So what's possible to do with this computer ?

Discussion about old PC hardware.

Re: So what's possible to do with this computer ?

Postby Elia1995 » 2017-12-05 @ 17:15

FFXIhealer wrote:Those look like standard 72-pinn SIMMs to me.



For comparison:
Image

All the info and other photos are in this post: http://www.vogons.org/viewtopic.php?f=46&t=55170&start=80#p607084
Currently assembled vintage computers I own: 11

Most important ones:
A "modded" Olivetti M4 434 S (currently broken).
An Epson El Plus 386DX running MS-DOS 6.22 (currently broken).
Celeron Coppermine 1.10GHz on an M754LMRTP motherboard
User avatar
Elia1995
Oldbie
 
Posts: 621
Joined: 2016-4-21 @ 12:45
Location: Italy

Re: So what's possible to do with this computer ?

Postby FFXIhealer » 2017-12-05 @ 21:46

Well shit. Looks like that computer manufacturer gave everyone a great big-ol' "fuck you" to people looking to upgrade. That's some Apple-level shit right there. LOL
Image
Image
Image
Image
FFXIhealer
Member
 
Posts: 475
Joined: 2016-6-22 @ 17:42
Location: Lake Charles, Louisiana (U.S.A.)

Re: So what's possible to do with this computer ?

Postby Koltoroc » 2017-12-05 @ 21:49

funny that you mention Apple. I looked on ebay if they have 64 pin simms, and they do. Guess what they are sold for? Apple.
Koltoroc
Member
 
Posts: 116
Joined: 2016-10-07 @ 23:21

Re: So what's possible to do with this computer ?

Postby probnot » 2017-12-06 @ 00:20

Not sure if you've already gone through this, but it a quick google search yielded:

http://www.memoryx.com/astbr48me.html (says max 16MB, installed in pairs, which would mean 30-pin?)

Also, from an old ad from a 1994 magazine:

Image

This link seems to support the above info about 16MB max, installed in pairs.

http://stason.org/TULARC/pc/motherboard ... 86-25.html

EDIT: Damn, I missed an entire second page of comments again. Yeah, that photo definitely makes it look proprietary :(
Last edited by probnot on 2017-12-06 @ 02:37, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
probnot
Member
 
Posts: 244
Joined: 2017-1-08 @ 01:59
Location: Canada

Re: So what's possible to do with this computer ?

Postby cyclone3d » 2017-12-06 @ 01:13

Koltoroc wrote:funny that you mention Apple. I looked on ebay if they have 64 pin simms, and they do. Guess what they are sold for? Apple.


And I bet they would work perfectly fine in that Gateway.

Printers are another thing that annoy the crap out of me when it comes to RAM upgrades.... Oooohhh, let's key the RAM differently than regular DDR2 so you have to buy the proprietray stuff at a markup of about 500% over normal DDR2.

Good thing that the 3rd party mfgs make RAM for said printers.

And some printers use 140 pin instead of 144 pin DDR2 DIMMs. Stupid crap like this makes me want to punch somebody in the throat.
User avatar
cyclone3d
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1047
Joined: 2015-4-08 @ 06:06
Location: Huntsville, AL USA

Re: So what's possible to do with this computer ?

Postby DeafPK » 2017-12-06 @ 07:32

Elia1995 wrote:It's an AST BRAVO 486/25

This is the only photo I have it for now, I'll take a good picture of it later:
Image



OK, that's a bit different from the LP 4/25 that I once had. Thanks for the pic anyway.

I do remember my LP had standard 72-pin simms, the only proprietary upgrade was the cache module (which I didn't have).
"an occasional fart in their general direction would provide more than enough cooling" —PCBONEZ
User avatar
DeafPK
Newbie
 
Posts: 70
Joined: 2014-3-23 @ 20:24
Location: Norway

Re: So what's possible to do with this computer ?

