Is SB Vibra16s good enough ?

Discussion about old sound cards, MIDI devices and sound related accessories.

Is SB Vibra16s good enough ?

Postby Intel486dx33 » 2019-1-07 @ 22:23

Is the Sound blaster Vibra 16s ISA with onboard Yamaha OPL 262 good enough for playing DOS games or do I need a Sound Blaster Pro 2.0 ?

How does it compare to the following ?

1) Vibra 16s
2) AWE 64
3 ) Sound blaster Pro 2.0
Attachments
SB Pro 20.jpg
Sound Blaster AWE 64.jpg
Sound Blaster 16s.jpg
Last edited by Intel486dx33 on 2019-1-07 @ 22:34, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Intel486dx33
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1849
Joined: 2018-5-17 @ 01:17
Location: U.S.A.

Re: Is SB Vibra16s good enough ?

Postby BeginnerGuy » 2019-1-07 @ 22:32

Intel486dx33 wrote:Is the Sound blaster Vibra 16s ISA with onboard Yamaha OPL 262 good enough for playing DOS games or do I need a Sound Blaster Pro 2.0 ?

How does it compare to the following ?

1) Vibra 16s
2) AWE 64
3 ) Sound blaster Pro 2.0


Of course it's good enough for DOS games. In fact, the 16S is one of my favorite creative cards out there. Also when considering the price differences, Vibras can be had for almost nothing due to overwhelming cargo cult against them :P

1) I would say a Vibra16S is the same as a Vibra16S
2) Assuming we're talking about the Awe64s OPL3, refer to the ancient CQM vs Genuine Yamaha debate. I would go with the Awe64 for the additional midi capabilities of course, due to not being overwhelmingly concerned with clinical accuracy. If you want all sounds to be perfectly genuine, then get the 16S or Pro 2.0
3) I prefer vibra16S over the pro 2.0 (sacrilege, I know) due to having much much less line noise, and me not particularly caring for any issues with stereo. I've yet to run into any compatibility issues that have actually been noticeably annoying to me, even though I'm told regularly how much better the Pro II is.

The point of my response is to just try the card and if you like it, great. Otherwise, you'll get overwhelmed with opinions.
Sup. I like computers. Are you a computer?
User avatar
BeginnerGuy
Oldbie
 
Posts: 776
Joined: 2016-12-19 @ 08:32
Location: SI Register

Re: Is SB Vibra16s good enough ?

Postby Tenorman » 2019-1-08 @ 01:58

BeginnerGuy wrote:The point of my response is to just try the card and if you like it, great.


Hear, hear!

I've messed with a lot of sound cards and I've only come across a couple that I thought were horrible enough that they weren't at least workable.

Think about what capabilities you want for the computer you are working on, pick something out that looks like it might work, and try it.

Three pet peeves:
-Sound Blaster Pro: Yawn. There are a ton of cards that do an acceptable job at SB Pro compatibility. Almost of all of them are way cheaper than a real one.
-OPL vs. ESFM vs. CQM: People act like your ears will explode if you listen to anything other than a real Yamaha chip. I've only come across a couple things that I thought were really terrible: Analog Devices and the emulation on Soundscape and GUS cards.
-Hanging Note Bug: Are you going to actually drive anything with the MPU-401 interface? A lot of beginners aren't, but still get hung up on this.

I'm done now :).
[Compaq Presario 633 | DOS 6.22 / Win 3.1 | DX4 100 Overdrive | 28M RAM | SB16 CT2770A | SPEA Media FX (Soundscape S2000) ]
[GA-6BXC R2.0 | Win98SE | Via C3 Ezra 866 | 384M RAM | TNT2 32M | Voodoo2 8M | SB32 CT3670 | Ensoniq Soundscape Opus]
User avatar
Tenorman
Newbie
 
Posts: 87
Joined: 2017-12-24 @ 15:47

Re: Is SB Vibra16s good enough ?

Postby chinny22 » 2019-1-08 @ 13:57

Vibra 16 is as good as a SB16, does anyone really use the Bass/Treble settings on their SB16's? (as thats the only real difference)
AWE is a SB16 with the EMU chip, so really this is the better choice if you already have it. but if your games don't support the AWE as a music device it'll be no different.

Am I remembering wrong but I thought the Vibra's didn't suffer from the hanging not bug (also agree over hyped and not a problem for majority of people) but that could be +1 for the Vibra
User avatar
chinny22
l33t
 
Posts: 2366
Joined: 2011-8-26 @ 12:02
Location: Australian but living in the UK for now

Re: Is SB Vibra16s good enough ?

Postby badmojo » 2019-1-08 @ 20:20

The Vibras do suffer from the hanging note bug, both types, but yeah as mentioned if you’re not using the MPU401 then who cares? I think they’re a great option, super simple setup and sound nice.
If it's broke, then fix it!
User avatar
badmojo
l33t
 
Posts: 3209
Joined: 2011-10-11 @ 04:14
Location: Australia

Re: Is SB Vibra16s good enough ?

Postby The Serpent Rider » 2019-1-08 @ 20:24

Vibras can be had for almost nothing due to overwhelming cargo cult against them

Actually some Vibras like the one from ASUS or with FM tuner are valued somewhat high. Not like AWE32/AWE64 of course.
Last edited by The Serpent Rider on 2019-2-16 @ 13:16, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
The Serpent Rider
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1501
Joined: 2017-3-25 @ 19:07
Location: Stagnant Demesne

Re: Is SB Vibra16s good enough ?

