VOGONS

Common searches


Reply 20 of 53, by Discrete_BOB_058

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
0x1F9F1 wrote on 2021-01-03, 04:33:
WhiteBear wrote on 2021-01-03, 04:12:
0x1F9F1 wrote on 2021-01-03, 02:18:

Either is fine since since you need to use Open1560.exe anyway.

Is the empty spaces on the sides for the dashboard view is fixed? For MM2, someone was able to fix it by a .ar file that could be copied to the game directory. I am not sure how it can work for MM1.

There is a similar mod for MM1: http://www.mm2x.com/modules.php?name=Download … =getit&lid=2124 . If you use it with Open1560 you need to pass -nofovfix as a cmd param though (otherwise it will look incorrect).

Just wanted to let you know there is another problem related to sound. In the controls section, there are options to start/stop audio or go to next/prev track. That thing doesn't work, both with Windows WinMM or CDProxy Emu (gho's winmm)

YouTube Channel:
DEADHistory Walkthroughs

PC SPECS:-
CPU: AMD Ryzen 5 1600
GPU: ZOTAC NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050Ti OC Edition
RAM: 8GB*2 Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400MHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte Aorus B450M
PSU: Corsair VX550
Sound Card: Realtek ALC892

Reply 21 of 53, by 0x1F9F1

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Discrete_BOB_058 wrote on 2021-01-03, 05:26:
0x1F9F1 wrote on 2021-01-03, 04:33:
WhiteBear wrote on 2021-01-03, 04:12:

Is the empty spaces on the sides for the dashboard view is fixed? For MM2, someone was able to fix it by a .ar file that could be copied to the game directory. I am not sure how it can work for MM1.

There is a similar mod for MM1: http://www.mm2x.com/modules.php?name=Download … =getit&lid=2124 . If you use it with Open1560 you need to pass -nofovfix as a cmd param though (otherwise it will look incorrect).

Just wanted to let you know there is another problem related to sound. In the controls section, there are options to start/stop audio or go to next/prev track. That thing doesn't work, both with Windows WinMM or CDProxy Emu (gho's winmm)

Those controls are only enabled when using your own music CD, not the game's music. I'm not sure how you have your CDProxy Emu setup, but if it's just the audio files in a music folder, I would expect those controls to work since the game CD is detected by checking for if a CD is inserted, and a file named cdid.txt is on that CD. I have tested those controls with a regualr music CD and they do work.

Reply 22 of 53, by WhiteBear

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
0x1F9F1 wrote on 2021-01-03, 06:29:
Discrete_BOB_058 wrote on 2021-01-03, 05:26:
0x1F9F1 wrote on 2021-01-03, 04:33:

There is a similar mod for MM1: http://www.mm2x.com/modules.php?name=Download … =getit&lid=2124 . If you use it with Open1560 you need to pass -nofovfix as a cmd param though (otherwise it will look incorrect).

Just wanted to let you know there is another problem related to sound. In the controls section, there are options to start/stop audio or go to next/prev track. That thing doesn't work, both with Windows WinMM or CDProxy Emu (gho's winmm)

Those controls are only enabled when using your own music CD, not the game's music. I'm not sure how you have your CDProxy Emu setup, but if it's just the audio files in a music folder, I would expect those controls to work since the game CD is detected by checking for if a CD is inserted, and a file named cdid.txt is on that CD. I have tested those controls with a regualr music CD and they do work.

I also noticed that in Open1560 the menu doesn't fill screen the screen and black bars at the sides are shown. Is there any fix for the menu scaling issue? Also, in what way Open1560 is different than OpenMM1 and which one is more stable?

Reply 23 of 53, by Discrete_BOB_058

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
WhiteBear wrote on 2021-01-03, 07:26:
0x1F9F1 wrote on 2021-01-03, 06:29:
Discrete_BOB_058 wrote on 2021-01-03, 05:26:

Just wanted to let you know there is another problem related to sound. In the controls section, there are options to start/stop audio or go to next/prev track. That thing doesn't work, both with Windows WinMM or CDProxy Emu (gho's winmm)

Those controls are only enabled when using your own music CD, not the game's music. I'm not sure how you have your CDProxy Emu setup, but if it's just the audio files in a music folder, I would expect those controls to work since the game CD is detected by checking for if a CD is inserted, and a file named cdid.txt is on that CD. I have tested those controls with a regualr music CD and they do work.

I also noticed that in Open1560 the menu doesn't fill screen the screen and black bars at the sides are shown. Is there any fix for the menu scaling issue? Also, in what way Open1560 is different than OpenMM1 and which one is more stable?

The game is originally in 4:3 ratio, it is scaled to maintain the aspect ratio. OpenMM1 was a older version of the same but was using D3D, this one uses OGL and has more features. Open1560 is newer and since it uses a more supported API it is more stable.

0x1F9F1 wrote on 2021-01-03, 06:29:
Discrete_BOB_058 wrote on 2021-01-03, 05:26:
0x1F9F1 wrote on 2021-01-03, 04:33:

There is a similar mod for MM1: http://www.mm2x.com/modules.php?name=Download … =getit&lid=2124 . If you use it with Open1560 you need to pass -nofovfix as a cmd param though (otherwise it will look incorrect).

Just wanted to let you know there is another problem related to sound. In the controls section, there are options to start/stop audio or go to next/prev track. That thing doesn't work, both with Windows WinMM or CDProxy Emu (gho's winmm)

Those controls are only enabled when using your own music CD, not the game's music. I'm not sure how you have your CDProxy Emu setup, but if it's just the audio files in a music folder, I would expect those controls to work since the game CD is detected by checking for if a CD is inserted, and a file named cdid.txt is on that CD. I have tested those controls with a regualr music CD and they do work.

I inserted another game CD having CD audio. I disabled CDProxy Emu, the audio music doesn't work anymore. Only MM1's music works for me.
Could you explain the 'cdid.txt' to me again?

YouTube Channel:
DEADHistory Walkthroughs

PC SPECS:-
CPU: AMD Ryzen 5 1600
GPU: ZOTAC NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050Ti OC Edition
RAM: 8GB*2 Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400MHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte Aorus B450M
PSU: Corsair VX550
Sound Card: Realtek ALC892

Reply 25 of 53, by Discrete_BOB_058

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
WhiteBear wrote on 2021-01-03, 14:42:

By the way, the link for downloading Open1560 doesn't work.

https://ci.appveyor.com/api/projects/0x1F9F1/ … p?branch=master

YouTube Channel:
DEADHistory Walkthroughs

PC SPECS:-
CPU: AMD Ryzen 5 1600
GPU: ZOTAC NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050Ti OC Edition
RAM: 8GB*2 Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400MHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte Aorus B450M
PSU: Corsair VX550
Sound Card: Realtek ALC892

Reply 26 of 53, by WhiteBear

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Discrete_BOB_058 wrote on 2021-01-03, 17:03:

It keeps saying: {"message":"Artifact not found or access denied."}

Reply 27 of 53, by 0x1F9F1

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
WhiteBear wrote on 2021-01-03, 17:11:
Discrete_BOB_058 wrote on 2021-01-03, 17:03:

It keeps saying: {"message":"Artifact not found or access denied."}

Try again. I tried adding the build number to the zip files but that broke the download link.

Reply 28 of 53, by WhiteBear

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
0x1F9F1 wrote on 2021-01-03, 17:36:
WhiteBear wrote on 2021-01-03, 17:11:
Discrete_BOB_058 wrote on 2021-01-03, 17:03:

It keeps saying: {"message":"Artifact not found or access denied."}

Try again. I tried adding the build number to the zip files but that broke the download link.

Thanks a lot. Now it works.

Reply 29 of 53, by 0x1F9F1

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
Discrete_BOB_058 wrote on 2021-01-03, 07:32:

I inserted another game CD having CD audio. I disabled CDProxy Emu, the audio music doesn't work anymore. Only MM1's music works for me.
Could you explain the 'cdid.txt' to me again?

To check if a CD is the game CD, the game checks if there is a file named "cdid.txt" on the disk. If that file exists, it assumes the CD is the game CD. When the game CD is inserted, the music is completely controlled by the game, and will also play in the menus. If it's just an audio CD, then the music won't play in the menus but you can press 2 in-game to open the CD player controls and play/pause/skip. I also recently added the cmd param -cdid to Open1560 so you can make the game treat a CD as the game CD, for when you are using a virtual CD.
Also I will note that the Windows winmm is broken since it doesn't tell the game when to play the next track, so it will just stop playing after it's finished the track.

Reply 32 of 53, by WhiteBear

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
0x1F9F1 wrote on 2021-01-03, 18:29:
WhiteBear wrote on 2021-01-03, 18:19:

Does the -nofovfix work for OpenMM1?

Yes, but why use OpenMM1? Development has moved to Open1560, which already has all the features of OpenMM1 and more.

I actually still don't know where to insert the -nofovfix or any commands in either Open1560 or OpenMM1

Reply 33 of 53, by 0x1F9F1

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
WhiteBear wrote on 2021-01-03, 18:39:
0x1F9F1 wrote on 2021-01-03, 18:29:
WhiteBear wrote on 2021-01-03, 18:19:

Does the -nofovfix work for OpenMM1?

Yes, but why use OpenMM1? Development has moved to Open1560, which already has all the features of OpenMM1 and more.

I actually still don't know where to insert the -nofovfix or any commands in either Open1560 or OpenMM1

https://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/un … ow-to-use-them/

Reply 34 of 53, by WhiteBear

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
0x1F9F1 wrote on 2021-01-02, 20:49:
WhiteBear wrote on 2021-01-02, 12:51:
Discrete_BOB_058 wrote on 2021-01-02, 05:14:
I have the game cd in Enhanced Audio format. As said, the music plays when i launch the game. If i start a race and quit to mai […]
Show full quote

I have the game cd in Enhanced Audio format. As said, the music plays when i launch the game. If i start a race and quit to main menu the music no longer plays.
Same for the sound effects, if i disable music and keep only sound effects,the sound effects won't play when i quit a race.

The opposite thing happens in mm2, the music or effects don't play when i launch the game but works when i quit a race to menu.

Interesting the mm1 problem occurs even with anything modded like opemmm1, open1560, mm1 remastered.

Moreover the sound in mm1 after quitting a race can be recovered if i turn of music and effects in menu, and then turn it on again. The music seems to resume from somewhere, meaning it was actually playing but isn't outputting. However my output device is set correctly to USB Audio Device or Realtek HD Audio on either occasions

Yeah actually the same issue happens for me too. I still couldn’t find any solution for this.

I did some investigation into this and hopefully it should be fixed in the latest Open1560 build. Please let me know if it isn't.

So If no audio in the menu issue is now fixed for MM1, is there any fix for MM2 no menu audio issue?

Reply 35 of 53, by Discrete_BOB_058

User metadata
Rank Member
Rank
Member
WhiteBear wrote on 2021-01-05, 08:03:
0x1F9F1 wrote on 2021-01-02, 20:49:
WhiteBear wrote on 2021-01-02, 12:51:

Yeah actually the same issue happens for me too. I still couldn’t find any solution for this.

I did some investigation into this and hopefully it should be fixed in the latest Open1560 build. Please let me know if it isn't.

So If no audio in the menu issue is now fixed for MM1, is there any fix for MM2 no menu audio issue?

I think he is working for MM1, if there is such restoration mod for MM2 that one should work.

0x1F9F1 wrote on 2021-01-03, 23:55:
WhiteBear wrote on 2021-01-03, 18:39:
0x1F9F1 wrote on 2021-01-03, 18:29:

Yes, but why use OpenMM1? Development has moved to Open1560, which already has all the features of OpenMM1 and more.

I actually still don't know where to insert the -nofovfix or any commands in either Open1560 or OpenMM1

https://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/un … ow-to-use-them/

Thanks for the update.
Btw could you share what was the problem which caused the music to stop 😀.

YouTube Channel:
DEADHistory Walkthroughs

PC SPECS:-
CPU: AMD Ryzen 5 1600
GPU: ZOTAC NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050Ti OC Edition
RAM: 8GB*2 Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 2400MHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte Aorus B450M
PSU: Corsair VX550
Sound Card: Realtek ALC892

Reply 37 of 53, by WhiteBear

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
0x1F9F1 wrote on 2021-01-05, 20:00:
Discrete_BOB_058 wrote on 2021-01-05, 17:17:

Thanks for the update.
Btw could you share what was the problem which caused the music to stop 😀.

Bugs 😀

Is there any fix for the no audio in menu for MM2? I think it can be fixed the same way as MM1.

How can MM2 hook be used? I see that there is a dll and a regular version. What is the difference? And does it fix the no audio issue?

Reply 38 of 53, by WhiteBear

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
0x1F9F1 wrote on 2021-01-05, 20:00:
Discrete_BOB_058 wrote on 2021-01-05, 17:17:

Thanks for the update.
Btw could you share what was the problem which caused the music to stop 😀.

Bugs 😀

I also have one suggestion for Open1560. Can the text in white font that appears when the game is loading to provide info on what is being loaded be removed? It doesn’t really look nice.

Reply 39 of 53, by WhiteBear

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank
Newbie
0x1F9F1 wrote on 2021-01-05, 20:00:
Discrete_BOB_058 wrote on 2021-01-05, 17:17:

Thanks for the update.
Btw could you share what was the problem which caused the music to stop 😀.

Bugs 😀

By the way, is there a possibility for the original OpenMM1 to have fixed menu audio too? I really like the original OpenMM1 and I use it for trying different settings with dgvoodoo. If it can be fixed then that would be really amazing. I would like to try both OpenMM1 and Open1560. Thanks a lot for your efforts. I hope that the audio issue can be fixed for MM2 too.