Postby Elia1995 » 2017-12-06 @ 08:37

I haven't formatted yet.
I got 2.043 KB free in extended XMS and loaded high everything, now I can run Monster Bash with sound blaster, pretty much the biggest news.
I still can't get the extra MB free, although nothing is using it (and is being detected correctly, so RAM's good).
I need 2,7 MB for Jazz Jackrabbit and 3,7 for DOOM.
Probably I'll never get to run DOOM, but Jazz Jackrabbit MIGHT be possible....
Currently assembled vintage computers I own: 11

Most important ones:
A "modded" Olivetti M4 434 S (currently broken).
An Epson El Plus 386DX running MS-DOS 6.22 (currently broken).
Celeron Coppermine 1.10GHz on an M754LMRTP motherboard
User avatar
Elia1995
Oldbie
 
Posts: 621
Joined: 2016-4-21 @ 12:45
Location: Italy

Re: So what's possible to do with this computer ?

Postby derSammler » 2017-12-06 @ 09:01

Did you try commenting out EMM386? DOOM should work just fine then.
derSammler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 741
Joined: 2017-4-14 @ 11:30
Location: Germany

Re: So what's possible to do with this computer ?

Postby Elia1995 » 2017-12-06 @ 13:07

If I REM EMM386 I only get up to 640kb, HIMEM.SYS and EMM386 do not work together for some reason on Dr. DOS, if I enable only HIMEM.SYS, I still get only up to 2,043 KB.
Currently assembled vintage computers I own: 11

Most important ones:
A "modded" Olivetti M4 434 S (currently broken).
An Epson El Plus 386DX running MS-DOS 6.22 (currently broken).
Celeron Coppermine 1.10GHz on an M754LMRTP motherboard
User avatar
Elia1995
Oldbie
 
Posts: 621
Joined: 2016-4-21 @ 12:45
Location: Italy

Re: So what's possible to do with this computer ?

Postby Kubik » 2017-12-06 @ 13:17

I'd recommend to test regular MS-DOS. I am positively sure Doom worked on 4MB, even Hexen or Heretic did - there was an error message, but with some command line parameters, those games worked as well.
Did you check BIOS setup? Some systems had HW support for EMS, and it might be enabled by default.
Kubik
Newbie
 
Posts: 84
Joined: 2017-11-06 @ 08:24

Re: So what's possible to do with this computer ?

Postby derSammler » 2017-12-06 @ 13:27

Elia1995 wrote:If I REM EMM386 I only get up to 640kb

I thought you would understand memory by now as it was explained to you already. Try starting DOOM with only HIMEM loaded. DOOM has it's own memory manager.
derSammler
Oldbie
 
Posts: 741
Joined: 2017-4-14 @ 11:30
Location: Germany

Re: So what's possible to do with this computer ?

Postby Elia1995 » 2017-12-06 @ 13:37

With only HIMEM.SYS loaded and nothing else, Doom still doesn't start, it still says that there isn't enough memory.
Currently assembled vintage computers I own: 11

Most important ones:
A "modded" Olivetti M4 434 S (currently broken).
An Epson El Plus 386DX running MS-DOS 6.22 (currently broken).
Celeron Coppermine 1.10GHz on an M754LMRTP motherboard
User avatar
Elia1995
Oldbie
 
Posts: 621
Joined: 2016-4-21 @ 12:45
Location: Italy

Re: So what's possible to do with this computer ?

Postby brostenen » 2017-12-06 @ 13:57

Just for the kicks... Try loading these following things in config.sys (after himem.sys) and then go for a memmaker.

Dos=high,umb
And then add emm386 with "ram highscan" in the end.

This should give other results.
Don't eat stuff off a 15 year old never cleaned cpu cooler.
Those cakes make you sick I tell.... (never tried though)

My blog: http://to9xct.blogspot.dk

001100 010010 011110 100001 101101 110011
User avatar
brostenen
l33t
 
Posts: 4190
Joined: 2014-5-07 @ 21:13
Location: Northern Jutland, Denmark.

Re: So what's possible to do with this computer ?

Postby Elia1995 » 2017-12-06 @ 14:44

I tried to format it and install MS-DOS 6.22, but the installation freezes
Currently assembled vintage computers I own: 11

Most important ones:
A "modded" Olivetti M4 434 S (currently broken).
An Epson El Plus 386DX running MS-DOS 6.22 (currently broken).
Celeron Coppermine 1.10GHz on an M754LMRTP motherboard
User avatar
Elia1995
Oldbie
 
Posts: 621
Joined: 2016-4-21 @ 12:45
Location: Italy

Re: So what's possible to do with this computer ?

