does dosbox support MIDI IN yet?

General information and assistance with DOSBox.

does dosbox support MIDI IN yet?

Postby dbarton » 2007-3-05 @ 14:11

does dosbox support MIDI IN yet?

or still just out?
User avatar
dbarton
Member
 
Posts: 142
Joined: 2005-2-10 @ 05:22

Re: does dosbox support MIDI IN yet?

Postby Qbix » 2007-3-05 @ 14:23

still just out.
not really needed for games that IN
Water flows down the stream
How to ask questions the smart way!
User avatar
Qbix
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10448
Joined: 2002-11-27 @ 14:50
Location: Fryslan

Re: does dosbox support MIDI IN yet?

Postby dbarton » 2007-3-06 @ 02:30

ok, was hoping to use for a music sequencer, but seems to work quite well for playback!

never gonna get added?
User avatar
dbarton
Member
 
Posts: 142
Joined: 2005-2-10 @ 05:22

Re: does dosbox support MIDI IN yet?

Postby MiniMax » 2007-3-06 @ 09:10

As Qbix said: It is not needed for game-play, and game-play is the focus for DOSBox. If you want full emulation, try virtualisation with QEMU, VPC, WMware, ...
DOSBox 0.73 ReadMe | DOSBox Wiki | DOSBox 60 seconds guide | How to ask questions
_________________
Lenovo M58p | Core 2 Quad Q8400 @ 2.66 GHz | Radeon R7 240 | LG HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GH40N | Win 10 Pro
User avatar
MiniMax
Moderator
 
Posts: 5128
Joined: 2004-1-18 @ 04:15
Location: Stockholm, Sweden, Europe, Earth Interests: Old games & young women

Re: does dosbox support MIDI IN yet?

Postby Srecko » 2007-3-07 @ 13:48

Working on it for win32. It's functional except the intelligent mode which still hangs some old sequencers...Now the work is a stalled because I'm not at home until April (and then for a week only).
Srecko
Member
 
Posts: 466
Joined: 2003-9-08 @ 15:03

Re: does dosbox support MIDI IN yet?

Postby dbarton » 2007-3-07 @ 16:32

I'd be happy to help with any beta testing you do for MIDI input. I use Sequencer Plus, and as far as I know it does NOT use intelligent MPU mode..

Any chance of trying it as you have so far?
User avatar
dbarton
Member
 
Posts: 142
Joined: 2005-2-10 @ 05:22

Re: does dosbox support MIDI IN yet?

Postby Srecko » 2007-3-08 @ 18:31

Well, I'll try to get a build system (mingw probably) running during the weekend, so I can produce a build, then I'll probably upload (and/or at least patches to sf.net) it so you can begin beta testing...
Srecko
Member
 
Posts: 466
Joined: 2003-9-08 @ 15:03

Re: does dosbox support MIDI IN yet?

Postby dbarton » 2007-3-08 @ 21:20

ok, please keep me posted if oyu do..
User avatar
dbarton
Member
 
Posts: 142
Joined: 2005-2-10 @ 05:22

Re: does dosbox support MIDI IN yet?

Postby Srecko » 2007-3-13 @ 13:27

I uploaded a patch to sf.net:
http://sourceforge.net/tracker/index.ph ... tid=467234

Here's a mingw binary that I compiled yesterday (use sdl dlls from dosbox installation). You can add "inconfig" parameter in dosbox.conf below the "config". It's used in the same way (0,1, etc or just empty, or "none" to disable).

To test without real midi input device, you can use something like a "MIDI yoke" and a program that outputs midi to it's virtual device (but not digital sound as it might mute dosbox window). For example I used another instance of dosbox with disabled sound to output MIDI and a small app called "byear".

If it works we can open a thread in Patches section. I didn't test it outside of machine at home, although I have a laptop here on which I could set this up. But here at CERN I'm pretty busy, anyway :dead:
Attachments
dosbox_midiin_mingw.zip
dosbox with midi input v1
(734.18 KiB) Downloaded 969 times
Srecko
Member
 
Posts: 466
Joined: 2003-9-08 @ 15:03

Re: does dosbox support MIDI IN yet?

Postby willsan » 2007-10-11 @ 13:17

Is there any further work done on implementing MIDI IN?

I have downloaded the version by Srecko in this thread and it sorta works, sometimes.
The problems I have are -
Does not recognise more than two notes played simultaneously or fastly played musical phrases.
Does not always record 'NOTE OFF' messages.
Sometimes does not start to recognise my MIDI keyboard unless I first play some notes from within the sequencer I am running in DOSBOX.

I am attempting to run 'Voyetra Sequencer Plus' from DOSBOX.
Would appreciate words from others using this sequencer in DOSBOX and hearing their experiences.
willsan
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2007-10-10 @ 11:07

Re: does dosbox support MIDI IN yet?

Postby dbarton » 2007-10-11 @ 17:43

I also use SPG.

I have not used the MIDI *in* patch as I'm using a different patch to improve timing output.

For *playback* with SPG, it's working very well.
User avatar
dbarton
Member
 
Posts: 142
Joined: 2005-2-10 @ 05:22

Re: does dosbox support MIDI IN yet?

Postby radivx » 2007-12-03 @ 20:33

I know gaming is the primary goal of DOSBox, but allowing people to use old Dos applications are priceless. You won't find any working emulator that has the same device support as DOSBox, and modern sound hardware aren't neccesary 100% backwards compatible with the old hardware. I would also love to see full support for MIDI input in DOSBox.
radivx
Newbie
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 2006-10-13 @ 10:08

Re: does dosbox support MIDI IN yet?

Postby dbarton » 2007-12-03 @ 21:14

Sadly, messages here relating to MIDI input only seem to get posted every few months, and as best I can tell, none of thr developers seem very interested in this part..

MIDI *output* is working very well with the TESTMT32 patch I have posted about in the older Dosbox version, but that hasn't been added to the new version yet.
User avatar
dbarton
Member
 
Posts: 142
Joined: 2005-2-10 @ 05:22

Re: does dosbox support MIDI IN yet?

Postby Qbix » 2007-12-03 @ 21:18

well it's free ;)
The priceless people with unreplace hardware should do their best convince me of it.
Srecko has improved his patch a bit a few weeks ago.
Water flows down the stream
How to ask questions the smart way!
User avatar
Qbix
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10448
Joined: 2002-11-27 @ 14:50
Location: Fryslan

Re: does dosbox support MIDI IN yet?

Postby wd » 2007-12-03 @ 21:24

I can tell, none of thr developers seem very interested in this part..

Posting stuff like that decreases the interest even more.
wd
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10818
Joined: 2003-12-03 @ 21:23

Re: does dosbox support MIDI IN yet?

Postby dbarton » 2007-12-04 @ 02:31

I don't follow. Wasn't I just stating the truth?

I'm not saying the developer should be intersted - just pointing that it's prety clear the direction is for games.
User avatar
dbarton
Member
 
Posts: 142
Joined: 2005-2-10 @ 05:22

Re: does dosbox support MIDI IN yet?

Postby wd » 2007-12-04 @ 07:24

Wasn't I just stating the truth?

Erm no? How do you come to the conclusion that nobody is interested?
I'm not aware we posted something like that anywhere.
wd
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10818
Joined: 2003-12-03 @ 21:23

Re: does dosbox support MIDI IN yet?

Postby dbarton » 2007-12-04 @ 08:07

The first thing stated in the "wishlist" message:

"The absolute #1 priority is Game Compatibility. Not Wordstar/Wordperfect or some custom app that you need to print or connect to your host via serial. All suggestions should keep in mind the goal for increasing DosBox GAME compatibility. "

Have I misunderstood, and there is a real interest in adding working MIDI and in and out? That would be great!
User avatar
dbarton
Member
 
Posts: 142
Joined: 2005-2-10 @ 05:22

Re: does dosbox support MIDI IN yet?

Postby wd » 2007-12-04 @ 08:15

Personally i don't have any use for it, but it seems to come along nicely.
And "interest" and "integrating it into official dosbox sources" are quite
different things, for the latter part see Qbix's posting.
wd
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10818
Joined: 2003-12-03 @ 21:23

Re: does dosbox support MIDI IN yet?

Postby dvwjr » 2007-12-04 @ 09:23

Actually, the best thing about an added Dosbox MIDI-IN capability would be for adding Gravis Ultrasound support to all games which only support General MIDI or had problems with Ultrasound DOS drivers. The idea being to have two instances of DosBox running, the first to execute the game in question - with MIDI-Out stream sent to the host OS, the second instance of Dosbox to just run the accept the host OS MIDI stream via the (hopefully added) MIDI-IN capability with the Gravis ULTRAMID program executing.

This would not only spin off the Ultrasound emulation/MIDI rendering to another thread (in another process) but would also make the Dosbox Gravis Ultrasound MIDI rendering available as another Windows software MIDI device with the use of Win32 MIDI 'virtual cables', just as do the Roland VSC, the Yamaha XG WDM softsynths or the built-in Microsoft GS wavetable softsynth. This capability would also add Gravis Ultrasound support to the Windows NTVDM, actually working as opposed to the Win32 based Gus32EMU GUS emulator which never really worked...

We'll just have to wait and see...

dvwjr
dvwjr
Member
 
Posts: 359
Joined: 2002-11-23 @ 23:32

Next

Return to DOSBox General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest