backslash key in DosBox

General information and assistance with DOSBox.

backslash key in DosBox

Postby chris424 » 2008-3-24 @ 20:35

I am a newbie. I just installed DosBox on my Windows Vista Home Premium and when I attempted to mount a drive and folder; I found my back slash key was not recongized within the DosBox. Instead of a back slash it types a bracket. There has to an explanation for this. Any and all help will be appreciated

Chris424 :confused:
chris424
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2008-3-24 @ 20:20
Location: New Jersey

Re: backslash key in DosBox

Postby MiniMax » 2008-3-24 @ 20:38

Laptop keyboard?

Anyway, just use / instead of \ when mounting.
DOSBox 0.73 ReadMe | DOSBox Wiki | DOSBox 60 seconds guide | How to ask questions
_________________
Inspiron 9400 | Core Duo T2400 @ 1.83 GHz | GeForce Go 7800 | SONY DVD+-RW DW-Q58A | Win XP Pro/SP2
User avatar
MiniMax
Moderator
 
Posts: 5109
Joined: 2004-1-18 @ 04:15
Location: Stockholm, Sweden, Europe, Earth Interests: Old games & young women

Re: backslash key in DosBox

Postby mg55 » 2008-3-24 @ 21:48

You can re-map keys in Dosbox by hitting CTRL-F1.

I had the same problem (not a laptop though) and had to remap several keys.

Dosbox thinks my backslash key is the right bracket. The right bracket is left bracket and left bracket is 'unknown key'. Equals and quote are both also 'unknown key'. The funny thing is that while I can remap and save both the backslash and the right bracket, all the unknown ones must be remapped everytime I start Dosbox. It can't seem to remember them from one session to the next.
mg55
Newbie
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 2008-3-03 @ 15:35

Re: backslash key in DosBox

Postby gidierre » 2008-3-24 @ 23:11

What about using FreeDOS Keyb 2.0 ?

Or configuring # keyboardlayout in dosbox.conf [dos] section ?
User avatar
gidierre
Member
 
Posts: 383
Joined: 2002-10-10 @ 00:15

Re: backslash key in DosBox

Postby mg55 » 2008-3-25 @ 01:29

I configured the keyboard layout to US in the config, but it had no visible impact. It's an HP keyboard,...you know the ones with all the media control buttons at the top (does anybody actually use those?!). Every piece of HP equipment I've ever bought has been a piece of unmitigated crap. The only thing worse than HP hardware is HP software.

Still I find it odd that the configuration of just those few keys won't persist.
mg55
Newbie
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 2008-3-03 @ 15:35

Re: backslash key in DosBox

Postby MiniMax » 2008-3-31 @ 13:16

First step to resolve this is to delete your current mapper.txt file.

Then create a fresh mapper.txt file, with no changes. Rename it to something like mapper_nochange.txt.

Now remap 1 key. Save the changes, and compare the new mapper.txt with the new mapper_nochange.txt. Do you see your change?

Now change one of the keys that won't persist for you. Save the new mapper.txt. Compare it with the mapper_nochange.txt file. What do you see?
DOSBox 0.73 ReadMe | DOSBox Wiki | DOSBox 60 seconds guide | How to ask questions
_________________
Inspiron 9400 | Core Duo T2400 @ 1.83 GHz | GeForce Go 7800 | SONY DVD+-RW DW-Q58A | Win XP Pro/SP2
User avatar
MiniMax
Moderator
 
Posts: 5109
Joined: 2004-1-18 @ 04:15
Location: Stockholm, Sweden, Europe, Earth Interests: Old games & young women

Re: backslash key in DosBox

Postby mg55 » 2008-3-31 @ 21:01

I tried your suggestion. Most keys are reflected properly in the mapper.txt file. The problem keys which won't persist are all recorded as 'key 0'.
mg55
Newbie
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 2008-3-03 @ 15:35

Re: backslash key in DosBox

Postby epu » 2009-7-11 @ 21:50

Have this too, with KeyMaestro P2360 on win32 xp and dosbox 0.73
A diff of the original mapper file and keys that are not remembered shows the extra keys are all recorded as 'key 0'. keys work ok in dosbox when they are bound.

Can test/verify fixes or custom builds. Have some mingw/win32 building skills, if it can help.
epu
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2009-7-11 @ 21:05
Location: Oak Park, IL

Re: backslash key in DosBox

Postby epu » 2009-7-14 @ 00:26

ok, so my mingw version works fine. the only thing I did which is maybe different from the release one is to enable unicode (make -f mingwin32.mak WIDE=Y) for PDCurses. Maybe pdcurses or x-compiling with curses isn't working ok for the windows releases?
epu
Newbie
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2009-7-11 @ 21:05
Location: Oak Park, IL

Re: backslash key in DosBox

Postby arablizzard2413 » 2009-7-14 @ 05:45

chris424 wrote:I am a newbie. I just installed DosBox on my Windows Vista Home Premium and when I attempted to mount a drive and folder; I found my back slash key was not recongized within the DosBox. Instead of a back slash it types a bracket. There has to an explanation for this. Any and all help will be appreciated


Topic: Right-Shift / Backslash Keyboard Problems (SOLVED!)
viewtopic.php?t=18465

It's caused by the MCIR 105 keyboard driver that gets installed on XP Media Center 2005, Vista Home Premium, and Vista Ultimate.
arablizzard2413
Newbie
 
Posts: 54
Joined: 2002-8-14 @ 04:24


Return to DOSBox General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests