What retro activity did you get up to today?

Discussion about old PC hardware.

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby luckybob » 2019-1-13 @ 14:50

Just use what was already on the board. Unless you have a degree in electrical engineering, just replace what was there.
It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.
User avatar
luckybob
l33t
 
Posts: 3871
Joined: 2009-4-30 @ 04:43

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby the_ultra_code » 2019-1-13 @ 15:10

luckybob wrote:Just use what was already on the board. Unless you have a degree in electrical engineering, just replace what was there.


If you meant what the listed specs are on the caps I am trying to replace, then yeah, I try. :)
User avatar
the_ultra_code
Member
 
Posts: 397
Joined: 2017-10-09 @ 00:21

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby StevOnehundred » 2019-1-13 @ 16:32

The P2B-DS board is now multi-booting NT4, 2K and Ubuntu 4.10. Haven't figured out networking yet on this original version of Ubuntu and it appears to only be using one CPU (they both show up in NT and 2K).

Had to fit a spare PSU as the one original to the case had a dodgy loud fan in it.
StevOnehundred
Newbie
 
Posts: 14
Joined: 2018-3-04 @ 15:06

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby rkrenicki » 2019-1-13 @ 16:59

luckybob wrote:This is what I do:

Goto mouser.com
Select caps
Select nichicon
Select shape (axial, through-hole, etc)
Enter uf
Enter voltage
Enter diameter
Enter height (if necessary)
Sort by instock
Sort by amperage (descending)
????
Profit.


The only steps that I add to that checklist is "Select +105C Temperature", and sometimes I add Panasonic to the vendor list.
rkrenicki
Member
 
Posts: 108
Joined: 2016-9-13 @ 14:05
Location: Connecticut

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby brostenen » 2019-1-13 @ 17:39

looking4awayout wrote:I'm in the middle of searching for a new 14" CRT monitor for my computer. Contacted a bunch of sellers and got some interesting offers, such as a Samsung Syncmaster 3 and an ADI Microscan 3G, both pretty good monitors but I'm not receiving any message from the sellers of the ones I'm most interested into: an Olivetti CDU 1458/HA23 and another CRT that seems like another ADI (but this one has fully analogue controls) or a CTX.

I didn't remember looking for a vintage CRT would be such a frustrating and time consuming job.


I have not seen the name ADI microscan in a lot of years now. I had an ADI Microscan 4D back in the middle of the 90's. Nice monitor for as far as I remember. Not the greatest by the way, yet it was useable for both 486 class machines up to AthlonXP machines. I bought mine brand new in 1995, and it went south around 2008'ish.
Don't eat stuff off a 15 year old never cleaned cpu cooler.
Those cakes make you sick....

My blog: http://to9xct.blogspot.dk

001100 010010 011110 100001 101101 110011

Jah ich will trynen... Die Leute wie macht scheisse in dem Grünen.
User avatar
brostenen
l33t++
 
Posts: 5367
Joined: 2014-5-07 @ 21:13
Location: Northern Jutland, Denmark.

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby looking4awayout » 2019-1-13 @ 18:40

brostenen wrote:I have not seen the name ADI microscan in a lot of years now. I had an ADI Microscan 4D back in the middle of the 90's. Nice monitor for as far as I remember. Not the greatest by the way, yet it was useable for both 486 class machines up to AthlonXP machines. I bought mine brand new in 1995, and it went south around 2008'ish.


I've been reading about the Microscan series, seems they were good for what they offered. The Microscan 3G has a .28 dot pitch and runs up to 1280x1024, not bad for a 14"! In the meantime I've also found out the name of the mystery monitor, and it's a TechMedia TCM-214C. Haven't been able to find any information on the dot pitch (might be .28, but I'm not sure), but supports up to 1024x768 in 8514/A mode, much like the CRT I currently own. While it's not a strictly necessary resolution to me, I could use it in non interlaced mode, mostly for benchmarks. I've also found an AOC CM-335 (seems to be a multiscan monitor also rebadged as Commodore 1950) and a Cheer/Smile/Longshine VC-1024, which seems to be pretty obscure on the internet except for a few snippets on Usenet. I also found a Nokia Valuegraph 449E but unfortunately I found out it's a 15" screen, and due to space costraints I cannot go beyond 14". Decisions, decisions...
My Retro Daily Driver: Pentium !!!-S 1.5GHz | 1.5GB PC133 SDRAM | Gecube Radeon X1950 Pro 256MB OC | 500GB WD Blue SSD + 300GB WD Velociraptor | Sound Blaster AWE64 Value | Windows XP Professional SP3
User avatar
looking4awayout
Member
 
Posts: 197
Joined: 2017-8-08 @ 10:48
Location: EU

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby Windows9566 » 2019-1-14 @ 04:22

voodoo5_6k wrote:
appiah4 wrote:Installed a backplate on my K6-2 system, thanks to liqmat for being so generous with this part. I thought this PC would never have a backplate, but it actually does now..
[...]
With patience, time and a great community like Vogons, anything is possible I guess!