Postby appiah4 » 2019-1-08 @ 20:43

It's a good OPL3 card in my book.
A500:+512K|ACA500+|C1084S
i386:Am386SX-25|4M|TVGA9000B|ES688
i486:U5S-33|8M|GD5428|CT2290/MUNT-Pi
i586:P133|32M|S3T64+/MX2|V1|CT3980/32M
i686:K6-2/400|64M|V2/SLI|CT4500/32M
S370:P3-1200|384M|GF4Ti4200|MX300
S754:A3700+|2G|X1950PRO|SB0350
User avatar
appiah4
l33t
 
Posts: 3752
Joined: 2017-2-19 @ 07:36

Re: Is SB Vibra16s good enough ?

Postby Thomas_GER » 2019-2-16 @ 08:39

badmojo wrote:The Vibras do suffer from the hanging note bug, both types, but yeah as mentioned if you’re not using the MPU401 then who cares? I think they’re a great option, super simple setup and sound nice.


Wrong.
There are at least three types of Vibra Chips: C,S and XV and as far as I know all XV's are DSP rev. 4.16 and therefore bug free.
Problem anyway: I don't know any Vibra XVs with a wavetable header. I added one to my Soundblaster 16 WavEffects making that card to a pretty decent one for casual DOS gaming
Grtz,
Thomas

Edit: I have to appologize. I did not see that this thread is about Vibra S.
User avatar
Thomas_GER
Newbie
 
Posts: 23
Joined: 2018-12-24 @ 12:33
Location: Near Limburg/Lahn, Hessen Germany

Re: Is SB Vibra16s good enough ?

Postby oeuvre » 2019-2-16 @ 13:42

does it give off good vibes?
Retro PC Intel i7 2600, 16GB, AMD FirePro V5800 1GB, SSD + HD, XP/7
Main Desktop AMD Ryzen 3700X, 32GB, AMD RX580 8GB, NVMe SSD + HD, 10
Image
User avatar
oeuvre
l33t
 
Posts: 2879
Joined: 2015-3-31 @ 13:31
Location: USA

Re: Is SB Vibra16s good enough ?

Postby Errius » 2019-2-16 @ 18:36

I bought a Vibra 16S by mistake a few years ago and cursed my error when it arrived. However, after installing and running it, it sounded just fine. I don't understand the hate against them.
"I damn near killed an idiot who insisted on commenting in Klingon, but only on bits of inline assembler embedded in C ..."
User avatar
Errius
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1363
Joined: 2015-12-16 @ 19:16
Location: Lave Station

Re: Is SB Vibra16s good enough ?

Postby suntac » 2019-2-16 @ 18:59

Some Vibra16 cards are PnP and some are not.
There are models with OPL3 and models with CQM.
Models with or without high-DMA support.
Models with the hanging-note bug or without it.
And some Vibra16 cards support bass/treble regulation.

I personally like PnP as it allows me to reconfigure cards on the fly and I also prefer OPL3 to CQM.
suntac
Newbie
 
Posts: 83
Joined: 2018-4-30 @ 11:16

Re: Is SB Vibra16s good enough ?

Postby TheMobRules » 2019-2-16 @ 22:00

BeginnerGuy wrote:3) I prefer vibra16S over the pro 2.0 (sacrilege, I know) due to having much much less line noise, and me not particularly caring for any issues with stereo. I've yet to run into any compatibility issues that have actually been noticeably annoying to me, even though I'm told regularly how much better the Pro II is.


This has been my experience as well, it baffles me how so many people call the Pro 2 a "silent" card. I had one for several years during the 90s (it was my first sound card) so it's really nostalgic to me, and currently I own two, but each time I use them I cannot stand the line noise compared to a SB16.
TheMobRules
Member
 
Posts: 449
Joined: 2016-1-19 @ 23:29

Re: Is SB Vibra16s good enough ?

Postby rasz_pl » 2019-2-16 @ 22:11

TheMobRules wrote:
BeginnerGuy wrote:3) I prefer vibra16S over the pro 2.0 (sacrilege, I know) due to having much much less line noise, and me not particularly caring for any issues with stereo. I've yet to run into any compatibility issues that have actually been noticeably annoying to me, even though I'm told regularly how much better the Pro II is.


This has been my experience as well, it baffles me how so many people call the Pro 2 a "silent" card. I had one for several years during the 90s (it was my first sound card) so it's really nostalgic to me, and currently I own two, but each time I use them I cannot stand the line noise compared to a SB16.


Pros are quiet on older motherboard made by solid brands, cheap clones from late nineties have shit supply rails filtering and you will hear it on Pro (interrupts when moving a mouse, hard drive, etc).
SB16 = clicks and pops in games without direct SB16 support.
rasz_pl
Member
 
Posts: 412
Joined: 2017-6-04 @ 00:57

Re: Is SB Vibra16s good enough ?

Postby Errius » 2019-2-16 @ 22:15

"hearing the computer think" someone here called it.
"I damn near killed an idiot who insisted on commenting in Klingon, but only on bits of inline assembler embedded in C ..."
User avatar
Errius
Oldbie
 
Posts: 1363
Joined: 2015-12-16 @ 19:16
Location: Lave Station


Return to Sound

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Error 0x7CF, obaltus and 1 guest