Dungeon Keeper Gold on Vista (32bit)

Getting old Windows games working.

Dungeon Keeper Gold on Vista (32bit)

Postby Elky » 2007-5-13 @ 10:42

What's up. I've been trying to Dungeon Keeper gold working on Vista. It was originally a Windows 95 game. I have it working in XP but it's a pain to dual boot for one game. The XP fix was simply selecting 'Windows 98 / ME' compatibility mode.

Here's what I've tried:
  • All the OSs under the compatibility tab
  • Running as administrator
  • Disabling UAC
  • The above for both the software and D3D version

I'm not really sure where to go from here. Any advice?

The game will load the splash screen but fail (no error message) before the intro runs.
Last edited by Elky on 2007-5-24 @ 02:11, edited 1 time in total.
Elky
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2007-5-13 @ 10:36

Re: Dungeon Keeper Gold on Vista (32bit)

Postby Elky » 2007-5-13 @ 12:06

I just tried replacing smackw32.dll with a newer version with the vague hope it might be an imcompatability with RAD's smacker video player (the intro is a smacker video file). No luck.
Elky
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2007-5-13 @ 10:36

Re: Dungeon Keeper Gold on Vista (32bit)

Postby DosFreak » 2007-5-13 @ 12:13

IIRC, DK2 uses copy protection. Try a NOCD crack for the game.
User avatar
DosFreak
l33t++
 
Posts: 10219
Joined: 2002-6-30 @ 16:35
Location: Your Head

Re: Dungeon Keeper Gold on Vista (32bit)

Postby Elky » 2007-5-13 @ 13:43

This is the first one.
Elky
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2007-5-13 @ 10:36

Re: Dungeon Keeper Gold on Vista (32bit)

Postby DosFreak » 2007-5-13 @ 14:20

Hmmm, 95 compatibility mode worked here in Vista for DK1 (same thing I had to do to get it to work in Vista).

A long time ago I had to use the ACT to get DK1 to work in XP but over time I no longer had to. MS probably included a fix for it in the compatibility database.....but not likely since if they did they would have made it so that you wouldn't have to use compatibility mode at all. Likely theory is that some other fix had the side effect of no longer required the specific fix from the ACT. (Previously I had to create a custom .sdb and use the "EmulateHeap" option).


Oh, I only tested DK1 on 32bit with XDDM (XP Drivers). So no WDDM and no Aero desktop.

So if your using 64bit and WDDM those could be the culprits.
User avatar
DosFreak
l33t++
 
Posts: 10219
Joined: 2002-6-30 @ 16:35
Location: Your Head

Re: Dungeon Keeper Gold on Vista (32bit)

Postby Elky » 2007-5-15 @ 08:32

Well, I'm running Vista RTM with WDDM drivers. There's really no other option that I can see. Disabling Aero didn't do anything either.

For reference, I'm running an old ATI Radeon 9500pro.

Is there an ACT for Vista?
Elky
Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2007-5-13 @ 10:36

Re: Dungeon Keeper Gold on Vista (32bit)

Postby franpa » 2007-5-19 @ 09:16

windows 2000 compatibility moder under winXP is better then win95, because well a) it runs faster and b) less likely to crash.
Core i7 920 @ 2.66GHZ | ASUS P6T Motherboard | 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM | Gainward Geforce 560 Ti 2048MB PCI-E | Windows 10 Pro x64.

my website
franpa
Oldbie
 
Posts: 644
Joined: 2006-4-02 @ 06:26
Location: Queensland, Australia

Re: Dungeon Keeper Gold on Vista (32bit)

Postby hooby » 2008-1-18 @ 16:03

DosFreak wrote:Hmmm, 95 compatibility mode worked here in Vista for DK1 (same thing I had to do to get it to work in Vista).

A long time ago I had to use the ACT to get DK1 to work in XP but over time I no longer had to. MS probably included a fix for it in the compatibility database.....but not likely since if they did they would have made it so that you wouldn't have to use compatibility mode at all. Likely theory is that some other fix had the side effect of no longer required the specific fix from the ACT. (Previously I had to create a custom .sdb and use the "EmulateHeap" option).


Oh, I only tested DK1 on 32bit with XDDM (XP Drivers). So no WDDM and no Aero desktop.

So if your using 64bit and WDDM those could be the culprits.


i think probably most people using vista will be using wddm drivers.
what card are you using?
User avatar
hooby
Newbie
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 2004-11-08 @ 02:49
Location: USA

Re: Dungeon Keeper Gold on Vista (32bit)

Postby F2bnp » 2008-1-18 @ 20:47

Why don't you use DOSBox and the DOS version instead?
User avatar
F2bnp
l33t
 
Posts: 3496
Joined: 2007-9-23 @ 10:19

Re: Dungeon Keeper Gold on Vista (32bit)

Postby hooby » 2008-1-19 @ 14:30

so let it be written. so let it be done.

i was reading/thinking that would run really slow, but its quite good.
thanks for the advice :)
User avatar
hooby
Newbie
 
Posts: 13
Joined: 2004-11-08 @ 02:49
Location: USA

Re: Dungeon Keeper Gold on Vista (32bit)

Postby wd » 2008-1-19 @ 17:05

i was reading/thinking that would run really slow

Trust nobody. Really nobody!
wd
DOSBox Author
 
Posts: 10818
Joined: 2003-12-03 @ 21:23

Re: Dungeon Keeper Gold on Vista (32bit)

Postby DosFreak » 2008-10-01 @ 00:53

I'm working on my Vista 32bit compatibility list and noticed that Dungeon Keeper Gold Direct3D doesn't work in Windows Vista with the Intel 965 chipset or the Intel 4 graphics chipset using the Windows Vista video drivers. If you use the Windows XP video drivers then Direct3D works fine.

So it's confirmed.

If your thinking of using Vmware 6.5 to run the game then don't bother because it won't work there likely due to the version of D3D the game was coded for not being properly supported in Vmware.


Let's hope XP drivers are still released well into the future at least until emulation software decides to support older versions of D3D.
User avatar
DosFreak
l33t++
 
Posts: 10219
Joined: 2002-6-30 @ 16:35
Location: Your Head


Return to Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 5 guests