These can be found relatively easy, as many motherboards used this I/O layout. I have two of these motherboards, Asus P/I-XP55T2P4 and Intel Advanced/ML (Marl). One valid part# for this type of I/O shield is 32140544A (just in case anybody else is looking for one...).


I have 2 Intel Advanced/ML (Marl) motherboards, they both POST and are in good shape, sadly, i have no io shields for either of the boards.
1995-Advanced/ML,P100,32MB-RAM,CL-GD5446,CT1740,WFWG-3.11/DOS-6.22
1996-VX97,P133,32MB-RAM,TRIO-64V+,CT1740,Win95-OSR2.1
2009-M2N68-AM-Plus,Athlon-64-X2-5600+,2GB-RAM,GTS-450,WinXP-Pro
2017-ROG-B450F,R5-1600,16GB-RAM,GTX-1060,Win10-Home
User avatar
Windows9566
Member
 
Posts: 252
Joined: 2015-4-30 @ 14:55

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby appiah4 » 2019-1-14 @ 06:02

My GeForce2 MX400 PCI had an annoying small fan on it for no good reason - these cards do not require active cooling as far as I'm concerned:

Image

So armed with a hacksaw and a lot of patience, I managed to replace it with a passive heatsink bought from Aliexpress:

Image
A500:Rev6|+512K|ACA500+|C1084S
i386:Am386SX25|4M|GD5402|ES688|MuntPi3
i486:U5S33|8M|GD5428|YMF719|DB-S2
i586:P133|32M|T64+/MX2|V1|CT3980/32M
i686:K6-2/400|128M|V2/SLI|CT4520/32M
S370:P3-1200|384M|GF4-4200|MX300
S754:A3700+|2G|X1950PRO|SB0350
User avatar
appiah4
l33t
 
Posts: 4044
Joined: 2017-2-19 @ 07:36

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby bjwil1991 » 2019-1-14 @ 06:03

Tested the Dell Latitude D600 laptop after getting it out of my trunk of my car to see if it powered on. It didn't at first, but, after spraying the contact cleaner in the RAM slots, the system sprang to life. The original owner(s) must've wiped the hard drive, so, I tested the HDD in Lubuntu (forcepae mode in the boot parameter), and it passes the SMART test, yet, about over 60,000 bad sectors on there (will remap and repair). I also installed Windows Server 2008 Enterprise on there and got it activated. If you're wondering, yes, I did wait 2 hours to use the laptop since the laptop was cold and I didn't want to make the laptop burst into flames. There are a couple of issues that I can take care of:

1) the display hinges are loose and wobbly, but, unlike my one Inspiron 600m, it's not making the plastic cover break off
2) the HDD needs to get replaced with a better alternative (SSD or equivalent)
3) the NiMH 7.2V battery, as well as the standard Dell battery are both dead (why Dell used NiMH batteries for the CMOS is beyond me, and I'm surprised that didn't leak in either my 2 Inspiron 600ms and the Latitude D600)

Those repairs will wait as I need to fix my car's cooling system, suspension, fuel system (fuel sending switch, filter, and canister vent valve), exhaust (patching sometime), IAC valve, TPS, and brakes (no ABS, rear brakes are past due, lower controller arms on the front are bad, the stabilizer (sway) bar is also on the fritz, and my left front tire is lower than the other 3 due to the coil spring on the left front strut that's halfway on the strut itself). But other than that, the laptop does run pretty well. Not bad for $25.
Discord: https://discord.gg/U5dJw7x
Systems from C64 to FX-6300.
User avatar
bjwil1991
l33t
 
Posts: 2580
Joined: 2013-8-14 @ 03:10
Location: SE, MI USA

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby doaks80 » 2019-1-14 @ 08:02

Played around with my 4th Aztech card this week...this one the Nova16 Extra. Probably the best one I have tried so far, with some funny quirks:
- have to install via Win3.1, even for DOS drivers.
- doesn't have the EEPROM init in config.sys, but a SBPRO emu tsr in autoexec.
- can't set any SB DMA high or low! Config.exe and hwset.exe both have no option for DMA!
- but it works well with a range of games, line-out was loud but not distorted (hate the too-quiet ones).
- both FM and SB sounded quite good.
- ill keep this one at the top of the pile.

Also played with a PAS16NS...when I finally got drivers that worked (the scsi) pack...wow what a good sounding card. Punchy and clear, although the PAS option in games produced garbage sound. SB/OPL sound was good though.
k6-3+ 400 / s3 virge DX+voodoo1 / awe32(32mb)
via c3 866 / s3 savage4+voodoo2 sli / audigy1+awe64(8mb)
athlon xp 3200+ / voodoo5 5500 / diamond mx300
pentium4 3400 / geforce fx5950U / audigy2 ZS
core2duo E8500 / radeon HD5850 / x-fi titanium
doaks80
Member
 
Posts: 285
Joined: 2018-11-16 @ 21:22

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby brostenen » 2019-1-14 @ 13:40

Installed my IndivisionECS V2 scandoubler in my Amiga600, and tested it out with some games. It is a nice product. :-)
It goes straight onto an Individual a604n memory upgrade and is plug and play if only I want to load games from Floppy.
In workbench, it shifts the screen into an odd position, yet there is some updates and drivers that can be downloaded.
I need too look further into this. Yet the image quality so far is great. Just perfect without any artifact or stuff like that.
The VGA connector are mounted were the RF modulator was. The person that recapped my machine, removed it for me.

IndivisionECS-V2-01.jpg

IndivisionECS-V2-02.jpg

IndivisionECS-V2-03.jpg
Don't eat stuff off a 15 year old never cleaned cpu cooler.
Those cakes make you sick....

My blog: http://to9xct.blogspot.dk

001100 010010 011110 100001 101101 110011

Jah ich will trynen... Die Leute wie macht scheisse in dem Grünen.
User avatar
brostenen
l33t++
 
Posts: 5367
Joined: 2014-5-07 @ 21:13
Location: Northern Jutland, Denmark.

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby SpectriaForce » 2019-1-14 @ 18:08

Replaced the white front HP CD-RW with a beige front Yamaha CD-RW drive, looks a lot better to me (couldn't sleep because of the non-matching colors :blush: ):

Before:
DSC_3512.jpg


Now:
IMG_20190114_190145 (002).jpg
Tremendous clearance sale now at:
RETROGAMEPC.COM
CLASSICCOMPUTERSHOP.COM
User avatar
SpectriaForce
Oldbie
 
Posts: 580
Joined: 2017-2-03 @ 22:16
Location: The Netherlands

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby luckybob » 2019-1-14 @ 18:19

It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes.
User avatar
luckybob
l33t
 
Posts: 3871
Joined: 2009-4-30 @ 04:43

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby detritus olentus » 2019-1-15 @ 04:40

GX1s of the world's unite! Making my own little 99/00 computer lab.
Attachments
20190114_233608-1.jpg
Image
https://archive.org/details/@detritus_olentus
Where are my other retro New Jersey Folk?
AIM Phoenix: novusrexrgis
User avatar
detritus olentus
Newbie
 
Posts: 89
Joined: 2018-8-13 @ 20:02
Location: New Jersey

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby henryVK » 2019-1-15 @ 08:22

Messing around with virtual drives on my laptops. I eventually figured out that you can't run CD-audio on Windows 95 via cue/bin images, because, apparently, you need a WDM sound driver.

So I got CD-audio to play on my Windows 98 machine, but that's the one with the annoyingly loud fan that won't settle down, even if you set the BIOS to "quiet mode"... hrmpf. Couldn't a 133 MHz Pentium 1 MMX get by with passive cooling? Is it so cramped and hot in that laptop?
User avatar
henryVK
Member
 
Posts: 293
Joined: 2017-12-29 @ 20:26
Location: Europe

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby doaks80 » 2019-1-15 @ 08:34

Tried out my Terratec Maestro 32/96 for the first time. Was a bit worried about other threads talking about blown blue capacitors...my were purple so I though maybe it would be OK. Boots fine, tried the 4232c drivers, and able to configure FM/SB easily. Doom sounds pretty good. Hunt down another driver called terratec.exe which configures the whole card, plus the onboard midi synth. Back into doom...and whoa...that's some good sounding midi. Combined with crystal clear and punchy digital sound.

Not all games were so good...old games especially went terribly. Biomenace1...the music was a bit distorted but OK...but the SF were horrible...gunfire sounded more like squelching sound. I had to drop down to 386 speeds like usual to get old games to even detect the sound-card...but never had this happen before. Given some games works fine, I can't say it is a capacitor issue or anything like that.

Still a nice little card.