Postby Kubik » 2017-12-06 @ 14:46

Elia1995 wrote:I tried to format it and install MS-DOS 6.22, but the installation freezes

Hmm, strange. Try to remove all unnecessary cards, go to setup, and disable cache and shadowing, or pretty much everything you can :)
Kubik
Newbie
 
Posts: 84
Joined: 2017-11-06 @ 08:24

Re: So what's possible to do with this computer ?

Postby brostenen » 2017-12-06 @ 21:30

Elia1995 wrote:I tried to format it and install MS-DOS 6.22, but the installation freezes


When exactly does the installation freeze? What is on the screen when it does that?
Don't eat stuff off a 15 year old never cleaned cpu cooler.
Those cakes make you sick I tell.... (never tried though)

My blog: http://to9xct.blogspot.dk

001100 010010 011110 100001 101101 110011
User avatar
brostenen
l33t
 
Posts: 4190
Joined: 2014-5-07 @ 21:13
Location: Northern Jutland, Denmark.

Re: So what's possible to do with this computer ?

Postby Elia1995 » 2017-12-06 @ 22:25

It freezes after the first blue screen, when I press Enter to continue the installation.
It shows weird ASCII symbols in the bottom grey bar and it freezes.
The floppies do work, I tried them in a virtual machine with an USB floppy drive and it installs just fine.
Currently assembled vintage computers I own: 11

Most important ones:
A "modded" Olivetti M4 434 S (currently broken).
An Epson El Plus 386DX running MS-DOS 6.22 (currently broken).
Celeron Coppermine 1.10GHz on an M754LMRTP motherboard
User avatar
Elia1995
Oldbie
 
Posts: 621
Joined: 2016-4-21 @ 12:45
Location: Italy

Re: So what's possible to do with this computer ?

Postby brostenen » 2017-12-06 @ 22:44

Elia1995 wrote:It freezes after the first blue screen, when I press Enter to continue the installation.
It shows weird ASCII symbols in the bottom grey bar and it freezes.
The floppies do work, I tried them in a virtual machine with an USB floppy drive and it installs just fine.


Does it freeze as well, when you chose language setup? I have seen that before.
If that is the case, then it is eighter the memory or the harddrive/controller.
Well... At least on those machines that I had that exact problem with.

Try selecting a different language, just to test this theory out.
Don't eat stuff off a 15 year old never cleaned cpu cooler.
Those cakes make you sick I tell.... (never tried though)

My blog: http://to9xct.blogspot.dk

001100 010010 011110 100001 101101 110011
User avatar
brostenen
l33t
 
Posts: 4190
Joined: 2014-5-07 @ 21:13
Location: Northern Jutland, Denmark.

Re: So what's possible to do with this computer ?

Postby Elia1995 » 2017-12-07 @ 07:05

The setup automatically starts in Italian, it freezes when I press Enter at the first blue screen after "Starting MS-DOS"
Currently assembled vintage computers I own: 11

Most important ones:
A "modded" Olivetti M4 434 S (currently broken).
An Epson El Plus 386DX running MS-DOS 6.22 (currently broken).
Celeron Coppermine 1.10GHz on an M754LMRTP motherboard
User avatar
Elia1995
Oldbie
 
Posts: 621
Joined: 2016-4-21 @ 12:45
Location: Italy

Re: So what's possible to do with this computer ?

Postby brostenen » 2017-12-07 @ 09:43

Elia1995 wrote:The setup automatically starts in Italian, it freezes when I press Enter at the first blue screen after "Starting MS-DOS"


It could be the Ram. I just think you should check the harddrive and controller first. Something about this reminds me of a storage issue. If you run the dos setup disk and instead of letting it enter the installation program, then what does it do if you try starting fdisk?

Does it freeze as well?
Don't eat stuff off a 15 year old never cleaned cpu cooler.
Those cakes make you sick I tell.... (never tried though)

My blog: http://to9xct.blogspot.dk

001100 010010 011110 100001 101101 110011
User avatar
brostenen
l33t
 
Posts: 4190
Joined: 2014-5-07 @ 21:13
Location: Northern Jutland, Denmark.

PreviousNext

Return to General Old Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: luckybob, MrEWhite, timitt and 6 guests