VOGONS

Common searches

First post, by jusplainwacky

User metadata
Rank Newbie
Rank

Hello - I'm a newbie here in all aspects...including games (which I don't play) and DOSBOX

I'm using DOSBOX 0.72 and trying to communicate with a piece of hardware (not a game) called a SCSI POD - its a programmable SCSI bus device that has an internal CPU and 9 pin-serial adapter.

I can communicate with the POD in Windows 95, however I can't with XP. I have tried the Windows XP "Compatabity Program", but that didn't work.
To complicate things, the POD uses a 9-pin Serial and my XP has only USB ports. I purchased a USB to Serial Adapter - no luck.

I'm now trying to see if I can communicate with the POD using DOSBOX, but unfortunately I'm getting framing errors and my POD displays on the LCD screen "Break Detected".

I noticed that in the errors below, the Parity keeps changing...however not sure if that is the problem or what.

For those that might help me...here is what I have done....

Legacy USB port is enabled

My Serial port is configured as follows:
serial1=directserial realport:com1 startbps:38400 parity:n bytesize:8 stopbits:1 irq:4
serial2=disabled
serial3=disabled
serial4=disabled

CPU is configured as follows
core=auto
cycles=3000
cycleup=500
cycledown=20

Upon 5 tries, here is the what the Diagnostic box is reporting...two times it started to scroll errors, however at the end of the scrolling, my program's menu actually came up, however it didn't detect anything connected to the COM1 Port.

Any help would be GREATLY appreciated!!

DOSBox version 0.72
Copyright 2002-2007 DOSBox Team, published under GNU GPL.
---
CONFIG:Loading primary settings from config file C:\Program Files\DOSBox-0.
sbox.conf

Try 1
MIDI:Opened device:win32
Serial1: Opening com1

Serial1: Errors occured: Framing 0, Parity 1, Overrun 0 (IF0:0), Break 0

Try 2
Serial1: Errors occured: Framing 0, Parity 1, Overrun 1 (IF0:0), Break 0

Try 3