Also gave a Turtle Beach Maui a run. Not bad for a 2mb card.
k6-3+ 400 / s3 virge DX+voodoo1 / awe32(32mb)
via c3 866 / s3 savage4+voodoo2 sli / audigy1+awe64(8mb)
athlon xp 3200+ / voodoo5 5500 / diamond mx300
pentium4 3400 / geforce fx5950U / audigy2 ZS
core2duo E8500 / radeon HD5850 / x-fi titanium
doaks80
Member
 
Posts: 285
Joined: 2018-11-16 @ 21:22

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby oeuvre » 2019-1-15 @ 13:18

detritus olentus wrote:GX1s of the world's unite! Making my own little 99/00 computer lab.


Image

What're you planning on doing with them?
Dell Precision T1650 Intel Xeon E3-1240v2, 16GB, NVIDIA Quadro 4000 2GB, SSD + HD, XP/7
Main Desktop Intel 6700, 32GB, AMD RX580 8GB, NVMe SSD + HD, 10
Image
User avatar
oeuvre
l33t
 
Posts: 3028
Joined: 2015-3-31 @ 13:31
Location: USA

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby appiah4 » 2019-1-15 @ 13:57

doaks80 wrote:Tried out my Terratec Maestro 32/96 for the first time. Was a bit worried about other threads talking about blown blue capacitors...my were purple so I though maybe it would be OK. Boots fine, tried the 4232c drivers, and able to configure FM/SB easily. Doom sounds pretty good. Hunt down another driver called terratec.exe which configures the whole card, plus the onboard midi synth. Back into doom...and whoa...that's some good sounding midi. Combined with crystal clear and punchy digital sound.

Not all games were so good...old games especially went terribly. Biomenace1...the music was a bit distorted but OK...but the SF were horrible...gunfire sounded more like squelching sound. I had to drop down to 386 speeds like usual to get old games to even detect the sound-card...but never had this happen before. Given some games works fine, I can't say it is a capacitor issue or anything like that.

Still a nice little card.

Also gave a Turtle Beach Maui a run. Not bad for a 2mb card.


That card and EWS64 are my current Unicorns..
A500:Rev6|+512K|ACA500+|C1084S
i386:Am386SX25|4M|GD5402|ES688|MuntPi3
i486:U5S33|8M|GD5428|YMF719|DB-S2
i586:P133|32M|T64+/MX2|V1|CT3980/32M
i686:K6-2/400|128M|V2/SLI|CT4520/32M
S370:P3-1200|384M|GF4-4200|MX300
S754:A3700+|2G|X1950PRO|SB0350
User avatar
appiah4
l33t
 
Posts: 4044
Joined: 2017-2-19 @ 07:36

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby brostenen » 2019-1-15 @ 15:09

During the setup of my IndivisionECS V2 scandoubler, I fucked up last night. The installation of the software recommended to create a rescue disk, if I for some reason used a feature in the tool, that would result in a black screen. And it recommended that I tested the floppy disk, to see if it would work. What it does, is to flash the original firmware and bring the device back to original state. And so I tested the rescue disk, and it turned into a black non functioning scandoubler. After some talk back and fourth with the owner of Individual Computers, I was recommended to install it in an Amiga500 and then run the rescue disk. And it worked. The scandoubler is back....

Now...
There might be a little bug in the flash tool, when it comes to my personal Amiga600 configuration. I don't know... Anything is possible. All I know, is that it does not flash correctly on my Amiga600.

Uhhh... And while I had my Amiga500 Rev.5 opened. I installed an kickstart stabeliser and fix. This way I can use 512k kick roms (2.x and up) and it will fix the boot issue of not reading the kickrom correctly.
Don't eat stuff off a 15 year old never cleaned cpu cooler.
Those cakes make you sick....

My blog: http://to9xct.blogspot.dk

001100 010010 011110 100001 101101 110011

Jah ich will trynen... Die Leute wie macht scheisse in dem Grünen.
User avatar
brostenen
l33t++
 
Posts: 5367
Joined: 2014-5-07 @ 21:13
Location: Northern Jutland, Denmark.

Re: What retro activity did you get up to today?

Postby detritus olentus » 2019-1-15 @ 15:38

oeuvre wrote:
Image

What're you planning on doing with them?


I have a Compaq server so I want to set that up and install 98 on the GX1s and get them all set up on a domain. Just need to learn to do all of that networking stuff.
Image
https://archive.org/details/@detritus_olentus
Where are my other retro New Jersey Folk?
AIM Phoenix: novusrexrgis
User avatar
detritus olentus
Newbie
 
Posts: 89
Joined: 2018-8-13 @ 20:02
Location: New Jersey

PreviousNext

Return to General Old Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dionb, pshipkov, Thomas_GER, Windows9566 and 11 guests