind blowing out was warm. As I know the card runs an instance of FreeBSD inside itself, for DirectX calls it launches DirectXGfx programm. I contacted Intel ex-worker, one of developers of original Larrabee project, he told me, that card needs special software to initialize it. Without this software the card is visible in system as a coprocessor, but current software for Xeon Phi doesn't support this card as well. One other guy from Intel told me that Larrabee project was send to archive, regular programmers do not have access to it. Intel's support also couldn't help (it was predictable).

The card may be also known as Knights Ferry, the main difference is that normally Knights Ferry cards didn't have video outputs and were oriented as coprocessor cards.

Do not know is there any chance to get this special hardware for that piece of history, but may be some of you guys work at Intel or may be know someone from Intel who can help? Also such cards were send to some software developers and some chosen organizations such as CERN etc.
User avatar
Slaventus86
Newbie
 
Posts: 48
Joined: 2012-6-15 @ 15:44
Location: Russian Federation

Re: Intel Larrabee - need help getting it to run

Postby F2bnp » 2017-11-28 @ 16:05

I wish you the best in your endeavors to find the appropriate software, but I just had to ask...

Just how big is that chip? :O
User avatar
F2bnp
l33t
 
Posts: 3443
Joined: 2007-9-23 @ 10:19

Re: Intel Larrabee - need help getting it to run

Postby Stiletto » 2017-11-28 @ 18:27

Used to know a guy who went off to work for Intel, but he was never helpful with questions like this. :(
"I see a little silhouette-o of a man, Scaramouche, Scaramouche, will you
do the Fandango!" - Queen

Stiletto
User avatar
Stiletto
l33t
 
Posts: 3987
Joined: 2002-7-01 @ 21:57

Re: Intel Larrabee - need help getting it to run

Postby Ozzuneoj » 2017-11-29 @ 17:59

Wow, I'll be honest, I had no idea these cards even existed.

https://www.techpowerup.com/gpudb/1549/aubrey-isle

The reported specs there are really really strange (probably not accurate).

Would be very interesting to see it working. Though obviously it probably doesn't work very well, otherwise they would have finished and sold them. :)
Time Machine = FIC PA-2013 2.1 - K6-2 500 - 256MB PC-100 - TNT2 Pro 16MB AGP - Labway Yamaha YMF719-E - Midiman MM401
Amibay For Sale Threads
I have lots of PC stuff for sale on Mercari! Get a $10 sign up credit with invite code VBGQMM.
User avatar
Ozzuneoj
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1104
Joined: 2016-3-16 @ 21:33

Re: Intel Larrabee - need help getting it to run

Postby nforce4max » 2017-11-30 @ 04:46

I remember hunting around for info on this card years back and yes there are driver for it that will allow it to run as a graphics card but I think that you are sol unless someone helps you out. A dev even ran GTA IV on it with poor performance and I believe that it was the drivers being hell to the point where that may have been the reason why Intel had given up besides the cost of making the cards.
On a far away planet reading your posts in the year 10,191.
User avatar
nforce4max
l33t
 
Posts: 2394
Joined: 2012-5-05 @ 22:55

Re: Intel Larrabee - need help getting it to run

Postby Davros » 2017-12-01 @ 10:35

maybe someone on beyond 3d could help you
https://forum.beyond3d.com
Guardian of the Sacred Five Terabyte's of Gaming Goodness
User avatar
Davros
l33t
 
Posts: 2479
Joined: 2004-3-01 @ 03:08

Re: Intel Larrabee - need help getting it to run

Postby Ozzuneoj » 2017-12-02 @ 01:45

Davros wrote:maybe someone on beyond 3d could help you
https://forum.beyond3d.com

Oh, good idea. They get pretty technical there. :blush:
Time Machine = FIC PA-2013 2.1 - K6-2 500 - 256MB PC-100 - TNT2 Pro 16MB AGP - Labway Yamaha YMF719-E - Midiman MM401
Amibay For Sale Threads
I have lots of PC stuff for sale on Mercari! Get a $10 sign up credit with invite code VBGQMM.
User avatar
Ozzuneoj
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1104
Joined: 2016-3-16 @ 21:33

Re: Intel Larrabee - need help getting it to run

Postby Slaventus86 » 2017-12-03 @ 10:44

I've tried to do it this summer, but with no success:

https://forum.beyond3d.com/threads/intel-larrabee-drivers-software.60287/
User avatar
Slaventus86
Newbie
 
Posts: 48
Joined: 2012-6-15 @ 15:44
Location: Russian Federation

Re: Intel Larrabee - need help getting it to run

Postby Ozzuneoj » 2017-12-03 @ 13:30

I would suggest maybe contacting some of the larger hardware review sites to see if they have any contacts from that era, or even if they had ever gotten one for testing. Check with game developers too.
Time Machine = FIC PA-2013 2.1 - K6-2 500 - 256MB PC-100 - TNT2 Pro 16MB AGP - Labway Yamaha YMF719-E - Midiman MM401
Amibay For Sale Threads
I have lots of PC stuff for sale on Mercari! Get a $10 sign up credit with invite code VBGQMM.
User avatar
Ozzuneoj
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1104
Joined: 2016-3-16 @ 21:33


Return to Video

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: The Serpent Rider and 2 guests