DOSBox Full Screen Mode

General information and assistance with DOSBox.

DOSBox Full Screen Mode

Postby joecool » 2006-2-28 @ 23:22

Hi all,

I am experiencing a problem running DOSBox in full screen mode - I'd appreciate any help anyone can offer. I couldn't find anything in the forum that described this particular problem.

DOSBox runs just fine for me in a window, but when I edit the DOSBox.conf file to set it to full screen mode, and restart DOSBox, the screen goes momentarily black, and then when the screen comes back the program has terminated. 'Alt + Enter' produces the same result. There are no error messages. It may not be relevant but I noticed when the screen comes back the mouse cursor is always in the very top left hand corner.

Here are my relevant DOSBox.conf file settings:
fullscreen=true
fulldouble=false
fullfixed=true
fullresolution=0X0

Here are my hardware/software specs:
DOSBox ver 0.63
WinXP Professional ver 5.1.2600
Dell Dimension 4550 / Intel Pentium 4 2.53GHz w/ 512MB of RAM
Dell CRT monitor
NVIDIA GeForce4 MX 420 (Driver version 8.1.9.8 )

Any ideas? I can manage with just a window, but the full screen option would be nice.
joecool
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2006-2-28 @ 22:59

Re: DOSBox Full Screen Mode

Postby DosFreak » 2006-3-01 @ 02:03

Try different output= in your DosBox.conf

Also try a CVS build in my signature.

Either gulikoza's or ykhwong's.
User avatar
DosFreak
l33t++
 
Posts: 8573
Joined: 2002-6-30 @ 16:35
Location: Your Head

Re: DOSBox Full Screen Mode

Postby XulChris » 2006-3-01 @ 12:36

Why are you using fullfixed with a fullresolution of 0x0, that doesn't make any sense....
User avatar
XulChris
Member
 
Posts: 117
Joined: 2004-1-05 @ 23:14
Location: Lake Tahoe

Re: DOSBox Full Screen Mode

Postby eL_PuSHeR » 2006-3-01 @ 15:49

FullResolution=0x0 does indeed make sense. It means use the same resolution as desktop.
User avatar
eL_PuSHeR
Moderator
 
Posts: 6275
Joined: 2003-6-20 @ 16:39

Re: DOSBox Full Screen Mode

Postby XulChris » 2006-3-01 @ 17:21

If that is the case, then it doesn't work here. Using 0x0 does *not* use my desktop resolution, and it places the dosbox offcenter on my screen. Whereas using 1600x1200 works fine and places dosbox in the middle of the screen.
User avatar
XulChris
Member
 
Posts: 117
Joined: 2004-1-05 @ 23:14
Location: Lake Tahoe

Re: DOSBox Full Screen Mode

Postby DosFreak » 2006-3-02 @ 02:28

What resolution is it using?
User avatar
DosFreak
l33t++
 
Posts: 8573
Joined: 2002-6-30 @ 16:35
Location: Your Head

Re: DOSBox Full Screen Mode

Postby Qbix » 2006-3-02 @ 07:25

fullresolution=0x0 defaults to 1024x768 on non-windows systems
on windows dosbox can detect the size of the screen
Water flows down the stream
How to ask questions the smart way!
User avatar
Qbix
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 9654
Joined: 2002-11-27 @ 14:50
Location: Fryslan


Return to DOSBox General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron