VOGONS


My Ultimate VL/EISA 486

Topic actions

Reply 80 of 91, by Anonymous Coward

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t

Cool, it's good to see another SuperEISA in action.

"Will the highways on the internets become more few?" -Gee Dubya
V'Ger XT|Upgraded AT|Ultimate 386|Super VL/EISA 486|SMP VL/EISA Pentium

Reply 81 of 91, by bbuchholtz

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

So, I've finally overcome my learning curve with EISA. I've learned the ways of ECU 😀

I have a question about bus mastering. Would you happen to know how many slots on this board support bus mastering? From my perspective, I'm getting conflicting information around slot #8.

In all of the related ECU CFG files, it would seem that only slots #1 - 6 support bus mastering:

; Configuration file for MCCI EISA system board
; Revision: 1.0
;
; 10/30/92
; Modified: (Changed ID to AMI68B1)

BOARD
ID = "MCC0001"
NAME = "MCCI-486 EISA System Board"
MFR = "MCCI"
CATEGORY = "SYS"
SLOT = EMB(0)
READID = YES

SYSTEM
NONVOLATILE=8192
AMPERAGE = 26500
SLOT(1)=EISA
BUSMASTER=YES
SLOT(2)=EISA
BUSMASTER=YES
SLOT(3)=EISA
BUSMASTER=YES
SLOT(4)=EISA
BUSMASTER=YES
SLOT(5)=EISA
BUSMASTER=YES
SLOT(6)=EISA
BUSMASTER=YES
SLOT(7)=EISA
BUSMASTER=NO
SLOT(8)=EISA
BUSMASTER=NO

However, when I look at the motherboard itself, I get the impression that only slot #7 is slave:

20190709-234956.jpg

Any insight would be greatly appreciated!

-Brian

Reply 82 of 91, by NJRoadfan

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie

I don't think the SiS EISA chipset supports more than 6 slots as busmaster. The reality is most folks don't have that many busmastering EISA cards to begin with so its rarely a problem. Both my Micronics and Tyan (uses SiS chipset too) made the VLB slots non-busmaster since it was likely they would see VLBus cards anyway.

Reply 83 of 91, by bbuchholtz

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Thank you for your reply 😀

That does make sense. And I agree that having 6 bus mastering slots is probably enough.

This was just my wishful thinking. Most full-length cards take advantage of bus mastering. Slots #7 and 8 have plenty of clearance. Unfortunately, the CPU fan and heatsink prevents the use of full-length cards.

-Brian

Reply 84 of 91, by bbuchholtz

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Hey Guys,

Which ECU are you using to manage EISA with this board? So far, I've had the most luck with this one:
http://files.mpoli.fi/unpacked/hardware/misc/ … r/int-eisa.lzh/

However, it's not perfect. In particular, I'm trying to add this SCSI host adapter:
http://108.59.254.117/~mR_Slug/EISA/!CPQ4002.CFG/

I'm getting the impression that I should should be using a Compaq ECU with this peripheral. But so far, Compaq's ECU always seems to hang whenever I try saving the EISA settings.

-Brian

Reply 86 of 91, by bbuchholtz

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Ok, I got the AMI EISA CFU working with my system. At first, I was greeted with this message, after saving EISA settings:
20190715-185223.jpg

Based on my Googling, it would seem that EISA has a limited amount of space for configuration. Long story short, I had too many EISA cards installed. When I pulled some cards out, the error went away and I was able to boot from the HBA.

Onto my second issue... All CFUs fail on parsing this CFG, except for Compaq's:
http://108.59.254.117/~mR_Slug/EISA/!CPQ4002.CFG/

20190715-205709.jpg

At first, I was getting complaints about lines 14 and 15:

 VERSION=1.2AH
REV=0

These seemed benign; so I commented them out. However, line 45 seems more crucial:

 RESOURCE="ADDRESS",COMMON,LOCAL

Unfortunately, Compaq's CFU still hangs on my system...

-Brian

Reply 88 of 91, by bbuchholtz

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie

Currently, I do not have any POST errors. Here is my current configuration:

[SLOT1] Adaptec AHA-2740W (EISA bus master)
[SLOT2] (Empty)
[SLOT3] Diamond Stealth64 4MB (VLB)
[SLOT4] Intel EtherExpress PRO/100 (EISA bus master)
[SLOT5] Adaptec AHA-1542CF/1540CF (16-bit ISA)
[SLOT6] Gravis UltraSound Plug'n'Play (16-bit ISA)
[SLOT7] SIIG High Speed IO-1809 16550 Serial (16-bit ISA)
[SLOT8] (Empty)

Are you suggesting I should try playing around with the Shadow RAM settings in the CMOS?

Thank you again for taking a look!

-Brian

Reply 89 of 91, by Intel486dx33

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
Anonymous Coward wrote:

It's hard to say how much it cost me, because I've been working on it for 7 years...but probably something like $400.

I'm running PC-DOS 2000 and WFW311.

This is the Nicest computer I have seen in a while.
But it would cost allot more than $400 to build today with the inflation of used computer parts.
What are the benefits of EISA cards over VLB and ISA ?

Reply 90 of 91, by NJRoadfan

User metadata
Rank Oldbie
Rank
Oldbie
bbuchholtz wrote:
Currently, I do not have any POST errors. Here is my current configuration: […]
Show full quote

Currently, I do not have any POST errors. Here is my current configuration:

[SLOT1] Adaptec AHA-2740W (EISA bus master)
[SLOT2] (Empty)
[SLOT3] Diamond Stealth64 4MB (VLB)
[SLOT4] Intel EtherExpress PRO/100 (EISA bus master)
[SLOT5] Adaptec AHA-1542CF/1540CF (16-bit ISA)
[SLOT6] Gravis UltraSound Plug'n'Play (16-bit ISA)
[SLOT7] SIIG High Speed IO-1809 16550 Serial (16-bit ISA)
[SLOT8] (Empty)

Are you suggesting I should try playing around with the Shadow RAM settings in the CMOS?

Thank you again for taking a look!

-Brian

That isn't too many cards. Personally I set the entire UMB area along with the usual BIOS/Video BIOS to shadowed and then use the latest version of "The Last Byte Memory Manager" to use the area for loading things HIGH. I have the same Adaptec card and never had a problem with it on that motherboard.

Reply 91 of 91, by Anonymous Coward

User metadata
Rank l33t
Rank
l33t
Intel486dx33 wrote:
This is the Nicest computer I have seen in a while. But it would cost allot more than $400 to build today with the inflation of […]
Show full quote
Anonymous Coward wrote:

It's hard to say how much it cost me, because I've been working on it for 7 years...but probably something like $400.

I'm running PC-DOS 2000 and WFW311.

This is the Nicest computer I have seen in a while.
But it would cost allot more than $400 to build today with the inflation of used computer parts.
What are the benefits of EISA cards over VLB and ISA ?

EISA over ISA? Multiple busmasters, 33MB/sec vs 5MB/sec bandwidth, 32-bit addressing (no 16MB limitation).
EISA over VLB? Stability, supports way more cards.

EIsA is the way to go if you want wide SCSI and 100MB/sec network controllers. Admittedly, not such a good choice for graphics but you can get boards with both VLB and EISA slots and have the best of both worlds.

Bringing PCI into the equation changes things a bit, as it's much cheaper and easier to get PCI 486 boards. There are a lot of crappy PCI 486 boards though, whereas most of the EISA 486 boards are quite solid.

"Will the highways on the internets become more few?" -Gee Dubya
V'Ger XT|Upgraded AT|Ultimate 386|Super VL/EISA 486|SMP VL/EISA Pentium